Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the term “Y-shaped” does not appear in the specification. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: “The” (two occurrences) should not be capitalized. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. For claim 14, “the second adjustment” lacks antecedent basis. Note: the second adjustment screw should be stated here.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 6-9, 11-14, 16-18 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,295,489. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the patent claims and the application claims teach a lifting table comprising a tabletop with two track assemblies, one extending lengthwise there along more than half the length of the tabletop and having receiver sliding surfaces coupled thereto, two adjustment screws within the respective track assemblies, a first leg assembly with a Y-shape at one end, a second leg assembly, and two threaded portion receivers coupled to the respective leg assembly to receive the respective screw. Second portions of the leg assemblies are hingedly attached to the tabletop. There are motors to turn the respectively adjustment screw.
Since claims 1-3, 6-9, 11-14, 16-18 and 20 are anticipated by the claims of the patent, they are not patentably distinct therefrom. Thus, the invention of the claims of the patent is in effect a species of the generic invention of claims 1-3, 6-9, 11-14, 16-18 and 20. It has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the species, see In re Goodman 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed Cir. 1993) Since claims 1-3, 6-9, 11-14, 16-18 and 20 are anticipated (fully encompassed) by the claims of the patent, they are not patentably distinct there from, regardless of any additional subject matter present in claims.
Claims 10, 15 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,295,489. As stated above, the patent claims teach a table including two tracks on the bottom of the tabletop. For claims 10 and 15, the patent claims fails to specifically teach that the lengths of the tracks are substantially equal. However, in order for the legs to be able to move in a similar manner, equal length tracks would be beneficial. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide equal length tracks, for the advantage stated above and for ease of assembly by using identical parts.
For claim 19, although the positioning of the leg assembly relative to the tabletop is not specifically claimed in the patent, having the first leg assembly first portion configured to move between a first position and a second position, wherein the first position is on a first side past a halfway lengthwise point of the tabletop, and wherein the second position is on a second side past the halfway lengthwise point of the tabletop would have been an obvious construction consideration, depending on personal preferences of the leg assembly operations relative to the tabletop.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,295,489 in view of Zhang (CN108201228). As stated above, the patent claims teach a table with two leg assemblies. Wherein the first leg assembly second portion is coupled to the first leg assembly first portion between the first leg assembly first end and the first leg assembly second end. For claim 4, the patent claims fail to teach a foot on each of the leg assemblies. Zhang teaches feet on the ends of leg assemblies (see annotated figure below). It would have been obvious to add foot on each of the leg assemblies, such as is taught by Zhang, to help balance the table as a whole during use.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu et al (CN117837877). Wu teaches a lifting table (Fig. 1) comprising: a tabletop (1); a first track assembly (3), disposed along a bottom of the tabletop and comprising a first adjustment screw (3021); the second track assembly (4), disposed along the bottom of the tabletop and comprising a second adjustment screw (3021); a first leg assembly (2, first leg), comprising: a first leg assembly first portion, comprising :a Y-shaped first leg assembly first portion first end (2011-2013); and a first leg assembly first portion second end (with 203); and a first threaded receiver (202,3022), coupled to the first leg assembly first portion first end and comprising a first threaded portion configured to receive the first adjustment screw; and a second leg assembly (2, second leg), comprising; a second leg assembly first portion, comprising: a second leg assembly first portion first end (2011-2013); and a second leg assembly first portion second end (with 203); and a second threaded portion receiver (202,3022), coupled to the second leg assembly first portion first end and comprising a second threaded portion configured to receive the second adjustment screw. Wherein: the first track assembly further comprises: a first assembly first sliding track (30212); the second track assembly further comprises: a second assembly first sliding track (3023A); the first threaded receiver further comprises: a first sliding surface, translationally coupled to the first assembly first sliding track to allow the first leg assembly first portion first end to translate relative to the first assembly first sliding track; and the second threaded receiver further comprises: a second sliding surface, translationally coupled to the second assembly first sliding track to allow the second leg assembly first portion first end to translate relative to the second assembly first sliding track (Fig. 5).
Allowable Subject Matter
There is no prior art rejection for independent claim 7 which claims a lifting table comprising: a tabletop; a first and second track assemblies disposed along a bottom of the tabletop and comprising first and second adjustment screws, respectively; first and second motors, configured to turn the respective adjustment screw; first and second leg assemblies including first and second threaded receivers at first end portions of the assemblies, respectively, to receive the respective adjustment screw.
There is no prior art rejection for independent claim 14 which claims a lifting table comprising: a tabletop; a first and second track assemblies with first sliding tracks disposed along a bottom of the tabletop, the first sliding track of the first assembly extending more than half a length of the tabletop and both track assemblies including first and second adjustment screws, respectively; first and second leg assemblies including first and second threaded receivers, respectively, at first end portions to receive the respective adjustment screw.
Wilkens
July 17, 2026
/JANET M WILKENS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637