DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-10, 13, 16, and 18-22 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-10, 13, 16, and 18-22, each of these claims make use of the phrase “on the basis of”. It is clear from the claim language that the phrase “on the basis of” is not used to refer to a claimed “basis” (i.e., the phrase “on the basis of” does not render these claims indefinite under 35 USC 112(b) with respect to antecedent basis) and is instead used in a manner similar to “based on”; nevertheless, the Examiner recommends amending instances of “on the basis of” to the similar phrase “based on” in order to improve clarity with respect to antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites “determining a color feature of the object contour comprises:” However, antecedent basis already exists in claim 6, upon which claim 7 depends, for “determining a color feature of the object contour”. Therefore, it is unclear whether the color feature of claim 7 is intended to be the same color feature as the color feature of claim 6.
Regarding claim 11, the claim recites “the application is a first application installed on a user mobile device,” However, there is a lack of antecedent basis in the claims for “ the application”. Claim 1, upon which claim 11 depends, does recite “acquiring user interaction for an application screen displayed within the vehicle cockpit;” However, “an application screen” differs in scope from “the application”.
Regarding claim 12, the claim recites “the application is a first application installed on a user mobile device,” However, there is a lack of antecedent basis in the claims for “ the application”. Claim 1, upon which claim 12 depends, does recite “acquiring user interaction for an application screen displayed within the vehicle cockpit;” However, “an application screen” differs in scope from “the application”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-10, 13, 16-19, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Miller et al. (US 2016/0139724 A1), hereinafter Miller.
Regarding claim 1, Miller discloses a method for vehicle cockpit coordinated control, comprising:
acquiring user interaction for an application screen displayed within the vehicle cockpit;
Miller discloses ([0022]): "Referring now to the drawings, wherein the showings are for purposes of illustrating one or more exemplary embodiments and not for purposes of limiting the same, FIG. 1 is a schematic view of a system for providing absolute coordinate mapping using zone mapping input according to an exemplary embodiment. The system, which can also be referred to as an absolute zone mapping system, is generally designated by reference numeral 100. As described in more detailed below, the absolute zone mapping system 100 may be utilized to provide users (e.g., one or more occupants of a vehicle 102) with the ability to provide touch inputs through a touchpad 108 to various user interfaces shown through a display unit 104." Miller further discloses ([0023]): "In one embodiment, the system 100 is centered around the vehicle 102 that includes the display unit 104 that may be located within the center of the dashboard of the vehicle 102, as shown in FIG. 1. In alternate embodiments, the display unit 104 may be located in other areas of the vehicle 102 such as within a steering wheel or behind a driver and/or passenger seat(s). The display unit 104 may be configured in a variety of form factors, shapes, sizes, designs, and/or configurations.
and triggering the vehicle cockpit coordinated control on the basis of the application screen and the user interaction.
Miller discloses ([0023]): "In one embodiment, the system 100 is centered around the vehicle 102 that includes the display unit 104 that may be located within the center of the dashboard of the vehicle 102, as shown in FIG. 1. In alternate embodiments, the display unit 104 may be located in other areas of the vehicle 102 such as within a steering wheel or behind a driver and/or passenger seat(s). The display unit 104 may be configured in a variety of form factors, shapes, sizes, designs, and/or configurations. As will be discussed in more detail below, the display unit 104 is operably connected to the touchpad 108. The touchpad 108 is utilized by the user(s) to provide touch inputs to one or more user interfaces corresponding to operating systems, applications, vehicle systems, vehicle subsystems, etc. that are executed and stored on a head unit 106 within the vehicle 102."
Regarding claim 2, Miller discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Miller further discloses:
triggering the vehicle cockpit coordinated control on the basis of the application screen and the user interaction comprises: determining whether the application screen matches a target scenario;
Miller discloses ([0059]): "FIG. 3A is a view illustrating absolute coordinate mapping between the touchpad 108 and the display screen 110, according to an exemplary embodiment. FIG. 3A illustrates the display screen 304 and the touchpad 302 utilizing a simplified coordinate scale for the purposes of providing a simplistic example of absolute coordinate mapping between the touchpad 302 and the display screen 304. In the illustrative example shown, touchpad 302 is operating in an absolute coordinate mapping mode, as described above. As shown, the display screen 304 displays the user interface 306 that is presented from the head unit 106 of the vehicle 102. Specifically, in the illustrative example shown, the user interface 306 is presented as a vehicle system/function interface menu that may be utilized by the user(s) within the vehicle 102 to navigate to one or more vehicle systems and/or functions." Miller further discloses ([0060]): "Also as shown, the user interface 306 presented on the display screen 304 includes user interface objects 308-318 that may be utilized to execute vehicle systems and/or vehicle functions. Specifically, the user interface management module 122 sends user interface data to the coordinate display recognition module 114 (via the communication devices 116, 124). In an exemplary embodiment, the user interface data includes display data corresponding to user interface objects to be presented on the display screen 110. The coordinate display recognition module 114 evaluates the user interface data and determines the display coordinates associated with the user interface objects. For example, as shown, the coordinate display recognition module 114 determines the display coordinates corresponding to the location of the user interface 306 and the user interface objects 308-318 on the display screen 304."
and triggering, in response to the application screen matching the target scenario, the vehicle cockpit coordinated control on the basis of the application screen and the user interaction.
Miller discloses ([0061]): "With continued reference to FIG. 3A, when absolute coordinate mapping is utilized between the touchpad 302 and the display screen 304, touchpad coordinates that correspond to the display coordinate areas on the display screen 304 where the user interface icons 308-318 are presented are utilized as active touchpad coordinate areas 320-330. In other words, the touchpad 302 can be utilized to directly input the user interface objects 308-318 when the user touches the portion of the surface 136 of the touchpad 302 at the active touchpad coordinate areas 320-330. For example, if the user's finger 134 touches the surface 136 of the touchpad 302 at the active touchpad coordinate area 326, the touch input will be registered at the corresponding display coordinate areas of the display screen 304 presenting user interface object 314 in order to execute the navigation system of the vehicle 102."
Regarding claim 3, Miller discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 2. Miller further discloses:
determining whether the application screen matches a target scenario comprises: acquiring a template for the target scenario, the template comprising a target feature corresponding to the target scenario;
Miller discloses ([0060]): "Also as shown, the user interface 306 presented on the display screen 304 includes user interface objects 308-318 that may be utilized to execute vehicle systems and/or vehicle functions. Specifically, the user interface management module 122 sends user interface data to the coordinate display recognition module 114 (via the communication devices 116, 124). In an exemplary embodiment, the user interface data includes display data corresponding to user interface objects to be presented on the display screen 110. The coordinate display recognition module 114 evaluates the user interface data and determines the display coordinates associated with the user interface objects. For example, as shown, the coordinate display recognition module 114 determines the display coordinates corresponding to the location of the user interface 306 and the user interface objects 308-318 on the display screen 304."
and determining, when it is determined that the application screen has a feature corresponding to the target feature, that the application screen matches the target scenario.
Miller discloses ([0061]): "With continued reference to FIG. 3A, when absolute coordinate mapping is utilized between the touchpad 302 and the display screen 304, touchpad coordinates that correspond to the display coordinate areas on the display screen 304 where the user interface icons 308-318 are presented are utilized as active touchpad coordinate areas 320-330. In other words, the touchpad 302 can be utilized to directly input the user interface objects 308-318 when the user touches the portion of the surface 136 of the touchpad 302 at the active touchpad coordinate areas 320-330. For example, if the user's finger 134 touches the surface 136 of the touchpad 302 at the active touchpad coordinate area 326, the touch input will be registered at the corresponding display coordinate areas of the display screen 304 presenting user interface object 314 in order to execute the navigation system of the vehicle 102."
Regarding claim 4, Miller discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 2. Miller further discloses:
triggering, in response to the application screen matching the target scenario, the vehicle cockpit coordinated control on the basis of the application screen and the user interaction comprises: determining, on the basis of the application screen and the user interaction, a region of interest associated with the user interaction;
Miller discloses ([0061]): "With continued reference to FIG. 3A, when absolute coordinate mapping is utilized between the touchpad 302 and the display screen 304, touchpad coordinates that correspond to the display coordinate areas on the display screen 304 where the user interface icons 308-318 are presented are utilized as active touchpad coordinate areas 320-330. In other words, the touchpad 302 can be utilized to directly input the user interface objects 308-318 when the user touches the portion of the surface 136 of the touchpad 302 at the active touchpad coordinate areas 320-330. For example, if the user's finger 134 touches the surface 136 of the touchpad 302 at the active touchpad coordinate area 326, the touch input will be registered at the corresponding display coordinate areas of the display screen 304 presenting user interface object 314 in order to execute the navigation system of the vehicle 102."
determining an object contour within the region of interest;
Miller discloses ([0061]): "With continued reference to FIG. 3A, when absolute coordinate mapping is utilized between the touchpad 302 and the display screen 304, touchpad coordinates that correspond to the display coordinate areas on the display screen 304 where the user interface icons 308-318 are presented are utilized as active touchpad coordinate areas 320-330. In other words, the touchpad 302 can be utilized to directly input the user interface objects 308-318 when the user touches the portion of the surface 136 of the touchpad 302 at the active touchpad coordinate areas 320-330. For example, if the user's finger 134 touches the surface 136 of the touchpad 302 at the active touchpad coordinate area 326, the touch input will be registered at the corresponding display coordinate areas of the display screen 304 presenting user interface object 314 in order to execute the navigation system of the vehicle 102." FIG. 3A, included below, demonstrates the determination of object contours(s) within the region of interest (i.e., active touchpad coordinate area(s) 320, 322, 324, 326, 328, 330).
and triggering the vehicle cockpit coordinated control on the basis of the object contour.
Miller discloses ([0061]): "With continued reference to FIG. 3A, when absolute coordinate mapping is utilized between the touchpad 302 and the display screen 304, touchpad coordinates that correspond to the display coordinate areas on the display screen 304 where the user interface icons 308-318 are presented are utilized as active touchpad coordinate areas 320-330. In other words, the touchpad 302 can be utilized to directly input the user interface objects 308-318 when the user touches the portion of the surface 136 of the touchpad 302 at the active touchpad coordinate areas 320-330. For example, if the user's finger 134 touches the surface 136 of the touchpad 302 at the active touchpad coordinate area 326, the touch input will be registered at the corresponding display coordinate areas of the display screen 304 presenting user interface object 314 in order to execute the navigation system of the vehicle 102."
Regarding claim 5, Miller discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 4. Miller further discloses:
determining, on the basis of the application screen and the user interaction, a region of interest associated with the user interaction comprises: acquiring coordinates associated with the user interaction in the application screen;
Miller discloses ([0061]): "With continued reference to FIG. 3A, when absolute coordinate mapping is utilized between the touchpad 302 and the display screen 304, touchpad coordinates that correspond to the display coordinate areas on the display screen 304 where the user interface icons 308-318 are presented are utilized as active touchpad coordinate areas 320-330. In other words, the touchpad 302 can be utilized to directly input the user interface objects 308-318 when the user touches the portion of the surface 136 of the touchpad 302 at the active touchpad coordinate areas 320-330. For example, if the user's finger 134 touches the surface 136 of the touchpad 302 at the active touchpad coordinate area 326, the touch input will be registered at the corresponding display coordinate areas of the display screen 304 presenting user interface object 314 in order to execute the navigation system of the vehicle 102."
and determining the region of interest in the application screen on the basis of the coordinates.
Miller discloses ([0061]): "With continued reference to FIG. 3A, when absolute coordinate mapping is utilized between the touchpad 302 and the display screen 304, touchpad coordinates that correspond to the display coordinate areas on the display screen 304 where the user interface icons 308-318 are presented are utilized as active touchpad coordinate areas 320-330. In other words, the touchpad 302 can be utilized to directly input the user interface objects 308-318 when the user touches the portion of the surface 136 of the touchpad 302 at the active touchpad coordinate areas 320-330. For example, if the user's finger 134 touches the surface 136 of the touchpad 302 at the active touchpad coordinate area 326, the touch input will be registered at the corresponding display coordinate areas of the display screen 304 presenting user interface object 314 in order to execute the navigation system of the vehicle 102."
Regarding claim 9, Miller discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 4. Miller further discloses:
triggering the vehicle cockpit coordinated control on the basis of the object contour comprises: acquiring a predetermined target contour of a target object;
Miller discloses ([0060]): "Also as shown, the user interface 306 presented on the display screen 304 includes user interface objects 308-318 that may be utilized to execute vehicle systems and/or vehicle functions. Specifically, the user interface management module 122 sends user interface data to the coordinate display recognition module 114 (via the communication devices 116, 124). In an exemplary embodiment, the user interface data includes display data corresponding to user interface objects to be presented on the display screen 110. The coordinate display recognition module 114 evaluates the user interface data and determines the display coordinates associated with the user interface objects. For example, as shown, the coordinate display recognition module 114 determines the display coordinates corresponding to the location of the user interface 306 and the user interface objects 308-318 on the display screen 304."
determining the presence of a target object within the region of interest on the basis of the object contour and the target contour;
Miller discloses ([0061]): "With continued reference to FIG. 3A, when absolute coordinate mapping is utilized between the touchpad 302 and the display screen 304, touchpad coordinates that correspond to the display coordinate areas on the display screen 304 where the user interface icons 308-318 are presented are utilized as active touchpad coordinate areas 320-330. In other words, the touchpad 302 can be utilized to directly input the user interface objects 308-318 when the user touches the portion of the surface 136 of the touchpad 302 at the active touchpad coordinate areas 320-330. For example, if the user's finger 134 touches the surface 136 of the touchpad 302 at the active touchpad coordinate area 326, the touch input will be registered at the corresponding display coordinate areas of the display screen 304 presenting user interface object 314 in order to execute the navigation system of the vehicle 102."
and triggering the vehicle cockpit coordinated control on the basis of predetermined configuration information corresponding to the target object.
Miller discloses ([0061]): "With continued reference to FIG. 3A, when absolute coordinate mapping is utilized between the touchpad 302 and the display screen 304, touchpad coordinates that correspond to the display coordinate areas on the display screen 304 where the user interface icons 308-318 are presented are utilized as active touchpad coordinate areas 320-330. In other words, the touchpad 302 can be utilized to directly input the user interface objects 308-318 when the user touches the portion of the surface 136 of the touchpad 302 at the active touchpad coordinate areas 320-330. For example, if the user's finger 134 touches the surface 136 of the touchpad 302 at the active touchpad coordinate area 326, the touch input will be registered at the corresponding display coordinate areas of the display screen 304 presenting user interface object 314 in order to execute the navigation system of the vehicle 102."
Regarding claim 10, Miller discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 9. Miller further discloses:
triggering the vehicle cockpit coordinated control on the basis of predetermined configuration information corresponding to the target object comprises: adjusting, on the basis of the predetermined configuration information corresponding to the target object, at least one of: vehicle ambient lighting, in-cockpit lighting, vehicle audio, seats, air conditioner, or fragrance.
Miller discloses ([0061]): "With continued reference to FIG. 3A, when absolute coordinate mapping is utilized between the touchpad 302 and the display screen 304, touchpad coordinates that correspond to the display coordinate areas on the display screen 304 where the user interface icons 308-318 are presented are utilized as active touchpad coordinate areas 320-330. In other words, the touchpad 302 can be utilized to directly input the user interface objects 308-318 when the user touches the portion of the surface 136 of the touchpad 302 at the active touchpad coordinate areas 320-330. For example, if the user's finger 134 touches the surface 136 of the touchpad 302 at the active touchpad coordinate area 326, the touch input will be registered at the corresponding display coordinate areas of the display screen 304 presenting user interface object 314 in order to execute the navigation system of the vehicle 102." While the example discussed in FIG. 3A refers to execution of a navigation system of the vehicle 102, FIG. 3A also includes user interface objects for control of audio system 316 and climate control system 318.
Regarding claim 13, Miller discloses an electronic device, comprising:
at least one processor; and a memory, coupled to the at least one processor and having instructions stored thereon, the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, causing the electronic device to:
([0080]): "It should be apparent from the foregoing description that various exemplary embodiments of the invention may be implemented in hardware. Furthermore, various exemplary embodiments may be implemented as instructions stored on a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium, such as a volatile or non-volatile memory, which may be read and executed by at least one processor to perform the operations described in detail herein.
acquire user interaction for an application screen displayed within the vehicle cockpit;
Miller discloses ([0022]): "Referring now to the drawings, wherein the showings are for purposes of illustrating one or more exemplary embodiments and not for purposes of limiting the same, FIG. 1 is a schematic view of a system for providing absolute coordinate mapping using zone mapping input according to an exemplary embodiment. The system, which can also be referred to as an absolute zone mapping system, is generally designated by reference numeral 100. As described in more detailed below, the absolute zone mapping system 100 may be utilized to provide users (e.g., one or more occupants of a vehicle 102) with the ability to provide touch inputs through a touchpad 108 to various user interfaces shown through a display unit 104." Miller further discloses ([0023]): "In one embodiment, the system 100 is centered around the vehicle 102 that includes the display unit 104 that may be located within the center of the dashboard of the vehicle 102, as shown in FIG. 1. In alternate embodiments, the display unit 104 may be located in other areas of the vehicle 102 such as within a steering wheel or behind a driver and/or passenger seat(s). The display unit 104 may be configured in a variety of form factors, shapes, sizes, designs, and/or configurations."
and trigger the vehicle cockpit coordinated control on the basis of the application screen and the user interaction.
Miller discloses ([0023]): "In one embodiment, the system 100 is centered around the vehicle 102 that includes the display unit 104 that may be located within the center of the dashboard of the vehicle 102, as shown in FIG. 1. In alternate embodiments, the display unit 104 may be located in other areas of the vehicle 102 such as within a steering wheel or behind a driver and/or passenger seat(s). The display unit 104 may be configured in a variety of form factors, shapes, sizes, designs, and/or configurations. As will be discussed in more detail below, the display unit 104 is operably connected to the touchpad 108. The touchpad 108 is utilized by the user(s) to provide touch inputs to one or more user interfaces corresponding to operating systems, applications, vehicle systems, vehicle subsystems, etc. that are executed and stored on a head unit 106 within the vehicle 102."
Regarding claim 16, Miller discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 13. Miller further discloses:
the instructions causing the electronic device to trigger the vehicle cockpit coordinated control on the basis of the application screen and the user interaction comprise instructions causing the electronic device to: determine whether the application screen matches a target scenario;
Miller discloses ([0059]): "FIG. 3A is a view illustrating absolute coordinate mapping between the touchpad 108 and the display screen 110, according to an exemplary embodiment. FIG. 3A illustrates the display screen 304 and the touchpad 302 utilizing a simplified coordinate scale for the purposes of providing a simplistic example of absolute coordinate mapping between the touchpad 302 and the display screen 304. In the illustrative example shown, touchpad 302 is operating in an absolute coordinate mapping mode, as described above. As shown, the display screen 304 displays the user interface 306 that is presented from the head unit 106 of the vehicle 102. Specifically, in the illustrative example shown, the user interface 306 is presented as a vehicle system/function interface menu that may be utilized by the user(s) within the vehicle 102 to navigate to one or more vehicle systems and/or functions." Miller further discloses ([0060]): "Also as shown, the user interface 306 presented on the display screen 304 includes user interface objects 308-318 that may be utilized to execute vehicle systems and/or vehicle functions. Specifically, the user interface management module 122 sends user interface data to the coordinate display recognition module 114 (via the communication devices 116, 124). In an exemplary embodiment, the user interface data includes display data corresponding to user interface objects to be presented on the display screen 110. The coordinate display recognition module 114 evaluates the user interface data and determines the display coordinates associated with the user interface objects. For example, as shown, the coordinate display recognition module 114 determines the display coordinates corresponding to the location of the user interface 306 and the user interface objects 308-318 on the display screen 304."
and trigger, in response to the application screen matching the target scenario, the vehicle cockpit coordinated control on the basis of the application screen and the user interaction.
Miller discloses ([0061]): "With continued reference to FIG. 3A, when absolute coordinate mapping is utilized between the touchpad 302 and the display screen 304, touchpad coordinates that correspond to the display coordinate areas on the display screen 304 where the user interface icons 308-318 are presented are utilized as active touchpad coordinate areas 320-330. In other words, the touchpad 302 can be utilized to directly input the user interface objects 308-318 when the user touches the portion of the surface 136 of the touchpad 302 at the active touchpad coordinate areas 320-330. For example, if the user's finger 134 touches the surface 136 of the touchpad 302 at the active touchpad coordinate area 326, the touch input will be registered at the corresponding display coordinate areas of the display screen 304 presenting user interface object 314 in order to execute the navigation system of the vehicle 102."
Regarding claim 17, Miller discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 13. Miller further discloses:
the instructions causing the electronic device to determine whether the application screen matches a target scenario comprise instructions causing the electronic device to: acquire a template for the target scenario, the template comprising a target feature corresponding to the target scenario;
Miller discloses ([0060]): "Also as shown, the user interface 306 presented on the display screen 304 includes user interface objects 308-318 that may be utilized to execute vehicle systems and/or vehicle functions. Specifically, the user interface management module 122 sends user interface data to the coordinate display recognition module 114 (via the communication devices 116, 124). In an exemplary embodiment, the user interface data includes display data corresponding to user interface objects to be presented on the display screen 110. The coordinate display recognition module 114 evaluates the user interface data and determines the display coordinates associated with the user interface objects. For example, as shown, the coordinate display recognition module 114 determines the display coordinates corresponding to the location of the user interface 306 and the user interface objects 308-318 on the display screen 304."
and determine, when it is determined that the application screen has a feature corresponding to the target feature, that the application screen matches the target scenario.
Miller discloses ([0061]): "With continued reference to FIG. 3A, when absolute coordinate mapping is utilized between the touchpad 302 and the display screen 304, touchpad coordinates that correspond to the display coordinate areas on the display screen 304 where the user interface icons 308-318 are presented are utilized as active touchpad coordinate areas 320-330. In other words, the touchpad 302 can be utilized to directly input the user interface objects 308-318 when the user touches the portion of the surface 136 of the touchpad 302 at the active touchpad coordinate areas 320-330. For example, if the user's finger 134 touches the surface 136 of the touchpad 302 at the active touchpad coordinate area 326, the touch input will be registered at the corresponding display coordinate areas of the display screen 304 presenting user interface object 314 in order to execute the navigation system of the vehicle 102."
Regarding claim 18, Miller discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 13. Miller further discloses:
the instructions causing the electronic device to trigger, in response to the application screen matching the target scenario, the vehicle cockpit coordinated control on the basis of the application screen and the user interaction comprise instructions causing the electronic device to: determine, on the basis of the application screen and the user interaction, a region of interest associated with the user interaction;
Miller discloses ([0061]): "With continued reference to FIG. 3A, when absolute coordinate mapping is utilized between the touchpad 302 and the display screen 304, touchpad coordinates that correspond to the display coordinate areas on the display screen 304 where the user interface icons 308-318 are presented are utilized as active touchpad coordinate areas 320-330. In other words, the touchpad 302 can be utilized to directly input the user interface objects 308-318 when the user touches the portion of the surface 136 of the touchpad 302 at the active touchpad coordinate areas 320-330. For example, if the user's finger 134 touches the surface 136 of the touchpad 302 at the active touchpad coordinate area 326, the touch input will be registered at the corresponding display coordinate areas of the display screen 304 presenting user interface object 314 in order to execute the navigation system of the vehicle 102."
determine an object contour within the region of interest;
([0061]): "With continued reference to FIG. 3A, when absolute coordinate mapping is utilized between the touchpad 302 and the display screen 304, touchpad coordinates that correspond to the display coordinate areas on the display screen 304 where the user interface icons 308-318 are presented are utilized as active touchpad coordinate areas 320-330. In other words, the touchpad 302 can be utilized to directly input the user interface objects 308-318 when the user touches the portion of the surface 136 of the touchpad 302 at the active touchpad coordinate areas 320-330. For example, if the user's finger 134 touches the surface 136 of the touchpad 302 at the active touchpad coordinate area 326, the touch input will be registered at the corresponding display coordinate areas of the display screen 304 presenting user interface object 314 in order to execute the navigation system of the vehicle 102." FIG. 3A, included above, demonstrates the determination of object contours(s) within the region of interest (i.e., active touchpad coordinate area(s) 320, 322, 324, 326, 328, 330).
and trigger the vehicle cockpit coordinated control on the basis of the object contour.
Miller discloses ([0061]): "With continued reference to FIG. 3A, when absolute coordinate mapping is utilized between the touchpad 302 and the display screen 304, touchpad coordinates that correspond to the display coordinate areas on the display screen 304 where the user interface icons 308-318 are presented are utilized as active touchpad coordinate areas 320-330. In other words, the touchpad 302 can be utilized to directly input the user interface objects 308-318 when the user touches the portion of the surface 136 of the touchpad 302 at the active touchpad coordinate areas 320-330. For example, if the user's finger 134 touches the surface 136 of the touchpad 302 at the active touchpad coordinate area 326, the touch input will be registered at the corresponding display coordinate areas of the display screen 304 presenting user interface object 314 in order to execute the navigation system of the vehicle 102."
Regarding claim 19, Miller discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 16. Miller further discloses:
the instructions causing the electronic device to determine, on the basis of the application screen and the user interaction, a region of interest associated with the user interaction comprise instructions causing the electronic device to: acquire coordinates associated with the user interaction in the application screen;
Miller discloses ([0061]): "With continued reference to FIG. 3A, when absolute coordinate mapping is utilized between the touchpad 302 and the display screen 304, touchpad coordinates that correspond to the display coordinate areas on the display screen 304 where the user interface icons 308-318 are presented are utilized as active touchpad coordinate areas 320-330. In other words, the touchpad 302 can be utilized to directly input the user interface objects 308-318 when the user touches the portion of the surface 136 of the touchpad 302 at the active touchpad coordinate areas 320-330. For example, if the user's finger 134 touches the surface 136 of the touchpad 302 at the active touchpad coordinate area 326, the touch input will be registered at the corresponding display coordinate areas of the display screen 304 presenting user interface object 314 in order to execute the navigation system of the vehicle 102."
and determine the region of interest in the application screen on the basis of the coordinates.
Miller discloses ([0061]): "With continued reference to FIG. 3A, when absolute coordinate mapping is utilized between the touchpad 302 and the display screen 304, touchpad coordinates that correspond to the display coordinate areas on the display screen 304 where the user interface icons 308-318 are presented are utilized as active touchpad coordinate areas 320-330. In other words, the touchpad 302 can be utilized to directly input the user interface objects 308-318 when the user touches the portion of the surface 136 of the touchpad 302 at the active touchpad coordinate areas 320-330. For example, if the user's finger 134 touches the surface 136 of the touchpad 302 at the active touchpad coordinate area 326, the touch input will be registered at the corresponding display coordinate areas of the display screen 304 presenting user interface object 314 in order to execute the navigation system of the vehicle 102."
Regarding claim 22, Miller discloses a computer program product tangibly stored on a non-volatile computer-readable and comprising machine-executable instructions medium (“instructions stored on a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium, such as… non-volatile memory…”, see at least [0080]), the instructions, when executed, causing a machine to:
acquire user interaction for an application screen displayed within the vehicle cockpit;
Miller discloses ([0022]): "Referring now to the drawings, wherein the showings are for purposes of illustrating one or more exemplary embodiments and not for purposes of limiting the same, FIG. 1 is a schematic view of a system for providing absolute coordinate mapping using zone mapping input according to an exemplary embodiment. The system, which can also be referred to as an absolute zone mapping system, is generally designated by reference numeral 100. As described in more detailed below, the absolute zone mapping system 100 may be utilized to provide users (e.g., one or more occupants of a vehicle 102) with the ability to provide touch inputs through a touchpad 108 to various user interfaces shown through a display unit 104." Miller further discloses ([0023]): "In one embodiment, the system 100 is centered around the vehicle 102 that includes the display unit 104 that may be located within the center of the dashboard of the vehicle 102, as shown in FIG. 1. In alternate embodiments, the display unit 104 may be located in other areas of the vehicle 102 such as within a steering wheel or behind a driver and/or passenger seat(s). The display unit 104 may be configured in a variety of form factors, shapes, sizes, designs, and/or configurations."
and trigger the vehicle cockpit coordinated control on the basis of the application screen and the user interaction.
Miller discloses ([0023]): "In one embodiment, the system 100 is centered around the vehicle 102 that includes the display unit 104 that may be located within the center of the dashboard of the vehicle 102, as shown in FIG. 1. In alternate embodiments, the display unit 104 may be located in other areas of the vehicle 102 such as within a steering wheel or behind a driver and/or passenger seat(s). The display unit 104 may be configured in a variety of form factors, shapes, sizes, designs, and/or configurations. As will be discussed in more detail below, the display unit 104 is operably connected to the touchpad 108. The touchpad 108 is utilized by the user(s) to provide touch inputs to one or more user interfaces corresponding to operating systems, applications, vehicle systems, vehicle subsystems, etc. that are executed and stored on a head unit 106 within the vehicle 102."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 8, 11, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller in view of Betz et al. (US 11,338,731 B2), hereinafter Betz.
Regarding claim 6, Miller teaches the aforementioned limitations of claim 4. However, while Miller is capable of displaying color settings on a display screen (see at least [0025]), Miller does not outright teach that triggering the vehicle cockpit coordinated control on the basis of the object contour comprises: determining a color feature of the object contour; and adjusting vehicle ambient lighting on the basis of the color feature of the object contour. Betz teaches color selection for ambient lighting of a vehicle, comprising:
triggering the vehicle cockpit coordinated control on the basis of the object contour comprises: determining a color feature of the object contour;
Betz teaches (Col. 4 lines 9-42): "FIG. 1 shows a device 100 for controlling ambient lighting of a vehicle 1, having a light element 3, a touch-sensitive display unit 5 and a control unit 7 connected to the light element 3 and to the display unit 5, wherein the light element 3 is arranged in an interior of the vehicle 1 and is designed to emit light in one of a plurality of colors that can be generated by the light element 3, wherein the touch-sensitive display unit 5 is designed to display a plurality of colors of a predefined color spectrum simultaneously and arranged in a color scale, and is designed to detect the location of a user input made by touching the display unit 5 and, via the detected location, to assign the user input to an associated color displayed in the color scale and to transmit information about the color assigned to the user input to the control unit 7."
and adjusting vehicle ambient lighting on the basis of the color feature of the object contour.
Betz teaches (Col. 4 lines 9-42): "The control unit 7 is designed to control the light element 3 to emit light in the color assigned to the user input, wherein the light element 3 and the display unit 5 have the same color space, such that the color assigned to the user input on the touch-sensitive display unit 5 and the color emitted by the light element 3 are the same. "
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miller to incorporate the teachings of Betz to provide that triggering the vehicle cockpit coordinated control on the basis of the object contour comprises: determining a color feature of the object contour; and adjusting vehicle ambient lighting on the basis of the color feature of the object contour. Miller and Betz are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of vehicle control via display interaction. Further, Miller already teaches displaying color settings on a display screen (see at least [0025]). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Betz, as implementing the ambient lighting control of Betz beneficially allows for user input and selection of a desired color setting for interior lights of the vehicle, as recognized by Betz (see at least Col. 4 lines 9-42).
Regarding claim 8, Miller and Betz teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 6. However, Miller does not outright teach that the color feature comprises at least one of: a dominant hue, a color band proportion, or a brightness proportion. Betz further teaches:
the color feature comprises at least one of: a dominant hue, a color band proportion, or a brightness proportion.
Betz teaches (Col. 4 lines 9-42): "FIG. 1 shows a device 100 for controlling ambient lighting of a vehicle 1, having a light element 3, a touch-sensitive display unit 5 and a control unit 7 connected to the light element 3 and to the display unit 5, wherein the light element 3 is arranged in an interior of the vehicle 1 and is designed to emit light in one of a plurality of colors that can be generated by the light element 3, wherein the touch-sensitive display unit 5 is designed to display a plurality of colors of a predefined color spectrum simultaneously and arranged in a color scale, and is designed to detect the location of a user input made by touching the display unit 5 and, via the detected location, to assign the user input to an associated color displayed in the color scale and to transmit information about the color assigned to the user input to the control unit 7."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miller and Betz to further incorporate the teachings of Betz to provide that the color feature comprises at least one of: a dominant hue, a color band proportion, or a brightness proportion. Miller and Betz are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of vehicle control via display interaction. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Betz, as implementing the ambient lighting control of Betz beneficially allows for user input and selection of a desired color setting for interior lights of the vehicle, as recognized by Betz (see at least Col. 4 lines 9-42).
Regarding claim 11, Miller teaches the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Miller further teaches:
wherein the application screen and the user interaction originate from the first application.
Miller teaches ([0023]): "In one embodiment, the system 100 is centered around the vehicle 102 that includes the display unit 104 that may be located within the center of the dashboard of the vehicle 102, as shown in FIG. 1. In alternate embodiments, the display unit 104 may be located in other areas of the vehicle 102 such as within a steering wheel or behind a driver and/or passenger seat(s). The display unit 104 may be configured in a variety of form factors, shapes, sizes, designs, and/or configurations. As will be discussed in more detail below, the display unit 104 is operably connected to the touchpad 108. The touchpad 108 is utilized by the user(s) to provide touch inputs to one or more user interfaces corresponding to operating systems, applications, vehicle systems, vehicle subsystems, etc. that are executed and stored on a head unit 106 within the vehicle 102."
However, Miller does not outright teach that the application is a first application installed on a user mobile device, and acquiring the user interaction for the application screen displayed within the vehicle cockpit comprises: acquiring the user interaction for the application screen from a second application installed on the user mobile device and associated with the vehicle. Betz teaches color selection for ambient lighting of a vehicle, comprising:
the application is a first application installed on a user mobile device,
Betz teaches (Col. 2 lines 55-61): "According to a further advantageous embodiment, the touch-sensitive display unit is a mobile terminal… Preferably, the mobile terminal is one of: a tablet, laptop, smartphone, smartwatch." Betz further teaches (Col. 5 lines 4-27): "The control unit 7 is also designed to control the light element 3 to emit light in the color assigned to the user input... the touch-sensitive display unit 5 is a mobile terminal..."
and acquiring the user interaction for the application screen displayed within the vehicle cockpit comprises: acquiring the user interaction for the application screen from a second application installed on the user mobile device and associated with the vehicle,
Betz teaches (Col. 4 lines 9-42): "FIG. 1 shows a device 100 for controlling ambient lighting of a vehicle 1, having a light element 3, a touch-sensitive display unit 5 and a control unit 7 connected to the light element 3 and to the display unit 5, wherein the light element 3 is arranged in an interior of the vehicle 1 and is designed to emit light in one of a plurality of colors that can be generated by the light element 3, wherein the touch-sensitive display unit 5 is designed to display a plurality of colors of a predefined color spectrum simultaneously and arranged in a color scale, and is designed to detect the location of a user input made by touching the display unit 5 and, via the detected location, to assign the user input to an associated color displayed in the color scale and to transmit information about the color assigned to the user input to the control unit 7."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miller to incorporate the teachings of Betz to provide that the application is a first application installed on a user mobile device, and acquiring the user interaction for the application screen displayed within the vehicle cockpit comprises: acquiring the user interaction for the application screen from a second application installed on the user mobile device and associated with the vehicle. Miller and Betz are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of vehicle control via display interaction. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the user interaction acquisition of Betz, as doing so beneficially allows for user input and selection of a desired color setting for interior lights of the vehicle, as recognized by Betz (see at least Col. 4 lines 9-42).
Regarding claim 20, Miller teaches the aforementioned limitations of claim 16. However, while Miller is capable of displaying color settings on a display screen (see at least [0025]), Miller does not outright teach determining a color feature of the object contour; and adjusting vehicle ambient lighting on the basis of the color feature of the object contour. Betz teaches color selection for ambient lighting of a vehicle, comprising:
the instructions causing the electronic device to trigger the vehicle cockpit coordinated control on the basis of the object contour comprise instructions causing the electronic device to: determine a color feature of the object contour;
Betz teaches (Col. 4 lines 9-42): "FIG. 1 shows a device 100 for controlling ambient lighting of a vehicle 1, having a light element 3, a touch-sensitive display unit 5 and a control unit 7 connected to the light element 3 and to the display unit 5, wherein the light element 3 is arranged in an interior of the vehicle 1 and is designed to emit light in one of a plurality of colors that can be generated by the light element 3, wherein the touch-sensitive display unit 5 is designed to display a plurality of colors of a predefined color spectrum simultaneously and arranged in a color scale, and is designed to detect the location of a user input made by touching the display unit 5 and, via the detected location, to assign the user input to an associated color displayed in the color scale and to transmit information about the color assigned to the user input to the control unit 7."
and adjust vehicle ambient lighting on the basis of the color feature of the object contour.
Betz teaches (Col. 4 lines 9-42): "The control unit 7 is designed to control the light element 3 to emit light in the color assigned to the user input, wherein the light element 3 and the display unit 5 have the same color space, such that the color assigned to the user input on the touch-sensitive display unit 5 and the color emitted by the light element 3 are the same. "
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miller to incorporate the teachings of Betz to provide determining a color feature of the object contour; and adjusting vehicle ambient lighting on the basis of the color feature of the object contour. Miller and Betz are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of vehicle control via display interaction. Further, Miller already teaches displaying color settings on a display screen (see at least [0025]). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Betz, as implementing the ambient lighting control of Betz beneficially allows for user input and selection of a desired color setting for interior lights of the vehicle, as recognized by Betz (see at least Col. 4 lines 9-42).
Claim(s) 7 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller and Betz in view of Uchida (US 2017/0229098 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Miller and Betz teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 6. However, Miller does not outright teach that determining a color feature of the object contour comprises: determining a plurality of color bands displayable by the vehicle ambient lighting, and clustering pixels within the object contour on the basis of the plurality of color bands. Betz further teaches:
determining a color feature of the object contour comprises: determining a plurality of color bands displayable by the vehicle ambient lighting;
Betz teaches (Col. 4 lines 9-42): "FIG. 1 shows a device 100 for controlling ambient lighting of a vehicle 1, having a light element 3, a touch-sensitive display unit 5 and a control unit 7 connected to the light element 3 and to the display unit 5, wherein the light element 3 is arranged in an interior of the vehicle 1 and is designed to emit light in one of a plurality of colors that can be generated by the light element 3, wherein the touch-sensitive display unit 5 is designed to display a plurality of colors of a predefined color spectrum simultaneously and arranged in a color scale, and is designed to detect the location of a user input made by touching the display unit 5 and, via the detected location, to assign the user input to an associated color displayed in the color scale and to transmit information about the color assigned to the user input to the control unit 7."
clustering pixels within the object contour… on the basis of the plurality of color bands;
Betz teaches (Col. 4 lines 9-42): "FIG. 1 shows a device 100 for controlling ambient lighting of a vehicle 1, having a light element 3, a touch-sensitive display unit 5 and a control unit 7 connected to the light element 3 and to the display unit 5, wherein the light element 3 is arranged in an interior of the vehicle 1 and is designed to emit light in one of a plurality of colors that can be generated by the light element 3, wherein the touch-sensitive display unit 5 is designed to display a plurality of colors of a predefined color spectrum simultaneously and arranged in a color scale, and is designed to detect the location of a user input made by touching the display unit 5 and, via the detected location, to assign the user input to an associated color displayed in the color scale and to transmit information about the color assigned to the user input to the control unit 7."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miller and Betz to further incorporate the teachings of Betz to provide that determining a color feature of the object contour comprises: determining a plurality of color bands displayable by the vehicle ambient lighting, and clustering pixels within the object contour on the basis of the plurality of color bands. Miller and Betz are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of vehicle control via display interaction. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Betz, as implementing the ambient lighting control of Betz beneficially allows for user input and selection of a desired color setting for interior lights of the vehicle, as recognized by Betz (see at least Col. 4 lines 9-42).
However, neither Miller nor Betz outright teach clustering pixels within the object contour into a plurality of pixel sets, and determining the color feature of the object contour on the basis of the number of pixels in the plurality of pixel sets. Uchida teaches a display control device for a vehicle, comprising:
clustering pixels within the object contour into a plurality of pixel sets...
Uchida teaches ([0032]): "The display information extracting unit 12 is configured to extract a particular portion of display information based on the color-by-color pixel count of display information that is displayed on the transparent display 4. The particular portion, which is described later, is, for example, the background portion of display information that is displayed on the transparent display 4. The display information extracting unit 12 counts the number of pixels of the display information for each color separately, and extracts a portion in a color that has the highest pixel count as the particular portion."
and determining the color feature of the object contour on the basis of the number of pixels in the plurality of pixel sets.
Uchida teaches ([0032]): "The display information extracting unit 12 is configured to extract a particular portion of display information based on the color-by-color pixel count of display information that is displayed on the transparent display 4. The particular portion, which is described later, is, for example, the background portion of display information that is displayed on the transparent display 4. The display information extracting unit 12 counts the number of pixels of the display information for each color separately, and extracts a portion in a color that has the highest pixel count as the particular portion."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miller and Betz to incorporate the teachings of Uchida to provide clustering pixels within the object contour into a plurality of pixel sets, and determining the color feature of the object contour on the basis of the number of pixels in the plurality of pixel sets. Miller, Betz, and Uchida are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of interactive display systems. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Uchida, as incorporating the pixel clustering of Ichida beneficially allows for identification of a color having the highest pixel count (see at least [0032]) and provides the further benefit of enabling luminance control based on pixel clustering (see at least [0033]).
Regarding claim 21, Miller and Betz teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 18. However, Miller does not outright teach determining a plurality of color bands displayable by the vehicle ambient lighting, and clustering pixels within the object contour on the basis of the plurality of color bands. Betz further teaches:
the instructions causing the electronic device to determining a color feature of the object contour comprise instructions causing the electronic device to: determine a plurality of color bands displayable by the vehicle ambient lighting;
Betz teaches (Col. 4 lines 9-42): "FIG. 1 shows a device 100 for controlling ambient lighting of a vehicle 1, having a light element 3, a touch-sensitive display unit 5 and a control unit 7 connected to the light element 3 and to the display unit 5, wherein the light element 3 is arranged in an interior of the vehicle 1 and is designed to emit light in one of a plurality of colors that can be generated by the light element 3, wherein the touch-sensitive display unit 5 is designed to display a plurality of colors of a predefined color spectrum simultaneously and arranged in a color scale, and is designed to detect the location of a user input made by touching the display unit 5 and, via the detected location, to assign the user input to an associated color displayed in the color scale and to transmit information about the color assigned to the user input to the control unit 7."
cluster pixels within the object contour... on the basis of the plurality of color bands;
Betz teaches (Col. 4 lines 9-42): "FIG. 1 shows a device 100 for controlling ambient lighting of a vehicle 1, having a light element 3, a touch-sensitive display unit 5 and a control unit 7 connected to the light element 3 and to the display unit 5, wherein the light element 3 is arranged in an interior of the vehicle 1 and is designed to emit light in one of a plurality of colors that can be generated by the light element 3, wherein the touch-sensitive display unit 5 is designed to display a plurality of colors of a predefined color spectrum simultaneously and arranged in a color scale, and is designed to detect the location of a user input made by touching the display unit 5 and, via the detected location, to assign the user input to an associated color displayed in the color scale and to transmit information about the color assigned to the user input to the control unit 7."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miller and Betz to further incorporate the teachings of Betz to provide determining a plurality of color bands displayable by the vehicle ambient lighting, and clustering pixels within the object contour on the basis of the plurality of color bands. Miller and Betz are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of vehicle control via display interaction. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Betz, as implementing the ambient lighting control of Betz beneficially allows for user input and selection of a desired color setting for interior lights of the vehicle, as recognized by Betz (see at least Col. 4 lines 9-42).
However, neither Miller nor Betz outright teach clustering pixels within the object contour into a plurality of pixel sets, and determining the color feature of the object contour on the basis of the number of pixels in the plurality of pixel sets. Uchida teaches a display control device for a vehicle, comprising:
cluster pixels within the object contour into a plurality of pixel sets…
Uchida teaches ([0032]): "The display information extracting unit 12 is configured to extract a particular portion of display information based on the color-by-color pixel count of display information that is displayed on the transparent display 4. The particular portion, which is described later, is, for example, the background portion of display information that is displayed on the transparent display 4. The display information extracting unit 12 counts the number of pixels of the display information for each color separately, and extracts a portion in a color that has the highest pixel count as the particular portion."
and determine the color feature of the object contour on the basis of the number of pixels in the plurality of pixel sets.
Uchida teaches ([0032]): "The display information extracting unit 12 is configured to extract a particular portion of display information based on the color-by-color pixel count of display information that is displayed on the transparent display 4. The particular portion, which is described later, is, for example, the background portion of display information that is displayed on the transparent display 4. The display information extracting unit 12 counts the number of pixels of the display information for each color separately, and extracts a portion in a color that has the highest pixel count as the particular portion."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miller and Betz to incorporate the teachings of Uchida to provide clustering pixels within the object contour into a plurality of pixel sets, and determining the color feature of the object contour on the basis of the number of pixels in the plurality of pixel sets. Miller, Betz, and Uchida are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of interactive display systems. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Uchida, as incorporating the pixel clustering of Ichida beneficially allows for identification of a color having the highest pixel count (see at least [0032]) and provides the further benefit of enabling luminance control based on pixel clustering (see at least [0033]).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller in view of Oates, III et al. (US 9,843,881 B1), hereinafter Oates.
Regarding claim 12, Miller teaches the aforementioned limitations of claim 2. However, Miller does not outright teach that the application is a game application and the target scenario is a game character selection scenario. Oates teaches a speaker array and display screen, comprising:
the application is a game application and the target scenario is a game character selection scenario.
Oates teaches (Col. 7 line 42 - Col. 8 line 11): "In addition to information associated with virtual objects, example sound information providers 321 may also provide information regarding various user input, and other input, actions, or events. For example, input components 321B may include components such as a touchscreen, mouse, camera, remote control or other controller, microphone and the like. Input components 321B may provide information regarding user input that causes or is otherwise associated with a sound. For example, in some cases, a user may select a virtual object within a program or other interface, such as a menu item or icon, and audio and other feedback may be provided to confirm the user's selection. As another example, a user may select a virtual object within a video game, such as weapon or character, and audio or other selection feedback may similarly be provided."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miller to incorporate the teachings of Oates to provide that the application is a game application and the target scenario is a game character selection scenario. Miller and Oates are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of interactive display systems. Further, Miller teaches (see at least [0082]) that its various implementations may be desirably combined into other different systems or applications; [0034] refers to infotainment applications in particular. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Oates, as doing so beneficially allows for providing audio or other selection feedback to the user in response to a user's selection of a character within a video game, as recognized by Oates (see at least Col. 7 line 42 - Col. 8 line 11)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. (US 2009/0037844 A1) teaches an apparatus and method for determining coordinates of an icon on a display screen of a mobile communication terminal, including a background color determination unit which determines a current hue value for each pixel of a divided icon selection screen for a predetermined period, and determining the background color commonly distributed on the divided icon selection screens by counting by hue values the number of pixels having the same current hue value (see at least Claim 4 and [0038]-[0040]). Schultz et al. (US 2015/0371408 A1) teaches a vehicle information display system, including one or more frame buffers for storing image information such as the color value or other characteristics of the pixels of a display (see at least [0052]).
/F.T.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/DALE W HILGENDORF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662