DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application filed 04/03/2025 claims domestic benefit to US provisional application 63/573,778, filed 04/03/2024.
Status of Claims/Application
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and are examined on the merits herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/03/2025 and 04/04/2025 (2) fail to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.98(a)(4) because they lack the appropriate size fee assertion. They have been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
Summary of Requirements for Patent Applications Filed On Or After July 1, 2022, That Have Sequence Disclosures
37 CFR 1.831(a) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.831(b) must contain a “Sequence Listing XML”, as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.831-1.835. This “Sequence Listing XML” part of the disclosure may be submitted:
1. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter “Legal Framework”) in XML format, together with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML file in a separate paragraph of the specification (an incorporation by reference paragraph) as required by 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) identifying:
a. the name of the XML file
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes; or
2. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML format according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
a. the name of the XML file;
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes.
SPECIFIC DEFICIENCIES AND THE REQUIRED RESPONSE TO THIS NOTICE ARE AS FOLLOWS:
Claims 2 and 3 recite the sequences “GRKKRRQRRR”, “MKLVFLVLLFLGAL”, and “MKLKFLKLLKLGAL”, all of which are more than 4 amino acids in length, without corresponding SEQ ID NOs. MPEP 2412.04 states “37 CFR 1.831(c) requires that each nucleotide and/or amino acid sequence set forth in a "Sequence Listing XML" in accordance with 37 CFR § 1.831(a) must be referenced by a sequence identifier as defined in 37 CFR 1.832(a) (see MPEP § 2412.05(a)), preceded by the notation "SEQ ID NO:" or the like, when the sequence appears in the description or claims”.
It is noted that the sequences are identified in the specification filed 04/22/2026, page 48, as having SEQ ID NOs: 67, 69, and 70, respectively, indicating that they are already a part of the sequence listing. Amendment to the claims to add the SEQ ID NOs with the sequences is required.
Specification Objection
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The specification filed 04/22/2026 provides details regarding figure 3 and the reference numbers provided therein. The description, however, does not match the figure that is provided. For instance, in the instant specification, page 49, [0138], Fig. 3 is identified as an exemplary method 300 for treating a disease or condition in a subject using an augmented peptide composition. Method 300 may include step 305 of receiving a plurality of molecular data associated with an individual. Fig 3. 305, however, recites a step of receiving a plurality of microbial data from a database. The specification further identifies step 310 as identifying a therapeutic peptide moiety as a function of the plurality of integrated multiomic and immunophenotypic data using multiomic and immune modeling, however, Fig. 3 step 310 recites receiving a waste material profile. Similar discrepancies are also noted regarding steps 315, 320, and 325.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 8-10 and 17-19 recite lists of augmented peptides. For example, “PEG-FGF21-FG” and “PEG-Lactoferrin-CPP-TPP”. In the rejections of the instant office action, the augmented peptides recited are interpreted as being required to have the specific structures recited in the instant specification in tables 1-2, on pages 41-48.
Claim Objection
Claim 1 is objected to for the following informality: the claim is missing a comma at the end of the Markush listing of therapeutic peptides (end of line 10). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-11, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 line 5 recites “the therapeutic peptide” there is insufficient antecedence for this recitation in the claim. While the claim does recite “a therapeutic peptide moiety” prior to the recitation, which includes a therapeutic peptide, it is unclear how the recitation starting on line 5 would further limit the therapeutic peptide moiety. For instance, the limitation could be interpreted as requiring that the therapeutic peptide moiety be the entire sequence of the therapeutic peptides recited in the Markush group. For example, Lactoferrin-CPP-TPP in its entirety. Alternatively, the limitation could be interpreted as requiring that the therapeutic peptide moiety comprise at least the therapeutic peptide within the therapeutic peptide sequences recited. For example, only lactoferrin.
Appropriate correction is required.
In the rejections of the instant office action, the limitation is interpreted as referencing “the therapeutic peptide moiety” and requiring the entire sequence of the recited therapeutic peptide.
Claims 5-11 are rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 1 as they do not resolve the ambiguity discussed above.
Claim 1 is drawn to an augmented peptide composition comprising a therapeutic moiety conjugated to a PEG moiety, where the therapeutic peptide moiety comprises a peptide moiety configured to treat an aspect of a cancer related ailment and is selected from the recited list. The list includes therapeutic peptides including Lactoferrin-CPP-TPP, Defensin-Beta-CPP-TPP, Magainin-2-TPP, Melittin-TPP, Cyclin- dependent Kinase Inhibitory Peptide (CKI), PNC-27-CPP-TPP, PNC-28- CPP-TPP, Nutlin-Peptide-CPP-TPP, Nutlin-Thymulin-Adjuvant-CPP- TPP, Bombesin-TPP, Somatostatin Potentiating Peptide (SPP), Kisspeptin-10-CPP-TPP (Metastin), and PEP27-CPP-TPP (Metastin).
It is unclear if these recitations are directed towards a specific applicant named peptide or if the claims are drawn to a genus in which the therapeutic moiety can comprise any variation of the claimed therapeutic peptide.
For example, the claim recites the therapeutic peptide “Lactoferrin-CPP-TPP”. The specification states that “Lactoferrin peptide fragments, as synthetic precision peptides, exhibit notable potential in mitigating cancer. Derived from Lactoferrin, these fragments showcase efficacy in modulating the immune system, inhibiting angiogenesis, and regulating cell proliferation. The iron-binding capacity of Lactoferrin peptide fragments further contributes to limiting iron availability, a critical factor for cancer cell growth…” (page 34, [0108]). The specification also provides sequences/structures for a therapeutic peptide of “PEG-Lactoferrin_CPP_TPP” in rows 1-2 of table 3 on page 46, as follows:
It is unclear if the recitation of “Lactoferrin-CPP-TPP” encompasses any Lactoferrin peptide or fragment thereof conjugated to any CPP and any TPP by any means of conjugation or if the recitation is intended to limit the claim to having all or part of the sequences recited in the table above, for instance either the entire structure, the portion of the structure following the PEG4, or the lactoferrin peptide fragments that are included (MKLVFLVLLFLGAL or MKLKFLKLLKLGAL).
As it is unclear what the recited therapeutic peptides recited in the claim encompass, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear and the claim is indefinite.
Furthermore, if the claim is intended to encompass any CPP and any TPP the specification does not define “TPP”. Although the acronym could be interpreted as a “tumor-penetrating peptide”, it is unclear what would meet the limitation of the TPP. For instance, in the table above, PEG_Lactoferrin_CPP_TPP is shown to include “GRKKRRQRRR” which is a TAT cell penetrating peptide domain as well as RGD, which is also recognized in the specification as a cell penetrating peptide (Page 10, [0031]).
Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
In the rejections of the instant office action, the claim is interpreted as requiring that the therapeutic peptides have the sequences/structures recited in instant table 3 from pages 45-48. In the case that there are two structures associated with the named peptide, for instance as with Lactoferrin_CPP_TPP shown above, the claim is interpreted as encompassing both structures.
Claims 5-11 are rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 1 as they do not resolve the ambiguity discussed above.
In the rejections of the instant office action, claim 6 is interpreted as limiting the therapeutic peptide moiety of claim 1 to being one of those recited that comprises a CPP domain.
It is suggested that, if applicant’s intention is to claim the sequences/structures recited in instant table 3, that the entire sequence be recited in the claim as well as the associated SEQ ID NO. For example, “GRKKRRQRRR-ahx-RGD-MKLKFLKLLKLGAL-NH2 (SEQ ID NO: 50)”.
Claim 1 is missing a conjunction, such as “and” or “or” between the therapeutic peptide moieties recited and “at least a linking agent” rendering the metes and bounds of the claim indefinite. For instance, the claim could be interpreted as requiring that the augmented peptide comprise only one of a therapeutic peptide moiety or at least a linking agent (in the case of “or”). Alternatively, the claim could be interpreted as requiring both the therapeutic peptide moiety and at least a linking agent (in the case of “and”).
Appropriate correction is required.
In the rejections of the instant office action, the claim is interpreted as requiring both the therapeutic peptide moiety and at least a linking agent (“and”).
Claims 5-11 are rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 1 as they do not resolve the ambiguity discussed above.
Claims 1, 10, and 19 recite the limitations “Kisspeptin-10-CPP-TPP (Metastin)” and “PEP27-CPP-TPP (Metastin)” (claim 1) and “PEG-Kisspeptin-10-CPP-TPP (Metastin)” and “PEG-PEP27-CPP-TPP (Metastin)” (claims 10 and 19). Metastin is not another name for any of augmented peptides that are recited immediately prior to the parenthesis, and it is not clear if the recitation is a limiting feature of the claimed invention rendering the metes and bounds of the claims indefinite. The instant application does not provide a limiting definition for “Metastin”. “Metastin” is art recognized as being kisspeptin-54, a 54 amino acid long peptide encoded by the KISS1 gene. Metastin is not an alternative name for the recited augmented peptides nor is it an alternative name even for the therapeutic peptides that are within the recited augmented peptides. For instance, Kisspeptin-10 is a fragment of Metastin (AAs 45-54) and PEP27 is a different peptide entirely.
Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
Claims 5-11 are rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 1 as they do not resolve the ambiguity discussed above.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “wherein the cell penetrating peptide domain is attached to the therapeutic peptide moiety at an N-terminal.” It is unclear if the N-terminal being referenced is the N-terminal of the therapeutic peptide moiety or the N-terminal of the cell penetrating peptide domain as both are peptides that comprise an N-terminal. As such, the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite.
Appropriate correction is required.
In the instant office action, the claim is interpreted as requiring that the CPP is attached to the therapeutic peptide moiety at an N-terminal of the CPP.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the at least an adapter protein" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim depends on claim 13 and ultimately on claim 12; none of which recite an “at least an adapter protein” that could be being referenced rendering the metes and bounds of the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claims 7 depends on claim 6 and ultimately on claim 1 and recites that the cell penetrating peptide domain is attached to the therapeutic peptide moiety at an N-terminal (claim 7). As discussed in the rejections under 35 USC 112(b) above, claim 7 is being interpreted as requiring that the CPP is attached to the therapeutic peptide moiety at an N-terminal of the CPP. Claim 1 is being interpreted as requiring that the therapeutic peptides have the sequences/structures recited in instant table 3 from pages 45-48 and claim 6 is being interpreted as limiting the therapeutic peptides in claim 1 to those that have a CPP domain attached. In each of the claimed structures that comprise a CPP domain, the CPP domain is attached at the N-terminal to the therapeutic peptide. As such, the recitations in claim 7 does not further limit the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 8 depends on the composition of claim 1 and recites that the augmented peptide composition is selected from the recited group. Claim 1, however, requires that the therapeutic peptide in the augmented peptide composition comprise the therapeutic peptides recited, which are not the same and do not encompass those recited in instant claim 8. As such, claim 8 is broader than the claim upon which it depends and does not further limit the subject matter of claim 1. Claim 8 also does not include all of the limitations of claim 1.
Claim 9 depends on claim 1 and recites that the augmented peptide is selected from those recited. Claim 1, however, requires that the therapeutic peptide in the augmented peptide composition comprise the therapeutic peptides recited, which are not the same or included in those recited in instant claim 9. As such, claim 9 is broader than the claim upon which it depends and does not further limit the subject matter of claim 1. Claim 9 also does not include all of the limitations of claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Scope of Enablement
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for the claimed therapeutic peptides that comprise full therapeutic peptide sequences known to be therapeutically effective and for relieving the recited diseases or conditions or symptoms thereof, does not reasonably provide enablement for therapeutics or fragments that are not recognized as therapeutically active or prevention of a disease or condition. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Enablement is considered in view of the Wands factors (MPEP 2164.01(a)). The court in Wands states: "Enablement is not precluded by the necessity for some experimentation such as routine screening. However, experimentation needed to practice the invention must not be undue experimentation. The key word is ‘undue,’ not 'experimentation.'" (Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1404). Clearly, enablement of a claimed invention cannot be predicated on the basis of quantity of experimentation required to make or use the invention. "Whether undue experimentation is needed is not a single, simple factual determination, but rather is a conclusion reached by weighing many factual considerations." (Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1404). The factors to be considered in determining whether undue experimentation is required include: (1) the quantity of experimentation necessary, (2) the amount or direction or guidance presented, (3) the presence or absence of working examples, (4) the nature of the invention, (5) the state of the prior art, (6) the relative skill of those in the art, (7) the predictability or unpredictability of the art, and (8) the breadth of the claims. While all of these factors are considered, a sufficient amount for a prima facie case are discussed below.
The nature of the invention
Instant claims 1 and 5-11 are drawn to an augmented peptide composition comprising a therapeutic peptide moiety conjugated to a PEG moiety where the therapeutic peptide moiety comprises a peptide moiety configured to treat an aspect of a cancer related ailment. Claim 1 further limits the therapeutic peptide moiety to being selected from the group recited.
Claim 8 limits the augmented peptide composition to being configured to improve longevity immunomodulation and limits the augmented peptide composition to be one of those recited in the claim.
Claim 9 limits the augmented peptide composition to one configured to treat a weight ailment and the augmented peptide composition to be one of those recited in the claim.
Claim 10 limits the augmented peptide composition to one configured to treat cancer and the augmented peptide composition to be one of those recited in the claim.
Claims 2 and 3 are both independent claims and recite an augmented peptide composition configured to treat an aspect of a cancer related ailment comprising a PEG moiety with four repeat units; a CPP segment comprising the recited amino acid sequences; a linker segment comprising ahx; a cell-adhesion peptide segment comprising RGD; and a hydrophobic peptide segment comprising the recited amino acid sequences, wherein the peptide is amidated at its C-terminus (-NH2).
Claims 12-20 are drawn to a method of treating a disease or condition using an augmented peptide comprising the recited method steps which include receiving integrated data associated with an individual, identifying a therapeutic peptide moiety, conjugating the therapeutic peptide moiety to a PEG moiety to form an augmented peptide, conjugating at least a linker agent to the augmented peptides, and administering an effective amount of the augmented peptide composition to the individual.
Claim 13 depends on claim 12 and further limits administering an effective amount of a composition comprising an augmented peptide to comprising intramuscular injection according to a regimen comprising three injections per week for a period of 12 weeks followed by a 3-week clinical pause.
Claim 17 depends on claim 12 and limits the augmented peptide composition as being configured to improve longevity immunomodulation and as being selected from the group of recited augmented peptides.
Claim 18 depends on claim 12 and limits the augmented peptide composition as being configured to treat a weight ailment and as being selected from the group of recited augmented peptides.
Claim 19 depends on claim 12 and limits the augmented peptide composition as being configured to treat cancer and as being selected from the group of recited augmented peptides.
The breadth of the claims
Claims 1 and 5-11 are broad in that they encompass configuration of the therapeutic peptide to treat any aspect of any cancer related ailment; claim 8 is broad in that it encompasses configuration of the therapeutic peptide for any improvement in longevity of any immunomodulation; claim 9 is broad in that it encompasses configuration of the therapeutic peptide for treatment of any weight ailment; and claim 10 is broad in that it encompasses configuration of the therapeutic peptide for treatment of any type of cancer.
Claims 12-20 are broad in that they encompass the treatment of any type of disease or condition using the recited method; claim 13 is broad in that it encompasses treating any of disease or condition using any augmented peptide using the recited regimen; claim 17 is broad in that it encompasses improvement in longevity of any immunomodulation with the recited augmented peptides; 18 is broad in that it encompasses the treatment of any weight ailment with the recited augmented peptides; and claim 19 is broad in that it encompasses the treatment of any type of cancer with the recited augmented peptides.
In addition to the breadth of the claims discussed above, the claims also are broad in that they encompass prevention of any disease or condition, cancer related ailment, longevity immunomodulation, weight ailment, or cancer.
The instant disclosure defines “treatment” as including “(i) preventing the disease or condition from occurring in the subject, in particular when such subject is predisposed to the condition but has not yet been diagnosed as having it” (pages 4-5, [0017]).
The specification does not define “preventing” or “prevention”. In absence of a limiting definition by the applicants, “prevention” is interpreted as defined according to IIME as provided in Wojtczak, A. (2002) Glossary of Medical Education Terms Medical Teacher 24(4): 357; 1-25. IIME defines “prevention” as promoting health, preserving health, and to restore health when it is impaired, and to minimize suffering and distress (page 16, “Prevention”). IIME states that “primary prevention refers to the protection of health by personal and community wide effects, such as preserving good nutritional status, physical fitness, and emotional well-being, immunizing against infectious diseases, and making the environment safe.” IIME states that “secondary prevention can be defined as the measures available to individuals and populations for the early detection and prompt and effective intervention to correct departures from good health”. IIME further states that tertiary prevention consists of the measures available to reduce or eliminate long-term impairments and disabilities, minimize suffering caused by existing departures from good health”.
Thus, in its broadest reasonable interpretation, the prevention of a condition suggests that the onset of the condition never occurs and the patient’s health is protected and preserved.
The amount or direction provided by the inventor / the existence of working examples
The instant disclosure does not provide any examples of the instantly claimed augmented peptides treating or preventing any disease or condition, treating or preventing a cancer related ailment, improving longevity immunomodulation, treating or preventing a weight ailment, or treating or preventing cancer. Additionally, the disclosure does not provide any guidance or direction regarding how an ordinarily skilled artisan would be able to reasonably predict which diseases or conditions, cancer related ailments, longevity immunomodulations, weight ailments, or cancer could be treated with the specifically claimed augmented peptides/methods.
The disclosure does discuss the therapeutic peptide that is within each of the claimed therapeutic peptide moieties and the known therapeutic effects of the peptide. For instance, the disclosure identifies lactoferrin peptide fragments as synthetic precision peptides that exhibit notable potential in migrating cancer. Derived from lactoferrin, these fragments showcase efficacy in modulating the immune system, inhibiting angiogenesis, and regulating cell proliferation. The iron-binding capacity of lactoferrin peptide fragments further contributes to limiting iron availability, a critical factor for cancer cell growth. Emerging evidence suggests that these synthetic peptides may not only demonstrate anticancer properties but also enhance the effectiveness of certain cancer treatments while minimizing associated side effects (page 34, [0108]).
In this case, the disclosure does identify that peptide fragments of lactoferrin can be used in methods of treating cancer; however, the disclosure does not identify what peptide fragments of lactoferrin are capable of treating cancer. The instant specification identifies PEG-Lactoferrin-CPP-TPP on page 45, [0135], Table 3, rows 1-2 as including the following:
The peptide sequences MKLVFLVLLFLGAL and MKLKFLKLLKLGAL, which are also recited in instant claims 2 and 3, are peptide fragments/modified peptide fragments of lactoferrin. However, there is no demonstration in the disclosure regarding what disease or condition, cancer related ailment, or cancer these peptide fragments would be capable of treating, if any.
Similar issue is noted for other therapeutic peptide moieties claimed including at least PEG-cyclin-dependent kinase inhibitory peptide (CKI), PEG-Somatostatin Potentiating Peptide (SPP), PEG-FGF21-FG, PEG-Cerebro-FG, PEG-dihexa, PEG-anti-galectin-3-PC, and PEG-IL-10-FG, all of which include peptide fragments that are not demonstrated as being capable of treating a disease or condition, cancer related ailment, cancer, a weight related ailment, or providing longevity of immunomodulation.
Other claimed peptides, for example, bombesin, are recognized in the disclosure as being used in imaging and as a targeting peptide, not a therapeutic peptide that can be used to treat a cancer related ailment. For example, pages 39-40, [0126]) of the instant specification discloses that bombesin has demonstrated potential benefits in cancer research, particularly in the realm of diagnostic imaging and targeted therapy. Due to its high affinity for bombesin receptors, which are overexpressed in various cancer types, bombesin peptide can be utilized as a molecular probe in imaging techniques enabling for the precise visualization and detection of tumors, aiding in early diagnosis and accurate staging. Moreover, bombesin peptide analogs have been explored for their therapeutic potential, acting as targeted agents to deliver anticancer drugs specifically to cancer cells that express bombesin receptors. Based on these teachings, bombesin peptide is used in diagnostics and as a targeting molecule for targeted delivery of anticancer drugs to cancer cells that express bombesin receptors. The disclosure does not demonstrate or disclose what aspect of a cancer related ailment or cancer could be treated with the Bombesin-TPP or PEG-Bombesin-TPP as claimed.
Furthermore, with regards to prevention, the disclosure does not identify a method that could be used to identify that a subject would predictably develop a disease or condition, cancer related ailment, weight ailment or cancer in order to establish that such a disease or condition was prevented using the claimed augmented peptides/methods.
The state of the prior art / the level of predictability in the art
The prior art does not provide predictability regarding the entire scope of claimed therapeutic peptides enabling their use in the treatment of a disease or condition, cancer related ailment, weight ailment or cancer.
For instance, with regards to the therapeutic peptide moieties claimed as Lactoferrin-CPP-TPP and PEG-Lactoferrin-CPP-TPP, shown in the specification on page 45, [0135], Table 3, rows 1-2, the prior art indicates that the peptides MKLVFLVLLFLGAL and MKLKFLKLLKLGAL are fragments/modified fragments of lactoferrin, specifically, from or derived from the lactoferrin promoter. For example, Teng, C.T., et al (1992) Differential molecular mechanism of the estrogen action that regulates lactoferrin gene in human and mouse Mol. Endo 6(11); 1969-1981 isolated the 5’-flanking region of the human lactoferrin gene for sequencing. Teng teaches that lactoferrin is a nonheme iron-binding glycoprotein found in various tissues, wet surface mucosa, and biological fluids. Lactoferrin appears to be a multifunctional protein stimulating growth and transporting iron through the specific receptor of infant intestine, modulating the immunosystem, and inhibiting bacteria (page 1969, right column, paragraph 1). At the time, however, little was known about the regulation of lactoferrin expression at a transcriptional level. Teng, therefore, sought to define and characterize the regulatory elements of the gene (page 1970, left column, paragraph 1). Fig. 3 shows a comparison of the human and mouse lactoferrin promoter and corresponding amino acid sequences, and the first exon is boxed with corresponding amino acid sequences indicated on the top and bottom (page 1973). In the figure, the first exon of the promoter is identified as MKLVFLVLLFLGALG, which is identical to the lactoferrin sequence in the instantly claimed Lactoferrin-CPP-TPP and PEG-Lactoferrin-CPP-TPP, sequence 1.
While both the instant specification and Teng acknowledge lactoferrin’s role in the immune system and in iron binding, neither the disclosure nor the teachings of Teng demonstrate or suggest how one of ordinary skill in the art could use the specifically claimed fragment of lactoferrin to treat a disease or condition, cancer related ailment, weight ailment or cancer. This is particularly the case as the sequence is part of the regulatory element of lactoferrin, specifically the promoter, which would not reasonably be expected to have therapeutic properties.
Similar issue is noted for other therapeutic peptide moieties claimed including at least PEG-cyclin-dependent kinase inhibitory peptide (CKI), PEG-Somatostatin Potentiating Peptide (SPP), PEG-FGF21-FG, PEG-Cerebro-FG, PEG-dihexa, PEG-anti-galectin-3-PC, and PEG-IL-10-FG, all of which include peptide fragments which are not art recognized as being capable of treating a disease or condition, cancer related ailment, cancer, a weight related ailment, or providing longevity of immunomodulation.
With regards to prevention, there are no art recognized methods that can be used to predictably determine that cancer onset, or related ailments thereof, were prevented using claimed method or to identify patients who would predictably develop cancer in order to predictably identify that prevention was achieved using therapeutic approaches. Rather, the state of the art indicates that cancer development was not predictable and also acknowledges limitations of using therapeutics as preventative measures.
For instance, Fink, H., et al (2026) Global and regional cancer burden attributable to modifiable risk factors to inform prevention Nature Medicine 32; 1306-1315, published approximately 2 years after the effective filing date of the claimed invention, demonstrates that cancer onset was unpredictable. Fink teaches that cancer remains a leading cause of morbidity and mortality worldwide with 20 million new cases and 9.7 million deaths in 2022 (page 1306, left column, paragraph 1). Modifiable risk factors, including behavioral, environmental, occupational exposures, and infectious agents, account for a significant proportion of the global cancer burden. According to the most recent global burden of disease (GBD) study, approximately 44% of global cancer deaths are attributed to modifiable risk factors, however, this estimate does not include infectious agents, which are also important contributors to cancer risk (paragraph bridging columns, page 1306).
Fink teaches risk factors including tobacco, smoking, alcohol consumption, high body mass index (BMI), insufficient physical activity, smokeless tobacco, and areca nut, suboptimal breast feeding, air pollution, ultraviolet radiation (UVR), infections, and occupational exposures (page 1307, left column, paragraph 2). Out of 18.7 million cancer cases diagnosed in 2022, approximately 7.1 million (37.8%) were attributed to modifiable risk factors globally across both sexes combined. The burden differed substantially by sex: 2.7 million (29.7% of 9.2 million) new cancer cases in women were caused by modifiable risk factors compared to 4.3 million (45.4% of 9.6 million) new cancer cases in men (page 1307, left column, paragraph 3). Fink also teaches that regional variations were also observed (page 1307).
Fink also acknowledges that there is heterogeneity arising from genetic, environmental, and sociocultural factors and that exposure clusters within individuals and cumulative and potentially synergistic effects over time can impact risk. Fink teaches that combined risk associated with co-occurring exposure contributes to risk. Fink also teaches that some relevant determinants were also excluded in the study such as dietary carcinogens, synthetic hormones, and pesticides (page 1313, right column, paragraph 1) .
The teachings of Fink demonstrate that, while risk factors for the development of cancer were generally known, there was no specific known cause of cancer. Such teachings suggest that there is, and was, no known method to predictably determine that cancer would have developed in order to establish that it was prevented.
Cuzick, J. (2017) Preventive therapy for cancer Lancet Oncol 18; e472- e482 teaches the use of therapeutic preventative measures in addition to weight control and physical activity, such as low-dose aspirin for adults without the risk of hypertension or gastrointestinal bleeding, universal HPV vaccination, and other therapies such as anti-oestrogen drugs for breast cancer prevention targeting high-risks groups to “maintain a favorable benefit-risk ratio” (abstract). While Cuzick is identifying therapeutic regimens to prevent cancer, Cuzick also teaches “the balance of risks and benefits is inherently more challenging for preventative than for therapeutic interventions. Only a small fraction of the apparently healthy people who receive a preventative treatment would ultimately develop the specific type of cancer being targeted. Moreover, the absence of the cancer is not quantifiable at an individual level, whereas all those treated will incur a risk of side-effects which are identifiable on an individual basis” (page e472, left column, paragraph 2).
Cuzick demonstrates that the prevention of cancer is not predictable and that numerous factors contribute to the development of cancer. Additionally, Cuzick teaches difficulties in preventing cancer with therapeutic methods and specifically states that the absence of cancer is not quantifiable on an individual level, a statement which demonstrates that the determination of whether or not cancer was prevented is unpredictable.
DeCensi, A., et al (2015) Barriers to preventative therapy for breast and other major cancers and strategies to improve uptake ecancer 9(595); 1-12 teaches that the global cancer burden continues to rise but the utilization of preventative therapy has been poor due to various barriers. DeCensi teaches barriers such as the lack of physician and patient awareness, fear of side effects, and licensing and indemnity issues. DeCensi provides a review discussing the barriers and proposes strategies to overcome them including improving awareness and countering prejudices by highlighting the important differences between preventative therapy and cancer treatment. DeCensi further teaches that future research to improve therapeutic cancer prevention needs to include improvements in the prediction of benefits and harms and improvements in safety profiles of existing agents by experimentation with dose (abstract). DeCensi teaches that for preventative therapy, we cannot identify individuals whose cancer was prevented or risk was substantially reduced because of the lack of measurable biomarkers of efficacy that currently exist for other diseases such as cardiovascular diseases, prevention of diabetes complications or osteoporotic bone fractures. Therefore, from that person’s point of view, they either took medication unnecessarily or, in the worst-case scenario, unnecessarily suffered the adverse effects of such therapy (page 2, paragraph 1).
The teachings of DeCensi demonstrate that, while preventative therapies could be beneficial if various barriers are overcome, there was no method known that could be used to identify individuals whose cancer was prevented because of the lack of measurable biomarkers.
The teachings of Fink, Cuzick, and DeCensi demonstrate that there was no art recognized method of determining whether a patient would predictably develop cancer and, therefore, there is no predictable way to determine that cancer was prevented using the claimed method.
Similarly, with regards to weight related ailments, Taieb, A.B., et al (2022) Understanding the risk of developing weight-related complications associated with different body mass index categories: a systematic review Diabetology & Metabolic Syndrome 14(186); 1-21 teaches that there is limited systematic evaluation of risk equations that predict the likelihood of developing an obesity or overweight associated complications. Taieb provides a systemic literature review aimed to identify studies reporting equations that calculate risk for individuals with obesity, or overweight with a weigh-related complication, of developing additional complications, namely T2D, CV disease, acute coronary syndrome, stroke, musculoskeletal disorders, knee replacement/arthroplasty, or obstructive sleep apnea, and absolute or proportional risk for individuals with severe obesity, obesity or obesity related complications developing T2D, a CV event or mortality from knee surgery, stroke, or an acute CV event (abstract, background).
Taieb teaches that risk factors and relevant risk predictors for predicting the likelihood of a person with or without a pre-existing condition developing an associated obesity related complication includes lifestyle, e.g., smoking and exercise; socioeconomic, e.g., income and education; phenotypic, e.g., BMI and sex; endotypic, e.g., hypertension and insulin sensitivity; as well as health and disease related, e.g., diabetes and heart attack (page 2, right column, paragraph 3).
Taieb further teaches that it is important to validate risk equations in external cohorts to assess their usability in different populations and regions. Otherwise, potential problems arise when developing multivariable risk prediction models, including overestimating performance and overfitting, meaning that the equations performance cannot be applied to external data cohorts not used to derive the models. Beyond this, prior publications have acknowledged that, even though many risk prediction tools have been developed, for T2D for example, relatively few validated risk scoring systems have been demonstrated in real-world applications (paragraph bridging columns, page 16).
The teachings of Taieb demonstrate that, while there are some known risk factors identified for the prediction of weight related ailments and complications, there is no art recognized method that could be used to predictably identify that a subject would have developed a weight related ailment in the absence of the claimed augmented peptides/methods in order to establish that the ailment was prevented.
The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure
As there is no predictable means to identify which diseases or conditions, cancer related ailments, cancer, or weight related ailments could be treated with the claimed augmented peptides/methods, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have to undergo undue experimentation in order to use the peptides/methods as claimed. This is particularly the case as the art does not provide predictability concerning what fragments of known therapeutics could be used while still accomplishing disease treatment.
Additionally, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have to undergo undue experimentation in order to identify a method that could be used to predictably identify subjects who would have developed a disease or condition, cancer related ailment, weight ailment, or cancer, in order to identify that the claimed augmented peptides/methods resulted in the prevention of the condition with the real possibility that no such method could be found.
In view of the Wands factors discussed above, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have to engage in undue experimentation to practice the full scope of the claimed invention. As such, the instant claims were determined to not meet the scope of enablement requirement of 35 USC 112(a).
Written Description
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Instant claims 1-11 are drawn to augmented peptides and compositions thereof wherein the augmented peptides are configured to treat an aspect of a cancer related ailment, configured to improve longevity of immunomodulation, treat weight ailment, or treat cancer.
Claims 12-20 are drawn to a method of treating a disease or condition in a subject using an augmented peptide composition comprising the steps of receiving integrated multiomic and immunophenotypic data associated with an individual; identifying a therapeutic peptide moiety as a function of the integrated data using multiomic and immune modeling; conjugating the therapeutic peptide moiety to a PEG moiety to form an augmented peptide; conjugating at least a linker to the augmented peptide to link at least two molecular entities; and administering an effective amount of the augmented peptide composition to the individual. Instant claim 13 encompasses the method of claim 12 and further limits the administration of the effective amount of the composition to comprising intramuscular injection according to a regimen comprising three injections per week for a period of 12 weeks followed by a 3-week clinical pause.
Instant claims 1-11 are drawn to a genus of augmented peptides claimed as being configured to have the function of treating any aspect of any cancer related ailment, improvement of longevity of any immunomodulation, treating any weight related ailment, and treating any cancer.
Claim 12 encompasses a genus of peptides identified and conjugated according to the claimed method administered for the treatment of any disease or condition in a subject.
Neither the disclosure nor the prior art provide a representative number of species to demonstrate possession of the entire scope of the instantly claimed genus nor does the disclosure or prior art provide a structure-function correlation that would allow for the identification of what augmented peptides of the claimed genus would be capable of treating what disease or condition and under what configuration.
MPEP 2163 II.A.3.(a).ii states “The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice (see i)(A) above), reduction to drawings (see i)(B) above), or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the inventor was in possession of the claimed genus… '[T]he purpose of the written description requirement is to ensure that the scope of the right to exclude, as set forth in the claims, does not overreach the scope of the inventor's contribution to the field of art as described in the patent specification.'”
The MPEP section further states “A "representative number of species" means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. See AbbVie Deutschland GmbH & Co., KG v. Janssen Biotech, Inc., 759 F.3d 1285, 1300, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2014).”
The MPEP section further states “The Federal Circuit has explained that a specification cannot always support expansive claim language and satisfy the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112 "merely by clearly describing one embodiment of the thing claimed." LizardTech v. Earth Resource Mapping, Inc., 424 F.3d 1336, 1346, 76 USPQ2d 1731, 1733 (Fed. Cir. 2005). The issue is whether a person skilled in the art would understand inventor to have invented, and been in possession of, the invention as broadly claimed.”
As discussed in the scope of enablement rejection above, the instant disclosure does not provide any examples of augmented peptides treating or preventing any disease or condition, treating or preventing a cancer related ailment, improving longevity immunomodulation, treating or preventing a weight ailment, or treating or preventing cancer. Additionally, the disclosure does not provide any guidance or direction regarding how an ordinarily skilled artisan would be able to reasonably predict which diseases or conditions, cancer related ailments, longevity immunomodulations, weight ailments, or cancer could be treated with the claimed augmented peptides/methods.
With regards to the augmented peptides recited in instant claims 1-3, 8-10, and 17-19, the disclosure does discuss the therapeutic peptide that is associated with each of the claimed therapeutic peptide moieties and the known therapeutic effects of the peptide, however, as discussed above, not all of the recited augmented peptide sequences comprise a full therapeutic peptide. The disclosure does not provide any guidance regarding the recited augmented peptide sequences, particularly those that are not demonstrated as being therapeutic, and how they could be configured to treat, or used in a method to treat, the genus of recited diseases or disorders, or ailments thereof.
The therapeutic peptide moieties recited in the instant disclosure comprising a full length therapeutic, used to treat disclosed or art recognized diseases or conditions, represent the species that applicant was in possession of at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
These species, however, are not a representative number of the entire scope of the instantly claimed genus which in claims 1-11 encompasses partial or non-therapeutic peptides configured to treat any aspect of any cancer related ailment, improvement of longevity of any immunomodulation, treating any weight related ailment, and treating any cancer.
These species are also not representative of the entire genus encompassed by the method of claim 12 in which any therapeutic peptide identified with the method claimed is conjugated to a PEG moiety and used to treat any disease or condition in a subject.
The disclosure also does not provide a structure-function correlation that would allow an ordinarily skilled artisan to identify which augmented peptides, configured in what way, would be capable of performing the entire scope of the claimed functions.
The prior art also does not provide a representative number of species of the claimed genus, but rather suggests that augmented therapeutics are not always predictable and demonstrates the scope of the claimed genus.
For instance, Amin, M., et al (2022) Increased target area in tumors by Dual-ligand modification of liposomes with RGD and TAT petpides Pharmaceutics 14(458); 1-24 studied whether cellular delivery of chemotherapy liposomes could be enhanced to reach a bigger area of a tumor by decorating the liposome with two ligands: one for targeting tumor vasculature via a cyclic pentapeptide containing arginine-glycine-aspartic acid (RGD), which impacts tumor independent of passive accumulation inside tumors, and one for extravascular targeting of tumor cells via a cell-penetrating peptide derived from HIV type 1 transactivator of transcription (TAT). Liposomes with different ligand combinations were prepared and compared with respect to performance in targeting (abstract). Amin teaches that the study reveals that, TAT-modified liposomes exhibited predictable tumor targeting, although mainly to cells inside the tumor interstitium. RGD-modified liposomes were able to target both tumor vasculature and cells inside of the tumor, but heterogeneously and therefore in a less predictable nature. The addition of TAT-peptides to RGD-modified liposomes not only resulted in the homogenous cellular association of liposomes inside of the tumor but, unexpectedly, also improved vascular targeting and together increased the targeted area. As a consequence, these peptide modified liposomes showed enhanced therapeutic efficacy against B16 tumor models. However, both of the studied dual-modified preparations exhibited poor pharmacokinetics, making the formulations less reliable candidates for the delivery of cytotoxic agents to solid tumors. Amin also teaches that, although a significant indication of side effects when monitoring animal weights after injection were not seen, the accumulation of the therapeutic in organs such as the liver and spleen may also lead to detrimental side effects. Amin concludes that given the enhanced vascular interaction, the combination targeting could be a great candidate for vascular delivery of nontoxic payloads or contrast agents for therapeutic or diagnostic purposes. Amin also states that more studies on optimizing ligand density or using other vascular specific ligands that do not provoke RES uptake may improve or result in more favorable pharmacokinetics for targeting a tumor (paragraph bridging pages 20-21).
The teachings of Amin demonstrate that augmenting therapeutics is not predictable and, even if therapeutic efficacy is increased, issues with pharmacokinetics and side effects can limit therapeutic potential.
The prior art also suggests that even PEGylation modification is not fully predictable.
For instance, Alta Biosciences (2026) Peptide Pegylation: enhancing therapeutic potential; 1-15; accessed from https://altabioscience.com/articles/peptide-pegylation-enhancing-therapeutic-performance/ on 10/13/2026; WayBack Machine date of 02/15/2026 teaches that peptides are highly selective and potent biomolecules capable of modulating specific biological pathways with remarkable precision and minimal toxicity (page 2, paragraph 1). Advances in structural biology and analytical techniques, including high resolution mass spectrometry and protein sequencing, combined with modern solid phase peptide synthesis, have enabled the efficient production of bioactive peptides for research and therapeutic applications. Furthermore, rational peptide design through modification of native sequences or the creation of de novo peptide mimetics has significantly expanded the repertoire of peptides with potential clinical utility (page 2, paragraph 2). Despite their promise, unmodified peptides face challenges such as: rapid enzymatic degradation and poor bioavailability, and rapid clearance (page 2, paragraphs 3-5).
Alta teaches that structural modifications, such as peptide cyclisation or peptide conjugation with PEG have been used to address these limitations and improve their pharmacological profiles (page 2, last paragraph). Alta teaches that PEGylation has benefits such as shielding and stability, extended circulation, and increased solubility and reduced aggregation (pages 3-4). Alta also teaches that the performance of PEG-peptides depends on several interrelated factors, each influencing pharmacokinetics, stability, and biological activity of the peptides (page 8, paragraph 2). The molecular weight and structure of the PEG is disclosed as being the primary determinant of the pharmacokinetic and pharmacodynamic profile, influencing renal clearance, tissue distribution, and circulation half-life. Low molecular weight PEGs are generally well absorbed and efficiently excreted while higher molecular weight PEGs show reduced renal clearance and can accumulate in tissues after repeated dosing. PEGs in the 1-40 kDa range have been widely used in PEGylated therapeutics with acceptable safety profiles at relevant doses, although ongoing work continues to examine long term accumulation (page 8, paragraph 3). The number of chains conjugated to the peptide also significantly affects pharmacokinetics (paragraph bridging pages 8-9) as well as the site of attachment (page 9, paragraph 3). Alta teaches that the location of the PEG attachment is one of the most critical factors for maintaining activity. PEGylation near or within the peptide’s binding domain can reduce affinity for its target diminishing efficacy (page 9, paragraph 3).
Alta demonstrates that, while PEGylation can improve therapeutic potential of peptides, various factors influence whether PEGylation will be effective or detrimental.
The prior art also demonstrates the vast scope of the method recited in claim 12 in which any disease or condition is treated with any augmented peptide according to the method recited.
For instance, Wang, L., et al (2022) Therapeutic peptides: current applications and future directions Signal transduction and targeted therapy 7(48); 1-27 teaches that therapeutic peptides are a unique class of pharmaceutical agents composed of a series of well-ordered amino acids, usually with molecular weights of 500-5000 Da. Since the synthesis of the first therapeutic peptide, insulin, in 1921, remarkable achievements have been made resulting in the approval of more than 80 peptide drugs worldwide (page 1, left column, paragraph 1). Wang provides information concerning the approved peptide drugs which include indications such as type 2 diabetes, short bowl syndrome and malabsorption, IBS with constipation and chronic idiopathic constipation, solid and hematological cancers, erectile dysfunction, delaying pre-term birth, postpartum hemorrhage, spinocerebellar degeneration, osteoporosis, heart failure, sepsis and septic shock, angioedema, HIV, chronic pain, chronic immune thrombocytopenic purpura, anemia associated with chronic kidney disease, respiratory distress syndrome, hyperparathyroidism, Cushing’s disease, and chronic weight management (page 2, Table 1). Wang also provides a review regarding peptides in clinical trial with indications such as hypoglycemia, migraines, brain swelling and neoplasms, obesity, liver cirrhosis, sepsis, diabetic foot ulcers, growth hormone deficiency, cachexia, cancer, diabetes, dry eye syndrome, gastric varices, achondroplasia, peripheral blood cell abnormalities, heart failure, and metabolic disease (page 3, Table 2). Wang teaches that peptides have drawbacks compared to small molecules and biologics including low stability, short half-life, and low membrane permeability (page 3, Fig. 2).
The art also establishes that regimens, such as that recited in claim 13, and treatment methods are drug and disease specific.
For instance, Basicmedical key (2016) Chapter 1 Therapeutic Relevance Clinical Setting, pages 1-5 obtained from https://basicmedicalkey.com/therapeutic-relevance/ on 09/18/2026 teaches that patients who suffer from chronic ailments, such as diabetes and epilepsy, may have to take drugs every day for the rest of their lives. At the other extreme are those who take a single dose of drug to relieve an occasional headache. The duration of drug therapy is usually between these extremes. Both the duration of drug therapy and the dosage regimen depend on the therapeutic objective, which may be cure, mitigation, or prevention of diseases or conditions suffered by patients. Because all drugs exhibit some undesirable effects, successful drug therapy is achieved by optimally balancing desirable and undesirable effects. To achieve optimal therapy, the appropriate “drug of choice” must first be selected, implying an accurate diagnosis of the disease or condition, a knowledge of the clinical state of the patient, and a sound understanding of the pharmacotherapeutic management of the disease (page 2, paragraph 1). Basicmedical Key further teaches that to achieve and maintain a response, it is necessary to ensure the generation of an appropriate exposure-time profile of a drug within the body, which in turn requires an understanding of the factors controlling this exposure profile. These ideas are summarized in Figs. 1 and 2, where the input response relationship is divided into pharmacokinetic phase and a pharmacodynamic phase. The pharmacokinetic phase covers the relationship between drug input, which comprises adjustable factors such as dose, dosage form, frequency, and route of administration, and the concentration achieved with time. The pharmacodynamic phase covers relationships between concentration and effects produced with time. Additionally, sometimes the metabolites of drugs formed within the body have activity and also need to be taken into account when relating drug administration responses (paragraph bridging pages 2-3).
The teachings of Basicmedical Key demonstrate that administration regimen for a therapeutic, including route of administration and frequency of administration, is therapy specific and based on the pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics of the specific drug. The teachings of Basicmedical Key suggest that with each therapeutic, the frequency of administration and route can also vary based on the disease or condition that is being treated.
Thoer, H. (2023) Factors influencing drug dosage is a significant part of pharmaceutical management J. Basic Clin Pharma 14(5); 309-310 teaches that drug dosage, or the quantity and frequency of a drug to be administered, is a fundamental aspect of medication management in healthcare. Accurate dosing is essential to ensure the safety and efficacy of treatments while minimizing the risk of adverse effects. Thoer discusses the significance of proper drug dosage, factors influencing it, different dosing regimens, and the critical role it plays in healthcare (page 2, Description). Thoer teaches that proper drug dosage affects the efficacy of the drug, patient safety, treatment success, and cost-effective care. Factors influencing drug dosage include patient characteristics; drug characteristics such as potency, bioavailability, half-life, and the route of administration; disease severity; drug-drug interactions; and genetic variability (pages 2-4). Thoer concludes that proper drug dosage is a critical element of healthcare and directly influences the safety and efficacy of treatments. Healthcare providers, in collaboration with pharmacists, must carefully consider patient characteristics, disease factors, and drug properties when determining the appropriate dosage (page 4, last paragraph).
Like Basicmedical key, the teachings of Thoer also demonstrate that the dosage route and frequency of administration is therapeutic and disease specific and depends on drug characteristics including potency, bioavailability, and half-life.
Neither the disclosure nor the prior art provide a representative number of species of the instantly claimed genus nor does the disclosure or the prior art provide a structure-function correlation that would allow an ordinarily skilled artisan to predictably identify which PEG-conjugated augmented peptides could be configured or administered according to the instant claims resulting in the claimed treatments. Rather, the prior art suggests that peptide configuration and treatment is therapeutic and disease/condition specific. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would not recognize that applicant was in possession of the full scope of the instantly claimed genus and the claim is identified as not meeting the written description requirement of 35 USC 112(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021/188743 A2 (Khan, S. S., et al) 23 Sept 2021 in view of Pfeil, J., et al (2020) Tolerogenic immunomodulation by PEGylated antigenic peptides Frontiers in Immunology 11(529035); 1-17 and Backlund, C.M., et al (2022) Cell-penetrating peptides enhance peptide vaccine accumulation and persistence in lymph nodes to drive immunogenicity PNAS 119(32), e2204078119; 1-11.
WO’743 teaches a precision based immunomolecular augmentation (PBIMA) computerized method for designing and treating a patient with a customized peptide vaccine comprising:
Receiving a data input of patient data comprising one or more of a patient transcriptomics data and patient proteomics data;
Computing a precision data output of a vaccine composition comprising a plurality of peptide sequences encoding self-antigens and/or neoantigens specific to a patient’s profile and able to elicit an effective therapeutic response against a patient disease;
Computing a CRISPR prime editing and an intracellular multi-core processing on the vaccine composition to produce a DNA-RNA and epigenetic modulation plurality of immunopeptide sequences;
Conducting an immunopeptide synthesis and manufacturing of the vaccine composition;
Conducting the delivery of the vaccine composition to a patient’s clinician or institution, and administering the vaccine composition to the patient; and
Wherein the patient has been diagnosed with, genetically predisposed to, a cancer, an autoimmune disease, a neurodegenerative disease, and/or a pathogenic infectious disease (page 30, claim 1).
WO’743 further teaches that the data analysis step further comprises one or more of: high-affinity profiling, matching and selecting of the plurality of peptide sequences based on a patient’s immune compatibility, immune-editing ability, and adaptation process (system reproducibility) for the treatment of a specific disease (page 31, claim 5). WO’743 teaches the method further comprises programmed immunogenetic adaptation knowledge for the patient’s evolutionary regenerative adaptation or disease-free survival (page 31, claim 4).
WO’743 further teaches that the method, system, and peptide vaccine compositions comprise high specificity patient profiling that requires a Cloud-based API system that uses immune-molecular biological pathways and HLA affinity mapping, prediction, and ranking obtained from a patient’s genomics and proteomics data for personalized vaccine (page 11, [0054]).
WO’743 provides Fig. 2 as a diagram illustrating an exemplary embodiment of a PBIMA design technology consistent with the computational pipeline for PBIMA design (page 8, [0037]). Fig. 2 of WO’743 is provided below for convenience.
As shown in Fig. 2, and discussed above, the methods disclosed by WO’743 use a combination of integrated multiomic and immunophenotyping data input from patient transcriptomics and proteomics data such as blood whole exome sequencing (WES), tumor WES, Tumor RNA, and urine proteomics, as well as susceptibility analysis, peptide sequence editing & optimization, effectiveness ranking and safety & producibility assessment.
WO’743 further teaches that the method is used in treating a disease in a patient comprising one or more of cancer, autoimmune disease inflammation, neurodegenerative disease, and pathogen related infections (pages 6-7, [0025]).
WO’743 also teaches that, in addition to vaccine design, the methods can also be used for personalized therapy design, peptide-based checkpoint inhibitor design, peptide diagnostic tool design, health diagnostics, and digital health services (page 1, [0003]). WO’743 teaches that PBIMA can also predict “best fit” drug therapy and nutritional supplements (page 12, [0057]).
WO’743, however, does not disclose that the peptides identified with the method are conjugated to a PEG moiety to form an augmented peptide and conjugating at least a linker agent to the augmented peptide to link at least two molecular entities.
Pfeil teaches that coupling therapeutic proteins to the synthetic polymer, polyethylene glycol (PEG) is already widely applied for the optimization of biologics. PEG is a synthetic polymer composed of repetitive ethylene oxide subunits, either in a linear form or as branched polymers. The covalent attachment of PEG (PEGylation) improves the pharmacokinetic and pharmacodynamic profile of biomolecules by increasing serum half-life. As PEG entangles around the peptide/protein surface and forms hydrogen bonds with the encircling water molecules, additional effects such as increased solubility of the conjugates, improved resistances to proteolysis, or reduced immunogenicity of the biomolecules can be observed. Pfeil studied whether coupling of antigenic peptides to nano-sized PEG would improve efficacy and safety of vaccination. Pfeil teaches that numerous pegylated biomolecules have already been approved by the FDA and the EMA for human use as ingredients in foods, cosmetics, and pharmaceuticals including topical, parenteral, and nasal formulations (paragraph bridging columns, page 2).
Pfeil teaches that, in studies with OVA-models for use as tolerogenic vaccines, vaccination with PEG-conjugated peptides was significantly more effective in inducing antigen-specific Tregs and less prone to adverse activation effects on the effector side than vaccination with free peptide (page 15, left column, paragraph 2).
Backlund teaches that peptide-based cancer vaccines are widely investigated in the clinic but exhibit modest immunogenicity. One approach that has been explored to enhance peptide vaccine potency is covalent conjugation of antigens with cell penetrating peptides (CPPs), linear cationic and amphiphilic peptide sequences designed to promote intracellular delivery of associated cargos. Antigen-CPPs have been reported to exhibit enhanced immunogenicity compared to free peptides, but their mechanisms of action in vivo are poorly understood. Backlund studied eight previously described CPPs conjugated to antigens from multiple syngeneic murine tumor models and found that linkage to CPPs enhanced peptide vaccine potency in vivo by as much as 25-fold. Additionally, linkage of antigens to CPPs did not impact dendritic cell activation but did promote uptake of linked antigens by dendritic cells both in vitro and in vivo. It was also observed that CPPs significantly enhanced antigen accumulation in the draining lymph nodes. This effect was associated with the ability of the CPPs to bind to lymph-trafficking lipoproteins and protection of CPP-antigens from proteolytic degradation in serum. These two effects resulted in prolonged presentation of CPP-peptides in draining lymph nodes, leading to robust T cell priming and expansion. Thus, CPPs can act through multiple unappreciated mechanisms to enhance T cell priming that can be exploited for cancer vaccines with enhanced potency (abstract).
Backlund studied several CPPs that have been reported to augment peptide vaccines including pAntp, TAT, Arg8, and MPG as well as CPPs Bpep, DPV6, pVEC, and TP10. Each CPP was conjugated via copper(I)-catilized click chemistry to the C-terminus of an 18-mer-long peptide (page 2, paragraph bridging columns; page 3, Fig. 1).
Backlund also studied whether linkage chemistry or construct orientation impacted the T cell response by testing variations of the antigen-CPP design. In the studies, Backlund used triazole linker click chemistry or the use of a single continues sequence linked by a standard peptide bond (page 2, right column, paragraph 3-4; Fig. 1G.). Backlund reports that all three antigen-CPP designs were substantially more immunogenic than free peptides with no significant difference between linker placement or chemistry (page 2, right column, paragraph 4; Fig. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the therapeutic peptides in the methods disclosed by WO’743 by conjugating the peptides to a PEG moiety as taught by Pfeil and to further conjugate a CPP to the peptide using a linker to link the peptide and the CPP as taught by Backlund.
An ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to conjugate PEG moiety to the peptide as Pfeil teaches that covalent attachment of PEG improves the pharmacokinetic and pharmacodynamic profiles of biomolecules by increasing serum half-life. Additionally, Pfeil demonstrates that PEG conjugated vaccine peptides have better efficacy than free peptides. An ordinarily skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success as WO’743 teaches methods of identifying and delivering peptide therapeutics and vaccines and Pfeil also teaches peptide therapeutics and vaccines.
An ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to further conjugate a CPP to the peptide using a linker to link the CPP to the peptide as Backlund demonstrates that antigen linkage to CPPs enhances peptide vaccine potency in vivo by as much as 25-fold. An ordinarily skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success as Backlund is also studying antigen peptides for peptide-based cancer vaccines.
Claims 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021/188743 A2(Khan, S. S., et al) 23 Sept 2021 in view of Pfeil, J., et al (2020) Tolerogenic immunomodulation by PEGylated antigenic peptides Frontiers in Immunology 11(529035); 1-17 and Backlund, C.M., et al (2022) Cell-penetrating peptides enhance peptide vaccine accumulation and persistence in lymph nodes to drive immunogenicity PNAS 119(32), e2204078119; 1-11 as applied to claim 12 above, and in further view of US 2018/0334673 A1 (Wood, M., et al) 22 Nov 2018.
The combination of WO’743, Pfeil, and Backlund teach the method of claim 12 as discussed in detail above.
The combination of applied references, however, does not disclose that the at least a linking agent comprises one or more of ahx, a cell scaffold linker, and a GCL linkage as recited in instant claim 15, or that the augmented peptide composition is provided in a lyophilized form for reconstitution prior to administration as recited in instant claim 20.
US’673 teaches that cell penetrating peptides (CPPs), sometimes referred to as membrane translocation peptides, are a class of short peptides which are capable of targeting to and/or penetrating the membrane of a cell, permitting delivery to the interior of said cell. CPPs are typically used to facilitate the cellular uptake of various molecules which are attached as cargo to a CPP by covalent or non-covalent linkage (page 3, [0053]). US’673 teaches that the cells are mammalian cells preferably a human cell (page 3, [0055]). US’673 teaches that the CPPs which may used in a molecule include TAT peptide (page 3, [0058])
US’673 further teaches that the CPP is linked to the therapeutic using a 6-aminohexanoic acid (Ahx) linker (page 3, [0060]) which it is noted is the same as the instantly claimed ω-amino hexanoic acid linker.
US’673 further teaches that the compositions can be in the form of a lyophilized material which may be reconstituted prior to administration, e g, a suspension. Reconstitution is preferably effected in buffer (page 9, [0117]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by the combination of WO’743, Pfeil, and Backlund by substituting the linker conjugating the CPP to the peptide with an ahx linker and further formulating the augmented peptide composition as a lyophilized material that is reconstituted prior to administration as taught by US’673. An ordinarily skilled artisan would have been able to substitute in the ahx linker disclosed by US’673 with a reasonable expectation of success as US’673 demonstrates that it was a known linker for use in conjugating CPP to therapeutics to enhance cell penetrating. It would have further been obvious to formulate the augmented peptide as a lyophilized material as US’673 demonstrates that such formulations were known in the art for storage and delivery of peptide therapeutics. Thus, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
Claims 4, 12 and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,887,710 in view of WO 2021/188743 A2 (Khan, S. S., et al) 23 Sept 2021, Pfeil, J., et al (2020) Tolerogenic immunomodulation by PEGylated antigenic peptides Frontiers in Immunology 11(529035); 1-17 and Backlund, C.M., et al (2022) Cell-penetrating peptides enhance peptide vaccine accumulation and persistence in lymph nodes to drive immunogenicity PNAS 119(32), e2204078119; 1-11.
US’710 claims a precision-based immunomolecular augmentation (PBIMA) computerized method for designing and treating a patient with a customized therapeutic peptides or peptide vaccine comprising steps of:
Receiving a data input by a cloud based system of patient data comprising one or more of transcriptomics data and patient urine proteomics data;
Computing a precision data output of a vaccine composition comprising a plurality of ranked peptide sequences encoding self antigens and/or neo-antigens for a CD4+/CD8+ natural killer (NK) cell modulation specific to a patient’s profile and able to elicit an effective therapeutic response against a patient disease;
Computing a CRISPR prime editing and an intracellular multi-core processing on the vaccine composition to produce a DNA-RNA epigenetic modulation plurality of immunopeptide sequences;
Conducting an immunopeptide synthesis and manufacturing of the vaccine composition;
Conducting delivery of the vaccine to a clinician or institution and administering the vaccine to a patient;
Wherein the patient has been diagnosed with and/or is genetically predisposed to one or more of a cancer, an autoimmune disease, a neurodegenerative disease, and/or a pathogenic infectious disease.
The claims of US’710 differ from the instantly claimed invention in that US’710 does not claim that the peptides identified with the method are conjugated to a PEG moiety to form an augmented peptide and conjugating at least a linker agent to the augmented peptide to link at least two molecular entities.
The teachings of WO’743, Pfeil, and Backlund are as discussed in detail above.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the therapeutic peptides in the methods claimed by US’710 by conjugating the peptides to a PEG moiety as taught by Pfeil and to further conjugate a CPP to the peptide using a linker to link the peptide to the CPP as taught by Backlund.
An ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to conjugate PEG moiety to the peptide as Pfeil teaches that covalent attachment of PEG improves the pharmacokinetic and pharmacodynamic profiles of biomolecules by increasing serum half-life. Additionally, Pfeil demonstrates that PEG conjugated vaccine peptides have better efficacy than free peptides. An ordinarily skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success as US’710 claims methods of identifying and delivering peptide therapeutics and vaccines and Pfeil also teaches peptide therapeutics and vaccines.
An ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to further conjugate a CPP to the peptide using a linker to link the CPP to the peptide as Backlund demonstrates that antigen linkage to CPPs enhances peptide vaccine potency in vivo by as much as 25-fold. An ordinarily skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success as Backlund is also studying antigen peptides for peptide-based cancer vaccines.
Claims 15 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,887,710 in view of WO 2021/188743 A2 (Khan, S. S., et al) 23 Sept 2021, Pfeil, J., et al (2020) Tolerogenic immunomodulation by PEGylated antigenic peptides Frontiers in Immunology 11(529035); 1-17 and Backlund, C.M., et al (2022) Cell-penetrating peptides enhance peptide vaccine accumulation and persistence in lymph nodes to drive immunogenicity PNAS 119(32), e2204078119; 1-11 as discussed above and in further view of US 2018/0334673 A1 (Wood, M., et al) 22 Nov 2018.
The claims of US’710 modified by WO’743, Pfeil, and Backlund teach the method of claim 12 as discussed in detail above.
The combination, however, does not disclose that the at least a linking agent comprises one or more of ahx, a cell scaffold linker, and a GCL linkage as recited in instant claim 15, or that the augmented peptide composition is provided in a lyophilized form for reconstitution prior to administration as recited in instant claim 20.
The teachings of US’673 are as discussed above.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by the combination of US’710, WO’743, Pfeil, and Backlund by substituting the linker conjugating the CPP to the peptide with an ahx linker and further formulating the augmented peptide composition as a lyophilized material that is reconstituted prior to administration as taught by US’673. An ordinarily skilled artisan would have been able to substitute in the ahx linker disclosed by US’673 with a reasonable expectation of success as US’673 demonstrates that it was a known linker for use in conjugating CPP to therapeutics to enhance cell penetrating. It would have further been obvious to formulate the augmented peptide as a lyophilized material as US’673 demonstrates that such formulations were known in the art for storage and delivery of peptide therapeutics. Thus, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/AUDREY L BUTTICE/Examiner, Art Unit 1647
/SCARLETT Y GOON/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1693