DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to Application filed on 4/3/2025 in which claims 1-20 were presented for examination. The restriction requirement mailed on 1/12/2026 was mailed inadvertently and therefore it is not applicable to this application, therefore the previous office action of restriction requirement mailed on 1/12/2026 is hereby replaced with this non-final office action.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claims 5-10 and 15-16 limitations are not shown.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the limitation in claim 15 is not present in the specification as originally filed.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract as originally filed lack a summary of the structural elements making the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 11 and 17 are indefinite because it is unclear that they are independent or dependent, it was interpreted that the claims are dependent on claim 1.
Claim 15 recites a “widened segment” which is indefinite because it is unclear what the metes and bounds the applicant is trying to claim. The limitation was not explained in the specification nor shown in the figures.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 11-12 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moore (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0258159 A1) as best understood.
Regarding claims 1, 11 and 17, Moore discloses a patch assembly and a fly closure for securing a drawstring to a garment (See Figs. 6-7) comprising:
a garment (10);
a drawstring (70);
a panel (11) with a first side (facing the wearer when worn) for attaching to the garment (See Fig. 6) and a second side (facing away from the wearer when worn) for retaining the drawstring (70); and
a loop (in the form of a stitch midway between the drawstring ends (92, 94) secured to the second side of the panel (as shown in Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 2, Moore discloses a patch assembly wherein the panel is fabric (para. 0041 describe an elastic textile which was considered as fabric).
Regarding claim 12, Moore discloses a fly closure further comprising a plurality of opposing apertures adjacent the loop (Fig. 6 identifiers 52, 58).
Regarding claim 18, Moore discloses a garment wherein the panel (11) is a waistband of the garment (See Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 19, Moore discloses a garment wherein the panel is attached to a waistband of the garment (para. 0041 by stitching, welding and the like).
Regarding claim 20, Moore discloses a garment further comprising a plurality of opposing apertures adjacent the loop (52, 58).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-10 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0258159 A1) in view of Harris et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0295870 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Moore discloses the invention substantially as claimed above.
Moore does not disclose a patch assembly wherein the loop comprises a fabric with elasticity.
However, Harris et al. “Harris” teaches yet another patch assembly for securing a drawstring to a garment (See Figs. 3 and 4) having a loop (100, 120) comprises a fabric with elasticity (See Para. 0022).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have manufactured Moore device with a patch assembly wherein the loop comprises a fabric with elasticity as taught by Harris in order to provide the ease of replacing the drawstring when damaged without the need to replace the entire garment.
Regarding claim 4, Moore as modified by Harris discloses a patch assembly further comprising a retainer (which is the inner side of element 120).
Regarding claim 5, as best understood, Moore as modified by Harris discloses a patch assembly wherein the retainer (See above) is fixed within the loop (integrally fixed).
Regarding claim 6, as best understood, Moore as modified by Harris discloses a patch assembly wherein the retainer (See above) is removably secured within the loop (by removing the adhesive).
Regarding claim 7, as best understood, Moore as modified by Harris discloses a patch assembly wherein the retainer (See above) comprises protrusions (122) extending within the interior of the loop (See Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 8, as best understood, Moore as modified by Harris discloses a patch assembly wherein the first side comprises an adhesive (para. 0028 of Harris).
Regarding claim 9, as best understood, Moore as modified by Harris discloses a patch assembly wherein the first side comprises one portion of a hook-and-loop fastener (Para. 0028 of Harris).
Regarding claim 10, as best understood, Moore as modified by Harris discloses a patch assembly wherein the loop (See above) is configured (capable) to adopt either of an open or locked position relative to the panel along its length.
Regarding claim 13, as best understood, Moore as modified by Haris discloses a fly closure further comprising a retainer (which is the inner side of element 120).
Regarding claim 14, as best understood, Moore as modified by Haris discloses a fly closure wherein the retainer removably attaches to the drawstring (See Fig. 3 of Harris).
Regarding claim 15, as best understood, Moore as modified by Haris discloses a fly closure wherein the retainer (See above) is a widened segment of the drawstring (See Fig. 3 of Harris).
Regarding claim 16, as best understood, Moore as modified by Haris discloses a fly closure wherein the retainer is a segment of the drawstring having increased friction within the loop (See Fig. 3 of Harris when tightened).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered (See PTO-892) pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KHALED ANNIS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732