DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 10th, 2025, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Specification paragraph [0224] discloses the following “…display of a third character and a fourth character separate from the fourth character”. Based on specification paragraph [0223], paragraph [0024] should recite “display of a third character and a fourth character separate from the third character”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 8 states the following limitation “while detecting the input corresponding to the control, displaying….”. Examiner thinks applicant meant to specify “the control point” not just “the control”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13, states the following limitation “…includes display of a third character and a fourth character separate from the fourth character, wherein the fourth character is the same character as the third character… Examiner is unsure what applicant means by “display of a third character and a fourth character separate from the fourth character”. Does applicant mean the third and fourth character are displayed separated? Therefore, examiner determines by broadest reasonable interpretation that the above limitation means a fourth and a third character are displayed separated. Thus, the claim will be examined as best understood by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-14, 18-19, and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al. PCT International Application WO 0063848 A1 (hereinafter Miller).
Regarding claim 1, Miller teaches a method, comprising: at a computer system (Page 6 Lines 12-32 to Page 7 Lines 1-12) that is in communication with one or more input devices (Keyboard, Keypad, Mouse, etc…, Page 6 Lines 18-26) and one or more display generation components (Output Devices – Displays, Page 6 Lines 18-26):
while displaying, via the one or more display generation components, (1) a text box (Fig. 16A or Any other Text Box Variation Fig. 14-18) with a first set of one or more vertices (Character Polygons Containing Vertices) and (2) a control point (Control Point Defining Path, Page 12 Lines 21-28), detecting, via the one or more input devices(Keyboard, Keypad, Mouse, etc…, Page 6 Lines 18-26), an input corresponding to the control point (User Defining Path, Page 12 Lines 13-20);
in response to detecting the input corresponding to the control point (User Using the Control Point to Define Path, Page 12 Lines 13-28) and in accordance with a determination that a first set of one or more criteria is satisfied, wherein the first set of one or more criteria includes a criterion (A User Manipulating the Control Point Modifying the straight Path or Paths) that is satisfied when the input corresponding to the control point(Control Point Defining Path, Page 12 Lines 21-28) includes a first path(User Defining Path, Page 12 Lines 13-20), displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the text box (Modifying Fig. 16A Paths or Modifying Any other Text Box Variation Fig. 14-18) with Miller teaches creating and modifying text boxes utilizing control points and paths (Page 12 Lines 1-32 to Page 13 Lines 1-2). Several different variations of text boxes and text are possible with Miller (Figs. 14-18).
While Miller fails to explicitly teach:
the text box with a second set of one or more vertices different from the first set of one or more vertices, wherein the second set of one or more vertices includes a different number of vertices than the first set of one or more vertices.
Miller teaches text boxes are defined as a collection of characters (Page 9 Lines 4-7) and have width/height properties. Each character is generated by a set of polygons (Page Lines 3-19). A polygon is made up of lines and vertices. Changing the height and size of a character can affect the number of polygons as the number of polygons determines the level of detail of the characters (Page 14 Lines 31-32 to Page 15 Lines 1-10). The paths specified determines the height of the text (Page 21 Lines 1-23). Thus, a user changing the height/width of the text characters or the number of characters changes the number of vertices in the polygons and the positions of vertices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miller’s Modification of Text Boxes to Incorporate Miller’s own User Modification of Changing the Width/Height of the Text Box or the Number of Characters would teach the text box with a second set of one or more vertices different from the first set of one or more vertices, wherein the second set of one or more vertices includes a different number of vertices than the first set of one or more vertices. Since doing so would provide the benefit of allowing the user to modify the text box to the user’s desire. Increasing the flexibility of Miller’s Modification of Text Boxes.
Regarding claim 2, Miller teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the text box with the second set of one or more vertices includes a portion that is in a shape corresponding to the first path (User Defining Path, Page 12 Lines 13-20), the method further comprising: in response to detecting the input corresponding to the control point(Control Point Defining Path, Page 12 Lines 21-28) and in accordance with a determination that a second set of one or more criteria, different from the first set of one or more criteria, is satisfied (A User Modifying the Text Box in a Different Way, Such as Curving the Path), wherein the second set of one or more criteria includes a criterion that is satisfied when the input corresponding to the control point includes a second path (Curved Path or Any Other Unique Path) different from the first path (Changing Fig. 16A to Resemble Fig. 16B or Changing Any other Text Box Variation Fig. 14-18 to Another Text Box Variation Fig. 14-18), displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the text box (Fig. 16B or Any other Text Box Variation Fig. 14-18) with a third set of one or more vertices(Character Polygons Containing Vertices), wherein the text box with the third set of one or more vertices includes a portion that is in a shape (Curved Text Box and Curved Characters or Any Other Unique Path) corresponding to the second path(Curved Path or Any Other Unique Path).
Regarding claim 3, Miller teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the second set of one or more vertices has more vertices than the first set of one or more vertices (A user changing the height/width of the text characters or the number of characters changes the number of vertices in the polygons. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miller’s Modification of Text Boxes to Incorporate Miller’s own User Modification of Changing the Width/Height of the Text Box or the Number of Characters would teach changing the number of vertices in the second set of one or more vertices to yield more vertices than the first set of one or more vertices. ). The motivation is the same as that which was set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Miller teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the second set of one or more vertices has less vertices than the first set of one or more vertices (A user changing the height/width of the text characters or the number of characters changes the number of vertices in the polygons. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miller’s Modification of Text Boxes to Incorporate Miller’s own User Modification of Changing the Width/Height of the Text Box or the Number of Characters would teach changing the number of vertices in the second set of one or less vertices to yield more vertices than the first set of one or more vertices. ). The motivation is the same as that which was set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Miller teaches the method of claim 1, wherein display of the text box(Fig. 16A or Any other Text Box Variation Fig. 14-18) with the first set of one or more vertices(Character Polygons Containing Vertices) includes display of a first set of one or more characters in a first appearance (Any of the Following Properties - Orientation, Font, and Width/Height, Type of Characters, etc…), and wherein display of the text box(Fig. 16A or Any other Text Box Variation Fig. 14-18) with the second set of one or more vertices(Character Polygons Containing Vertices) maintains display of the first set of one or more characters in the first appearance(Any of the Following Properties - Orientation, Font, and Width/Height, Type of Characters, etc…). According to broadest reasonable interpretation “first appearance” can be any property associated with the characters, such as orientation, font, and width/height, type of characters, etc…. The text inside the text box can be static and based on the path (Page 2 Lines 5-13 and Page 12 Lines 21-28). Depending on how the path is modified determines what properties of the characters are changed. For example, changing the path to be curved can modify the orientation of characters, but maintains the type of characters. Similarly changing the size of the path can modify the size of the characters, but maintains the orientation and type of the characters. Thus, Miller teaches several different appearance properties can be maintained, even though the path is modified.
Regarding claim 6, Miller teaches the method of claim 1, wherein display of the text box(Fig. 16A or Any other Text Box Variation Fig. 14-18) with the first set of one or more vertices(Character Polygons Containing Vertices) includes display of a first set of one or more characters with a first appearance(Any of the Following Properties - Orientation, Font, and Width/Height, Type of Characters, etc…), and wherein display of the text box(Fig. 16A or Any other Text Box Variation Fig. 14-18) with the second set of one or more vertices(Character Polygons Containing Vertices) includes display of the first set of one or more characters with a second appearance(Any of the Following Properties - Orientation, Font, and Width/Height, Type of Characters, etc…) different from the first appearance(Any of the Following Properties - Orientation, Font, and Width/Height, Type of Characters, etc…). As stated in claim 5’s rejection, depending on how the path is modified determines what properties of the characters are changed. For example, changing the paths in Fig. 16A to be curved like Fig. 16B. Results in a change in appearance of the text as the text’s orientation is different.
Regarding claim 7, Miller teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the text box(Fig. 16A or Any other Text Box Variation Fig. 14-18) with the first set of one or more vertices(Character Polygons Containing Vertices) includes a first baseline (Baseline Offset, Page 12 Lines 13-20), wherein the text box with the first set of one or more vertices has a first amount of area (Offset of the Characters of Text From the Path) above the first baseline along a path of the text box with the first set of one or more vertices and a second amount(Offset of the Characters of Text From the Path) of area below the first baseline along the path of the text box with the first set of one or more vertices, wherein the text box(Modifying Fig. 16A Paths or Modifying Any other Text Box Variation Fig. 14-18) with the second set of one or more vertices includes a second baseline(Baseline Offset, Page 12 Lines 13-20), and wherein the text box with the second set of one or more vertices has the first amount of area(Offset of the Characters of Text From the Path) above the second baseline along a path of the text box with the second set of one or more vertices and the second amount of area(Offset of the Characters of Text From the Path) below the second baseline along the path of the text box with the second set of one or more vertices. Each path has at least two properties, a baseline offset and orientation (Page 12, Lines 13-20). The baseline offset determines how much the text is above/below the path. Figs. 14-15 showcase different amounts of text above/below a path.
Regarding claim 10, Miller teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the text box (Fig. 16A or Any other Text Box Variation Fig. 14-18) with the first set of one or more vertices (Character Polygons Containing Vertices) includes a first set of one or more characters, the method further comprising:
while displaying the text box (Fig. 16A or Any other Text Box Variation Fig. 14-18) with the first set of one or more vertices (Character Polygons Containing Vertices):
in accordance with a determination that a third set of one or more criteria (Specific Font or Font Property) is satisfied, wherein the third set of one or more criteria includes a criterion that is satisfied when a font of the first set of one or more characters includes a first characteristic (Font Properties, Page 10 Lines 14-32 to Page 11 Lines 1-12), displaying, via the one or more display generation components(Output Devices – Displays, Page 6 Lines 18-26), a baseline at a first level(Baseline Offset Value, Page 12 Lines 13-20) within the text box; Fonts have several different properties associated with them, such as name, size, style attributes, type, etc.. (Page 10 Lines 28-32 to Page 11 Lines 1-12). Each character or glyph can have its own properties that it defines along a path (Page 11 Lines 13-25). The baseline offset value indicates if the characters/text are positioned above, below, or on the path (Page 12 Lines 29-32 to Page 13 Lines 1-2). The path can be defined by the user (Page 12 Lines 13-20) and text/characters in the text box can be edited using a graphical user interface (Page 19 Lines 21-31). Thus, a user could modify the path based on the font as the path and font can both be decided by the user.
and in accordance with a determination that a fourth set of one or more criteria(Specific Font or Font Property), different from the third set of one or more criteria, is satisfied, wherein the fourth set of one or more criteria includes a second criterion (Different Font Properties, Page 10 Lines 14-32 to Page 11 Lines 1-12) that is satisfied when the font of the first set of one or more characters includes a second characteristic different from the first characteristic, displaying, via the one or more display generation components(Output Devices – Displays, Page 6 Lines 18-26), the baseline at a second level(Baseline Offset Value, Page 12 Lines 13-20), different from the first level, within the text box.
Regarding claim 11, Miller teaches the method of claim 1, wherein display of the text box (Fig. 16A or Any other Text Box Variation Fig. 14-18) with the first set of one or more vertices (Character Polygons Containing Vertices) includes display of a first set of one or more characters (Text in the Text Box) within the textbox with the first set of one or more vertices.
Regarding claim 12, Miller teaches the method of claim 11, wherein display of the text box(Fig. 16A or Any other Text Box Variation Fig. 14-18) with the first set of one or more vertices(Character Polygons Containing Vertices) includes display of a first character (Any Character in the Text Box) and a second character(Any Character in the Text Box) separate from the first character, wherein the second character is the same character as the first character (Same Letter Appearing in the Text Box– Character Letter “T” in Fig. 16B), and wherein an orientation of the second character is different from an orientation of the first character(Same Letter with Different Orientations). In the example of Fig. 16B. There are 4 characters in the text box, they make up the word “text”. The letter “T” appears in “text” twice and is separated. The two “T’s” have different orientations as they follow the curve of the paths. Fig. 15A also teach claim 12’s limitation as there are multiple same characters at different orientations.
Regarding claim 13, Miller teaches the method of claim 11, wherein display of the text box(Fig. 16A or Any other Text Box Variation Fig. 14-18) with the first set of one or more vertices (Character Polygons Containing Vertices) includes display of a third character(Any Character in the Text Box) and a fourth character separate from the fourth character(Any Character in the Text Box), wherein the fourth character is the same character as the third character(Same Letter Appearing in the Text Box– Character Letter “E” in Fig. 14A), and wherein an orientation of the fourth character is the same orientation as an orientation of the third character. In the example of Fig. 14A. There are 11 characters in the text box, they make up the word “text effects”. The letter “E” appears in “text effects” thrice and each are separated. The three “E’s” have the orientations as they follow the path.
Regarding claim 14, Miller teaches the method of claim 11, further comprising: while detecting the input corresponding to the control point(User Defining Path, Page 12 Lines 13-20) and in accordance with a determination that a fifth set of one or more criteria is satisfied (The Path having a Scroll Property, Page 17 Lines 12-17), wherein the fifth set of one or more criteria includes a criterion that is satisfied when the input corresponding to the control point includes a third path different (Modifying Path to have a Scrolled Property, Page 17 Lines 12-17) from the first path(User Defining Any Path, Page 12 Lines 13-20), ceasing display of, via the one or more display generation components(Output Devices – Displays, Page 6 Lines 18-26), a first portion of the first set of one or more characters (Scrolling Text Along a Path, Page 18 Lines 1-32 to Page 19 Lines 1-8). Generating a path that has a scroll property, scrolls the text along the path. The length of the path and the size of the text determine the position of the text along the path, (Page 17 Lines 31-32 to Page 18 Lines 1-15). As the text scrolls/crawls along the path portions of the text are not visible as the text is moving along the path.
Regarding claim 18, Miller teaches the method of claim 1, wherein display of the text box(Fig. 16A or Any other Text Box Variation Fig. 14-18) with the first set of one or more vertices(Character Polygons Containing Vertices) includes display of a plurality of characters(Any Character in the Text Box) within the textbox with the first set of one or more vertices, wherein the first plurality of characters includes a first spacing between a first character of the plurality of characters and a second character of the plurality of characters (Spacing Specified Kerning or Justification, Page 18 Lines 22-32 to Page 19 Lines 1-8), wherein the second character is separate from the first character (Spacing Between Characters or Alignment, Page 12 Lines 21-28), the method further comprising:
in response to detecting the input corresponding to the control point (Control Point Defining Path, Page 12 Lines 21-28):
in accordance with a determination that an eighth set of one or more criteria is satisfied (Path with Specific Alignment or Spacing of Text, Page 12 Lines 21-28), wherein the eighth set of one or more criteria includes a criterion that is satisfied when the input corresponding to the control point(Control Point Defining Path, Page 12 Lines 21-28) includes a sixth path (Any path a User Defines/Modifies, Page 12 Lines 13-20), displaying, via the one or more display components (Output Devices – Displays, Page 6 Lines 18-26), the plurality of characters including the first spacing (Path with Specific Alignment or Spacing of Text, Page 12 Lines 21-28) between the first character and the second character;
and in accordance with a determination that a ninth set of one or more criteria, different from the eighth criteria, is satisfied(Path with Specific Alignment or Spacing of Text, Page 12 Lines 21-28), wherein the ninth set of one or more criteria includes a criterion that is satisfied when the input corresponding to the control point(Control Point Defining Path, Page 12 Lines 21-28) includes the sixth path(Any Path a User Defines/Modifies, Page 12 Lines 13-20), displaying, via the one or more display components(Output Devices – Displays, Page 6 Lines 18-26), the plurality of characters including a second spacing, different from the first spacing, between the first character and the second character. The spacing of the text along the path can be set to various different alignments and spacing by the user (Page 12 Lines 21-28).
Regarding claim 19, Miller teaches the method of claim 1, wherein display of the text box (Fig. 16A or Any other Text Box Variation Fig. 14-18) with the first set of one or more vertices (Character Polygons Containing Vertices) includes display of the text box with a first length (Text Box Width/Height, Page 9 Lines 4-7), the method further comprising:
in response to detecting the input corresponding to the control point(Control Point Defining/Modifying Path, Page 12 Lines 21-28) and in accordance with a determination that a tenth set of one or more criteria is satisfied (Modifying Path in any Specific Way, such as Extending the Path.), wherein the tenth set of one or more criteria includes a criterion that is satisfied when the input corresponding to the control point includes a seventh path (Extending the Path Length in Any Direction Away from Text Box) moving away from the text box with the first set of one or more vertices, displaying, via the one or more display generation components(Output Devices – Displays, Page 6 Lines 18-26), the text box with a second length longer than the first length without changing an orientation of the text box that was included in the text box before detecting the input corresponding to the control point. The path is specified inside a text box (Page 12 Lines 12-20) as a text box is defined as a collection of characters (Page 9 Lines 4-7). The characters follow the path. Extending a path in a direction could extend the text box as Miller does not limit the path to the boundaries of the text box. For example, extending the path of Fig. 16 A would result in the length of the text box changing, but would not change the orientation as the paths orientation was not changed.
Regarding claim 24, Miller teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Memory System, Page 7 Lines 13-28) storing one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of a computer system(Page 6 Lines 12-32 to Page 7 Lines 1-12) that is in communication with one or more input devices(Keyboard, Keypad, Mouse, etc…, Page 6 Lines 18-26) and one or more display generation components(Output Devices – Displays, Page 6 Lines 18-26), the one or more programs including instructions for performing the method of claim 1, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
Regarding claim 25, Miller teaches a computer system(Page 6 Lines 12-32 to Page 7 Lines 1-12) configured to communicate with one or more input devices(Keyboard, Keypad, Mouse, etc…, Page 6 Lines 18-26) and one or more display generation components(Output Devices – Displays, Page 6 Lines 18-26), comprising: one or more processors(Page 6 Lines 12-32 to Page 7 Lines 1-12); and memory(Memory System, Page 7 Lines 13-28) storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for performing the method of claim 1, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
Claim(s) 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al. PCT International Application WO 0063848 A1 (hereinafter Miller) in view of Fushiki et al. United States Patent 6803913 B1 (hereinafter Fushiki).
Regarding claim 8, Miller teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the text box (Fig. 16A or Any other Text Box Variation Fig. 14-18) with the first set of one or more vertices (Character Polygons Containing Vertices) includes a first baseline (Baseline Offset, Page 12 Lines 13-20), the method further comprising:
before detecting the input corresponding to the control point (The First Alternate Display - Displaying the Text Box for Editing Characters Only, Page 2 Lines 14-22), displaying, via the one or more display generation components(Output Devices – Displays, Page 6 Lines 18-26), the text box with the first set of one or more vertices Miller teaches a user interface for editing character strings by providing two alternative displays, Page 2 Lines 14-22. The first alternate display can show any desired portion of the character string and is used for editing the characters. The second alternate display is for editing the character string along a path or at a specific point in an animation. The path acts as a baseline for the characters.
and while detecting the input corresponding to the control (User Using the Control Point to Define Path in the Second Alternative Display, Page 12 Lines 13-28), displaying, via the one or more display generation components (Output Devices – Displays, Page 6 Lines 18-26), the text box and the first baseline (Baseline Offset, Page 12 Lines 13-20); and
in response to detecting the input corresponding to the control point, (Switching back to the First Alternative Display or Finishing Editing Text)
However, Miller fails to explicitly teach:
Miller and Fushiki are analogous to the claimed invention because both of them are in the same field of editing and displaying text along a path/line.
Fushiki teaches:
before detecting the input corresponding to the control point (Displaying Text before Curved), displaying, via the one or more display generation components (Display Device, Col. 5 Lines 27-44), the text (Invisible Baseline being a Reference Line, Col. 7 Lines 48-63); The reference lines can be visible or not and are managed by the application, Col. 11 Lines 31-52.
and while detecting the input corresponding to the control (Displaying Text Curved Along Reference Line), displaying, via the one or more display generation components (Display Device, Col. 5 Lines 27-44), the text (Visible Baseline being a Reference Line, Col. 7 Lines 48-63); and
in response to detecting the input corresponding to the control point (Finished Rendering/Editing Curved Text), ceasing display of the first baseline (Invisible Reference Line, Col. 11 Lines 31-52).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miller’s Baseline to incorporate Fushiki’s Reference Line that Can be Visible/Invisible. Since doing so would provide the benefit of generating properly position characters without showing the reference line used (Fushiki et al. Col. 11 Lines 31-52).
Regarding claim 9, Miller teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the text box (Fig. 16A or Any other Text Box Variation Fig. 14-18) with the second set of one or more vertices (Character Polygons Containing Vertices) is at a first position (Any Position), wherein the text box with the second set of one or more vertices includes a second baseline (Baseline Offset, Page 12 Lines 13-20), the method further comprising: Each text box has their own baseline.
while displaying(The First Alternate Display - Displaying the Text Box for Editing Characters Only, Page 2 Lines 14-22) the text box (Fig. 16A or Any other Text Box Variation Fig. 14-18) with the second set of one or more vertices (Switching to Second Alternative Display to Modify Fig. 16A Paths/Size/Position or Modifying Any other Text Box Variation Fig. 14-18 that Results in a Change of Position) corresponding to a request to move the text box to a second position (Changing Straight Path into a Curved Path or Any Different Path) different from the first position (Any Position); Miller can edit a character string at a specific point in time or position along a path (Page 2 Lines 14-22). As well as creating and modifying text boxes utilizing control points and paths (Page 12 Lines 1-32 to Page 13 Lines 1-2).
while detecting the input (Switching to Second Alternative Display to Modify Fig. 16A Paths/Size/Position or Modifying Any other Text Box Variation Fig. 14-18 that Results in a Change of Position)corresponding to the request to move the text box to the second position (Changing Straight Path into a Curved Path or Any Different Path), displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the text box(Fig. 16A or Any other Text Box Variation Fig. 14-18) and the second baseline(Baseline Offset, Page 12 Lines 13-20);
and in response to detecting the input Switching to Second Alternative Display to Modify Fig. 16A Paths/Size/Position or Modifying Any other Text Box Variation Fig. 14-18 that Results in a Change of Position) corresponding to the request to move the text box to the second position (Changing Straight Path into a Curved Path or Any Different Path),
However, Miller fails to explicitly teach:
Fushiki teaches:
while displaying the text (Displaying Text before Curved) (Invisible Baseline being a Reference Line, Col. 7 Lines 48-63), detecting, via the one or more input devices (Col. 5 Lines 27-44), an input corresponding to a request to move the text box to a second position (Curved Position of Text) different from the first position (Any Position); The reference lines can be visible or not and are managed by the application, Col. 11 Lines 31-52.
while detecting the input (Displaying Text Curved Along Reference Line) corresponding to the request to move the text (Curved Position of Text), displaying, via the one or more display generation components (Display Device, Col. 5 Lines 27-44), the text (Baseline being a Reference Line Visible, Col. 7 Lines 48-63);
and in response to detecting the input (Finished Rendering/Editing Curved Text) corresponding to the request to move the text (Curved Position of Text), ceasing display of the second baseline (Invisible Reference Line, Col. 11 Lines 31-52).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miller’s Baseline to incorporate Fushiki’s Reference Line that Can be Visible/Invisible. Since doing so would provide the benefit of generating properly position characters without showing the reference line used (Fushiki et al. Col. 11 Lines 31-52).
Claim(s) 15-17 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al. PCT International Application WO 0063848 A1 (hereinafter Miller) in view of Orshanskiy et al. United States Patent 8584012 B1 (hereinafter Orshanskiy).
Regarding claim 15, Miller teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the control point is a first control point (User Defining Path, Page 12 Lines 13-20), wherein the first set of one or more characters is displayed in a first orientation (Any Text Appearance in Figs. 14-17), the method further comprising:
while displaying, via the one or more display generation components(Output Devices – Displays, Page 6 Lines 18-26), (1) the text box(Fig. 16A or Any other Text Box Variation which has multiple control points Fig. 16-18) with the first set of one or more vertices, (2) the first control point(User Defining Path in a Specific Direction/Angle/shape, Page 12 Lines 21-28), and (3) a second control point different from the first control point (Another Point used to Specify the Path, Modify the Text Box, Text inside, and etc…), detecting, via the one or more input devices, an input corresponding to a respective control point (A User using any of the Control Points);
and in response to detecting the input corresponding to the respective control point (A User using any of the Control Points):
in accordance with a determination that a sixth set of one or more criteria is satisfied(A User Modifying/creating a Path in Anyway), wherein the sixth set of one or more criteria includes a criterion that is satisfied when the respective control point is the first control point(User Defining Path in a Specific Direction/Angle/Shape, Page 12 Lines 21-28) and that the input corresponding to the respective control point includes
and in accordance with a determination that a seventh set of one or more criteria(A User Modifying/Creating a Path in a Different Way, Such as Curving a Path), different from the sixth set of one or more criteria, is satisfied, wherein the seventh set of one or more criteria includes a criterion that is satisfied when the respective control point is the second control point(Another Point used to Specify the Path, Modify the Text Box, Text inside, etc…) and that the input corresponding to the respective control point includes a fifth path (Curving a Path) different from a fifth path moving toward the center of the text box with the first set of one or more vertices, displaying, via the one or more display generation components(Output Devices – Displays, Page 6 Lines 18-26), the first set of one or more characters with a second orientation (Any Text Appearance Different from First Orientation) different from the first orientation (Any Text Appearance in Figs. 14-17). Since the text position can be based on the path (Page 12 Lines 21-28). Changing the path affects the orientation of the text.
However, Miller fails to teach:
that the input corresponding to the respective control point includes a fourth path moving toward a center of the text box with the first set of one or more vertices, ceasing display of, via the one or more display generation components, a first portion of the first set of one or more characters;
Miller and Orshanskiy are analogous to the claimed invention because both of them are in the same field of generating text on a straight/curved path.
Orshanskiy teaches:
in accordance with a determination that a sixth set of one or more criteria is satisfied(A User Modifying/Creating the Path in a Different Way), wherein the sixth set of one or more criteria includes a criterion that is satisfied when the respective control point is the first control point (User Defining/Modifying Path using Placement Points, Line Segments, Points on a Path, etc… Col. 5 Lines 12-20, Col. 5 Lines 45-59, and Col. 6 Lines 4-16) and that the input corresponding to the respective control point(User Defining/Modifying Path, Col. 5 Lines 35-59) includes a fourth path moving toward a center of the text box (Reducing Length of Path by Removing Segment Col. 2 Lines 57-67 to Col. 3 Lines 1-2 or Curving a Path towards the Center of the Text Box) with the first set of one or more vertices, ceasing display of, via the one or more display generation components (Display 114, Col. 3 Lines 10-28), a first portion of the first set of one or more characters (Not Displaying Text that Does Not Fit on Path); Text that that does not fit on a path are not displayed, Col. 3 Lines 3-9, Col. 4 Lines 43-52, and Col. 8 Lines 26-44).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miller’s Path Creation/Modification to incorporate Orshanskiy’s Path Creation/Modification of Not Displaying Portions of Text. Since doing so would provide the benefit of ensuring text is displayed in a readable manner and indicating to a user when text cannot be displayed (Orshanskiy et al. Col. 3 Lines 3-9).
Regarding claim 16, Miller fails to teach the method of claim 15, wherein ceasing display of the first portion of the first set of one or more characters includes:
in accordance with a determination that the first set of one or more characters includes less than a predefined number of characters, ceasing display of, via the one or more display generation components, a single character;
and in accordance with a determination that the first set of one or more characters includes more than the predefined number of characters, ceasing display of, via the one or more display generation components, a word.
However, Orshanskiy teaches the method of claim 15, wherein ceasing display of the first portion of the first set of one or more characters includes (Not Displaying Text that Does Not Fit on Path, Col. 3 Lines 3-9, Col. 4 Lines 43-52, and Col. 8 Lines 26-44):
in accordance with a determination that the first set of one or more characters includes less than a predefined number of characters (Set of Individual Glyphs or Glyph Does not Fit on the Path, Col. 3 Lines 3-9 and Col. 4 Lines 43-52), ceasing display of, via the one or more display generation components(Display 114, Col. 3 Lines 10-28), a single character (Truncating the Glyphs or Glyph that can’t Fit); The text is broken into glyphs which contain letters, numbers, spaces, symbols, etc.. (Col. 6 Lines 4-16). The user is presented with the option to drop some glyphs or they can be dropped automatically (Col. 9 Lines 8-16). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art could easily set an arbitrary number to determine if a single or whole word is not displayed.
and in accordance with a determination that the first set of one or more characters includes more than the predefined number of characters (Allowing only Whole Words to be Displayed, Col. 9 Lines 7-16)), ceasing display of, via the one or more display generation components (Display 114, Col. 3 Lines 10-28), a word ((Truncating the Glyphs or Glyph that can’t Fit).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miller’s Path Creation/Modification to incorporate Orshanskiy’s Path Creation/Modification of Not Displaying Portions of Text. Since doing so would provide the benefit of ensuring text is displayed in a readable manner and indicating to a user when text cannot be displayed (Orshanskiy et al. Col. 3 Lines 3-9).
Regarding claim 17, Miller teaches the method of claim 15, further comprising: in response to detecting the input corresponding to the respective control point(Any Point used to Specify the Path, Modify the Text Box, Text inside, and etc…) and in accordance with a determination that the sixth set of one or more criteria is satisfied(User Defining Path in a Specific Direction/Angle/Shape, Page 12 Lines 21-28), displaying, via the one or more display generation components(Output Devices – Displays, Page 6 Lines 18-26), a user interface element (Circle Signifying Start of Path or Squares/Lines Signifying Corners or Edges of Text Box, Figs. 14-18) at a leading edge of the text box.
Regarding claim 20, Miller teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
while displaying the text box (Fig. 16A or Any other Text Box Variation Fig. 14-18) with the second set of one or more vertices (Character Polygons Containing Vertices), displaying, via the one or more display generation components (Output Devices – Displays, Page 6 Lines 18-26), content (Video or Image Data, Page 4 Lines 23-32 to Page 5 Lines 1-2);
while displaying the text box (Fig. 16A or Any other Text Box Variation Fig. 14-18) with the second set of one or more vertices (Character Polygons Containing Vertices) and the content (Video or Image Data, Page 4 Lines 23-32 to Page 5 Lines 1-2), detecting, via the input device(Keyboard, Keypad, Mouse, etc…, Page 6 Lines 18-26), an input corresponding to a request to move the text box with the second set of one or more vertices (User Modifying the Path inside the Text Box or Modifying the Text Box Location/Dimensions);
and while detecting the input corresponding to the request to move the text box with the second set of one or more vertices: (User Modifying the Path inside the Text Box or Modifying the Text Box Location/Dimensions) in accordance with a determination that an eleventh set of one or more criteria is satisfied (Any Modification to the Path that Effects the Position, such as Extending/Reducing/Changing Path, Changing Size/Font of Characters Along Path, or Changing Text Box Width/Height/Location), wherein the eleventh set of one or more criteria includes a criterion that is satisfied when the input corresponding to the request to move the text box with the second set of one or more vertices is at a first location corresponding to the content (Text Box with Path Being Positioned Anywhere Relative to or on the Contents Position), displaying, via the one or more display generation components(Output Devices – Displays, Page 6 Lines 18-26), a first portion of the content(Video or Image Data, Page 4 Lines 23-32 to Page 5 Lines 1-2) with a first visual emphasis (The Text Box Positioned Relative to or on the Content); The text box and the text inside are the visual emphasis. As they are placed relative or on the content, which would draw emphasis to that location on the content. As Miller’s invention pertains to creating/modifying paths associated with text and text boxes (Page 4 Lines 23-32 to Page 5 Lines 3-19) that are used to edit image/video data.
in accordance with a determination that a twelfth set of one or more criteria, different from the eleventh set of one or more criteria, is satisfied(Any Modification to the Path that Effects the Position, such as Extending/Reducing/Changing Path, Changing Size/Font of Characters Along Path, or Changing Text Box Width/Height/Location), wherein the twelfth set of one or more criteria includes a criterion that is satisfied when the input corresponding to the request to move the text box with the second set of one or more vertices is at a second location(Text Box with Path Being Positioned Anywhere Relative to or on the Contents Position), different from the first location, corresponding to the content(Video or Image Data, Page 4 Lines 23-32 to Page 5 Lines 1-2) (Output Devices – Displays, Page 6 Lines 18-26), a second portion of the content(Video or Image Data, Page 4 Lines 23-32 to Page 5 Lines 1-2), different from the first portion of the content, with the first visual emphasis(The Text Box Positioned Relative to or on the Content Containing Text).
However, Miller fails to explicitly teach:
the request to move the text box with the second set of one or more vertices is at a second location, different from the first location, corresponding to the content with the first shape,
Orshanskiy teaches:
in accordance with a determination that a twelfth set of one or more criteria (Specifying/Defining a Specific Path Col. 3 Lines 64-67 to Col. 4 Lines 1-6 and Col. 5 Lines 35-44), different from the eleventh set of one or more criteria, is satisfied, wherein the twelfth set of one or more criteria includes a criterion that is satisfied when the input corresponding to the request to move the text box with the second set of one or more vertices is at a second location (Specifying the Path Manually or Automatically to Contour a Car, Col. 4 Lines 20-33), different from the first location, corresponding to the content with the first shape (Shape of Car in Content), displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a second portion of the content (Digital Image Depicting Car, Col. 4 Lines 20-33), different from the first portion of the content, with the first visual emphasis (Text Surrounding Car Provides Visual Emphasis to the Car Content).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miller’s Path Creation/Modification to incorporate Orshanskiy’s Path Creation/Modification of Contouring Content. Since doing so would provide the benefit of increasing the flexibility of creating/modifying text paths. As they can be manually or automatically based on content.
Regarding claim 21, Miller teaches the method of claim 20, further comprising:
after detecting the input corresponding to the request to move(User Modifying the Path inside the Text Box or Modifying the Text Box Location/Dimensions) the text box (Fig. 16A or Any other Text Box Variation Fig. 14-18) with the second set of one or more vertices(Character Polygons Containing Vertices) and in accordance with a determination that termination of the input (The Input has been Finalized/Finished) corresponding to the request to move the text box with the second set of one or more vertices corresponds to the content(Video or Image Data, Page 4 Lines 23-32 to Page 5 Lines 1-2), displaying, via the one or more display generation components(Output Devices – Displays, Page 6 Lines 18-26), the text box wrapped along a path(User Defining Path, Page 12 Lines 13-20)
However, Miller fails to teach:
the text box wrapped along a path of the content.
Orshanskiy teaches:
the text box wrapped along a path (Specifying the Path Manually or Automatically to Contour a Car, Col. 4 Lines 20-33) of the content (Digital Image Depicting Car, Col. 4 Lines 20-33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miller’s Path Creation/Modification to incorporate Orshanskiy’s Path Creation/Modification of Contouring Content. Since doing so would provide the benefit of increasing the flexibility of creating/modifying text paths. As they can be manually or automatically based on content.
Regarding claim 22, Miller teaches the method of claim 21, wherein the text box is a first text box (Fig. 16A or Any other Text Box Variation Fig. 14-18), wherein the path is a first path (Any Path Created/Modified by the User, Page 12 Lines 13-20), the method further comprising:
while displaying the first text box (Fig. 16A or Any other Text Box Variation Fig. 14-18) wrapped along the first path (Any Path Created/Modified by the User, Page 12 Lines 13-20) (Keyboard, Keypad, Mouse, etc…, Page 6 Lines 18-26), an input corresponding to a request to move a second text box (Another Text Box that isn’t the First Text Box) different from the first text box;
and in response to detecting the input corresponding to the request to move the second text box(User Modifying the Path inside a Text Box or Modifying a Text Box Location/Dimensions) and in accordance with a determination that termination of the input(The Input has been Finalized/Finished) corresponding to the request to move the second text box corresponds to the content(Video or Image Data, Page 4 Lines 23-32 to Page 5 Lines 1-2), displaying, via the one or more display generation components(Output Devices – Displays, Page 6 Lines 18-26), the second text box wrapped along a second path(Another Path Created/Modified by the User, Page 12 Lines 13-20), different from the first path, Miller’s Invention is not limited to just a single path or text box (Page 9 Lines 4-11). Several text boxes and paths can be present.
However, Miller fails to explicitly teach:
the first text box wrapped along the first path of the content.
the second text box wrapped along a second path, different from the first path,
Orshanskiy teaches:
the first text box wrapped along the first path (Specifying the Path Manually or Automatically to Contour a Car, Col. 4 Lines 20-33) of the content (Digital Image Depicting Car, Col. 4 Lines 20-33). The user can define/select their own path (Col. 3 Lines 64-67 to Col. 4 Lines 1-6).
the second text box wrapped along a second path, different from the first path (Specifying the Path Manually or Automatically to Contour a Car, Col. 4 Lines 20-33), of the content while displaying the first text box wrapped along the first path of the content (Digital Image Depicting Car, Col. 4 Lines 20-33). While Orshanskiy does not explicitly disclose a second path also wrapped on the content the first path is wrapped on. Orshanskiy’s teaches its paths can contour objects like a car Col. 4 Lines 20-33 and are user defined (Col. 3 Lines 64-67 to Col. 4 Lines 1-6). Thus, a user could easily define the first path to a portion of the car and have another path to contour the rest.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miller’s Path Creation/Modification to incorporate Orshanskiy’s Path Creation/Modification of Contouring Content. Since doing so would provide the benefit of increasing the flexibility of creating/modifying text paths. As they can be manually or automatically based on content.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al. PCT International Application WO 0063848 A1 (hereinafter Miller) in view of Peterson et al. United States Patent Application Publication 20200098086 A1 (hereinafter Peterson).
Regarding claim 23, Miller teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
while displaying the text box (Fig. 16A or Any other Text Box Variation Fig. 14-18) with the second set of one or more vertices (Character Polygons Containing Vertices), detecting, via the one or more input devices (Keyboard, Keypad, Mouse, etc…, Page 6 Lines 18-26), an input corresponding to a request to edit (Any Edit to the Text Box - Modifying Path and Characters inside the Text Box) the text box with the second set of one or more vertices(Character Polygons Containing Vertices);
and in response to detecting the input corresponding to the request to edit the text box (User Editing the Text Box - Modifying Path and Characters inside the Text Box) with the second set of one or more vertices, generation components(Output Devices – Displays, Page 6 Lines 18-26), a first indication of a first vertex (Vertex Belonging to a Character or Glyph) of the second set of one or more vertices and a second indication of a second vertex(Another Vertex Belonging to a Character or Glyph) of the second set of one or more vertices with the text box with the second set of one or more vertices, wherein the second vertex is separate from the first vertex. Miller teaches text boxes are defined as a collection of characters/glyphs (Page 9 Lines 4-7) and have width/height properties. Each character is generated by a set of polygons (Page Lines 3-19). A polygon is made up of several lines and vertices.
However, Miller fails to explicitly teach:
displaying, via the one or more display generation components a first indication of a first vertex of the second set of one or more vertices and a second indication of a second vertex of the second set of one or more vertices with the text box with the second set of one or more vertices, wherein the second vertex is separate from the first vertex.
Miller and Peterson are analogous to the claimed invention because both of them are in the same field of displaying text boxes and creating/manipulating curved text.
Peterson teaches:
Displaying (Figs. 2E, 2F, and 2G), via the one or more display generation components (Display Device, Para. 0056) a first indication of a first vertex (Any of the Vertices that Make up a Triangle, Para. 0090) of the second set of one or more vertices (All the Vertices of the Text Box) and a second indication of a second vertex (Any of the Vertices that Make up a Triangle, Para. 0090) of the second set of one or more vertices (All the Vertices of the Text Box) with the text box with the second set of one or more vertices, wherein the second vertex is separate from the first vertex.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miller’s Text Boxes to Incorporate Peterson’s Text Boxes that Display Vertices. Since doing so would provide the benefit of displaying the Bezier Patches that make up the text box visually so a user can modify them (Peterson et al. Para. 0089-0093).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Cornell et al. United States Patent Application Publication 20130002705 A1 (hereinafter Cornell) teaches rendering text strings along curved lines.
/BRIANNA RENAE COCHRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2615
/MICHAEL J COBB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615