DETAILED ACTION
This action is written in response to the amendment filed 08/20/2026
Claims 2, 7, 16 and 18 have been amended
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination
This action is Non-Final
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 10-14 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Provost et al. (US 10,506,860) in view Kitchen (US 9,907,375).
Claim 1. Provost discloses a vertically mountable and horizontally orientable document container 10 for mounting on a surface comprising:
a base 30 comprising a base wall and four perimeter walls extending away from the base wall and including a pair of spaced apart base length-walls located in between a pair of spaced apart base width-walls, wherein the base is configured for attachment to the surface 14 within an outline of the four perimeter walls (col. 4, ll. 5-20; fig. 1, 4);
a cover 20 comprising a cover wall and three perimeter walls extending away from the cover wall with a pair of cover width-walls spaced apart by a cover length-wall therebetween, wherein the cover is sized and configured to slidingly engage with a perimeter of the base and matingly fit over the base to form a document storage chamber between the base and the cover (fig. 2A);
the base width-walls being sized and configured for fitted-sliding engagement with the primary-grooved channel in the cover width-walls (col. 4, ll. 52-60);
each of the three perimeter walls 21,23,23A of the cover has a bottom edge portion 24/25 extending toward a center of the cover and forming a primary-grooved channel in each of the three perimeter walls (fig. 2A, 4).
Provost fails to disclose a latch mechanism. Kitchen teaches a latch formed by the base 344 and the cover that comprises a catch and a lever 404, wherein the lever snap-fits together with the catch to secure the cover in a temporarily locked position when the cover is located covering the base and providing an environmentally- secure zone in the document storage chamber (col. 8, ll. 33-50; fig. 5-6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the cover and base assembly of Provost to include the latch assembly of Kitchen to maintain the closed position of the adjoining parts for protecting the stored contents.
Claim 2. Provost-Kitchen discloses the document container of claim 1, further including a ridge 22 and a secondary-grooved channel 55 in between each of the base width-walls and the cover width-walls when the base width-walls are adjacent to the cover width-walls, wherein the ridge or the secondary-grooved channel is formed within the primary -grooved channel, and the ridge is sized and configured for mating sliding engagement with the secondary-grooved channel (Provost; col. 7, ll. 26-34).
Claim 3. Provost-Kitchen discloses the document container of claim 1, wherein a latch edge portion of the cover is in a press-fit relationship with an upper edge of one of the pair of spaced apart base length-walls located adjacent to the latch edge portion of the cover when the cover is in the temporarily locked position (Kitchen; fig. 8).
Claim 4. Provost-Kitchen discloses the document container of claim 3, wherein the latch creates a force to form the press-fit relationship between the cover and the base (Kitchen; col. 8, ll. 33-50).
Claim 5. Provost-Kitchen discloses the document container of claim 1, wherein the lever 338 is capable of being separated from the catch to unlock the latch by a user's single-hand operation (Kitchen; fig. 8-9).
Claim 6. Provost-Kitchen discloses the document container of claim 1, wherein the cover and the base once placed together to form the document storage chamber cannot be completely separated without distorting a portion of either the cover or the base (Kitchen; fig. 5-6).
Claim 10. Provost-Kitchen discloses the document container of claim 1, wherein a base back length-wall of the pair of spaced apart base length-walls has a leg protrusion 66 on at least one end of the base back length-wall (Provost; fig. 1).
Claim 11. Provost-Kitchens discloses the document container of claim 1, wherein a thickness of the container is in the range of 30 mm to 50 mm when the cover is in the temporarily locked position (Provost; fig. 3).
To modify the size/thickness of the base into the claimed thickness range would entail a mere change in size of the components and yield only predictable results. "[I]f a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person's skill." KSR Int 'l v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1396 (2007). A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 12. Provost-Kitchens discloses the document container of claim 1, wherein when the container is vertically mounted in a horizontal oriented direction the cover is capable of sliding into the temporarily locked position under a weight of the cover alone as the cover is acted upon by gravity from a cover open position to the temporarily locked position (Kitchen; col. 8, ll. 33-50).
Claim 13. Provost-Kitchens discloses the document container of claim 1, wherein the cover open position comprises the cover covering anywhere from 10% to 70% of the document storage chamber (Provost; fig. 1).
Claim 14. Provost-Kitchens discloses the document container of claim 1, wherein the cover open position comprises a temporarily retained-open position such that the cover is incapable of sliding into the temporarily locked position under a weight of the cover alone if the cover is acted upon by gravity alone from a cover open position to the temporarily locked position (Kitchen; fig. 3-4).
Claim 16. Provost discloses a vertically mountable and horizontally orientable document container 10 for mounting on a surface comprising:
a base 30 comprising a base wall and four perimeter walls extending away from the base wall and including a pair of spaced apart base length-walls located in between a pair of spaced apart base width-walls, wherein the base is configured for attachment to the surface within an outline of the four perimeter walls ((col. 4, ll. 5-20; fig. 1, 4);
a cover 20 comprising a cover wall and three perimeter walls extending away from the cover wall with a pair of cover width-walls spaced apart by a cover length-wall therebetween, wherein the cover is sized and configured to slidingly engage with a perimeter of the base and matingly fit over the base to form a document storage chamber between the base and the cover (fig. 2A);
each of the three perimeter walls of the cover has a bottom edge portion 21,23,23A extending toward a center of the cover and forming a primary-grooved channel in each of the three perimeter walls (fig. 2A, 4);
the base width-walls being sized and configured for fitted-sliding engagement with the primary-grooved channel in the cover width-walls (col. 4, ll. 52-60);
a ridge 22 and a secondary-grooved channel 55 in between each of the base width-walls and the cover width-walls when the base width-walls are adjacent to the cover width-walls, wherein the ridge or the secondary-grooved channel is formed within the primary -grooved channel, and the ridge is sized and configured for mating sliding engagement with the secondary-grooved channel (col. 7, ll. 26-34); and
Provost fails to disclose a latch mechanism. Kitchen teaches a latch formed by the base 344 and the cover that comprises a catch and a lever 404, wherein the lever snap-fits together with the catch to secure the cover in a temporarily locked position when the cover is located covering the base and providing an environmentally- secure zone in the document storage chamber (col. 8, ll. 33-50; fig. 5-6),
a latch edge portion of the cover is in a press-fit relationship with an upper edge of one of the pair of spaced apart base length- walls located adjacent to the latch edge portion of the cover when the cover is in the temporarily locked position (Kitchen; fig. 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the cover and base assembly of Stevens to include the latch assembly of Kitchen to maintain the closed position of the adjoining parts for protecting the stored contents.
Claim 17. Provost-Kitchen discloses the document container of claim 3, wherein the latch creates a force to form the press-fit relationship between the cover and the base (Kitchen; col. 8, ll. 33-50).
Claims 19-20. Provost-Kitchen discloses the document container of claim 1, wherein when the container is vertically mounted in a horizontal oriented direction the cover is capable of sliding into the temporarily locked position under a weight of the cover alone as the cover is acted upon by gravity from a cover open position to the temporarily locked position (Kitchen; col. 8, ll. 33-50),
wherein the cover open position comprises the cover covering anywhere from 10% to 70% of the document storage chamber (Provost; fig. 1).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Provost et al. (US 10,506,860) in view Kitchen (US 9,907,375) in view of Fukoda (US 5,337,913).
Claim 15. Provost-Kitchen discloses the document container of claim 1, but fails to disclose feet. Fukoda teaches wherein the base has at least one foot and the foot is shaped and configured to create a gap between a bottom edge portion of the cover and the surface (fig. 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the bottom edge portion of Provost to include the feet of Fukoda to assist in stabilizing the document container.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but in view of the amendment the search has been updated, new prior art has been identified and applied, and a new rejection has been made.
It is noted that the structural integrity of the document container is not contingent upon the unclaimed documents placed inside the base of the assembly. The base of Provost is believed to be configured to hold objects other than the specified razor products.
Conclusion
/RAVEN COLLINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3735
/Anthony D Stashick/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3735