Status of the Claims
Claims 1-5, 7-15 and 17-22 are all the claims pending in the application.
Claims 1 and 11 are amended.
Claims 6 and 16 are cancelled.
Claims 1-5, 7-15 and 17-22 are rejected.
The following is a Final Office Action in response to amendments and remarks filed April 25, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the double patenting rejections, the rejections are withdrawn because the claims as amended are sufficiently distinct.
Regarding the 101 rejections of the claims as directed to data per se or software per se, the rejections are withdrawn in light of the amendments to the claims.
Regarding the 101 rejections of the claims as directed to an abstract idea, the rejections are maintained for the following reasons. First, Applicant assert the claims reflect an improvement because the process excludes attributes associated with unconscious bias. Examiner respectfully does not find this assertion persuasive because an improvement in the abstract idea itself (e.g. a recited fundamental economic concept) is not an improvement in technology, see MPEP 2106.05(a) (discussing Trading Technologies Int’l). That is, eliminating bias from the recruiting and hiring process does not reflect an improvement in technology because it is an improvement in the abstract idea (i.e., recruiting and hiring).
Second, Applicant asserts assigning a numerical point value and ranking candidates reflect a specific, concrete implementation. Examiner respectfully does not find this assertion persuasive because assigning points and ranking candidates is a part of the abstract idea (i.e., recruiting and hiring).
Third, Applicant asserts the 101 rejections should be withdrawn because the prior art references do not teach the newly amended limitations. Examiner respectfully does not find this assertion persuasive because considerations under 103 are not applicable to 101. Accordingly, the 101 rejections are maintained, please see below for the complete rejections of the claims as amended.
Regarding the 102 and 103 rejections, the rejections are withdrawn at least because the cited references do not teach the newly amended limitations of the unconscious bias factor. Please see below for the new 103 rejections.
In response to arguments in reference to any depending claims that have not been individually addressed, all rejections made towards these dependent claims are maintained due to a lack of reply by Applicant in regards to distinctly and specifically pointing out the supposed errors in Examiner's prior office action (37 CFR 1.111). Examiner asserts that Applicant only argues that the dependent claims should be allowable because the independent claims are unobvious and patentable over the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5, 7-15 and 17-22 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Under Step 1 of the patent eligibility analysis, it must first be determined whether the claims are directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention (i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter). Applying Step 1 to the claims it is determined that: claims 1-5, 7-10 and 21 would be directed to a machine if amended as suggested; and claims 11-15, 17-20 and 22 are directed to a process. Therefore, we proceed to Step 2.
Independent Claims
Under Step 2A Prong 1 of the patent eligibility analysis, it must be determined whether the claims recite an abstract idea that falls within one or more designated categories or “buckets” of patent ineligible subject matter (i.e., organizing human activity, mathematical concepts, and mental processes) that amount to a judicial exception to patentability.
The independent claims recite an abstract idea. Specifically, the independent claims recite an abstract idea in the limitations (emphasized):
…receiving a plurality of recruitment listings, wherein each recruitment listing includes data indicative of job qualifications;
compiling a body of knowledge based on the received recruitment listings;
receiving a job application from a candidate, wherein the job application includes a resume and a target recruitment listing among the plurality of recruitment listings;
extracting relevant data from the resume by analyzing the resume;
assigning a point value to the candidate based on the extracted relevant data in the resume and at least one keyword in the target recruitment listing;
ranking the candidate with the highest total point value as a priority candidate;
removing from consideration of the point value at least one unconscious bias factor, wherein the at least one unconscious bias factor includes the candidate's name and/or at least one educational institute attended by the candidate;
providing the job application to a hiring entity corresponding to the target recruitment listing;
upon providing the job application to the hiring entity, providing the candidate with an automated status update response, indicating to the candidate that the candidate is being considered for the target recruitment listing;
receiving an acceptance/rejection communication from the hiring entity, indicating whether the candidate has been accepted or rejected for the target recruitment listing;
when the acceptance/rejection communication indicates that the candidate has been accepted for the target recruitment listing, providing the candidate with an automated acceptance update response, indicating to the candidate that the candidate has been accepted for the target recruitment listing; and
when the acceptance/rejection communication indicates that the candidate has been rejected for the target recruitment listing, providing the candidate with an automated rejection update response, indicating to the candidate that the candidate has been rejected for the target recruitment listing.
These limitations recite an abstract idea because these limitations essentially encompass steps in the recruiting or hiring process. That is, receiving recruitment listings, compiling a body of knowledge, receiving a job application, scoring and ranking the candidate, removing variables for bias, providing the job application to a hiring entity, providing the candidate with a status update, receiving an acceptance or a rejection from the hiring entity, providing the candidate with an acceptance or rejection update, as claimed, are all steps in recruiting or hiring personnel (e.g. receiving and compiling open jobs, receiving applications, analyzing the applications and determine whether to hire the applicants). Claims that encompass the recruiting or hiring process recite commercial or legal obligations. Claims that encompass commercial or legal interactions fall within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activities”. Claims 1 and 11 recite an abstract idea.
Under Step 2A Prong 2 of the patent eligibility analysis, it must be determined whether the identified, recited abstract idea includes additional limitations that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The additional elements of the independent claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Claims 1 and 11 both recite the additional elements of various steps being performed in an automated fashion. These additional elements, when considered individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
Claim 1 furthers recite the additional elements of the system being an AI-driven job recruitment system in communication with a machine learning model. The additional elements of a memory storing and a processor executing the machine learning model, as claimed, when considered individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional elements are only a general link to a field of use or technological environment, see MPEP 2106.05(h) (discussing Affinity Labs). That is, although these additional elements do limit the use of the abstract idea, this type of limitation merely confines the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (machine learning) and does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or add an inventive concept to the claims. Claims 1 and 11 are directed to an abstract idea.
Under Step 2B of the patent eligibility analysis, the additional elements are evaluated to determine whether they amount to something “significantly more” than the recited abstract idea (i.e., an innovative concept).
The independent claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception and a general link to a field of use. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component and a general link to a field of use cannot provide an inventive concept. Claims 1 and 11 are not patent eligible.
Dependent Claims
The dependent claims are rejected under 35 USC 101 for the following reasons.
Claims 2 and 12 essentially recite comparing rejected candidates resumes with other job openings, determining matches, and notifying the candidates of matches or no matches. These limitations recite the same abstract idea as the independent claims because comparing applicants resumes and job openings and communicating with applicants is a part of the recruiting or hiring process.
Claims 2 and 12 further recite the additional elements of various steps being performed in an automated fashion. These additional elements, when considered individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
Claims 3, 13, 21 and 22 recite the same abstract idea as the independent claims because providing career coaching to rejected applicants is a part of the recruiting hiring process (e.g., recommending ways to improve one’s resume).
Claims 4 and 14 recite the same abstract idea as the independent claims because using a matrix to map a user’s skills to a job requirements is a part of the recruiting or hiring process, e.g. determining what jobs are user is qualified for.
Claims 5 and 15 recite the same abstract idea as the independent claims because sending empathetic messages is a part of the recruiting or hiring process (e.g. sending message of encouragement to job applicants).
Claims 7 and 17 recite the additional elements of receiving multiple updates at a frequency chosen by the user. These additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic computer function of receiving user settings and sending messages based on the user settings) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the abstract idea using generic computer components.
Claims 8-10 and 18-20 recite the additional elements of transmitting employment data to an unemployment agency. These additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional elements encompass a generic computer function of sending data (i.e. sending user input), see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2) (noting the use of computers in their ordinary capacity to receive, store, or transmit data does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 11, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Champaneria, US Pub. No. 2019/0114593, herein referred to as “Champaneria” in view of Benedict et al., US Pub. No. 2023/0325779, herein referred to as “Benedict”.
Regarding claim 1, Champaneria teaches:
a memory storing a machine learning model; a processor configured to execute the machine learning model (memory, processor, e.g., ¶¶[0030]-[0032] and machine learning, ¶[0064]);
and an AI-driven job recruitment system in communication with the machine learning model, wherein the machine learning model is configured to (matches job positions and candidates using machine learning, e.g. ¶¶[0064], [0094]; see also e.g. ¶[0054] discussing system):
receive a plurality of recruitment listings, wherein each recruitment listing includes data indicative of job qualifications (job descriptions are input, ¶[0058]; see also e.g. ¶[0016] noting job descriptions include job requirements);
compile a body of knowledge based on the received recruitment listings (job descriptions are loaded into the system, ¶[0060]; see also ¶[0069] discussing maintaining the job postings);
receive a job application from a candidate, wherein the job application includes a resume and a target recruitment listing among the plurality of recruitment listings (candidate applies for the position, ¶[0118], [0170]; see also e.g. ¶[0017] discussing resumes);
extract relevant data from the resume by analyzing the resume (parses the candidates’ resumes, ¶[0131]);
assign a point value to the candidate based on the extracted relevant data from the resume and at least one keyword in the target recruitment listing (scores resumes based on match to elements extracted from the job description, which may include one or more key points, concepts, or requirements that are outlined in the job description, ¶¶[0094], [0097]);
rank the candidate with the highest total point value as a priority candidate (ranks candidates based on the data point matrix scores of the candidates, ¶[0098]);
provide the job application to a hiring entity corresponding to the target recruitment listing (completed applications are submitted to a hiring manager, ¶¶[0170]-[0172]);
upon providing the job application to the hiring entity, provide the candidate with an automated status update response, indicating to the candidate that the candidate is being considered for the target recruitment listing (sends periodic updates to candidates about the status of their application, ¶[0115]; notifies candidate with invitation to apply, ¶[0106]; and candidates are notified of available timeslots for an interview, ¶[0177]; and Fig. 7, ref. char. 72; see also e.g. ¶[0116] discussing types of communications);
receive an acceptance/rejection communication from the hiring entity, indicating whether the candidate has been accepted or rejected for the target recruitment listing (sends an offer to the candidate, ¶[0190]; and Fig. 8, ref. char. 81; and sends notification candidate is being removed from the campaign, ¶[0138] and Fig. 6, ref. char. 53);
when the acceptance/rejection communication indicates that the candidate has been accepted for the target recruitment listing, provide the candidate with an automated acceptance update response, indicating to the candidate that the candidate has been accepted for the target recruitment listing (sends an offer to the candidate, ¶[0190]; and Fig. 8, ref. char. 81);
and when the acceptance/rejection communication indicates that the candidate has been rejected for the target recruitment listing, provide the candidate with an automated rejection update response, indicating to the candidate that the candidate has been rejected for the target recruitment listing (sends notification candidate is being removed from the campaign, ¶[0138] and Fig. 6, ref. char. 53).
However Champaneria does not teach but Benedict does teach:
remove from consideration of the point value at least one unconscious bias factor, wherein the at least one unconscious bias factor includes the candidate's name and/or at least one educational institute attended by the candidate (matching circuit removes names, ¶[0053]; see also ¶¶[0051], [0054] discussing matching or compatibility scores).
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the candidate sourcing and matching of Champaneria with bias removal of Benedict because known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in the same field based on design incentives, see MPEP 2143.I.F. That is, one of ordinary skill would have recognized users of Champaneria (e.g., employers) would likely be interested minimizing bias in recruiting (e.g., to avoid issues arising discriminatory practices) and would have modified Champaneria to do so, e.g., as taught by Benedict.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Champaneria and Benedict teaches the limitations of claim 1 and Champaneria further teaches:
wherein the automated status update response is a personalized empathetic response generated based on the extracted relevant data (strongly encourages candidates to apply to more relevant positions, ¶[0119]; see also ¶[0076] discussing personalized messages).
Regarding claim 11, Champaneria teaches:
receiving a plurality of recruitment listings, wherein each recruitment listing includes data indicative of job qualifications (job descriptions are input, ¶[0058]; see also e.g. ¶[0016] noting job descriptions include job requirements);
compiling a body of knowledge based on the received recruitment listings (job descriptions are loaded into the system, ¶[0060]; see also ¶[0069] discussing maintaining the job postings);
receiving a job application from a candidate, wherein the job application includes a resume and a target recruitment listing among the plurality of recruitment listings (candidate applies for the position, ¶[0118], [0170]; see also e.g. ¶[0017] discussing resumes);
extracting relevant data from the resume by analyzing the resume (parses the candidates’ resumes, ¶[0131]);
assigning a point value to the candidate based on the extracted relevant data from the resume and at least one keyword in the target recruitment listing (scores resumes based on match to elements extracted from the job description, which may include one or more key points, concepts, or requirements that are outlined in the job description, ¶¶[0094], [0097]);
ranking the candidate with the highest total point value as a priority candidate (ranks candidates based on the data point matrix scores of the candidates, ¶[0098]);
providing the job application to a hiring entity corresponding to the target recruitment listing (completed applications are submitted to a hiring manager, ¶¶[0170]-[0172]);
upon providing the job application to the hiring entity, providing the candidate with an automated status update response, indicating to the candidate that the candidate is being considered for the target recruitment listing (sends periodic updates to candidates about the status of their application, ¶[0115]; notifies candidate with invitation to apply, ¶[0106]; and candidates are notified of available timeslots for an interview, ¶[0177]; and Fig. 7, ref. char. 72; see also e.g. ¶[0116] discussing types of communications);
receiving an acceptance/rejection communication from the hiring entity, indicating whether the candidate has been accepted or rejected for the target recruitment listing (provides system information that candidates have failed and passed the interview, ¶¶[0188], [0190]; ;
when the acceptance/rejection communication indicates that the candidate has been accepted for the target recruitment listing, providing the candidate with an automated acceptance update response, indicating to the candidate that the candidate has been accepted for the target recruitment listing (sends an offer to the candidate, ¶[0190]; and Fig. 8, ref. char. 81);
and when the acceptance/rejection communication indicates that the candidate has been rejected for the target recruitment listing, providing the candidate with an automated rejection update response, indicating to the candidate that the candidate has been rejected for the target recruitment listing (sends notification candidate is being removed from the campaign, ¶[0138] and Fig. 6, ref. char. 53).
However Champaneria does not teach but Benedict does teach:
remove from consideration of the point value at least one unconscious bias factor, wherein the at least one unconscious bias factor includes the candidate's name and/or at least one educational institute attended by the candidate (matching circuit removes names, ¶[0053]; see also ¶¶[0051], [0054] discussing matching or compatibility scores).
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the candidate sourcing and matching of Champaneria with bias removal of Benedict because known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in the same field based on design incentives, see MPEP 2143.I.F. That is, one of ordinary skill would have recognized users of Champaneria (e.g., employers) would likely be interested minimizing bias in recruiting (e.g., to avoid issues arising discriminatory practices) and would have modified Champaneria to do so, e.g., as taught by Benedict.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Champaneria and Benedict teaches the limitations of claim 11 and further teaches:
wherein the automated status update response is a personalized empathetic response generated based on the extracted relevant data (strongly encourages candidates to apply to more relevant positions, ¶[0119]; see also ¶[0076] discussing personalized messages).
Claim(s) 2-4, 12-14, 21 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Champaneria and Benedict in view of McHale et al, US Pub. No. 2021/0312401, herein referred to as “McHale”.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Champaneria and Benedict teaches the limitations of claim 1 and Champaneria further teaches:
wherein when the acceptance/rejection communication indicates that the candidate has been rejected for the target recruitment listing (sends notification candidate is being removed from the campaign, ¶[0138] and Fig. 6, ref. char. 53),
when it is determined that the candidate is a match with any one of the recruitment listings in the body of knowledge other than the target recruitment listing, provide the candidate with an automated matching update response, including information related to the matching recruitment listing (matches candidates with jobs, ¶[0094], and notifies candidate with invitation to apply, ¶[0106]);
However Champaneria does not explicitly teach:
the machine learning model is further configured to: compare the extracted relevant data from the resume with each recruitment listing in the body of knowledge other than the target recruitment listing; determine whether the candidate is a match with any one of the recruitment listings in the body of knowledge other than the target recruitment listing.
Nevertheless, it would have been obvious, at the time of filing, for the system of Champaneria to compare rejected applicants with other job listings because it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of a reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom, see MPEP 2144.01. That is, Champaneria teaches matching applicants and job openings, ¶[0094]. One skilled in the art would infer that Champaneria would not stop matching an applicant with jobs just because the applicant was rejected for one job once.
However the combination of Champaneria and Benedict does not teach but McHale does teach:
and when it is determined that the candidate is not a match with any one of the recruitment listings in the body of knowledge other than the target recruitment listing, provide the candidate with an automated non-matching update response, indicating to the candidate that a match was not found (when re-matching or new matching is unsuccessful, invites the job-seeker to consider other jobs and to explore other career paths, ¶[0047]).
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the candidate sourcing and matching of Champaneria and Benedict with the rematching process of McHale because known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in the same field based on design incentives, see MPEP 2143.I.F. That is, one of ordinary skill would have recognized the matching process in Champaneria may need to be adjusted and accordingly would have modified Champaneria to include the adjustable matching process of McHale.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Champaneria, Benedict and McHale teaches the limitations of claim 2 and McHale further teaches:
wherein the automated non-matching update response includes career coaching information (may search for education providers to provide relevant training and certification programs to meet qualification attributes requirements for the more job openings, ¶[0063]).
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the candidate sourcing and matching of Champaneria and Benedict with the rematching process of McHale because known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in the same field based on design incentives, see MPEP 2143.I.F. That is, one of ordinary skill would have recognized the matching process in Champaneria may need to be adjusted and accordingly would have modified Champaneria to include the adjustable matching process of McHale.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Champaneria, Benedict and McHale teaches the limitations of claim 2 and Champaneria further teaches:
wherein the career coaching information includes a matrix template mapping skills of the user included in the relevant data extracted from the resume with qualifications for a bridge job (creates matrix for matching job requirements to candidate information, ¶[0060]).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Champaneria, Benedict and McHale teaches the limitations of claim 3 and McHale further teaches:
wherein the career coaching information includes at least one skill acquirable by the candidate to match the target recruitment listing (sets goals for skills growth, ¶[0038]).
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the candidate sourcing and matching of Champaneria and Benedict with the rematching process of McHale because known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in the same field based on design incentives, see MPEP 2143.I.F. That is, one of ordinary skill would have recognized the matching process in Champaneria may need to be adjusted and accordingly would have modified Champaneria to include the adjustable matching process of McHale.
Regarding claims 12-14 and 22, claims 12-14 and 22 recite similar limitations as claims 2-4 and 21 and accordingly are rejected for similar reasons as claims 2-4 and 21 .
Claim(s) 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Champaneria in view of Wu et al, US Pub. No. 20210357458, herein referred to as “Wu”.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Champaneria and Benedict teaches the limitations of claim 1 and does not teach but Wu does teach:
wherein the automated status update response is one of a plurality of automated status update responses, and the user chooses the frequency of receiving the plurality of automated status update responses (users sets notification frequencies, ¶¶[0028], [0061]).
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the candidate sourcing and matching of Champaneria and Benedict with the users settings of Wu because known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in the same field based on design incentives, see MPEP 2143.I.F. That is, one of ordinary skill would have recognized some users would likely be interested in controlling how often they receive job notifications and accordingly would have modified the Champaneria to allow the user to input notification settings, e.g. as taught by Wu.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Champaneria and Benedict teaches the limitations of claim 11 and does not teach but Wu does teach:
wherein the automated status update response is one of a plurality of automated status update responses, and the user chooses the frequency of receiving the plurality of automated status update responses (users sets notification frequencies, ¶¶[0028], [0061]).
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the candidate sourcing and matching of Champaneria and Benedict with the users settings of Wu because known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in the same field based on design incentives, see MPEP 2143.I.F. That is, one of ordinary skill would have recognized some users would likely be interested in controlling how often they receive job notifications and accordingly would have modified the Champaneria to allow the user to input notification settings, e.g. as taught by Wu.
Claim(s) 8-10 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Champaneria in view of Maltese, US Pub. No. 2020/0202304, herein referred to as “Maltese”.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Champaneria and Benedict teaches the limitations of claim 1 and does not teach but Maltese does teach:
establishing a connection with a communication portal of an unemployment agency; and transmitting employment data corresponding to the candidate to the unemployment agency (reports employment status to relevant state governments, ¶¶[0049], [0067]).
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the candidate sourcing and matching of Champaneria and Benedict with government reporting of Maltese because Maltese suggests doing so; see MPEP 2143.I.G. That is, Maltese teaches some users are obligated to report employment information, ¶[0049]. One of ordinary skill would have recognized these users would likely appreciate assistance doing so and accordingly would have provided functionality to assist with this process.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of the combination of Champaneria, Benedict and Maltese teaches the limitations of claim 8 and Champaneria further teaches:
wherein the employment data includes job search data indicating a job search status corresponding to the candidate (identifies users would are likely looking for a job, ¶[0075]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Champaneria, Benedict and Maltese teaches the limitations of claim 8 and Maltese further teaches:
wherein the employment data includes an employment status corresponding to the candidate (job applicant information includes employment status, ¶[0066]).
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the candidate sourcing and matching of Champaneria and Benedict with government reporting of Maltese because Maltese suggests doing so; see MPEP 2143.I.G. That is, Maltese teaches some users are obligated to report employment information, ¶[0049]. One of ordinary skill would have recognized these users would likely appreciate assistance doing so and accordingly would have provided functionality to assist with this process.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Champaneria and Benedict teaches the limitations of claim 11 and does not teach but Maltese does teach:
establishing a connection with a communication portal of an unemployment agency; and transmitting employment data corresponding to the candidate to the unemployment agency (reports employment status to relevant state governments, ¶¶[0049], [0067]).
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the candidate sourcing and matching of Champaneria and Benedict with government reporting of Maltese because Maltese suggests doing so; see MPEP 2143.I.G. That is, Maltese teaches some users are obligated to report employment information, ¶[0049]. One of ordinary skill would have recognized these users would likely appreciate assistance doing so and accordingly would have provided functionality to assist with this process.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Champaneria, Benedict and Maltese teaches the limitations of claim 18 and Champaneria further teaches:
wherein the employment data includes job search data indicating a job search status corresponding to the candidate (identifies users would are likely looking for a job, ¶[0075]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Champaneria, Benedict and Maltese teaches the limitations of claim 18 and Maltese further teaches:
wherein the employment data includes an employment status corresponding to the candidate (job applicant information includes employment status, ¶[0066]).
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the candidate sourcing and matching of Champaneria and Benedict with government reporting of Maltese because Maltese suggests doing so; see MPEP 2143.I.G. That is, Maltese teaches some users are obligated to report employment information, ¶[0049]. One of ordinary skill would have recognized these users would likely appreciate assistance doing so and accordingly would have provided functionality to assist with this process.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Jena et al, US Pub. No. 2020/0402014 teaches a similar employment method
Mondal et al US Pub. No. 2020/0184422 teaches a similar employment method
Zhang et al, US Pub. No. 2017/0061382 teaches a similar employment method
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRENDAN S O'SHEA/Examiner, Art Unit 3626