DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the communication filed on 07/10/2025.
Claims 1 has been canceled by preliminary amendment.
Claims 2- 21 has been added by preliminary amendment.
Claims 2-21 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-7, 10-15 and 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho et al (US Pub. No. 2015/0223160 herein after “Ho”) and further in view of Kafle et al (CN 108029075 A herein after “Kafle”).
As per claim 2 and similarly claims 10 and 18, Ho discloses a method for network connection architecture selection, the method comprising:
receiving, at a processing unit, a plurality of measurements on connections across a plurality of possible connection for a network that includes (Ho, para[0042] the network analysis unit can collect channel conditions as determined by the CAP 204, the Res 206-210 and the wireless client devices 240-242):
an access point coupled to a backend network and having a plurality of wireless interfaces for communication with a plurality of extenders (Ho, para[0034] a central access point 204 as a network device, network interfaces 514, RE 206 is coupled to the CAP 204 through link 222, RE 208 is coupled to the CAP 204 through link 228 (see FIG. 2)),
a first extender of the plurality of extenders coupled to the access point and connected to a first terminal (Ho, para[0036-0038] wireless client is coupled to RE 210 (see FIG. 2)), and
a second extender of the plurality of extenders coupled to the access point and connected to a second terminal (Ho, para[0036-0038] wireless client 240 requires link 230…by RE 208 (see FIG. 2)); and
determining, by the processing unit, a preferred connection among the plurality of possible connections based on the plurality of measurements (Ho, para[0043] a network selection unit (not shown) of the CAP 204 may utilize the information collected by the network analysis unit to determine which AP (CAP 204 or REs 206-210) will provide better application performance).
Ho does not explicitly disclose, however, Kafle discloses receiving a plurality of measurements on connections across a plurality of possible connection architectures for a network and determining a preferred connection architecture among the plurality of possible connection architectures based on the plurality of measurements (Kafle, receiving one or more link quality metrics; it may be desired to ensure that at all kinds of usage connections can be designated for service discovery strategy set of each possible scenario for connection policy for the source and sink device; either through the P2P connection or the infrastructure connection may be based on throughput testing or monitoring the link quality or delay and/or for the current session of link quality metric feedback is performed for further selection of correct connection topology).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Kafle’s teaching of selecting connection topology into Ho’s teaching of selecting an AP to optimize performance characteristics because one of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select connection topology that will improve the communication quality.
As per claim 3 and similarly claims 11 and 19, Ho discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the plurality of possible connection architectures comprises: both the first extender and the second extender connecting directly to the access point; the first extender connecting directly to the access point and the second extender connecting directly to the first extender; and the second extender connecting directly to the access point and the first extender connecting directly to the second extender (Ho, see FIG. 2).
As per claim 4 and similarly claim 12, Ho discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the plurality of measurements include a direct throughput measurement between the first extender and the second extender (Ho, FIG. 2).
As per claim 5 and similarly claims 13 and 20, Ho disclose the method of claim 2, wherein the plurality of measurements comprise one or more of: a plurality of throughput measurements across the plurality of possible connection architectures; a plurality of received signal strength indicator (RSSI) measurements across the plurality of possible connection architectures; a load measurement associated with at least one of the first extender and the second extender; one or more interference measurements across the plurality of possible connection architectures; or one or more discrete channel response measurements (Ho, para[0040]).
As per claim 6 and similarly claim 14, Ho discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the one or more interference measurements comprise one or more inter-channel interference measurements (Ho, para[0040]).
As per claim 7 and similarly claims 15 and 21, Ho discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the preferred connection architecture allocates different bands between a plurality of connections among the access point, the first extender, and the second extender (Ho, para[0040,0043]).
Claim(s) 8, 9, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho and Kafle and further in view of Chan et al (US Pub. No. 2015/0312778 herein after “Chan”).
As per claim 8 and similarly claim 16, neither Ho nor disclose, however, Chan discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the preferred connection architecture is determined using a cost function, and the cost function is indirectly modified by modifying a throughput function that is used in the cost function (Chan, para[0028,0058]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Chan's use
of performance constraints into Ho and 's teaching because one of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide optimized performance for a network.
As per claim 9 and similarly claim 17, neither Ho nor discloses, however, Chan discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the cost function involves constraints on metrics that comprise one or more of: dropped connections; load; cross-talk; transmit power; or throughput (Chan, para[0028,0058]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Chan's use
of performance constraints into Ho and 's teaching because one of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide optimized performance for a network.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See form 892.
/NATISHA D COX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458