DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action responses to the Application filed on 04/03/2025.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2022-0128203 filed on 10/06/2022 and KR10-2022-0149696 filed on 11/10/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) filed on 04/03/2025 and 02/11/2026 were considered.
Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Paragraph [0064] there are two different items “second coil” and second sensor” sharing the same reference designator (322).
Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant' s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, lines 17-18 recite “cause the foldable electronic device to”. The term “foldable” or related concept can not be found in the disclosure. Therefore, the limitation is insufficiently disclosed.
Regarding claims 2-17, the claims are rejected due to the rejection of claim 1 above.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding independent claim 1, lines 17-18 recite “control circuitry, connected with the second coil, configured to:
supply a current to the second coil to generate an induced current in the first coil, and
based on the current and the induced current, supply power from an external electronic device to the battery or transmit power from the battery to the external electronic device”.
The recitation is unclear because according to the disclosure, a coil with variable capacitor is a tunable resonant coil (first coil) and a coil that is connecting with the control circuitry is a feeder coil (second coil). Since the limitation requires the “control circuitry, connected with the second coil, configured to:
supply a current to the second coil to generate an induced current in the first coil” which indicating the electronic device is in transmitting mode. Therefore, it is unclear how the electronic device “supply power from an external electronic device to the battery” while in the transmitting mode. For the examination purpose, the limitation will be construed as “based on the current and the induced current,
Regarding independent claim 18, the claim is similarly rejected as claim 1 above.
Regarding dependent claims 2-17 and 19-20, the claims are rejected due to the rejection of claims 1 and 18 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-9, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al. (US 20190025891 A1), hereinafter KIM in view of Cooper et al. (US 20120080957 A1), hereinafter Cooper and further in view of LEE et al. (US 20190165616 A1), hereinafter LEE.
Regarding claim 1, KIM discloses an electronic device (Figs. 1-8) comprising:
a battery (420);
a first coil (360) disposed on the battery (340);
a second coil (360), magnetically coupled with the first coil, wound along a periphery of the first coil;
a variable capacitor [0090] connected with the first coil [0090];
control circuitry (410-450, and 470-490), connected with the second coil (360), configured to:
supply a current to the second coil [0090] to generate an induced current in the first coil, and
based on the current and the induced current, supply power from an external electronic device (10) to the battery or transmit power from the battery to the external electronic device [0090] [0091];
a sensor (proximity sensor 240G) configured to identify a position of the external electronic device with respect to the first coil or the second coil (proximity sensor 240G sensing location of other external objects with respect to the electronic device thus with respect to the coil); and
at least one processor comprising processing circuitry (210 and 295) [0030]-[0033] [0036]-[0037],
memory (230) [0032] comprising one or more storage media storing instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively [0030], cause the foldable electronic device to:
identify, via the sensor, the position of the external electronic device with respect to the first coil or the second coil (proximity sensor 240G sensing location of other external objects with respect to the electronic device thus with respect to the coil), and
based on the identified position of the external electronic device, change a capacitance value of the variable capacitor [0085]-[0090].
KIM discloses the electronic device having only single coil. KIM does not disclose the electronic device having a feeder coil and a resonant coil. Therefore, KIM does not disclose a first coil and a second coil, magnetically coupled with the first coil.
Cooper discloses an electronic device having a feeder coil as a second coil (Fig. 1c, Tx coil) and a resonant coil (Fig. 1c, Tx loop) as a first coil wound along a peripheral of the first coil (Fig. 1c, Tx loop).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified KIM to incorporate the teaching of Cooper and provide a feeder coil and a resonant coil to have: a first coil disposed on the battery;
a second coil, magnetically coupled with the first coil, wound along a periphery of the first coil;
a variable capacitor connected with the first coil;
control circuitry, connected with the second coil, configured to:
supply a current to the second coil to generate an induced current in the first coil.
Doing so would maintain a strong magnetic coupling and optimize energy transfer as the feeder coil can drive the resonance coil at its resonant frequency since this technique is well-known in the art.
KIM discloses tuning a capacitor of the single coil to optimize the impedance of the power transmitting system; and Cooper discloses changing a capacitance value of a variable capacitor on the feeder coil based on the identified position of the external electronic device. The combination of KIM and Cooper does not disclose based on the identified position of the external electronic device, change a capacitance value of the variable capacitor of the resonance coil. LEE discloses an electronic device detecting a position of an external device and based on the identified position of the external electronic device, change a capacitance value of a variable capacitor of a resonance coil [0013].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of KIM and Cooper to incorporate the teaching of LEE and have a tunable capacitance on the resonance coil and have: based on the identified position of the external electronic device, change a capacitance value of the variable capacitor. Doing so would allow to improve overall efficiency in the system.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of KIM, Cooper and LEE discloses the electronic device of claim 1 above, KIM disclose the battery overlaps with the coil and (Fig. 3, coil 360 is overlapping with the battery 340) when combined with Cooper, it would have been obvious that: when the battery is viewed from above:
the first coil is concentric with the second coil (Fig. 1c, Tx loop is concentric with Tx coil); and
the battery overlaps with the first coil and the second coil (Fig. 1c, the Tx loop and the Tx coil would overlap the battery when combined with KIM).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of KIM, Cooper and LEE discloses the electronic device of claim 1 above, LEE also disclose the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
obtain a sensing value via the sensor [0066],
based on the sensing value, identify an alignment distance from a center of the first coil and the second coil to a center of a third coil in the external electronic device [0066], and
control magnitude of the induced current of the first coil and magnitude of the current of the second coil, via the variable capacitor based on the alignment distance [0066].
Regarding claim 8, the combination of KIM, Cooper and LEE discloses the electronic device of claim 7 above, LEE also disclose the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to change the capacitance value of the variable capacitor to change the induced current of the first coil ([0013], when the impedance changed the amount of power coupling changed thus the induced current also change), when identifying that the first coil, the second coil, and the third coil are concentric based on the alignment distance ([0004] in a case when perfectly alignment occurs, maximum power transfer, thus the induced current change).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of KIM, Cooper and LEE discloses the electronic device of claim 7 above, LEE also discloses the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to change the capacitance value of the variable capacitor to change the current of the second coil, when identifying that the alignment distance is increased ([0013], [0066] in a case when misalignment occurs, the system adjusting the impedance for compensating the misalignment, thus the induced current change).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of KIM, Cooper and LEE discloses the electronic device of claim 1 above, KIM also discloses the first coil and the second coil are configured to:
receive power from the external electronic device [0087] [0088] including a wireless charging coil ([0087] [0088] in order to transmit wireless inductive power a charging coil is needed) configured to interact with the first coil and the second coil ([0087] [0088] as obviously combined with Cooper in claim 1 to form first coil and second coil, the two coils are interact/coupling with each other), and
transmit the received power to the battery via the control circuitry [0088].
Regarding claim 17, the combination of KIM, Cooper and LEE discloses the electronic device of claim 16 above, KIM also discloses the first coil and the second coil (first coil and second coil as obviously combined with Cooper in claim 1) are configured to transmit power from the battery including the wireless charging coil configured to interact with the first coil and the second coil to the external electronic device [0089] [0090].
Regarding claim 18, the combination of KIM discloses an electronic device (Figs. 1-8) comprising:
a battery (420);
a first coil (360) disposed on the battery (340);
a second coil (360), magnetically coupled with the first coil, wound along a periphery of the first coil;
control circuitry (410-450, and 470-490), connected with the first coil (360), configured to, supply a current to the first coil [0090] to generate an induced current in the second coil, and based on the current and the induced current, supply power from an external electronic device (10) to the battery or transmit power from the battery to the external electronic device [0090] [0091];
a variable capacitor [0090] connected with the second coil [0090] ;
a sensor (proximity sensor 240G) configured to identify a position of the external electronic device with respect to the first coil or the second coil (proximity sensor 240G sensing location of other external objects with respect to the electronic device thus with respect to the coil);
memory (230) [0032] storing one or more computer programs [0030]; and
one or more processors (210 and 295) [0030]-[0033] [0036]-[0037] communicatively coupled to the battery (420), the variable capacitor [0090] , the sensor, and the memory [0030]-[0033] [0036]-[0037],
wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions, that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
identify, via the sensor, the position of the external electronic device with respect to the first coil and the second coil (proximity sensor 240G sensing location of other external objects with respect to the electronic device thus with respect to the coil, and
based on the identified position of the external electronic device, change a capacitance value of the variable capacitor [0085]-[0090].
KIM discloses the electronic device having only single coil. KIM does not disclose the electronic device having a feeder coil and a resonant coil. Therefore, KIM does not disclosed a second coil, magnetically coupled with the first coil.
Cooper discloses an electronic device having a feeder coil as a first coil (Fig. 1c, Tx coil) and a resonant coil (Fig. 1c, Tx loop) as a second coil wound along a peripheral of the first coil (Fig. 1c, Tx loop).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified KIM to incorporate the teaching of Cooper and provide a feeder coil and a resonant coil to have: a first coil disposed on the battery;
a second coil, magnetically coupled with the first coil, wound along a periphery of the first coil;
a variable capacitor connected with the second coil;
control circuitry, connected with the first coil, configured to:
supply a current to the first coil to generate an induced current in the second coil.
Doing so would maintain a strong magnetic coupling and optimize energy transfer as the feeder coil can drive the resonance coil at its resonant frequency since this technique is well-known in the art.
KIM discloses tuning a capacitor of the single coil to optimize the impedance of the power transmitting system; and Cooper discloses changing a capacitance value of a variable capacitor on the feeder coil based on the identified position of the external electronic device. The combination of KIM and Cooper does not disclose based on the identified position of the external electronic device, change a capacitance value of the variable capacitor of the resonance coil. LEE discloses an electronic device detecting a position of an external device and based on the identified position of the external electronic device, change a capacitance value of a variable capacitor of a resonance coil [0013].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of KIM and Cooper to incorporate the teaching of LEE and have a tunable capacitance on the resonance coil and have: based on the identified position of the external electronic device, change a capacitance value of the variable capacitor. Doing so would allow to improve overall efficiency in the system.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of KIM, Cooper and LEE discloses the electronic device of claim 18 above, KIM disclose the battery overlaps with the coil and (Fig. 3, coil 360 is overlapping with the battery 340) when combined with Cooper, it would have been obvious that: when the battery is viewed from above:
the first coil is concentric with the second coil (Fig. 1c, Tx loop is concentric with Tx coil); and
the battery overlaps with the first coil and the second coil (Fig. 1c, the Tx loop and the Tx coil would overlap the battery when combined with KIM).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of KIM, Cooper and LEE discloses the electronic device of claim 18 above, KIM also disclose the second coil is electrically connected to the battery via the control circuitry (460 connected with battery 420 through 340), and
wherein the second coil is configured to transmit power to the battery or receive the power from the battery [0057].
Claim(s) 3-6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of KIM, Cooper and LEE in view of LEE et al. (US 20170228721 A1), hereinafter LEE 721.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of KIM, Cooper and LEE discloses the electronic device of claim 1 above, KIM also disclose one or more non-conductive materials [0045]; and Cooper also disclose the first coil and the second coil are disposed on a substantially same plane and are spaced apart from each other (Fig. 1c, Tx loop and Tx coil are substantially in the same plane).
the combination of KIM, Cooper and LEE does not explicitly disclose:
a first non-conductive layer, disposed on the battery, supporting the first coil and the second coil. LEE 721 discloses an electronic device having a first non-conductive layer (Fig. 23, 2321), disposed on a battery (Fig. 23, 2330), supporting a first coil (Fig. 23, 2302) and a second coil (Fig. 23, 2311) [0188] [0189].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of KIM, Cooper and LEE to incorporate the teaching of LEE 721 and have a first non-conductive layer [0045], disposed on the battery, supporting the first coil and the second coil, wherein the first coil and the second coil are disposed on a substantially same plane and are spaced apart from each other. Doing so would prevent short circuit between the battery and the coil while prevent heat transferring from the battery to the coil.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of KIM, Cooper and LEE discloses the electronic device of claim 1 above, in one of the embodiment Cooper discloses the first coil and the second coil are in different planes (Fig. 1a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of KIM, Cooper and LEE to incorporate the teaching of Cooper’s embodiment of Fig. 1a and have the first coil and the second coil are in different planes. Doing so would allow minimizing area of the coils for maximizing the amount of power transfer.
The combination of KIM, Cooper and LEE does not explicitly disclose the electronic device further comprising:
a first non-conductive layer, disposed on the battery, supporting the first coil; and
a second non-conductive layer disposed between the first coil and the second coil
a first non-conductive layer, disposed on the battery, supporting the first coil [0188] [0189]; and
a second non-conductive layer disposed between the first coil and the second coil [0188] [0189] (coils are formed from flexible printed circuit boards (FPCB) and has multiple conductive coil layer which indicate an insulation layer between the upper layer and the lower layer, otherwise, these coil between layer would be treated as a single conductor).
LEE 721 discloses an electronic device having a first non-conductive layer, disposed on the battery, supporting the first coil [0188] [0189]; and
a second non-conductive layer disposed between the first coil and the second coil [0188] [0189] (coils are formed from flexible printed circuit boards (FPCB) and has multiple conductive coil layer which indicate an insulation layer between the upper layer and the lower layer, otherwise, these coil between layer would be treated as a single conductor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of KIM, Cooper and LEE to incorporate the teaching of LEE 721 and have a first non-conductive layer, disposed on the battery, supporting the first coil; and a second non-conductive layer disposed between the first coil and the second coil. Doing so would prevent short circuit between the first coil and the second coil and the first coil and the battery while prevent heat transferring from the battery to the coils.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of KIM, Cooper, LEE and LEE 721 discloses the electronic device of claim 4 above, KIM also discloses the second coil (460) is electrically connected to the battery via the control circuitry (460 connected with battery 420 through 340), and
wherein the second coil is configured to transmit power to the battery or receive the power from the battery [0057].
Regarding claim 6, the combination of KIM, Cooper, LEE and LEE 721 discloses the electronic device of claim 4 above, KIM also discloses the electronic device further comprising:
a printed circuit board (PCB) (330) on which the control circuitry and the at least one processor are disposed [0046] [0048],
wherein the second coil is electrically connected to the PCB (Fig. 4) [0046] [0048].
Regarding claim 14, the combination of KIM, Cooper and LEE discloses the electronic device of claim 1 above, KIM discloses a plate forming a surface of the electronic device (Fig. 3, 370), wherein the first coil (Fig. 3, 360) and the second coil (Fig. 3, 360 as combined with Cooper) are disposed between the plate (Fig. 3, 370) and the battery (Fig. 3, 340). LEE 721 discloses an electronic device having a non-conductive plate forming a surface of the electronic device (Fig. 23, Cover) [0189]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of KIM, Cooper and LEE to incorporate the teaching of LEE 721 and have a plate forming a surface of the electronic device. Doing so would prevent short circuit between the plate and the coil.
Claim(s) 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of KIM, Cooper and LEE in view of ASANO et al. (US 20210323428 A1), hereinafter ASANO.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of KIM, Cooper and LEE discloses the electronic device of claim 1 above, KIM discloses the sensor. The combination of KIM, Cooper and LEE does not disclose the sensor includes a first temperature sensor and a second temperature sensor, and
wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to identify, based on sensing values of the first temperature sensor and the second temperature sensor, a position of the external electronic device.
ASANO discloses a wireless power transfer system having a first temperature sensor (Fig. 2, H1) and a second temperature sensor (Fig. 2, H1), and
wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to identify, based on sensing values of the first temperature sensor and the second temperature sensor, a position of the external electronic device [0047]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of KIM, Cooper and LEE to incorporate the teaching of ASANO and provide a first temperature sensor and a second temperature sensor as the sensor, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to identify, based on sensing values of the first temperature sensor and the second temperature sensor, a position of the external electronic device. Doing so would allow identifying position of the external device since it is well-known in the art that insufficient power transfer would cause the coils temperature increase when a position of the coil of the external device is not well aligned with the coils of the electronic device.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of KIM, Cooper, LEE and ASANO discloses the electronic device of claim 10 above, KIM discloses the electronic device comprising a housing forming an exterior of the electronic device. The combination of KIM, Cooper, LEE and ASANO does not explicitly disclose the wherein the first temperature sensor is disposed between a first lateral surface of the housing and the second coil, and
wherein the second temperature sensor is disposed between a second lateral surface of the housing opposite to the first lateral surface and the second coil. However, since the Applicant does not disclose the criticality of the aforementioned displacement of the temperature sensors, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the placement of ASANO would be equivalent and perform the same expected result to the claim invention since it would be able to determine the position of the external device.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of KIM, Cooper, LEE and ASANO discloses the electronic device of claim 10 above, the combination of KIM, Cooper, LEE and ASANO does not explicitly disclose wherein the first temperature sensor is disposed at an outer perimeter of the second coil, and wherein the second temperature sensor is surrounded by the first coil and the second coil. However, since the Applicant does not disclose the criticality of the aforementioned displacement of the temperature sensors, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the placement of ASANO would be equivalent and perform the same expected result to the claim invention since it would be able to determine the position of the external device.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of KIM, Cooper and LEE discloses the electronic device of claim 1 above, KIM discloses the sensor. The combination of KIM, Cooper and LEE does not disclose the sensor is disposed between the first coil and the second coil. ASANO discloses a wireless power transfer system having a sensor is disposed between the first coil and the second coil (Fig. 2, H1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of KIM, Cooper and LEE to incorporate the teaching of ASANO and provide the sensor is disposed between the first coil and the second coil. Doing so would allow sensing temperature of both coils at the same time.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of KIM, Cooper and LEE in view of CHOI et al. (US 20180233824 A1), hereinafter CHOI.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of KIM, Cooper and LEE discloses the electronic device of claim 1 above, in one of the embodiment Cooper discloses the first coil and the second coil are in different planes (Fig. 1a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of KIM, Cooper and LEE to incorporate the teaching of Cooper’s embodiment of Fig. 1a and have the first coil and the second coil are in different planes. Doing so would allow minimizing area of the coils for maximizing the amount of power transfer.
The combination of KIM, Cooper and LEE does not explicitly disclose when the battery is viewed from above, the second coil partially overlaps with a portion including a periphery of the first coil. CHOI discloses a wireless power transfer system having a second coil partially overlaps with a portion including a periphery of a first coil (Fig. 7F, second coil 762 partially overlaps first coil 761). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of KIM, Cooper and LEE to incorporate the teaching of CHOI and have geometry of the first coil different than geometry of the second coil to have when the battery is viewed from above, the second coil partially overlaps with a portion including a periphery of the first coil. Doing so would allow maximizing wireless power transfer with a limited area based on a requirement of the first and a second coil.
Conclusion
/THAI H TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836