DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/03/2025 was filed and is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 1/5/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/5/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to claim 12, the applicant recites the limitation of “the at least one facet has radius of curvature preferably between 5 mm and infinity.” The use of preferably renders the claim scope unclear as it cannot be determined what is or is not a part of the invention. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Badoil et al (US 2019/0351821 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Badoil et al disclose a trim component having a substrate (36) used for an interior or exterior of a vehicle, the trim component comprising:
a support structure (12 and 24) securely coupled to the substrate;
a carrier (16) securely attached to the support structure;
at least one light source (20) fixedly attached to the carrier; and
an optic element (26) placed over the at least one light source to disperse light from the at least one light source. (Figure 2; see at least [0035] onward)
In regard to claim 2, Badoil et al disclose the optic element is attached directly to the carrier to cover the at least one light source.
In regard to claim 3, Badoil et al disclose the optic element is formed with a first surface directed inward toward the at least one light source and a second surface directed outward toward an opposite side from the first surface.
In regard to claim 4, Badoil et al disclose the first surface of the optic element is spaced apart from a surface of the at least one light source to form an interior space.
In regard to claim 5, Badoil et al disclose the optic element is configured to provide a sealing feature to protect against the ingress of debris or other contaminants into the interior space.
In regard to claim 6, Badoil et al disclose the optic element is attached to the support structure to cover the at least one light source.
In regard to claim 7, Badoil et al disclose a sealing member (24) placed over the optic element as a separate component to provide a sealing feature to protect against the ingress of debris or other contaminants into an interior space.
In regard to claim 8, Badoil et al disclose a sealing member formed with the optic element as a single unit to provide a sealing feature such that the sealing member is used to form a sealing window. (The claim recites an integral sealing member—the optic inherently seals the space—it can be said the sealing member is formed with the optic in a single unit.)
In regard to claim 13, Badoil et al disclose the optic element is formed of a silicone and is a transparent or translucent light-transmissive lens. (See [0044])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Badoil et al (US 2019/0351821 A1).
In regard to claim 9 and 10, Badoil et al disclose that the first surface of the optic element is formed with a flat shape to attach to the at least one light source.
Badoil et al fail to disclose that the exit surface is concave or convex.
However, this describes a known lens structure, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form the exit surface as a concave or convex lens in order to converge or diverge the light.
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Badoil et al (US 2019/0351821 A1) in view of Walters et al (US 2019/0389412 A1).
In regard to claim 11 and 12, Badoil et al fail to disclose a curved reflective surface.
Walters et al teaches the trim component includes at least one curved surface (34, 36) defining a disrupted reflective surface and at least one facet formed over the at least one curved surface configured to reflect an incident light beam from the at least one light source, and as recited in claim 12, wherein the at least one facet has radius of curvature preferably between 5 mm and infinity. (Figure 4; see at least [0019])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to surface of Walters et al to the trim of Badoil et al in order to provide for a decorative trim appearance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Catalan et al (US 2025/0146640 A1) disclose a trim component.
Kahmann et al (US 2025/0033259 A1) disclose a trim part.
Vander Sluis et al (US 2023/0331149 A1) disclose an integrated lens.
Seegers et al (US 2018/0037174 A1) disclose a trim part.
Nagashima et al (US 2018/0022275 A1) disclose an interior component.
/CHRISTOPHER E DUNAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875