DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed April 3, 2025 in which claims 1-18 are presented for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 18/028,199.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the shaping carrier comprises one or more depressions on its surface” as recited in claim 18 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the three-dimensional space" on line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 8-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by USPN 4,031,854 Sprague, Jr.
To claim 1, Sprague discloses a shoe upper manufacturing system (see Figures 1-4, reproduced below for convenience; col. 2, line 1 – col. 11, line 11) comprising:
a shaping carrier (56) (see Figures 1 and 3-4; col. 4, line 33 – col. 5, line 2); and
a dosing head in fluidic communication with a melting apparatus (see Figures 1-3; col. 2, line 63 – col. 3, line 11; col. 8, lines 13-56), wherein the dosing head includes a nozzle (28) comprising an outlet opening (38) (see especially Figure 2; col. 2, line 63 – col. 3, line 11), wherein the nozzle is configured such that a molten polymer composition (26) exiting the outlet opening exits the outlet opening as a helical filament (32) formed at least in a subregion between the outlet opening and the shaping carrier (see Figures 1-4; col. 2, lines 50-62).
To claim 2, Sprague further discloses a shoe upper manufacturing system wherein the nozzle comprises a plurality of air exit openings (52) arranged around the outlet opening (see Figure 2; col. 2, line 63 – col. 3, line 11).
To claim 3, Sprague further discloses a shoe upper manufacturing system wherein the air exit openings are arranged such that air can be impinged on the molten polymer composition exiting the outlet opening such that the helical filament is formed by impingement of the compressed air from the air exit openings (see Figure 2; col. 2, line 41 – col. 4, line 25).
To claim 4, Sprague further discloses a shoe upper manufacturing system wherein the air exit openings are concentrically arranged around the outlet opening (see Figure 2; col. 2, line 63 – col. 3, line 11).
To claim 5, Sprague further discloses a shoe upper manufacturing system wherein the air exit openings are directed horizontally offset to an axis extending in discharge direction through a central point of the outlet opening by an angle α (see Figure 2; col. 2, line 41 – col. 4, line 25).
To claim 8, Sprague further discloses a shoe upper manufacturing system further comprising an air discharge apparatus which is configured to provide an airflow at a predetermined temperature to the helical filament (see Figure 2; col. 2, line 41 – col. 4, line 25).
To claim 9, Sprague further discloses a shoe upper manufacturing system further comprising a dosing pump (see Figures 1-2; col. 2, line 41 – col. 4, line 63; col. 5, line 25 – col. 7, line 58).
To claim 10, Sprague further discloses a shoe upper manufacturing system wherein the dosing pump is a gear pump (see Figures 1-2; col. 2, line 41 – col. 4, line 63; col. 5, line 25 – col. 7, line 58).
To claim 11, Sprague further discloses a shoe upper manufacturing system wherein the melting apparatus comprises an extruder (see Figures 1-2; col. 2, line 41 – col. 4, line 63; col. 5, line 25 – col. 7, line 58).
To claim 12, Sprague further discloses a shoe upper manufacturing system wherein the melting apparatus comprises a plurality of consecutively arranged temperature zones (Figures 1-2 and Figure 3; col. 2, line 63 – col. 3, line 11; col. 8, lines 13-56).
To claim 13, Sprague further discloses a shoe upper manufacturing system wherein the plurality of consecutively arranged temperature zones comprises a first temperature zone (see Figures 1-2) and a downstream second temperature zone (see Figure 3), the first temperature zone configured to provide a lower temperature than the second temperature zone (col. 2, line 63 – col. 3, line 11; col. 8, lines 13-56).
To claim 14, Sprague further discloses a shoe upper manufacturing system further comprising a last as the shaping carrier (see Figures 1 and 3-4; col. 4, line 33 – col. 5, line 2).
To claim 15, Sprague further discloses a shoe upper manufacturing system wherein the shaping carrier comprises one or more heating elements (see Figure 3; col. 8, lines 13-56).
To claim 16, Sprague further discloses a shoe upper manufacturing system further comprising a positioning unit, wherein the positioning unit is configured to move the shaping carrier in the three-dimensional space (see Figures 1-4; col. 4, lines 26-63).
To claim 17, Sprague further discloses a shoe upper manufacturing system further comprising a control unit being configured to control moving the shaping carrier in the three-dimensional space (see Figures 1-4; col. 4, lines 26-63).
To claim 18, Sprague further discloses a shoe upper manufacturing system wherein the shaping carrier comprises one or more depressions on its surface (see Figures 1 and 3-4; col. 4, line 33 – col. 5, line 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sprague.
To claim 6, Sprague discloses a shoe upper manufacturing system as recited in claims 1-2 and 5, above.
Sprague does explicitly disclose a shoe upper manufacturing system wherein the angle α is 5° to 35°.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the shoe upper manufacturing system of Sprague such that angle α is 5° to 35° as a matter of routine optimization. It is further respectfully noted that it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05).
To claim 7, Sprague further discloses a shoe upper manufacturing system further comprising a horizontal angle β between a horizontal plane perpendicular to the outlet opening and a discharge direction and one of the air exit openings in flow direction of compressed air exiting the air exit opening (see Figure 2; col. 2, line 41 – col. 4, line 25).
Sprague does explicitly disclose a shoe upper manufacturing system wherein the angle β is 40° to 60°.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the shoe upper manufacturing system of Sprague such that angle β is 40° to 60° as a matter of routine optimization. It is further respectfully noted that it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,342,903. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they each disclose systems or methods of shoe upper manufacturing comprising substantially the same elements including a shaping carrier, a molten polymer composition, a nozzle comprising an outlet opening, with the molten polymer composition exiting the nozzle as a helical filament to be applied to the shaping carrier.
INSTANT APPLICATION
USPN 12,342,903
CLAIMS
1
1,15
2
1,17
3
1,17
4
1,17
5
1,17
6
1,17
7
1,17
8
9-10
9
9-10
10
1,15
11
1,15
12
9-10
13
9-10
14
14
15
14
16
3
17
4
18
14
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Manufacturing systems analogous to the instant invention.
/F Griffin Hall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732