DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 9 requires “wherein the aft cowl comprises at least one deformable member … deformable member is configured to increase a size of the aft opening in the reverse thrust mode [Fig. 7]” However, in Fig. 13, both of the aft opening sizes is decreased in the reverse thrust mode from the original forward thrust position. Accordingly, applicant does not possession of this limitation either as it is contrary to what is disclosed.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 is unclear as these limitations are contrary to the disclosure regarding Fig. 13 and it unclear how the at least one deformable member is configured to increase a size of the aft opening in the reverse thrust mode when by retract[ing] the aft section radially inward relative to the forward section of the nacelle assembly necessarily decreases the size of the aft opening.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 9, 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lebeault et al (2023/0090029). Lebeault et al teach (1) A turbofan engine comprising: a variable pitch fan 500 rotatable about an axis and operable in a forward thrust mode by generating flow opposite a direction of travel and in a reverse thrust mode by generating flow in the direction of travel; a nacelle assembly 200 disposed circumferentially around the variable pitch fan 500 relative to the axis, comprising a forward section 300 and an aft section 4, defining at least in part a bypass passage 7, a forward opening of the bypass passage 7, and an aft opening 43 of the bypass passage, the nacelle assembly 200 further defining, in the reverse thrust mode, an intermediate opening 44 [Fig. 4] disposed aft of the variable pitch fan 500; a flow guide assembly, the flow guide assembly [e.g. 1, 10] configured to: guide a first fluid flow opposite the direction of travel within the bypass passage 7 from the forward opening to the aft opening 43 in the forward thrust mode; redirect a second fluid flow from outside the bypass passage opposite the direction of travel to inside the bypass passage in the direction of travel through the intermediate opening 44 [Fig. 4] in the reverse thrust mode; and retract the aft section 10 radially inward relative to the forward section 300 of the nacelle assembly [compare Figs. 6, 4B, 4A to Fig. 3B] between a first position and a second position, wherein in the first position [Fig. 3B] the forward section and the aft section are aligned, and wherein in the second position [Fig. 4] the aft section [of inner 10] is spaced radially inward from the forward section. (2) wherein the nacelle assembly comprises a fan cowl 300 defining the forward opening and an aft cowl 41, 42 defining the aft opening 43, and wherein the flow guide assembly comprises at least one flow control feature disposed on an aft end of the fan cowl. (3) wherein the at least one flow control feature comprises: a chevron; a mechanical vortex generator [10 11 inherent generate vortices]; a fluidic vortex generator; or a lip tubercle. (4) wherein the nacelle assembly comprises a fan cowl 300 defining the forward opening and an aft cowl 41, 42 defining the aft opening 43, wherein the intermediate opening 44 [Fig. 4] is positioned at least partially between the fan cowl and the aft cowl, wherein the flow guide assembly comprises at least one flow control feature disposed on a forward end of the aft cowl. (9) wherein the nacelle assembly 200 comprises a fan cowl 300 defining the forward opening and an aft cowl 41, 42 defining the aft opening 43. (10) wherein the nacelle assembly 200 comprises a fan cowl 300 defining the forward opening and an aft cowl 41, 42 defining the aft opening 43, wherein the aft cowl is fixed axially relative to the fan cowl 300. (12) wherein the nacelle assembly comprises a fan cowl 300 defining the forward opening and an aft cowl 41, 42 defining the aft opening 43, wherein an aft portion of the aft cowl is pivotable inwards in a radial direction.(13) A turbofan engine comprising: a variable pitch fan 500 rotatable about an axis and operable in a forward thrust mode by generating flow opposite a direction of travel and in a reverse thrust mode by generating flow in the direction of travel; a nacelle assembly 200 disposed circumferentially around the variable pitch fan 500 relative to the axis, comprising a forward section 300 and an aft section 4, defining at least in part a bypass passage 7, a forward opening of the bypass passage 7, and an aft opening 43 of the bypass passage, the nacelle assembly 200 further defining, in the reverse thrust mode, an intermediate opening 44 [Fig. 4] disposed aft of the variable pitch fan 500; a flow guide assembly, the flow guide assembly configured to: guide a first fluid flow opposite the direction of travel within the bypass passage 7 from the forward opening to the aft opening 43 in the forward thrust mode; redirect a second fluid flow from outside the bypass passage 7 opposite the direction of travel to inside the bypass passage in the direction of travel through the intermediate opening 44 [Fig. 4] in the reverse thrust mode; retract the aft section 10 radially inward relative to the forward section 300 of the nacelle assembly 200 [compare Figs. 6, 4B, 4A to Fig. 3B] between a first position and a second position, wherein in the first position [Fig. 3B] the forward section and the aft section are aligned, and wherein in the second position [Fig. 4] the aft section [of inner 10] is spaced radially inward from the forward section; and rotate the aft section 11 outward to operate as a scoop or air-turning member [compare Figs. 6, 4B, 4A to Fig. 3B]. (14) wherein the nacelle assembly 200 comprises a fan cowl 300 defining the forward opening and an aft cowl 41, 42 defining the aft opening 43, and wherein the flow guide assembly comprises at least one flow control feature disposed on an aft end of the fan cowl 300. (15) wherein the at least one flow control feature comprises: a chevron; a mechanical vortex generator [10, 11 inherently produce vortices]; a fluidic vortex generator; or a lip tubercle. (16) wherein the nacelle assembly comprises a fan cowl 300 defining the forward opening and an aft cowl 41, 42 defining the aft opening 43, wherein the intermediate opening 44 [Fig. 4] is positioned at least partially between the fan cowl 300 and the aft cowl 41, 42, wherein the flow guide assembly comprises at least one flow control feature 10 disposed on a forward end of the aft cowl 41, 42 [Fig. 6].
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Soligny et al (3,824,785). Soligny et al teach (1) A turbofan engine comprising: a variable pitch fan 1a rotatable about an axis and operable in a forward thrust mode by generating flow opposite a direction of travel and in a reverse thrust mode by generating flow in the direction of travel; a nacelle assembly 18 disposed circumferentially around the variable pitch fan 1a relative to the axis, comprising a forward section and an aft section, defining at least in part a bypass passage 4, a forward opening of the bypass passage 4, and an aft opening of the bypass passage 4, the nacelle assembly 18 further defining, in the reverse thrust mode, an intermediate opening 19 disposed aft of the variable pitch fan 1a; a flow guide assembly 20, the flow guide assembly 20 configured to: guide a first fluid flow opposite the direction of travel within the bypass passage 4 from the forward opening to the aft opening in the forward thrust mode; redirect a second fluid flow from outside the bypass passage 4 opposite the direction of travel to inside the bypass passage 4 in the direction of travel through the intermediate opening 19 in the reverse thrust mode; and retract 31a the aft section radially inward relative to the forward section of the nacelle assembly 18 between a first position [top of Fig. 1] and a second position [bottom of Fig. 1, Figs. 3, 4], wherein in the first position the forward section [top of Fig. 1] and the aft section are aligned, and wherein in the second position the aft section [includes 32a] is spaced radially inward from the forward section. (2) wherein the nacelle assembly 18 comprises a fan cowl defining the forward opening and an aft cowl defining the aft opening, and wherein the flow guide assembly 20 comprises at least one flow control feature disposed on an aft end of the fan cowl. (3) wherein the at least one flow control feature comprises: a chevron; a mechanical vortex generator 32 [inherent]; a fluidic vortex generator 32 [inherent]; or a lip tubercle. (4) wherein the nacelle assembly 18 comprises a fan cowl 18 defining the forward opening and an aft cowl defining the aft opening, wherein the intermediate opening 19 is positioned at least partially between the fan cowl and the aft cowl, wherein the flow guide assembly 20 comprises at least one flow control feature disposed on a forward end of the aft cowl [aftmost 31a]. (9) wherein the nacelle assembly 18 comprises a fan cowl defining the forward opening and an aft cowl defining the aft opening, wherein the aft cowl comprises at least one deformable member at least in part defining the aft opening of the bypass passage 4, wherein the at least one deformable member is configured to increase a size of the aft opening in the reverse thrust mode. (10) wherein the nacelle assembly 18 comprises a fan cowl 18 defining the forward opening and an aft cowl defining the aft opening, wherein the aft cowl is fixed axially relative to the fan cowl [Fig. 1]. (11) wherein the flow guide assembly 20 comprises at least one guide vane 32 disposed in the intermediate opening 19. (12) wherein the nacelle assembly 18 comprises a fan cowl defining the forward opening and an aft cowl defining the aft opening, wherein an aft portion of the aft cowl is pivotable inwards in a radial direction.(13) A turbofan engine comprising: a variable pitch fan 1a rotatable about an axis and operable in a forward thrust mode by generating flow opposite a direction of travel and in a reverse thrust mode by generating flow in the direction of travel; a nacelle assembly 18 disposed circumferentially around the variable pitch fan 1a relative to the axis, comprising a forward section and an aft section, defining at least in part a bypass passage 4, a forward opening of the bypass passage 4, and an aft opening of the bypass passage 4, the nacelle assembly 18 further defining, in the reverse thrust mode, an intermediate opening 19 disposed aft of the variable pitch fan 1a; a flow guide assembly 20, the flow guide assembly 20 configured to: guide a first fluid flow opposite the direction of travel within the bypass passage 4 from the forward opening to the aft opening in the forward thrust mode; redirect a second fluid flow from outside the bypass passage 4 opposite the direction of travel to inside the bypass passage 4 in the direction of travel through the intermediate opening 19 in the reverse thrust mode; retract 31a the aft section radially inward relative to the forward section of the nacelle assembly 18 between a first position [top of Fig. 1] and a second position [bottom of Fig. 1, Figs. 3, 4], wherein in the first position the forward section [top of Fig. 1] and the aft section are aligned, and wherein in the second position the aft section [includes 32a] is spaced radially inward from the forward section; and rotate the aft section 31b outward to operate as a scoop or air-turning member. (14) wherein the nacelle assembly 18 comprises a fan cowl defining the forward opening and an aft cowl defining the aft opening, and wherein the flow guide assembly comprises at least one flow control feature disposed on an aft end of the fan cowl. (15) wherein the at least one flow control feature comprises: a chevron; a mechanical vortex generator 32 [inherent]; a fluidic vortex generator 32 [inherent]; or a lip tubercle. (16) wherein the nacelle assembly 18 comprises a fan cowl defining the forward opening and an aft cowl defining the aft opening, wherein the intermediate opening 19 is positioned at least partially between the fan cowl and the aft cowl, wherein the flow guide assembly comprises at least one flow control feature disposed on a forward end of the aft cowl.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 9, 11-16 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lebeault et al (2023/0090029) in view of Balzer (5090196). Lebeault et al teach (1) A turbofan engine comprising: a variable pitch fan 500 rotatable about an axis and operable in a forward thrust mode by generating flow opposite a direction of travel and in a reverse thrust mode by generating flow in the direction of travel; a nacelle assembly 200 disposed circumferentially around the variable pitch fan 500 relative to the axis, comprising a forward section 300 and an aft section 4, defining at least in part a bypass passage 7, a forward opening of the bypass passage 7, and an aft opening 43 of the bypass passage, the nacelle assembly 200 further defining, in the reverse thrust mode, an intermediate opening 44 [Fig. 4] disposed aft of the variable pitch fan 500; a flow guide assembly, the flow guide assembly [e.g. 1, 10] configured to: guide a first fluid flow opposite the direction of travel within the bypass passage 7 from the forward opening to the aft opening 43 in the forward thrust mode; redirect a second fluid flow from outside the bypass passage opposite the direction of travel to inside the bypass passage in the direction of travel through the intermediate opening 44 [Fig. 4] in the reverse thrust mode; and retract the aft section 10 radially inward relative to the forward section 300 of the nacelle assembly [compare Figs. 6, 4B, 4A to Fig. 3B] between a first position and a second position, wherein in the first position [Fig. 3B] the forward section and the aft section are aligned, and wherein in the second position [Fig. 4] the aft section [of inner 10] is spaced radially inward from the forward section. (2) wherein the nacelle assembly comprises a fan cowl 300 defining the forward opening and an aft cowl 41, 42 defining the aft opening 43, and wherein the flow guide assembly comprises at least one flow control feature disposed on an aft end of the fan cowl. (3) wherein the at least one flow control feature comprises: a chevron; a mechanical vortex generator [10 11 inherent generate vortices]; a fluidic vortex generator; or a lip tubercle. (4) wherein the nacelle assembly comprises a fan cowl 300 defining the forward opening and an aft cowl 41, 42 defining the aft opening 43, wherein the intermediate opening 44 [Fig. 4] is positioned at least partially between the fan cowl and the aft cowl, wherein the flow guide assembly comprises at least one flow control feature disposed on a forward end of the aft cowl. (9) wherein the nacelle assembly 200 comprises a fan cowl 300 defining the forward opening and an aft cowl 41, 42 defining the aft opening 43. (10) wherein the nacelle assembly 200 comprises a fan cowl 300 defining the forward opening and an aft cowl 41, 42 defining the aft opening 43, wherein the aft cowl is fixed axially relative to the fan cowl 300. (12) wherein the nacelle assembly comprises a fan cowl 300 defining the forward opening and an aft cowl 41, 42 defining the aft opening 43, wherein an aft portion of the aft cowl is pivotable inwards in a radial direction.(13) A turbofan engine comprising: a variable pitch fan 500 rotatable about an axis and operable in a forward thrust mode by generating flow opposite a direction of travel and in a reverse thrust mode by generating flow in the direction of travel; a nacelle assembly 200 disposed circumferentially around the variable pitch fan 500 relative to the axis, comprising a forward section 300 and an aft section 4, defining at least in part a bypass passage 7, a forward opening of the bypass passage 7, and an aft opening 43 of the bypass passage, the nacelle assembly 200 further defining, in the reverse thrust mode, an intermediate opening 44 [Fig. 4] disposed aft of the variable pitch fan 500; a flow guide assembly, the flow guide assembly configured to: guide a first fluid flow opposite the direction of travel within the bypass passage 7 from the forward opening to the aft opening 43 in the forward thrust mode; redirect a second fluid flow from outside the bypass passage 7 opposite the direction of travel to inside the bypass passage in the direction of travel through the intermediate opening 44 [Fig. 4] in the reverse thrust mode; retract the aft section 10 radially inward relative to the forward section 300 of the nacelle assembly 200 [compare Figs. 6, 4B, 4A to Fig. 3B] between a first position and a second position, wherein in the first position [Fig. 3B] the forward section and the aft section are aligned, and wherein in the second position [Fig. 4] the aft section [of inner 10] is spaced radially inward from the forward section; and rotate the aft section 11 outward to operate as a scoop or air-turning member [compare Figs. 6, 4B, 4A to Fig. 3B]. (14) wherein the nacelle assembly 200 comprises a fan cowl 300 defining the forward opening and an aft cowl 41, 42 defining the aft opening 43, and wherein the flow guide assembly comprises at least one flow control feature disposed on an aft end of the fan cowl 300. (15) wherein the at least one flow control feature comprises: a chevron; a mechanical vortex generator [10, 11 inherently produce vortices]; a fluidic vortex generator; or a lip tubercle. (16) wherein the nacelle assembly comprises a fan cowl 300 defining the forward opening and an aft cowl 41, 42 defining the aft opening 43, wherein the intermediate opening 44 [Fig. 4] is positioned at least partially between the fan cowl 300 and the aft cowl 41, 42, wherein the flow guide assembly comprises at least one flow control feature 10 disposed on a forward end of the aft cowl 41, 42 [Fig. 6].Lebeault et al do not teach a fluidic vortex generator nor at least one deformable member at least in part defining the aft opening 43 of the bypass passage, wherein the at least one deformable member is configured to increase a size of the aft opening in the reverse thrust mode. Balzer teaches (1) A turbofan engine comprising: a variable pitch fan 160 rotatable about an axis and operable in a forward thrust mode by generating flow opposite a direction of travel and in a reverse thrust mode by generating flow in the direction of travel; a nacelle assembly disposed circumferentially around the variable pitch fan 160 relative to the axis, comprising a forward section 82 and an aft section 98, defining at least in part a bypass passage, a forward opening of the bypass passage, and an aft opening of the bypass passage, the nacelle assembly further defining, in the reverse thrust mode, an intermediate opening 108 disposed aft of the variable pitch fan 160; a flow guide assembly 98, the flow guide assembly 98 configured to: guide a first fluid flow opposite the direction of travel within the bypass passage from the forward opening to the aft opening in the forward thrust mode; redirect a second fluid flow from outside the bypass passage opposite the direction of travel to inside the bypass passage in the direction of travel through the intermediate opening 108 in the reverse thrust mode; and retract the aft section 98 radially inward relative to the forward section 82 of the nacelle assembly. (2) wherein the nacelle assembly comprises a fan cowl 82 defining the forward opening and an aft cowl defining the aft opening, and wherein the flow guide assembly 98 comprises at least one flow control feature 122 disposed on an aft end of the fan cowl 82. (3) wherein the at least one flow control feature comprises: a chevron; a mechanical vortex generator; a fluidic vortex generator 122; or a lip tubercle. (4) wherein the nacelle assembly comprises a fan cowl 82 defining the forward opening and an aft cowl defining the aft opening, wherein the intermediate opening 108 is positioned at least partially between the fan cowl 82 and the aft cowl, wherein the flow guide assembly 98 comprises at least one flow control feature 100 disposed on a forward end 100 of the aft cowl. (9) wherein the nacelle assembly comprises a fan cowl 82 defining the forward opening and an aft cowl defining the aft opening, wherein the aft cowl comprises at least one deformable member [Figs. 2, 10] at least in part defining the aft opening of the bypass passage, wherein the at least one deformable member is configured to increase a size of the aft opening in the reverse thrust mode.Balzer also teaches a fluidic vortex generator at least one deformable member at least in part defining the aft opening 43 of the bypass passage, wherein the at least one deformable member is configured to increase a size of the aft opening in the reverse thrust mode are all utilized to facilitate flow reversal of the variable pitch fan. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the flow guide assembly comprise one or more flow channels for generating at least one fluidic injection and make it a fluidic vortex generator as well as use at least one deformable member at least in part defining the aft opening of the bypass passage, wherein the at least one deformable member is configured to increase a size of the aft opening in the reverse thrust mode, as taught by Balzer, as these are all utilized to facilitate flow reversal of the variable pitch fan.
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balzer (5090196) in view of Teulou (8162257). Balzer teaches (1) A turbofan engine comprising: a variable pitch fan 160 rotatable about an axis and operable in a forward thrust mode by generating flow opposite a direction of travel and in a reverse thrust mode by generating flow in the direction of travel; a nacelle assembly disposed circumferentially around the variable pitch fan 160 relative to the axis, comprising a forward section 82 and an aft section 98, defining at least in part a bypass passage, a forward opening of the bypass passage, and an aft opening of the bypass passage, the nacelle assembly further defining, in the reverse thrust mode, an intermediate opening 108 disposed aft of the variable pitch fan 160; a flow guide assembly 98, the flow guide assembly 98 configured to: guide a first fluid flow opposite the direction of travel within the bypass passage from the forward opening to the aft opening in the forward thrust mode; redirect a second fluid flow from outside the bypass passage opposite the direction of travel to inside the bypass passage in the direction of travel through the intermediate opening 108 in the reverse thrust mode; and retract the aft section 98 radially inward relative to the forward section 82 of the nacelle assembly between a first position and a second position, wherein in the first position [Fig. 7] the forward section and the aft section are aligned, and wherein in the second position [Fig. 8] the aft section is spaced radially inward from the forward section [compare Fig. 8 with Fig. 7]. (2) wherein the nacelle assembly comprises a fan cowl 82 defining the forward opening and an aft cowl defining the aft opening, and wherein the flow guide assembly 98 comprises at least one flow control feature 122 disposed on an aft end of the fan cowl 82. (3) wherein the at least one flow control feature comprises: a chevron; a mechanical vortex generator; a fluidic vortex generator 122; or a lip tubercle. (4) wherein the nacelle assembly comprises a fan cowl 82 defining the forward opening and an aft cowl defining the aft opening, wherein the intermediate opening 108 is positioned at least partially between the fan cowl 82 and the aft cowl, wherein the flow guide assembly 98 comprises at least one flow control feature 100 disposed on a forward end 100 of the aft cowl. (9) wherein the nacelle assembly comprises a fan cowl 82 defining the forward opening and an aft cowl defining the aft opening, wherein the aft cowl comprises at least one deformable member [Figs. 2, 10] at least in part defining the aft opening of the bypass passage, wherein the at least one deformable member is configured to increase a size of the aft opening in the reverse thrust mode. (10) wherein the nacelle assembly comprises a fan cowl 82 defining the forward opening and an aft cowl defining the aft opening, wherein the aft cowl is fixed axially relative to the fan cowl. (11) wherein the flow guide assembly 98 comprises at least one guide vane disposed in the intermediate opening 108.(13) A turbofan engine comprising: a variable pitch fan 160 rotatable about an axis and operable in a forward thrust mode by generating flow opposite a direction of travel and in a reverse thrust mode by generating flow in the direction of travel; a nacelle assembly disposed circumferentially around the variable pitch fan 160 relative to the axis, comprising a forward section 82 and an aft section 98, defining at least in part a bypass passage, a forward opening of the bypass passage, and an aft opening of the bypass passage, the nacelle assembly further defining, in the reverse thrust mode, an intermediate opening 108 disposed aft of the variable pitch fan 160; a flow guide assembly, the flow guide assembly 98 configured to: guide a first fluid flow opposite the direction of travel within the bypass passage from the forward opening to the aft opening in the forward thrust mode; redirect a second fluid flow from outside the bypass passage opposite the direction of travel to inside the bypass passage in the direction of travel through the intermediate opening 108 in the reverse thrust mode between a first position and a second position, wherein in the first position [Fig. 7] the forward section and the aft section are aligned, and wherein in the second position [Fig. 8] the aft section is spaced radially inward from the forward section [compare Fig. 8 with Fig. 7]; and rotate the aft section 98 outward to operate as a scoop or air-turning member [Fig. 8 shows the upstream portion 100 of aft section 98 is rotated in the outward direction relative to Fig. 7]. (14) wherein the nacelle assembly comprises a fan cowl 82 defining the forward opening and an aft cowl defining the aft opening, and wherein the flow guide assembly 98 comprises at least one flow control feature disposed on an aft end of the fan cowl. (15) wherein the at least one flow control feature comprises: a chevron; a mechanical vortex generator; a fluidic vortex generator 122; or a lip tubercle. (16) wherein the nacelle assembly comprises a fan cowl 82 defining the forward opening and an aft cowl defining the aft opening, wherein the intermediate opening 108 is positioned at least partially between the fan cowl 82 and the aft cowl, wherein the flow guide assembly 98 comprises at least one flow control feature disposed on a forward end of the aft cowl. Balzer does not teach the flow guide … retract the aft section 98 radially inward relative to the forward section 82 of the nacelle assembly. Balzer does teach the flow guide 84 is translated in the aft direction. Teulou teaches the flow guide … retract the aft section radially inward relative to the forward section 82 of the nacelle assembly [compare Fig. 2A with Fig. 3 and note that the inclined actuator causes both the translation of the flow guide / aft section 2 to also be retracted radially inward [moves radially inwardly] relative to the forward section 1 of the nacelle assembly. Note this promotes more rapid area change for the bypass flow in 7 in the forward thrust mode and thus can promote a more axially compact bypass duct 7. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the flow guide … retract the aft section radially inward relative to the forward section of the nacelle assembly, as a typical arrangement of the nozzle aft section /flow guide as that promotes more rapid area change for the bypass flow and/or an axially compact bypass duct.
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over any of the prior art, as applied above, and further in view of Tindell (5713537). The prior art do not necessarily teach wherein the flow guide assembly comprises at least one guide vane disposed in the intermediate opening. Tindell teaches wherein the flow guide assembly comprises at least one guide vane [cascades] 76 disposed in the intermediate opening 70, where the guide vane facilitates turning of the flow for thrust reversal. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the flow guide assembly comprise at least one guide vane disposed in the intermediate opening, as taught by Tindell, in order to facilitate flow turning for thrust reversal.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s response concerning 35 USC 112(a) is incomplete. Note claim 9 was previously also addressed in the last paragraph of this section and maintained above. Moreover, for 35 USC 112(b), claim 11 was a typographical error for claim 9. Applicant argues for Lebeault
“In contrast to a flow guide assembly that retracts the aft section radially inward relative to the forward section of the nacelle assembly between a first position and a second position, wherein in the first position the forward section and the aft section are aligned, and wherein in the second position the aft section is spaced radially inward from the forward section as recited in amended independent claim 1, Lebeault discloses doors 10,11 that pivot between an open and closed position. Please see FIG. 4B of Lebeault. Nowhere does Lebeault disclose or suggest each and every feature of the flow guide assembly that is called for in amended independent claim 1 of the present application”
In rebuttal, the doors are regarded as part of the aft section and the door 10 is part of a flow guide assembly that retracts the aft section radially inward relative to the forward section of the nacelle assembly between a first position and a second position, wherein in the first position the forward section and the aft section are aligned, and wherein in the second position the aft section is spaced radially inward from the forward section.
Applicant also fails to address the other references which were applied. Accordingly, applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
The fax number for the organization where this application is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Ted Kim/
Telephone
571-272-4829
Primary Examiner
Fax
571-273-8300
March 18, 2026