DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Application filed April 3, 2025, in which Claims 22-41 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claim(s) 22-24, 26, 29-33, 37, and 40-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hepfinger (US 5,916,273).
Regarding Claims 22, 29-30, and 41, Hepfinger discloses a method of producing a laminar velour knitted fabric comprising the steps of: - Providing at least one pile yarn (4) made of a pile material consisting only of polyester (Col.2, lines 49-51) and at least one base yarn (14,24) made of a base material consisting only of polyester (Col.2, lines 55-58), wherein the at least one pile material comprises individual filaments with a fineness of at most 2 dtex per fibril (Col.2, lines 49-55; i.e. 1.1 denier=1.2222 dtex); - Knitting the pile yarn and the base yarn with a knitting machine to form a raw knitted fabric of pile yarn and base yarn (Col.3, lines 1-56), wherein the raw knitted fabric has a top side (i.e. side with pile 4) and a bottom side (i.e. side with 14,24) and wherein the top side comprises the pile yarn; and - Forming a raised pile in the absence of alkaline dissolution, wherein forming the raised pile comprises napping the top side of the raw knitted fabric, whereby the pile yarn at the top side of the knitted fabric is cut and a pile is formed and raising the pile to form the laminar velour knitted fabric (Col.3, lines 48-56; i.e. the use of an alkaline dissolution is not disclosed by Hepfinger).
Regarding Claims 23 and 31, Hepfinger discloses a method according to claim 22, wherein the at least one base yarn has a fineness of at most 5 dtex and/or the pile yarn has a fineness of at most 1 dtex (Col.2, lines 49-55; i.e. 0.8 denier=0.8889 dtex the pile yarn “has” a fineness of at most 1dtex, as it contains filaments less than 1.1 denier).
Regarding Claims 24 and 32, Hepfinger discloses a method according to claim 22/29, wherein the knitting is performed with a combined lapping comprising at least two lappings of the base yarn and one lapping of the pile yarn (as seen in Fig.1; Col.3, lines 1-56).
Regarding Claims 26 and 40, Hepfinger discloses a method according to claim 22/29, wherein the bottom side of the raw knitted fabric is free of an adhesive (i.e. the use of an adhesive is not disclosed by Hepfinger).
Regarding Claim 33, Hepfinger discloses a method according to claim 32, wherein at least one lapping of the base yarn consists of a satin lapping and/or wherein at least one lapping of the base yarn consists of a fringe lapping and/or wherein the lapping of the pile yarn (4) consists of a satin lapping or a velvet lapping (A as seen in Fig.1 shows a three needle satin lapping).
Regarding Claim 37, Hepfinger discloses a method according to claim 29, wherein the knitting is performed with a combined lapping wherein the combined lapping comprises one lapping (A) of the pile yarn (4) and at least two lappings (B & C) of the base yarn (14,24)(as seen in Fig.1; Col.3, lines 1-56).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 25 and 38-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hepfinger (US 5,916,273).
Regarding Claim 25 and 39, Hepfinger discloses the invention substantially as claimed above. Hepfinger does not explicitly disclose wherein knitting is performed such that the raw knitted fabric and/or the laminar velour knitted fabric has a stich density of 400 to 800 mesh/cm2. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the knit fabric of Hepfinger to have a stitch density being 400 to 800 mesh/cm2, in order to provide the optimum stitch density for durability and comfort to the user. Further, since the claimed values are merely an optimum or workable range, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding Claim 38, Hepfinger discloses the invention substantially as claimed above, including a combined lapping of three different lapping arrangements; one of the lappings being a satin lapping (as seen in Fig.1; A as seen in Fig.1 shows a three needle satin lapping). Hepfinger does not explicitly disclose wherein the combined lapping consists of a satin-fringe-satin lapping or a satin-fringe-velvet lapping. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined lapping of Hepfinger to be a satin-fringe-satin lapping or a satin-fringe-velvet lapping, in order to provide the desired aesthetic appearance to the pile material for its intended purpose. Further, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the pile material of Hepfinger with a different combined lapping arrangement, since applicant has not disclosed that this solves any stated problem or is anything more than one of numerous configurations a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing a combined lapping arrangement. In re Dailey and Eilers, 149 USPQ 47 (1966).
3. Claim(s) 27-28 and 35-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hepfinger (US 5,916,273) in view of Scherbel (US 2010/0088805).
Regarding Claim 27-28 and 35-36, Hepfinger discloses the invention substantially as claimed above. Hepfinger does not explicitly disclose wherein the knitting is performed with a knitting machine having a fineness of E20 to E32 or a fineness of E28 to E32. However, Scherbel teaches knitting a pile material (para.30) with a knitting machine having a fineness of E20 to E32 or a fineness of E28 to E32 (para.19).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the knitting machine of Hepfinger to have a fineness of E20 to E32 or a fineness of E28 to E32, as taught by Scherbel, in order to provide a pile material with the desired pile density for a soft surface.
4. Claim(s) 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hepfinger (US 5,916,273) in view of Krawczyk (US 4,567,075).
Regarding Claim 34, Hepfinger discloses the invention substantially as claimed above. Hepfinger does not explicitly disclose wherein the raw knitted fabric is dyed by strand dyeing prior to raising the pile. However, Krawczyk teaches a knit pile material in which the raw knitted fabric is dyed by strand dyeing prior to raising the pile (Col.3, lines 30-34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the yarn of Hepfinger to be dyed by strand dyeing prior to raising the pile, as taught by Krawczyk, in order to provide the desired aesthetic appearance to the knit material. Further, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to form the yarn of Hepfinger to have decorative colors, since applicant has not disclosed that such solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose other than aesthetics.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MEGAN E LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732