DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application filed April 3, 2025, claims 1-6 are presented for examination. Claims 1, 5 and 6 are independent claims.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), and based on application # 2022-188115 filed in Japan on November 25, 2022 which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Oath/Declaration
The Office acknowledges no receipt of a properly signed Oath/Declaration.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement filed (April 3, 2025 and April 9, 2026) has been received, entered into the record, and considered.
Drawings
The drawings filed April 3, 2025, are accepted by the examiner.
Abstract
The abstract filed April 3, 2025, is accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al (US 20190336863 A1) in view of Hayashi2 (US 20200230496 A1).
As to Claim 1:
Hayashi et al. discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program causing a computer to execute (Hayashi, see Abstract, where Hayashi discloses that in an example system, in the first game scene, a first game object is given to a user in exchange for a reduction in in-game currency possessed by the user, and based on a type of the first game object, a player object disposed in a virtual space is controlled. Based on the player object's reaching a specific position in the virtual space, a second game object is given to the user, and based on the user's instruction, the
second game object is given to the user in exchange for a reduction in the in-game currency. The first game object is allowed to be continually used in a plurality of the second game scenes, and the second game object is not allowed to be continually used in a plurality of the second game scene): processing of receiving an operation from a player for designating any number of two or greater as the number of lotteries for a lottery object (Hayashi, see paragraph [0120], where Hayashi discloses that when the player object PO passes by or through an item box IB and thereby opens the item box IB, a lottery event for acquiring a new item I is performed. For example, a lottery event display (hereinafter referred to a rotation lottery display) that a plurality of types of items I are shuffled and successively displayed in a possession frame HF that is an empty frame E in a drum-spin or flip fashion, and thereafter, any one of the items I is displayed in a stationary state in the possession frame HF, showing that the item I displayed in a stationary state in the possession frame HF is finally acquired in the lottery); processing of arranging (Hayashi, see HF in figure 4), according to a predetermined arrangement (Hayashi, see HF, IP and PO in figure 4), a plurality of common objects being 3D models at lottery result arrangement positions in a virtual space (Hayashi, see IP, PO and HF in figure 4), based on the number of lotteries designated by the player (Hayashi, see lottery table in figure 14); and processing of changing an arrangement position of a virtual camera arranged in the virtual space (Hayashi, see paragraph [0076], where Hayashi discloses that a virtual camera for generating a game image is disposed behind the player object PO traveling on the course. Note that when the player object PO deviates from the travel direction of the course due to spinning, drifting, etc., the virtual camera may be still disposed at a position where the player object PO is seen
from behind the player object PO (i.e., the virtual camera is aimed toward the player object PO), or may be disposed at a position where the player object PO is seen from behind along the travel direction of the course (i.e., the virtual camera is aimed in the travel direction of the course), based on the number of lotteries designated by the player or the lottery result arrangement positions where the plurality of common objects are arranged (Hayashi, see figure 14 and paragraph [0120], where Hayashi discloses that when the player object PO passes by or through an item box IB and thereby opens the item box IB, a lottery event for acquiring a new item I is performed. For example, a lottery event display (hereinafter referred to a rotation lottery display) that a plurality of types of items I are shuffled and successively displayed in a possession frame HF that is an empty frame E in a drum-spin or flip fashion, and thereafter, any one of the items I is displayed in a
stationary state in the possession frame HF, showing that the item I displayed in a stationary state in the possession frame HF is finally acquired in the lottery).
Hayashi differs from the claimed subject matter in that Hayashi does not explicitly disclose criterion.
However in an analogous art, Hayashi2 discloses criterion (Hayashi2, see paragraph [0014], where Hayashi2 discloses that contents usable in a game or game stage are arranged in different directions based on different criteria. Therefore, the result of assessment of contents can be easily understood, and therefore, a motivation for obtaining a content not possessed by the user can be enhanced).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Hayashi with Hayashi2. One would be motivated to modify Hayashi by disclosing criterion as taught by Hayashi2 thereby enhancing a motivation for obtaining a content that can be used in a game (Hayashi2, paragraph [0004]).
As to Claim 5:
Hayashi et al. discloses an information processing method executed by one or more computers, the information processing method comprising Hayashi, see Abstract, where Hayashi discloses that in an example system, in the first game scene, a first game object is given to a user in exchange for a reduction in in-game currency possessed by the user, and based on a type of the first game object, a player object disposed in a virtual space is controlled. Based on the player object's reaching a specific position in the virtual space, a second game object is given to the user, and based on the user's instruction, the second game object is given to the user in exchange for a reduction in the in-game currency. The first game object is allowed to be continually used in a plurality of the second game scenes, and the second game object is not allowed to be continually used in a plurality of the second game scene): processing of receiving an operation from a player for designating any number of two or greater as the number of lotteries for a lottery object (Hayashi, see paragraph [0120], where Hayashi discloses that when the player object PO passes by or through an item box IB and thereby opens the item box IB, a lottery event for acquiring a new item I is performed. For example, a lottery event display (hereinafter referred to a rotation lottery display) that a plurality of types of items I are shuffled and successively displayed in a possession frame HF that is an empty frame E in a drum-spin or flip fashion, and thereafter, any one of the items I is displayed in a stationary state in the possession frame HF, showing that the item I displayed in a stationary state in the possession frame HF is finally acquired in the lottery); processing of arranging (Hayashi, see HF in figure 4), according to a predetermined arrangement (Hayashi, see HF, IP and PO in figure 4), a plurality of common objects being 3D models at lottery result arrangement positions in a virtual space (Hayashi, see IP, PO and HF in figure 4), based on the number of lotteries designated by the player (Hayashi, see lottery table in figure 14); and processing of changing an arrangement position of a virtual camera arranged in the virtual space (Hayashi, see paragraph [0076], where Hayashi discloses that a virtual camera for generating a game image is disposed behind the player object PO traveling on the course. Note that when the player object PO deviates from the travel direction of the course due to spinning, drifting, etc., the virtual camera may be still disposed at a position where the player object PO is seen from behind the player object PO (i.e., the virtual camera is aimed toward the player object PO), or may be disposed at a position where the player object PO is seen from behind along the travel direction of the course (i.e., the virtual camera is aimed in the travel direction of the course), based on the number of lotteries designated by the player or the lottery result arrangement positions where the plurality of common objects are arranged (Hayashi, see figure 14 and paragraph [0120], where Hayashi discloses that when the player object PO passes by or through an item box IB and thereby opens the item box IB, a lottery event for acquiring a new item I is performed. For example, a lottery event display (hereinafter referred to a rotation lottery display) that a plurality of types of items I are shuffled and successively displayed in a possession frame HF that is an empty frame E in a drum-spin or flip fashion, and thereafter, any one of the items I is displayed in a stationary state in the possession frame HF, showing that the item I displayed in a stationary state in the possession frame HF is finally acquired in the lottery).
Hayashi differs from the claimed subject matter in that Hayashi does not explicitly disclose criterion.
However in an analogous art, Hayashi2 discloses criterion (Hayashi2, see paragraph [0014], where Hayashi2 discloses that contents usable in a game or game stage are arranged in different directions based on different criteria. Therefore, the result of assessment of contents can be easily understood, and therefore, a motivation for obtaining a content not possessed by the user can be enhanced).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Hayashi with Hayashi2. One would be motivated to modify Hayashi by disclosing criterion as taught by Hayashi2 thereby enhancing a motivation for obtaining a content that can be used in a game (Hayashi2, paragraph [0004]).
As to Claim 6:
Hayashi et al. discloses an information processing system comprising one or more computers, wherein the one or more computers execute (Hayashi, see Abstract, where Hayashi discloses that in an example system, in the first game scene, a first game object is given to a user in exchange for a reduction in in-game currency possessed by the user, and based on a type of the first game object, a player object disposed in a virtual space is controlled. Based on the player object's reaching a specific position in the virtual space, a second game object is given to the user, and based on the user's instruction, the second game object is given to the user in exchange for a reduction in the in-game currency. The first game object is allowed to be continually used in a plurality of the second game scenes, and the second game object is not allowed to be continually used in a plurality of the second game scene): processing of receiving an operation from a player for designating any number of two or greater as the number of lotteries for a lottery object (Hayashi, see paragraph [0120], where Hayashi discloses that when the player object PO passes by or through an item box IB and thereby opens the item box IB, a lottery event for acquiring a new item I is performed. For example, a lottery event display (hereinafter referred to a rotation lottery display) that a plurality of types of items I are shuffled and successively displayed in a possession frame HF that is an empty frame E in a drum-spin or flip fashion, and thereafter, any one of the items I is displayed in a stationary state in the possession frame HF, showing that the item I displayed in a stationary state in the possession frame HF is finally acquired in the lottery); processing of arranging Hayashi, see HF in figure 4), according to a predetermined arrangement (Hayashi, see HF, IP and PO in figure 4), a plurality of common objects being 3D models at lottery result arrangement positions in a virtual space (Hayashi, see IP, PO and HF in figure 4), based on the number of lotteries designated by the player (Hayashi, see lottery table in figure 14); and processing of changing an arrangement position of a virtual camera arranged in the virtual space (Hayashi, see paragraph [0076], where Hayashi discloses that a virtual camera for generating a game image is disposed behind the player object PO traveling on the course. Note that when the player object PO deviates from the travel direction of the course due to spinning, drifting, etc., the virtual camera may be still disposed at a position where the player object PO is seen from behind the player object PO (i.e., the virtual camera is aimed toward the player object PO), or may be disposed at a position where the player object PO is seen from behind along the travel direction of the course (i.e., the virtual camera is aimed in the travel direction of the course), based on the number of lotteries designated by the player or the lottery result arrangement positions where the plurality of common objects are arranged (Hayashi, see figure 14 and paragraph [0120], where Hayashi discloses that when the player object PO passes by or through an item box IB and thereby opens the item box IB, a lottery event for acquiring a new item I is performed. For example, a lottery event display (hereinafter referred to a rotation lottery display) that a plurality of types of items I are shuffled and successively displayed in a possession frame HF that is an empty frame E in a drum-spin or flip fashion, and thereafter, any one of the items I is displayed in a stationary state in the possession frame HF, showing that the item I displayed in a stationary state in the possession frame HF is finally acquired in the lottery).
Hayashi differs from the claimed subject matter in that Hayashi does not explicitly disclose criterion.
However in an analogous art, Hayashi2 discloses criterion (Hayashi2, see paragraph [0014], where Hayashi2 discloses that contents usable in a game or game stage are arranged in different directions based on different criteria. Therefore, the result of assessment of contents can be easily understood, and therefore, a motivation for obtaining a content not possessed by the user can be enhanced).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Hayashi with Hayashi2. One would be motivated to modify Hayashi by disclosing criterion as taught by Hayashi2 thereby enhancing a motivation for obtaining a content that can be used in a game (Hayashi2, paragraph [0004]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Referring to claim 2 and dependent claim 3, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein an upper limit is set for the number of lotteries designated by the player, in the virtual space, a virtual arrangement frame including a plurality of the lottery result arrangement positions is provided, and the plurality of common objects are arranged at all of the plurality of lottery result arrangement positions in the virtual arrangement frame in a case where the number of lotteries is the upper limit, and the processing of changing the arrangement position of the virtual camera includes: arranging the virtual camera to be aligned at a center position of the virtual arrangement frame, in a case where the number of lotteries is the upper limit; and arranging the virtual camera at an offset position offset from the center position based on the number of lotteries or the lottery result arrangement positions where the plurality of common objects are arranged, in a case where the number of lotteries is less than the upper limit.”.
Referring to claim 4, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein the predetermined arrangement criterion includes that the plurality of common objects arranged in the virtual space are divided into at least a first group and a second group, and the first group and the second group are arranged in a line in a predetermined direction at the lottery result arrangement positions, and the processing of changing the arrangement position of the virtual camera includes arranging the virtual camera to be aligned at a center of the first group and a center of the second group”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure. Hayashi (US 11638877 Bl) discloses first input is performed in a predetermined scene, options including elements available in a predetermined game are presented. An element to be used in the predetermined game is determined on the basis of an operation input by a user. In response to a second input, the predetermined game using the determined element is executed. Meanwhile, at a predetermined timing before the predetermined game is started, an element to be used in the predetermined game is automatically determined. When a third input is performed in the predetermined scene, the predetermined game is executed using the automatically determined element. After the predetermined game is ended, a first reward is given to the user if the element used in the predetermined game is the element determined on the basis of the operation input by the user, and a second reward is given if the element is the automatically determined element.
Contact Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NELSON ROSARIO whose telephone number is (571)270-1866. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday, 7:30am- 5:00pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Eason can be reached on (571) 270-7230. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/NELSON M ROSARIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624