DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-12 & 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (U.S. PGPub # 2021/0311137) in view of Merz (U.S. Pat. # 4,157,530).
Regarding Independent claim 1, Chen teaches:
An electronic device comprising:
a housing comprising a first housing and a second housing configured to move relative to the first housing (Fig. 1 Elements 110, 110a, & 110b. See paragraphs 0017-0020.);
a display configured to be unrolled based on a sliding of the second housing (Fig. 1 Elements 110, 110a, & 110b. See paragraphs 0017-0020.);
an electronic component in the housing and configured to detect a magnetic field (Fig. 1 Element 140. See paragraphs 0017 & 0020.);
a magnet in the housing, the magnet having an arc shape and comprising a first end and a second end facing the first end (Fig. 1 Element 130. See also Fig. 3 and paragraph 0031.); and
Chen does not explicitly teach:
a shielding member comprising at least a portion positioned between the first end and the second end, and at least a portion positioned on an extension line between a center point of the magnet and the electronic component.
Merz teaches:
a shielding member (Fig. 2-3 Element 27. See Merz column 9 lines 31-56.) comprising at least a portion positioned between the first end and the second end (Fig. 2-3 Elements 27 & 28. See Merz column 9 lines 31-56.), and at least a portion positioned on an extension line between a center point of the magnet and the electronic component (Fig. 2-3 Elements 15, 27, & 28. See Merz column 9 lines 31-56.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Merz to the teachings of Chen such that a shielding member would comprise at least a portion positioned between the first end and the second end, and at least a portion would be positioned on an extension line between a center point of the magnet and the electronic component because the this would allow one to “completely shield[s] the permanent magnet from external magnetic influences and prevent[s] projection of its magnetic field except in the location of the opening or window 32 in the shield.” See Merz column 9 lines 31-56.
Regarding claim 2, Chen & Merz teach all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Chen teaches a position determination magnet in the housing, wherein the electronic component comprises a magnetic field detection sensor configured to slide relative to the position determination magnet (Paragraphs 0017-0020.), and to detect a magnetic field generated from the position determination magnet (Paragraphs 0017-0020.).
Regarding claim 3, Chen & Merz teach all elements of claim 2, upon which this claim depends.
Chen teaches a processor configured to determine a slide distance of the electronic device based on a signal detected by the magnetic field detection sensor (paragraphs 0007-0008, 0054-0055, 0057-0058, & elsewhere.).
Regarding claim 4, Chen & Merz teach all elements of claim 2, upon which this claim depends.
Chen teaches the magnetic field detection sensor comprises a plurality of hall sensors arranged along a first direction in which the electronic device slides (Paragraphs 0028-0029.), and wherein the extension line extends from the center point of the magnet to a first hall sensor closest to the magnet among the plurality of hall sensors (Paragraphs 0028-0029.).
Regarding claim 6, Chen & Merz teach all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Chen teaches the magnet comprises: a first magnet comprising the first end (Fig. 3 wherein all magnets are a superposition of many small elemental magnets forming the large piece all having north and south poles.); and a second magnet spaced apart from the first magnet and comprising the second end (Fig. 3 wherein all magnets are a superposition of many small elemental magnets forming the large piece all having north and south poles.).
Regarding claim 7, Chen & Merz teach all elements of claim 6, upon which this claim depends.
Chen teaches the shielding member comprises: a central area between the first magnet and the second magnet (Fig. 3 and the gap depicted wherein all magnets are a superposition of many small elemental magnets forming the large piece all having north and south poles.); a first wing structure extending from the central area along an edge of the first magnet (Fig. 3 and the gap depicted wherein all magnets are a superposition of many small elemental magnets forming the large piece all having north and south poles.); and a second wing structure extending from the central area along an edge of the second magnet (Fig. 3 and the gap depicted wherein all magnets are a superposition of many small elemental magnets forming the large piece all having north and south poles.).
Regarding claim 8, Chen & Merz teach all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Chen teaches a power receiving circuit in the housing and comprising at least a portion facing the magnet (Fig. 5 Element 503.).
Regarding claim 10, Chen & Merz teach all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Chen does not explicitly teach a first width of the magnet is smaller than a second width of the shielding member.
Merz teaches a first width of the magnet is smaller than a second width of the shielding member (Fig. 2-3 Elements 27 & 28 wherein the shield depicted is wider than the magnet 28.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Merz to the teachings of Chen such that a first width of the magnet would be smaller than a second width of the shielding member because this is a simple way to ensure that the magnet is effectively shielded and so are other elements that can feel its effects.
Regarding claim 11, Chen & Merz teach all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Chen teaches the electronic component comprises a camera on the housing (Paragraphs 0058 & 0061.), and wherein the shielding member is between the center point of the magnet and the camera.
Chen does not explicitly teach and wherein the shielding member is between the center point of the magnet and the camera.
Merz teaches and wherein the shielding member is between the center point of the magnet and the camera (Fig. 2-3 Elements 15, 27, & 28. The shielding exists or can move to the necessary position. See Merz column 9 lines 31-56.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Merz to the teachings of Chen such that the shielding member would be between the center point of the magnet and the camera because this is a simple swap of sensor types as anticipated in Chen that could also be set up in the same form as that of Merz to better gather data and other information.
Regarding claim 12, Chen & Merz teach all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Chen teaches the electronic component further comprises an antenna module in the housing (Paragraphs 0058 & 0061 wherein the data communications tools would encompass an antenna.),
Chen does not explicitly teach and wherein the shielding member is between the center point of the magnet and the antenna module.
Merz teaches and wherein the shielding member is between the center point of the magnet and the (sensor) [antenna module] (Fig. 2-3 Elements 15, 27, & 28. See Merz column 9 lines 31-56.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Merz to the teachings of Chen such that the shielding member would be between the center point of the magnet and the antenna module because this is a simple swap of sensor types as anticipated in Chen that could also be set up in the same form as that of Merz to better gather data and other information.
Regarding claim 15, Chen & Merz teach all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Chen teaches the display comprises: a first display area connected to the second housing (Fig. 1 Elements 110, 110a, & 110b.); and a second display area extending from the first display area (Fig. 1 Elements 110, 110a, & 110b.) and configured to be rolled or unrolled based on the sliding of the second housing (Fig. 1 Elements 110, 110a, & 110b wherein the elements 110a & 110b unfold and fold relative to one another which is an action considered analogous to folding by Examiner.).
Regarding Independent claim 16, Chen teaches:
An electronic device comprising:
a housing comprising a first housing and a second housing configured to move relative to the first housing (Fig. 1 Elements 110, 110a, & 110b. See paragraphs 0017-0020.);
a display configured to be unrolled based on a sliding of the second housing (Fig. 1 Elements 110, 110a, & 110b. See paragraphs 0017-0020.);
a position determination magnet in the housing (Fig. 1 Element 130. See also Fig. 3 and paragraph 0031.)
a magnetic field detection sensor configured to slide relative to the position determination magnet (Fig. 1 Element 140. See paragraphs 0017 & 0020.), the magnetic field detection sensor comprising a hall sensor configured to detect a magnetic field generated from the position determination magnet (Paragraphs 0028-0029.);
a magnet in the housing, the magnet comprising a first end and a second end facing the first end (Fig. 1 Element 130. See also Fig. 3 and paragraph 0031.); and
Chen does not explicitly teach:
a shielding member comprising at least a portion positioned between the first end and the second end, and at least a portion positioned on an extension line between a center point of the magnet and the hall sensor.
Merz teaches:
a shielding member (Fig. 2-3 Element 27. See Merz column 9 lines 31-56.)comprising at least a portion positioned between the first end and the second end (Fig. 2-3 Elements 27 & 28. See Merz column 9 lines 31-56.), and at least a portion positioned on an extension line between a center point of the magnet and the hall sensor (Fig. 2-3 Elements 15, 27, & 28. Paragraphs 0028-0029. See Merz column 9 lines 31-56.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Merz to the teachings of Chen such that a shielding member would comprise at least a portion positioned between the first end and the second end, and at least a portion would be positioned on an extension line between a center point of the magnet and the hall sensor because the this would allow one to “completely shield[s] the permanent magnet from external magnetic influences and prevent[s] projection of its magnetic field except in the location of the opening or window 32 in the shield.” See Merz column 9 lines 31-56.
Regarding claim 17, Chen & Merz teach all elements of claim 16, upon which this claim depends.
Chen teaches the magnet comprises: a first magnet comprising the first end (Fig. 3 wherein all magnets are a superposition of many small elemental magnets forming the large piece all having north and south poles.); and a second magnet spaced apart from the first magnet and comprising the second end (Fig. 3 wherein all magnets are a superposition of many small elemental magnets forming the large piece all having north and south poles.).
Regarding claim 18, Chen & Merz teach all elements of claim 17, upon which this claim depends.
Chen teaches the shielding member comprises: a central area between the first magnet and the second magnet; a first wing structure extending from the central area along an edge of the first magnet; and a second wing structure extending from the central area along an edge of the second magnet.
Regarding claim 20, Chen & Merz teach all elements of claim 16, upon which this claim depends.
Chen teaches g a power receiving circuit in the housing and comprising at least a portion facing the magnet (Fig. 5 Element 503.).
Claims 5, 13, & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (U.S. PGPub # 2021/0311137) in view of Merz (U.S. Pat. # 4,157,530).
Regarding claim 5, Chen & Merz teach all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Chen & Merz do not explicitly teach the shielding member has relative permeability of 3,000 to 10,000, and saturation magnetic flux density of 1.7 T to 2.3 T.
But it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to have the shielding member has relative permeability of 3,000 to 10,000, and saturation magnetic flux density of 1.7 T to 2.3 T because this would be a form of routine optimization through routine experimentation such that the shielding and the magnet would work effectively in the system without error or fault. See MPEP Section 2144.05 II A.
Regarding claim 13, Chen & Merz teach all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Chen & Merz do not explicitly teach a driving structure configured to slide the second housing relative to the first housing, wherein the driving structure comprises: a motor in the first housing and configured to generate a driving force for moving the second housing relative to the first housing; a gear connected to the motor; and a rack connected to the second housing and configured to be engaged with the gear.
But it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to have a driving structure configured to slide the second housing relative to the first housing, wherein the driving structure comprises: a motor in the first housing and configured to generate a driving force for moving the second housing relative to the first housing; a gear connected to the motor; and a rack connected to the second housing and configured to be engaged with the gear because this is a common design used when two elements move linearly with regard to one another. One example that comes to mind is a rack and pinion steering system on an automobile wherein the driving gear transforms rotational motion of the steering gear into linear motion of the steering rack with many the same elements necessary from above. Another such motion is the movement of the stage in a machining tool such as a mill. This is a common, well-known, reliable means of moving two elements around each other linearly.
Regarding claim 19, Chen & Merz teach all elements of claim 16, upon which this claim depends.
Chen & Merz do not explicitly teach the shielding member has a relative permeability of 3,000 to 10,000, and a saturation magnetic flux density of 1.7 T to 2.3 T.
But it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to have the shielding member has relative permeability of 3,000 to 10,000, and saturation magnetic flux density of 1.7 T to 2.3 T because this would be a form of routine optimization through routine experimentation such that the shielding and the magnet would work effectively in the system without error or fault. See MPEP Section 2144.05 II A.
Claims 9 & 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (U.S. PGPub # 2021/0311137) in view of Merz (U.S. Pat. # 4,157,530) & Park et al (U.S. PGPub # 2019/0384438).
Regarding claim 9, Chen & Merz teach all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Chen & Merz do not explicitly teach the first housing comprises a first cover member and a frame surrounded by the first cover member, wherein the second housing comprises a second cover member at least partially accommodated within the first cover member, and wherein the magnet and the power receiving circuit are on the first cover member.
Park teaches the first housing comprises a first cover member (Fig. 2 Element 211. See paragraph 0078.) and a frame surrounded by the first cover member (Fig. 2 Element 210. See paragraph 0078.), wherein the second housing comprises a second cover member (Fig. 2 Element 240. See paragraph 0078.) at least partially accommodated within the first cover member (Fig. 2 Elements 211 encompassing Element 240. See paragraph 0078.), and wherein the magnet (Fig. 9 Element 913.) and the power receiving circuit (Fig. 2 Element 230. See paragraph 0078.) are on the first cover member (Fig. 2 Elements 211, 230, & 240 wherein all elements are within the confines of the display and the cover it is in. See paragraph 0078.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Park to the teachings of Chen & Merz such that the first housing comprises a first cover member and a frame surrounded by the first cover member, wherein the second housing comprises a second cover member at least partially accommodated within the first cover member, and wherein the magnet and the power receiving circuit are on the first cover member because this would allow one to create an affordable, effective, and reliable means of managing the sensor system with minimal interference. It would also allow one to determine the position of the display effectively and cheaply.
Regarding claim 14, Chen & Merz teach all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Chen & Merz do not explicitly teach a multi-bar structure configured to support at least a portion of the display; and a guide rail connected to the first housing and comprising a slit configured to guide movement of the multi-bar structure.
Park teaches a multi-bar structure configured to support at least a portion of the display (Fig. 2 Element 263. See paragraphs 0080-0085 & 0094-0095.); and a guide rail connected to the first housing and comprising a slit configured to guide movement of the multi-bar structure (Fig. 2 Element 263. See paragraphs 0078 & 0082.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Park to the teachings of Chen & Merz such that a multi-bar structure configured to support at least a portion of the display; and a guide rail connected to the first housing and comprising a slit configured to guide movement of the multi-bar structure because this is an affordable, effective, and reliable means of creating an effective case for a display that can move.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art listed but not cited represents the previous state of the art and analogous art that teaches some of the limitations claimed by applicant.
/CHRISTOPHER P MCANDREW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858