The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This is in reply to papers filed on 6/30/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 8, and 15 is/are independent.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 6/30/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
U.S. Patent No. 11,829,610
Claims 1 and 15 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3 and 17, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 11,829,610 in view of Glover et al. U.S. Publication 20130254536 (hereinafter “Glover”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the combination of the claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,829,610 and the teachings of the Glover reference render obvious claim 1 of the present application. Claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,829,610 contain most elements of claim 1 of the instant application, except the features of
configuring a device
configuring the device
configuring the device
Glover at para. 73 and 75 discloses configuring a device such as a computer system to perform operations of the disclosure. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method recited in claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,829,610 to include
configuring a device
configuring the device
configuring the device
Independent Claim 15 recites limitations analogous to limitations of claim 1 and similarly, the combination of the claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,829,610 and the teachings of the Glover reference render obvious claim 15 of the present application.
Claim 8 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,829,610 in view of Glover. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the combination of the claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,829,610 and the teachings of the Glover reference render obvious the claim 8 of the present application. Claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,829,610 contain most elements of claim 8 of the instant application, except the features of
An infrastructure device, comprising: a memory; and a processor communicatively coupled to the memory, the memory and the processor being configured to:
configuring a device
configuring the device
configuring the device
Glover at para. 80 discloses the invention may also be practiced in distributed computing environments where tasks are performed by remote processing devices that are linked through a communications network. In a distributed computing environment, program modules may be located in both local and remote computer storage media including memory storage devices. The invention may be executed on one or more computer processors that are linked using a data network, including, for example, the Internet. Different steps of the process can be executed by one or more computers and storage devices. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method recited in claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,829,610 to include
A device, comprising: a memory; and a processor communicatively coupled to the memory, the memory and the processor being configured to,
configuring a device
configuring the device
configuring the device
as taught by Glover, in order to properly configure the computer to perform the operations.
Claims 3 and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 4 and 18, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 11,829,610 in view of Machani et al. U.S. Patent No. 9673975 (hereinafter “Machani”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the combination of the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,829,610 and the teachings of the Machani reference render obvious the claims of the present application. Claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,829,610 contain most elements of claim 3 of the instant application, except the features of
configuring the device
configuring the device to decrypt the assigned private key associated with the device by utilizing the master key.
Machani discloses forming specialized hardware (15:53-54), which means the device is configured, thereby disclosing configuring the device, and 2:29-41 discloses decrypting an assigned private key using a master key.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method recited in claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,829,610 to include
configuring the device
configuring the device to decrypt the assigned private key associated with the device by utilizing the master key, as taught by Machani, in order to improve the ability of the system to obtain the private key by decrypting the private key using the master key.
Claim 17 recites limitations analogous to limitations of claim 3 and similar arguments apply to instant claim 17 and corresponding claim 18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,829,610.
Claims 5 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6 and 20, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 11,829,610 in view of Chang et al. U.S. Publication 20130117567 (hereinafter “Chang”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the combination of the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,829,610 and the teachings of the Chang reference render obvious the claims of the present application. Claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,829,610 contain most elements of claim 5 of the instant application, except the features of
configuring the device to receive encrypted sample data, the sample data being encrypted by utilizing the assigned public key associated with the device; and
configuring the device
Chang at para. 39 and 44 discloses configuring a device, and para. 68-69 discloses some random data is encrypted using the server public key by a virtual node. The message is then sent to the server in step 245 in order to establish a secure communication pathway such as SSL. The coordinating server also decrypts the encrypted data using the server private key. The coordinating server generates and sends a message to the virtual node including the decrypted data.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method recited in claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,829,610 to include
configuring the device to receive encrypted sample data, the sample data being encrypted by utilizing the assigned public key associated with the device; and
configuring the device, as taught by Chang, in order to establish encrypted communications.
Claim 19 recites limitations analogous to limitations of claim 5 and similar arguments apply to instant claim 19 and corresponding claim 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,829,610.
U.S. Patent No. 11,983,419
Claims 1-20 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 11,983,419 in view of Glover. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the combination of the claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,983,419 and the teachings of the Glover reference render obvious claim 1 of the present application. Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,983,419 contain most elements of claim 1 of the instant application, except the features of
configuring a device
configuring the device
configuring the device
Glover at para. 73 and 75 discloses configuring a device such as a computer system to perform operations of the disclosure. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method recited in claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,983,419 to include
configuring a device
configuring the device
configuring the device
Independent instant claims 8 and 15 recite limitations analogous to limitations of instant claim 1 and similarly, the combination of the claims 8 and 15, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 11,983,419 and the teachings of the Glover reference render obvious claims 8 and 15 of the present application.
The remaining instant dependent claims recite limitations analogous to limitations of dependent claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,983,419 and similarly, the combination of each of the dependent claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,983,419 and the teachings of the Glover reference render obvious the remaining dependent claims of the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 5, 12, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites configuring the device to be crypt. However, the limitation does not make sense and looking at the similar limitation in claim 9 for clarification, the words should be, and for compact prosecution is interpreted as, configuring the device to decrypt.
Claim 5 recites utilizing the assigned public key. However, there is no antecedent basis for the assigned public key. Claim 5 also recites an assigned private key. However, claim 1 already introduces an assigned private key and therefore it is unclear whether claim 5 is introducing a new assigned private key or referring to the assigned private key introduced in claim 1.
Claims 12 and 19 recite limitations analogous to limitations of claim 5 and are rejected for the same reasons as claim 5.
Note claims 9 and 16 are analogous to claim 2 but do not have the same issue.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 8-9, 11, 15-16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glover et al. U.S. Publication 20130254536 (hereinafter “Glover”) in view of Selgas et al. U.S. Publication 20140281520 (hereinafter “Selgas”).
As per claim 1, Glover discloses
A method, comprising:
(See Glover flowchart of figure 5 and figure 4
para. 59 and 63-65
)
configuring a device [server para. 58] to determine [server para. 58, performing actions as described in para. 65 and para 35] a sharing decryption key [user’s private key, para. 65; “The user's encrypted private key is retrieved from the database and decrypted using the user secret key”, para. 65 ] based at least in part on a user secret key [user secret key of a user that has been granted access to a shared folder, para. 65; para. 65 discusses a user receiving granted access to a shared folder] associated with the device [server para. 58] and a folder access public key [folder public key, para. 64] associated with a folder; [“user who is being granted permission to access the folder”, para. 64;]
[0064] The folder private key is encrypted with the creating user's public key. The encrypted folder private key is stored in the database, most likely along with the record that grants the creating user permission to access the folder. When a new item (file or subfolder) is created within any folder, the (file or folder) private key of the newly created item is encrypted with the public key of the containing folder. This encrypted copy of the new item private key is stored in the database, possibly alongside the data identifying the new item itself. When a folder is shared to a different user, the steps for sharing files are carried out, but using the folder private key rather than the file private key. Thus at the end of the steps the database contains a version of the folder private key encrypted with the public key of the user who is being granted permission to access the folder.
[
Glover at para. 73 and 75 discloses configuring a device such as a computer system to perform operations of the disclosure.
determine under the broadest reasonable interpretation can have meanings that include identifying or selecting. Specifically, this limitation is interpreted as identifying a sharing decryption key based on its relationship with these other 2 keys, i.e. under broadest reasonable interpretation the limitation determine a sharing decryption key based is interpreted as identifying a sharing decryption key that has these relationships with these other keys.
sharing decryption key = user’s private key Glover Para. [0065]; and para 35 decrypt the user’s private key
folder access public key = folder public key, para 64
In Glover, user’s private key is used to decrypt the encrypted folder private key, para. 65; the corresponding user public key is the public key of the user who has been granted permission to access the folder, para. 64; the Glover user private key is determined based at least in part on user secret key because the user secret key is used to decrypt user private key at para. 65
There is a relationship between the Glover user private key and the other cited keys in Glover, as follows: the user secret key decrypts the user private key (para. 65), the user private key decrypts the encrypted folder private key and a symmetric key (para. 65), the folder private key decrypts the file private key (para. 60), and the file private key decrypts files or optionally decrypts the symmetric key (para. 60), and the symmetric key decrypts content (para. 60).
Because in Glover every folder private key has a corresponding folder public key, and the folder private key is decrypted by the user’s private key (para. 65), the Glover user’s private key is also determined based at least in part on the folder public key. These are the relationships between the keys that tie the Glover user’s private key to the Glover folder public key.
Para. 35 is cited for identifying the user’s private key, such user’s private key including the relationships with other keys
]
([0063] when a new folder is created (including a top level folder), a new public/private key pair is created for the entire folder. This pair makes up the folder private key and folder public key1
[0034] …This allows the server to: [0035] Decrypt the user's private key from the encrypted version which has been stored; [0036] Use the user's private key to decrypt the item key; and [0037] Use the item key to decrypt the item content and return the unencrypted item content to the user.
)
configuring the device to decrypt a folder access private key associated with the folder by utilizing the sharing decryption key; and
[Glover at para. 73 and 75 discloses configuring a device such as a computer system to perform operations of the disclosure]
(
[0065]
Downloading a file from a shared folder. When downloading a file from a folder that has been shared to the user, there will be no copy of the file private key encrypted by the user's public key. At this point the server will check the parent folder of the file (and its parent folders) looking for a folder where the user has been granted permission. The database will contain a copy of this folder's private key encrypted with the user's public key. The user's encrypted private key is retrieved from the database and decrypted using the user secret key. The user's private key is used to decrypt the encrypted folder private key found above. The folder private key can be used to decrypt the file or folder private key for any item contained in that folder. This allows access either directly to the private key of the file to be downloaded or indirectly (via decrypting the private keys of intermediate folders between the shared folder and the file).
)
configuring the device to decrypt encrypted content associated with the folder by utilizing the folder access private key associated with the folder.
[The Glover folder private key is used to decrypt the file private key, and the file private key is used to decrypt a symmetric key, and symmetric key is used to decrypt content, para. 60, 65; claim 2 also further clarifies that the folder access private key of the claim is not directly used to decrypt the content; Glover at para. 73 and 75 discloses configuring a device such as a computer system to perform operations of the disclosure ]
( [0065]
Downloading a file from a shared folder…The folder private key can be used to decrypt the file or folder private key for any item contained in that folder.
[0060] Downloading Files…Where a symmetric key has been used to encrypt a large amount of data, the private file key is used to decrypt the symmetric key, which then is used to decrypt the file itself.
)
However, Glover does not expressly disclose that the sharing decryption key is based at least in part on an assigned private key [ie does not expressly disclose sharing decryption key that has this relationship with the private key]
Selgas discloses encrypting a file key using the public key of the recipient user to generate a share key and decrypting the share key using a private key of the asymmetric key pair to reconstruct the file key
[since the Selgas public key has a relationship with the private key, the Selgas share key is determined based at least in part on the Selgas private key, no matter encrypting or decrypting.
sharing decryption key corresponds to the Selgas share key
]
(
[0006] In another embodiment, the present disclosure provides a method for sharing an encrypted file stored in a cloud server, the method comprising: generating a file key associated with the encrypted file stored in the cloud server; encrypting the file key using a public key of an asymmetric key pair to generate a share key; storing the share key in the cloud server; retrieving the encrypted file and the share key from the cloud server; decrypting the share key using a private key of the asymmetric key pair to reconstruct the file key; and using the reconstructed file key to decrypt the encrypted file.
Selgas [0007] In yet another embodiment, the present disclosure provides a method for sharing an encrypted file stored in a cloud server, the method comprising: generating a file key associated with the encrypted file stored in the cloud server; generating a share message, the share message including the generated file key and identifying at least a recipient user and the encrypted file stored in the cloud server; encrypting the file key using an identification key of the recipient user, which can be either a symmetric key of the recipient user or the public key of a public/private asymmetric key pair of the recipient user, to generate a share key; storing the share key in the cloud server; notifying the recipient user of at least one of the encrypted file and shared key stored in the cloud server; retrieving the encrypted file and the share key from the cloud server; decrypting the share key using the identification key of the recipient user, which is either the symmetric key of the recipient user or the private key of the public/private asymmetric key pair of the recipient user, to reconstruct the file key; and using the reconstructed file key to decrypt the encrypted file.
).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Glover with the techniques for encrypting a file key using the public key of the recipient user to generate a share key and decrypting the share key using a private key of the asymmetric key pair to reconstruct the file key of Selgas to include
configuring a device to determine a sharing decryption key based at least in part on an assigned private key associated with the device and a folder access public key associated with a folder;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have made this modification to improve the ability of the system to utilize a sharing key, whether for encryption or decryption, that is tied to a particular private key. The system of the primary reference can be modified to determine a sharing key using a private key, i.e. determine a sharing key that has this relationship with the private key.
As per claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Glover discloses wherein configuring the device to decrypt the encrypted content comprises:
configuring the device to decrypt a randomly generated key [symmetric key, para. 59, 60, 65 ] by utilizing the folder access private key, the randomly generated key being used to encrypt the content [symmetric key is used to encrypt the bulk data, para. 59]; and
configuring the device to decrypt the encrypted content by utilizing the randomly generated key.
[configuring the device to be crypt for compact prosecution is interpreted as configuring the device to decrypt.
The Glover folder private key is used to decrypt the file private key, and the file private key is used to decrypt a symmetric key, which is randomly generated, and symmetric key is used to decrypt content, para. 59, 60, 65
randomly generated key = symmetric key Glover Para. [0059]
]
(
[0059] Uploading Files. …. It is normal practice when encrypting a large block of data with a public key cryptography scheme to actually create a random symmetric key (i.e. an AES key), encrypt the bulk data using that key and then encrypt the symmetric key using the public key cryptography.
[0059]
Uploading Files. When a new file is uploaded to the server, another new, randomly generated public/private key pair is created as…. This key pair makes up the file private key and file public key.
para. 65 Downloading a file from a shared folder. When downloading a file from a folder that has been shared to the user, there will be no copy of the file private key encrypted by the user's public key. At this point the server will check the parent folder of the file (and its parent folders) looking for a folder where the user has been granted permission. The database will contain a copy of this folder's private key encrypted with the user's public key. The user's encrypted private key is retrieved from the database and decrypted using the user secret key. The user's private key is used to decrypt the encrypted folder private key found above. The folder private key can be used to decrypt the file or folder private key for any item contained in that folder. This allows access either directly to the private key of the file to be downloaded or indirectly (via decrypting the private keys of intermediate folders between the shared folder and the file).
Para. 60 Where a symmetric key has been used to encrypt a large amount of data, the private file key is used to decrypt the symmetric key, which then is used to decrypt the file itself
)
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
However, Glover does not expressly disclose wherein the sharing decryption key is a symmetric key.
Selgas discloses wherein the sharing decryption key is a symmetric key.
([0007] decrypting the share key using the identification key of the recipient user, which is either the symmetric key of the recipient user or the private key of the public/private asymmetric key pair of the recipient user
).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Glover with the technique for using either a symmetric key or a public/private asymmetric key pair to perform decryption by a recipient user of Selgas to include
wherein the sharing decryption key is a symmetric key.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have made this modification to improve the ability of the system to provide flexible encryption options, so that the system can utilize symmetric keys or public key encryption depending on the application use case. The system of the primary reference can be modified to use a symmetric key for encryption and decryption instead of the user private key.
As per claim 8, the claim(s) is/are directed to a device with limitations which correspond to limitations of claim 1, and is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to claim 1. Claim 8 also recites An infrastructure device, comprising: a memory; and a processor communicatively coupled to the memory, the memory and the processor being configured to:
Glover discloses
An infrastructure device, comprising: a memory; and a processor communicatively coupled to the memory, the memory and the processor being configured to:
(
Glover [0080] The invention may also be practiced in distributed computing environments where tasks are performed by remote processing devices that are linked through a communications network. In a distributed computing environment, program modules may be located in both local and remote computer storage media including memory storage devices. Practitioners of ordinary skill will recognize that the invention may be executed on one or more computer processors that are linked using a data network, including, for example, the Internet. In another embodiment, different steps of the process can be executed by one or more computers and storage devices
)
As per claim 9, the claim(s) is/are directed to a device with limitations which correspond to limitations of claim 2, and is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to claim 2.
As per claim 11, the claim(s) is/are directed to a device with limitations which correspond to limitations of claim 4, and is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to claim 4.
As per claim 15, the claim(s) is/are directed to a non-transitory computer readable medium with limitations which correspond to limitations of claim 1, and is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to claim 1. In addition, Glover discloses
A non-transitory computer-readable medium configured to store instructions, which when executed by a processor associated with an infrastructure device, configure the processor to:
(See Glover [0080] program modules may be located in both local and remote computer storage media including memory storage devices. Practitioners of ordinary skill will recognize that the invention may be executed on one or more computer processors that are linked using a data network, including, for example, the Internet. In another embodiment, different steps of the process can be executed by one or more computers and storage devices geographically separated
[0082] The invention may be described in the general context of computer-executable instructions, such as program modules, being executed by a computer. Generally, program modules include routines, programs, …… computer program and data may be fixed in any form (e.g., source code form, computer executable form, or an intermediate form) either permanently or transitorily in a tangible storage medium, such as a semiconductor memory device (e.g., a RAM, ROM, PROM, EEPROM, or Flash-Programmable RAM), a magnetic memory device (e.g., a diskette or fixed hard disk)
)
As per claim 16, the claim(s) is/are directed to a computer readable medium with limitations which correspond to limitations of claim 2, and is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to claim 2.
As per claim 18, the claim(s) is/are directed to a computer readable medium with limitations which correspond to limitations of claim 4, and is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to claim 4.
Claim 3, 7, 10, 14, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glover in view of Selgas, further in view of Machani et al. U.S. Patent No. 9673975 (hereinafter “Machani”).
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Glover discloses configuring the device to determine a master key based at least in part on a master string of alphanumeric characters associated with the device; and
[determine a master key based at least in part on a master string of alphanumeric characters = ‘ The user secret key may be derived from a passphrase entered by the user or may be provided in some other way (for instance from a hardware token or a file stored on a removable device).’ Glover Para. [0033]
However, the combination of Glover and Selgas does not expressly disclose
configuring the device to decrypt the assigned private key associated with the device by utilizing the master key.
Machani discloses decrypting an assigned private key using a master key
(
2:29-41 (7) obtaining the private key by decrypting the first encrypted version of the private key using the first master key, and obtaining the sensitive data by decrypting the encrypted sensitive data using the private key. Processing of the requests further includes, in response to determining, for a second one of the access requests, that the device is online at the time the second one of the requests is received, reconstructing the second master key based at least in part on the remote key share, obtaining the private key by decrypting the second encrypted version of the private key using the second master key, and obtaining the sensitive data by decrypting the encrypted sensitive data using the private key.
).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Glover and Selgas with the technique for decrypting a private key using a master key of Machani to include
configuring the device to decrypt the assigned private key associated with the device by utilizing the master key.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have made this modification to improve the ability of the system to obtain the private key by decrypting the private key using the master key. The system of the primary reference can be modified to decrypt an encrypted private key so that the system may utilize the private key when needed.
As per claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Glover discloses configuring the device to receive a master string of alphanumeric characters associated with the device; and
[receiving a master string of alphanumeric characters associated with the device = ‘ The user secret key may be derived from a passphrase entered by the user or may be provided in some other way (for instance from a hardware token or a file stored on a removable device).’ Glover Para. [0033]
]
However, the combination of Glover and Selgas does not expressly disclose configuring the device to decrypt the assigned private key by utilizing a master key that is determined based at least in part on the master string of alphanumeric characters.
Machani discloses decrypting an assigned private key using a master key
(
2:29-41 (7) obtaining the private key by decrypting the first encrypted version of the private key using the first master key, and obtaining the sensitive data by decrypting the encrypted sensitive data using the private key. Processing of the requests further includes, in response to determining, for a second one of the access requests, that the device is online at the time the second one of the requests is received, reconstructing the second master key based at least in part on the remote key share, obtaining the private key by decrypting the second encrypted version of the private key using the second master key, and obtaining the sensitive data by decrypting the encrypted sensitive data using the private key.
).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Glover and Selgas with the technique for decrypting a private key using a master key of Machani to include
configuring the device to decrypt the assigned private key by utilizing a master key that is determined based at least in part on the master string of alphanumeric characters.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have made this modification to improve the ability of the system to obtain the private key by decrypting the private key using the master key. The system of the primary reference can be modified to decrypt an encrypted private key so that the system may utilize the private key when needed.
As per claim 10, the claim(s) is/are directed to a device with limitations which correspond to limitations of claim 3, and is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to claim 3.
As per claim 14, the claim(s) is/are directed to a device with limitations which correspond to limitations of claim 7, and is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to claim 7.
As per claim 17, the claim(s) is/are directed to a computer readable medium with limitations which correspond to limitations of claim 3, and is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to claim 3.
Claim 5, 12, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glover in view of Selgas, further in view of Chang et al. U.S. Publication 20130117567 (hereinafter “Chang”).
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
However, the combination of Glover and Selgas does not expressly disclose
configuring the device to receive encrypted sample data, the sample data being encrypted by utilizing the assigned public key associated with the device; and
configuring the device to transmit decrypted sample data, the sample data being decrypted by utilizing an assigned private key associated with the device.
Chang discloses
configuring the device to receive encrypted sample data, the sample data being encrypted by utilizing the assigned public key associated with the device; and
configuring the device to transmit decrypted sample data, the sample data being decrypted by utilizing an assigned private key associated with the device.
([0068] In step 240, the virtual machine agent generates a message to the server including the virtual node security token and a virtual node signature. The message includes the virtual node token received above and some random data is encrypted using the server public key. The server public key is used because the virtual node does not yet have its private key, which will be provided during the bootstrap process. Once the virtual node has received the virtual node private key in subsequent communications from the server, the virtual node signature uses that private key for all subsequent messages. The message is then sent to the server in step 245 in order to establish a secure communication pathway such as SSL. This will enhance secure communications between the coordinating server and the virtual node (within the virtual node server) and help prevent "man in the middle" type of attacks.
[0069] In step 250, the coordinating server receives and verifies the virtual node signature in the message by comparing the virtual node token against the previously stored virtual node token. The coordinating server also decrypts the encrypted data using the server private key. In step 255, the coordinating server generates and sends a message to the virtual node including the decrypted data
).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Glover and Selgas with the technique for a server to receive encrypted data, decrypting the data, and transmitting the decrypted data back to the sending device of Chang to include
configuring the device to receive encrypted sample data, the sample data being encrypted by utilizing the assigned public key associated with the device; and
configuring the device to transmit decrypted sample data, the sample data being decrypted by utilizing an assigned private key associated with the device.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have made this modification to improve the ability of the system to establish encrypted communications. The system of the primary reference can be modified to receive data encrypted using public key of the server, decrypt the data, and transmit the decrypted data to the device that sent the encrypted data. The server can be the only party holding the private key for decrypting the data, which is safer than allowing multiple parties to hold the decryption key.
As per claim 12, the claim(s) is/are directed to a device with limitations which correspond to limitations of claim 5, and is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to claim 5.
As per claim 19, the claim(s) is/are directed to a computer readable medium with limitations which correspond to limitations of claim 5, and is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to claim 5.
Claim 6, 13, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glover in view of Selgas, further in view of Hanna et al. U.S. Patent No. 7178021 (hereinafter “Hanna”).
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Glover discloses a content access private key associated with the encrypted content.
[Note that claim 6 does not specify which device is performing the transmitting.
content access private key = file private key Glover Para. [0059]
According to para. 65 of Glover, a user that has received access to a shared folder can gain access “directly to the private key of the file to be downloaded”. This file private key can then be used to decrypt the file content, para. 60
]
However, the combination of Glover and Selgas does not expressly disclose
configuring the device to transmit a request to access the encrypted content, the request to access including a request to receive a content access private key associated with the encrypted content.
Hanna discloses a technique for allowing a client to request data and encrypted decryption key
[any request in Hanna for data access is a request to receive the applicable encrypted first decryption key]
(
In response to a request to access the data F from any one of the authorized clients C.sub.a, C.sub.b or C.sub.c, the file server … returns the applicable encrypted first decryption key along with the encrypted data F … If a single encrypted first decryption key is returned, the requesting client 12 decrypts the encrypted first decryption key with the private key of its public key pair and utilizes the decrypted first decryption key to decrypt the encrypted data F.
).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Glover and Selgas with the technique for allowing a device, such as a client or server, to request a copy of encrypted data and encrypted decryption key of Hanna to include
configuring the device to transmit a request to access the encrypted content, the request to access including a request to receive a content access private key associated with the encrypted content.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have made this modification to improve the ability of the user device to transmit a request to the server to access the encrypted content stored by the server. The system of the primary reference can be modified so a device, such as a client or the server, can transmit a request to access encrypted content, and the request can serve as a request to receive a decryption key. The server can request from, for example, a backup server.
As per claim 13, the claim(s) is/are directed to a device with limitations which correspond to limitations of claim 6, and is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to claim 6.
As per claim 20, the claim(s) is/are directed to a computer readable medium with limitations which correspond to limitations of claim 6, and is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to claim 6.
Conclusion
/HOWARD H. LOUIE/Examiner, Art Unit 2494
/THEODORE C PARSONS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2494
1 Emphasis is additional throughout.