DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows:
This application makes reference to or appears to claim subject matter disclosed in Provisional Application No. 63/695251, filed 9/16/2024 and Provisional Application No. 63/724583, filed 11/25/2024. If applicant desires to claim the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e), 120, 121, 365(c) or 386(c), the instant application must contain, or be amended to contain, a specific reference to the prior-filed application in compliance with 37 CFR 1.78. If the application was filed before September 16, 2012, the specific reference must be included in the first sentence(s) of the specification following the title or in an application data sheet (ADS) in compliance with pre-AIA 37 CFR 1.76; if the application was filed on or after September 16, 2012, the specific reference must be included in an ADS in compliance with 37 CFR 1.76. For benefit claims under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c), the reference must include the relationship (i.e., continuation, divisional, or continuation-in-part) of the applications.
If the instant application is a utility or plant application filed under 35 U.S.C. 111(a), the specific reference must be submitted during the pendency of the application and within the later of four months from the actual filing date of the application or sixteen months from the filing date of the prior application. If the application is a national stage application under 35 U.S.C. 371, the specific reference must be submitted during the pendency of the application and within the later of four months from the date on which the national stage commenced under 35 U.S.C. 371(b) or (f), four months from the date of the initial submission under 35 U.S.C. 371 to enter the national stage, or sixteen months from the filing date of the prior application. See 37 CFR 1.78(a)(4) for benefit claims under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) and 37 CFR 1.78(d)(3) for benefit claims under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c). This time period is not extendable and a failure to submit the reference required by 35 U.S.C. 119(e) and/or 120, where applicable, within this time period is considered a waiver of any benefit of such prior application(s) under 35 U.S.C. 119(e), 120, 121, 365(c), and 386(c). A benefit claim filed after the required time period may be accepted if it is accompanied by a grantable petition to accept an unintentionally delayed benefit claim under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) (see 37 CFR 1.78(c)) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) (see 37 CFR 1.78(e)). The petition must be accompanied by (1) the reference required by 35 U.S.C. 120 or 119(e) and by 37 CFR 1.78 to the prior application (unless previously submitted), (2) the applicable petition fee under 37 CFR 1.17(m)(1) or (2), and (3) a statement that the entire delay between the date the benefit claim was due under 37 CFR 1.78 and the date the claim was filed was unintentional. The presentation of a benefit claim may result in an additional fee under 37 CFR 1.17(w)(1) or (2) being required, if the earliest filing date for which benefit is claimed under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) and 1.78(d) in the application is more than six years before the actual filing date of the application. The Director may require additional information where there is a question whether the delay was unintentional. The petition should be addressed to: Mail Stop Petition, Commissioner for Patents, P.O. Box 1450, Alexandria, Virginia 22313-1450.
If the reference to the prior application was previously submitted within the time period set forth in 37 CFR 1.78 but was not included in the location in the application required by the rule (e.g., if the reference was submitted in an oath or declaration or the application transmittal letter), and the information concerning the benefit claim was recognized by the Office as shown by its inclusion on the first filing receipt, the petition under 37 CFR 1.78 and the petition fee under 37 CFR 1.17(m)(1) or (2) are not required. Applicant is still required to submit the reference in compliance with 37 CFR 1.78 by filing an ADS in compliance with 37 CFR 1.76 with the reference (or, if the application was filed before September 16, 2012, by filing either an amendment to the first sentence(s) of the specification or an ADS in compliance with pre-AIA 37 CFR 1.76). See MPEP § 211.02.
In this case, the Specification as filed states on pg. 1, lines 3-6 that this application claims priority to three provisional applications: 63/574791, filed 4/4/2024; 63/695251, filed 9/16/2024; and 63/724583, filed 11/25/2024. However, the Application Data Sheet (ADS) does not indicate a claim for priority to provisional applications 63/695251 and 63/724583, and instead only includes a claim for priority to provisional application 63/574791, and an indication that provisional application 63/574791 claims priority to both provisional applications 63/695251 and 63/724583. However, a review of provisional application 63/574791 indicates that this provisional application does not contain any claim for priority to any other applications, provisional or non-provisional. Further, it is noted that provisional application 63/574791 was filed 4/4/2024, which is before the filing dates of both provisional applications 63/695251 (filed 9/16/2024) and 63/724583 (filed 11/25/2024). Therefore, since there is no priority claim or other relationship between provisional application 63/574791 and provisional applications 63/695251 and 63/724583, contrary to the information provided on the ADS filed 4/3/2025, and Applicant has not indicated that the instant application 19/169680 claims priority to the provisional applications 63/695251 and 63/724583, Applicant does not gain the benefit of priority to provisional applications 63/695251 or 63/724583.
If Applicant wishes to claim priority to the other two provisional applications 63/695251 and 63/724583, then Applicant should submit a new ADS correcting the priority claims.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figs. 1-4, 12-69, 76-94, 98-100, 108-113D, and 114-128 appear to have a greyscale grid or background behind each of the figures and their reference characters (shown more clearly in the figures in this application’s corresponding US pre-grant publication, US 2025/0314374). As explained in 37 CFR 1.84(p)(3), numbers, letters, and reference characters should not be placed upon hatched or shaded surfaces. See MPEP 608.02(V). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to because Figs. 1-4, 8-92, 94-95, 97-101, and 104-128 all use handwritten reference characters which are not all legible, which makes some of the numbers in the reference characters difficult to differentiate from each other, since some numbers look like letters, some letters look like numbers, and some numbers resemble other numbers. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to because the reference characters in Figs. 93 and 102A-103B appear to have copied too many times which has rendered them with a “fuzzy” appearance that makes reproduction difficult as they are difficult to discern. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3, 8-9, and 16-17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the second insulator portion” in line 13 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Since it is readily apparent that this is referring back to the “second insulated portion” defined in line 10 of the claim, this does not create an issue of indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). However, the Examiner respectfully suggests amending it to be --the second insulated portion-- for consistency with the language used elsewhere in the claim.
Regarding claim 2, the limitation “wherein the lens covers the LED, an upper portion of the first-polarity lead frame and an upper portion of the second-polarity lead frame” in lines 4-5 of the claim is grammatically incorrect. The Examiner respectfully suggests amending it to be --wherein the lens covers the LED, an upper portion of the first-polarity lead frame, and an upper portion of the second-polarity lead frame-- to correct the typographical error.
Regarding claim 3, the limitation “and wherein the sealing material contacts the first electrical connector, the second electrical connector, the first-polarity lead frame and the second polarity lead frame” in lines 5-6 of the claim is grammatically incorrect. The Examiner respectfully suggests amending it to be --and wherein the sealing material contacts the first electrical connector, the second electrical connector, the first-polarity lead frame, and the second polarity lead frame-- to correct the typographical error.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the second insulator portion” in lines 3-4 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Since it is readily apparent that this is referring back to the “second insulated portion” defined in line 10 of Claim 1, this does not create an issue of indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). However, the Examiner respectfully suggests amending it to be --the second insulated
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the LED lens” in lines 2 and 4 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Since it is readily apparent that this is referring back to the same lens defined in Claim 1, this does not create an issue of indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). However, the Examiner respectfully suggests amending it to be --the
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the separator” in lines 2 and 4 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Since it is readily apparent that this is referring back to the separator portion defined in Claim 1, this does not create an issue of indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). However, the Examiner respectfully suggests amending it to be --the separator portion-- for consistency with the language used in Claim 1.
Regarding claims 16 and 17, the limitation “a lens covering the LED, an upper portion of the first-polarity lead frame and an upper portion of the second-polarity lead frame” in lines 9-10 of Claims 16 and 17 is grammatically incorrect. The Examiner respectfully suggests amending it to be --a lens covering the LED, an upper portion of the first-polarity lead frame, and an upper portion of the second-polarity lead frame-- in both claims to correct the typographical error.
Claims 16 and 17 each recite the limitation “the second insulator portion” in line 17 of Claim 16 and line 19 of Claim 17, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Since it is readily apparent that this is referring back to the “second insulated portion” previously defined in line 13 of Claim 16 and lines 14-15 of Claim 17, respectively, this does not create an issue of indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). However, the Examiner respectfully suggests amending it to be --the second insulated
Claims 16 and 17 each recite the limitation “the LED lens” in lines 21-22 of Claim 16 and lines 23-24 of Claim 17, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Since it is readily apparent that this is referring back to the same lens previously defined in line 9 of Claims 16 and 17, this does not create an issue of indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). However, the Examiner respectfully suggests either amending it to be --the n LED lens-- in order to use consistent language within each claim for each claim element.
Regarding claim 17, the limitation “an LED lamp the LED lamp including” in line 4 of the claim is grammatically incorrect. The Examiner respectfully suggests either amending it to be --an LED lamp, the LED lamp including--, or alternatively, amending it to be --an LED lamp .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the outer side surface of the lens" in line 16 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In fact, it appears that this limitation is defined for the first time in line 5 of dependent Claim 2. The Examiner respectfully suggests either amending Claim 1 by incorporating the subject matter of Claim 2 into Claim 1, or alternatively, amending Claim 1 to recite --an
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the cathode" in line 3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner respectfully suggests amending it to be --a
Regarding claim 2, the limitation “the lens including an outer side surface” in line 5 of the claim renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if this is the same outer side surface of the lens recited in line 16 of Claim 1, or if the lens has another outer side surface independent and distinct from the outer side surface in Claim 1. For the purpose of examination, the Examiner has assumed that the outer side surface of the lens in Claim 2 is the same outer side surface of the lens recited in Claim 1, and so the Examiner respectfully suggests deleting this limitation from Claim 2 and adding it to Claim 1 (similar to the discussion with respect to Claim 1 above), since this limitation in Claim 2 will become redundant upon the correction of the antecedent basis issue discussed above in Claim 1.
Claims 3-5 are rejected due to their dependence on indefinite Claims 1-2.
Claims 6-8, 10 and 12-15 are rejected due to their dependence on indefinite Claim 1.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the end of the upper portion of the separator" in lines 3-4 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner respectfully suggests amending it to be --an
Regarding claim 11, the limitation “wherein the sealing material comprises one or more of an epoxy, resin, silicone and AB glue” in lines 1-2 of the claim renders the claim indefinite because all epoxy materials are resins, and thus it is unclear how the alternative materials “epoxy” and “resin” can be differentiated from one another, rendering the scope of the claim unascertainable. Further, while not contributing to indefiniteness, the limitation is grammatically incorrect due to the absence of a comma after the word “silicone” prior to the conjunction “and” in line 2.
For the purpose of examination, the Examiner has assumed that the “resin” included in this Markush grouping is intended to refer solely to non-epoxy resins, and so the Examiner respectfully suggests amending it to be --wherein the sealing material comprises one or more of an epoxy, non-epoxy resin, silicone, and AB glue-- or similar language to more clearly differentiate between the alternative epoxy and resin materials.
Claim 11 is rejected as being indefinite as it is not clear if the recitation “wherein the sealing material comprises one or more of an epoxy, resin, silicone and AB glue” in lines 1-2 of the claim requires the claimed sealing material to include at least one of an epoxy, resin, silicone, and AB glue material simultaneously, or simply at least one of either an epoxy, resin, silicone, or AB glue material. The Applicant is respectfully advised that the use of the phrase “at least one of… and…” (or the similar phrase “one or more of… and…”) is a conjunctive list requiring at least one of each of the listed elements; “at least one of… or…” (or the similar phrase “one or more of… or…”) must be used when the intended requirement is to define a structure having at least just one of the cited elements. See Superguide Corp. v DirecTV Enters., Inc., 358 F.3d 870 (69 UPQ2d 1865) (fed. Cir. 2004). The Applicant is further advised that, in comparing the claimed invention with the Prior Art, the Examiner assumed, based on the originally filed description and drawings, Claim 11 as defining the sealing material including at least one of either an epoxy, resin, silicone, or an AB glue material.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8-12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tsai (US 2025/0122985).
Regarding claim 1, Tsai discloses a corrosion-resistant light-emitting diode (LED) lamp assembly (a light element of a light string 100 or 120, which includes a housing assembly 102 that includes a light cap 104 and a housing 106; see Figs. 1A-11D; para. [0042]-[0075], [0127]-[0133], [0166]), comprising a lamp socket defining a lamp-receiving cavity with a first opening and a second opening and including an inner surface (housing 106 forms a lamp socket that is a tube-like structure having a passageway therethrough, defining a light aperture 106A at an upper end and a wire aperture 106B at an opposite end thereof; see Figs. 1A-1F, 3-6C; para. [0045]-[0046], [0051]-[0053], [0055]-[0066], [0069]-[0072], [0074]-[0075], [0084]-[0087], [0089]-[0105], [0107]); an LED lamp comprising at least one LED and a lens (a light emitting source 110 that includes an LED chip (light emitter 110C) encapsulated by a lens structure with first contact 110A and second contact 110B extending out of the lens; see Figs. 1A-1F, 2, 8, 11A-11D; Abstract; para. [0061]-[0067], [0070]-[0072], [0075]-[0076], [0082]-[0083], [0083]-[0088], [0127]-[0130]), the lens projecting through the first opening such that a portion of the lens is inside the lamp-receiving cavity and another portion of the lens is outside of the lamp-receiving cavity (Fig. 8 shows an upper portion of the lens of the LED 110 projects through the first opening 106A of the lamp socket 106 while the rest of the lens remains within the lamp socket; see Figs. 3, 8; para. [0090]-[0093], [0128]-[0129]), wherein the lens and the lamp socket form a filling gap therebetween (the lens of the LED 110 has a smaller width than the lamp socket 106 with a gap formed therebetween; see Figs. 1A-1F, 8, 11A-11D); a first wire including a first conductive portion and a first insulated portion, the first conductive portion electrically connected to the LED lamp (a first conductive lead wire 112 which comprises an exposed conductive portion extending from an insulated portion of the wire to electrically connect to the LED lamp 110; see Figs. 1A-1F, 2, 8-9, 11A-11D; para. [0061], [0063]-[0068], [0071]-[0072], [0075]-[0076], [0088], [0101], [0129], [0151], [0156], [0160]); a second wire including a second conductive portion and a second insulated portion, the second conductive portion electrically connected to the LED lamp (a second conductive lead wire 114 which comprises an exposed conductive portion extending from an insulated portion of the wire to electrically connect to the LED lamp 110; see Figs. 1A-1F, 2, 8-9, 11A-11D; para. [0061], [0063]-[0068], [0071]-[0072], [0075]-[0076], [0088], [0101], [0129], [0151], [0156], [0160]); a separator portion in the second opening of the lamp socket and positioned between the first insulated portion and the second insulated portion (spacer plug 108; see Figs. 1A-1F, 7A-8, 11A-11D; para. [0058]-[0060], [0063]-[0064], [0066], [0068], [0071]-[0072], [0086], [0088], [0097], [0100]-[0102], [0106]-[0113], [0115]-[0122], [0124]-[0125], [0128], [0160]-[0163]); and sealing material filling a portion of the lamp-receiving cavity and contacting the first conductive portion of the first wire, the second conductive portion of the second wire, the inner surface of the lamp socket, and an outer side surface of the lens (a filler 116 is inserted into the lamp socket (housing 106) and the light cap 104 to encapsulate the LED lamp 110 and all exposed electrical connections to provide a watertight light string and bond the light cap to the separator portion 108; see Figs. 1A-1F, 2, 10, 11C-11D; para. [0042]-[0043], [0069]-[0073], [0079]-[0080], [0086]-[0089], [0139]-[0150], [0157]-[0165]).
Regarding claim 2, Tsai discloses wherein the LED includes a first-polarity lead frame in electrical connection with an anode of the LED (the LED has a first contact 110A which functions as an anode leg to provide an anode connection to the first wire 112; see Figs. 1A-1F, 2, 8-9, 11A-11F; para. [0062]-[0068], [0116]-[0123]); a second-polarity lead frame in electrical connection with a cathode of the LED (the LED has a second contact 110B which functions as a cathode leg to provide a cathode connection to the second wire 114; see Figs. 1A-1F, 2, 8-9, 11A-11F; para. [0062]-[0068], [0116]-[0123]); and wherein the lens covers the LED, an upper portion of the first-polarity lead frame and an upper portion of the second-polarity lead frame (as shown in Figs. 1A-1F, 2, 11A-11D), the lens including an outer side surface (as shown in Figs. 1A-1F, 2, 11A-11D).
Regarding claim 3, Tsai discloses a first electrical connector mechanically and electrically connecting the first-polarity lead frame to the first conductive portion of the first wire and a second electrical connector mechanically and electrically connecting the second-polarity lead frame to the second conductive portion of the second wire (the first polarity lead frame 110A and the second polarity lead frame 110B are mechanically and electrically connected to the respective first and second wires 112 and 114 by conventional soldering, splicing, crimping, welding, or combinations thereof; see Figs. 1A-1F, 2, 11A-11D; para. [0063]-[0064], [0067]-[0068], [0088]), and wherein the sealing material contacts the first electrical connector, the second electrical connector, the first-polarity lead frame, and the second-polarity lead frame (the sealing material 116 is inserted into the lamp socket (housing 106) and the light cap 104 to encapsulate the LED lamp 110 and all exposed electrical connections to provide a watertight light string and bond the light cap to the separator portion 108; see Figs. 1A-1F, 2, 10, 11C-11D; para. [0042]-[0043], [0069]-[0073], [0079]-[0080], [0086]-[0089], [0139]-[0150], [0157]-[0165]).
Regarding claim 8, Tsai discloses wherein the separator portion includes a lower portion and an upper portion, the lower portion positioned in the second opening of the lamp socket and positioned between the first insulated portion and the second insulated portion, and the upper portion positioned between the first conductive portion of the first wire and the second conductive portion of the second wire (the separator portion 108 is inserted into the second opening 106B of the lamp socket 106, and includes an end portion 108A at a lower end and an arm 108C to provide an insulative spacer to space apart the first and second wires 112 and 114; see Figs. 1A-1F, 3-8, 11A-11D; para. [0060]-[0061], [0107]-[0112]).
Regarding claim 9, Tsai discloses wherein a cavity gap is formed between an end of the upper portion of the separator portion and a lower surface of the lens, and the sealing material fills the cavity gap such that the sealing material is in contact with an end of the upper portion of the separator portion and the lower surface of the lens (the upper portion 108C of the separator portion 108 is spaced from the lens of the LED lamp 110 and sealed by the sealing material 116 which seals the space completely; see Figs. 1A-1F, 2, 10, 11C-11D; para. [0042]-[0043], [0069]-[0073], [0079]-[0080], [0086]-[0089], [0139]-[0150], [0157]-[0165]).
Regarding claim 10, Tsai discloses wherein the sealing material is an epoxy material configured to be cured by exposure to ultraviolet light (the sealing material 116 is epoxy; see para. [0071]-[0072], [0074], [0088]-[0089], [0140]-[0148], [0161], [0163]-[0165]).
Regarding the functional limitation “configured to be cured by exposure to ultraviolet light”, the Applicant is advised that, even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. “The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, (Fed. Cir. 1985). In this case, the cited limitations failed to distinguish the claimed structure from the patented LED lamp assembly of Tsai. See MPEP § 2113.
Regarding claim 11, Tsai discloses wherein the sealing material comprises one or more of an epoxy, resin, silicone, or AB glue (the sealing material 116 is epoxy or glue; see para. [0071]-[0072], [0074], [0088]-[0089], [0140]-[0148], [0161], [0163]-[0165]).
Regarding claim 12, Tsai discloses a light string comprising a plurality of LED lamp assemblies according to claim 1 (light string 100, 120, which includes a housing assembly 102 that includes a light cap 104 and a housing 106; see Figs. 1A-11D; para. [0042]-[0075]).
Regarding claim 16, Tsai discloses a corrosion-resistant light-emitting diode (LED) lamp assembly (a light element of a light string 100, which includes a housing assembly 102 that includes a light cap 104 and a housing 106; see Figs. 1A-11D; para. [0042]-[0075]), comprising a lamp socket defining a lamp-receiving cavity with a first opening and a second opening and including an inner surface (housing 106 forms a lamp socket that is a tube-like structure having a passageway therethrough, defining a light aperture 106A at an upper end and a wire aperture 106B at an opposite end thereof; see Figs. 1A-1F, 3-6C; para. [0045]-[0046], [0051]-[0053], [0055]-[0066], [0069]-[0072], [0074]-[0075], [0084]-[0087], [0089]-[0105], [0107]); an LED lamp projecting through the first opening (a light emitting source 110 that includes an LED chip (light emitter 110C) encapsulated by a lens structure with first contact 110A and second contact 110B extending out of the lens; see Figs. 1A-1F, 2, 8, 11A-11D; Abstract; para. [0061]-[0067], [0070]-[0072], [0075]-[0076], [0082]-[0083], [0083]-[0088], [0127]-[0130]), the LED including a first-polarity lead frame (the LED has a first contact 110A which functions as an anode leg to provide an anode connection to the first wire 112; see Figs. 1A-1F, 2, 8-9, 11A-11F; para. [0062]-[0068], [0116]-[0123]); a second-polarity lead frame (the LED has a second contact 110B which functions as a cathode leg to provide a cathode connection to the second wire 114; see Figs. 1A-1F, 2, 8-9, 11A-11F; para. [0062]-[0068], [0116]-[0123]); an LED electrically connected to the first polarity lead frame and the second-polarity lead frame (the LED lamp 110 comprises a light emitter 110C in the form of an LED chip encapsulated by a lens, the lens encapsulating the first and second polarity lead frames 110A and 110B so that the lead frames extend out of the lens; see Figs. 1A-1F, 2, 8, 11A-11D; Abstract; para. [0061]-[0067], [0070]-[0072], [0075]-[0076], [0082]-[0083], [0083]-[0088], [0127]-[0130]); and a lens covering the LED, an upper portion of the first-polarity lead frame, and an upper portion of the second-polarity lead frame (the LED lamp 110 comprises a light emitter 110C in the form of an LED chip encapsulated by a lens, the lens encapsulating the first and second polarity lead frames 110A and 110B so that the lead frames extend out of the lens; see Figs. 1A-1F, 2, 8, 11A-11D; Abstract; para. [0061]-[0067], [0070]-[0072], [0075]-[0076], [0082]-[0083], [0083]-[0088], [0127]-[0130]), the lens including an outer side surface (as shown in Figs. 1A-1F, 2, 11A-11D); a first wire including a first conductive portion and a first insulated portion, the first conductive portion electrically connected to the first-polarity lead frame (a first conductive lead wire 112 which comprises an exposed conductive portion extending from an insulated portion of the wire to electrically connect to the LED lamp 110; see Figs. 1A-1F, 2, 8-9, 11A-11D; para. [0061], [0063]-[0068], [0071]-[0072], [0075]-[0076], [0088], [0101], [0129], [0151], [0156], [0160]); a second wire including a second conductive portion and a second insulated portion, the second conductive portion electrically connected to the second-polarity lead frame (a second conductive lead wire 114 which comprises an exposed conductive portion extending from an insulated portion of the wire to electrically connect to the LED lamp 110; see Figs. 1A-1F, 2, 8-9, 11A-11D; para. [0061], [0063]-[0068], [0071]-[0072], [0075]-[0076], [0088], [0101], [0129], [0151], [0156], [0160]); a separator portion including a lower portion and an upper portion, the lower portion positioned in the second opening of the lamp socket and positioned between the first insulated portion and the second insulated portion, and the upper portion positioned between the first conductive portion of the first wire and the second conductive portion of the second wire (spacer plug 108 is inserted into the second opening 106B of the lamp socket 106, and includes an end portion 108A at a lower end and an arm 108C to provide an insulative spacer to space apart the first and second wires 112 and 114; see Figs. 1A-1F, 7A-8, 11A-11D; para. [0058]-[0061], [0063]-[0064], [0066], [0068], [0071]-[0072], [0086], [0088], [0097], [0100]-[0102], [0106]-[0113], [0115]-[0122], [0124]-[0125], [0128], [0160]-[0163]); and sealing material filling a majority of the lamp-receiving cavity and contacting the first-polarity lead frame, the second-polarity lead frame, the first conductive portion and the second conductive portion, the inner surface of the lamp socket, and the outer side surface of the lens (a filler 116 is inserted into the lamp socket (housing 106) and the light cap 104 to encapsulate the LED lamp 110 and all exposed electrical connections to provide a watertight light string and bond the light cap to the separator portion 108; see Figs. 1A-1F, 2, 10, 11C-11D; para. [0042]-[0043], [0069]-[0073], [0079]-[0080], [0086]-[0089], [0139]-[0150], [0157]-[0165]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai (US 2025/0122985) in view of Yang (US 2025/0052410). The teachings of Tsai have been discussed above.
However, regarding claim 6, the teachings of Tsai fail to disclose or fairly suggest wherein the LED lamp is a multi-LED lamp including a plurality of LEDs.
Yang teaches a corrosion-resistant light-emitting diode (LED) lamp assembly (a waterproof lamp string; see Figs. 1-4; Abstract; para. [0036]-[0048]), comprising an LED lamp comprising at least one LED and a lens (a light emitting source 2 comprising a plurality of LEDs on a PCB board 22, and a light-transmitting lamp shell 3; see Figs. 1-4; para. [0036], [0038], [0040]-[0041], [0046]-[0048]), wherein the LED lamp is a multi-LED lamp including a plurality of LEDs (the LED lamp 2 comprises a PCB board 22 provided with a plurality of LED lamp beads (not shown); see Figs. 1-4; para. [0046]-[0048]).
Therefore, in view of Yang, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the LED lamp assembly of Tsai by forming the LED lamp as a multi-LED lamp including a plurality of LEDs. One would have been motivated to modify the known LED lamp assembly of Tsai by forming the LED lamp as a multi-LED lamp including a plurality of LEDs, as taught by Yang, in order to increase the amount of light emitted by each individual LED lamp along the light string.
However, regarding claim 7, the teachings of Tsai fail to disclose or fairly suggest wherein the multi-LED lamp includes a printed circuit board, and the plurality of LEDs are mounted to the printed circuit board.
Yang teaches wherein the multi-LED lamp includes a printed circuit board, and the plurality of LEDs are mounted to the printed circuit board (the LED lamp 2 comprises a PCB board 22 provided with a plurality of LED lamp beads (not shown); see Figs. 1-4; para. [0046]-[0048]).
Therefore, in view of Yang, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the LED lamp assembly of Tsai by forming the LED lamp as a multi-LED lamp including a plurality of LEDs mounted to a printed circuit board. One would have been motivated to modify the known LED lamp assembly of Tsai by forming the LED lamp as a multi-LED lamp including a plurality of LEDs mounted to a printed circuit board, as taught by Yang, in order to increase the amount of light emitted by each individual LED lamp along the light string, and further, to use a printed circuit board as the circuit onto which the LEDs are mounted, since the use of PCBs to interconnect LEDs and other electronic components is notoriously well-known in the illumination art due to their advantages over other circuit types of having a compact size, reduced electronics noise, low cost, increased reliability, drastically reduced risk of short circuits, and reduced movement and vibrations.
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai (US 2025/0122985) in view of Chang et al. (US 2018/0320867, hereinafter “Chang”). The teachings of Tsai have been discussed above.
Regarding claim 13, Tsai teaches the light string further comprising a power plug configured to connect to an alternating-current (AC) power source (the light string 100, 120 includes an electrical plug 122 to plug into a socket to receive AC power; see Figs. 8-9; para. [0044]-[0045], [0127]-[0133], [0166]).
However, the teachings of Tsai fail to disclose or fairly suggest a power converter configured to reduce an AC voltage from the power source to a lower AC voltage, and wherein the plurality of lamp assemblies are in electrical connection with the power converter to receive reduced voltage AC power.
Chang teaches a light string comprising a plurality of LED lamp assemblies (a lighting system that includes a plurality of clip lights 100 (arranged as series-connected light modules 1508, 1510, 1512, and 1514 in the circuit diagram of Fig. 60) arranged into a light string by wires; see Fig. 60; Abstract; para. [0073]-[0074], [0144]), comprising a power plug configured to connect to an alternating current (AC) power source (plug 1500; see Fig. 60; par. [0144]), a power converter configured to reduce an AC voltage from the power source to a lower AC voltage, and wherein the plurality of lamp assemblies are in electrical connection with the power converter to receive reduced voltage AC power (the plug 1500 transmits AC power to a controller 1502, which converts the AC power from 120V AC by stepping it down to 12V or 24V AC to power the LED lamp assemblies 1508, 1510, 1512, 1514; see Fig. 60; par. [0144]).
Therefore, in view of Chang, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light string of Tsai by providing a power converter configured to reduce an AC voltage from the power source to a lower AC voltage, such that the plurality of lamp assemblies are in electrical connection with the power converter to receive reduced voltage AC power. One would have been motivated to modify the known light string of Tsai by providing a power converter configured to reduce an AC voltage from the power source to a lower AC voltage, such that the plurality of lamp assemblies are in electrical connection with the power converter to receive reduced voltage AC power, as taught by Chang, in order to prevent damage to the light string and ensure the LED lamp assemblies along the light string receive a suitable voltage to emit light safely.
Regarding claim 14, Tsai teaches wherein each of the plurality of LED lamp assemblies is electrically connected to one another in series (each of the LED lamps can be electrically connected to one another in series or parallel, or combinations thereof; see Fig. 9; para. [0113]-[0114], [0119], [0123], [0130]).
Regarding claim 15, Tsai teaches wherein each of the plurality of LED lamp assemblies is electrically connected to one another in parallel (each of the LED lamps can be electrically connected to one another in series or parallel, or combinations thereof; see Fig. 9; para. [0113]-[0114], [0119], [0123], [0130]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 17-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, the Prior Art taken as a whole fails to specifically disclose or suggest, in combination, “The corrosion-resistant LED lamp assembly of claim 3, wherein the sealing material only partially covers the portion of the lens inside the lamp-receiving cavity, leaving a space between the inner surface of the lamp socket and the lens inside the lamp-receiving cavity” (emphasis added).
Although corrosion-resistant LED lamp assemblies are known, as evidenced by the Prior Art already of record, no Prior Art was found teaching individually, or suggesting in combination, all the features of Applicant’s invention, in particular the above limitations in combination with the remaining features of the claim, and there would be no motivation, absent the Applicant’s own disclosure, to modify the references in the manner distinctly and specifically called for in the combination as claimed in Claim 4.
Claim 5 depends on Claim 4.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is allowable for the same reasons discussed above with regards to Claim 4.
Claims 18-20 are allowable due to their dependence on allowable Claim 17.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yu (US 2025/0164097) teaches a waterproof LED lamp assembly light string, and Chen (CN 106801824, see attached machine translation) teaches a production method of an LED light string that includes ultraviolet curing of epoxy resin encapsulating various components to provide a waterproof seal.
/WILLIAM N HARRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875