DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 13, 16 and 17 all claim dependency back to claim 11. It appears from the claim structure as well as the limitations of the claims that claims 13, 16 and 17 should all depend from independent claim 12 and not dependent claim 11. For the purpose of examination, it has been treated as such.
Claim 18 is rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 9-12, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eliasson (US 2020/0166305) in view of King (US 6,971,657).
Regarding Claims 1 and 12, Eliasson discloses a sub-frame assembly comprised of a sub-frame 10 capable of installation on a chassis 9 of a truck (Fig. 2). Eliasson is not clear if it discloses the use of a step or not on the frame assembly. King discloses at least one step assembly 60 connected to a frame system (steps can be attached to any frame rail including a sub-frame rail) at a height that allows access by a user standing thereon to a bed 50 of the truck (Fig. 3). Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use the step of King on the sub-frame of Eliasson to give the operator better access to the storage lockers, bed portion and workings that are located above the height of the truck frame.
Regarding Claims 6 and 16, the sub-frame is below portions of the chassis and cab.
Regarding Claim 9, Eliasson discloses the use of toolboxes 8 on the sub-frame.
Regarding Claim 10, both Eliasson and King disclose flatbed portions of the trucks; use of the combination on a flatbed tow truck is merely an obvious matter of design choice for one having ordinary skill in the art as the chassis of heavy trucks (tow/tractor/military/heavy hauling) are interchangeably used.
Regarding Claim 11, King discloses the use of a horizontal platform portion (step; see Fig. 3) which the user steps on top to access the bed area of the combination truck.
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Eliasson and King may be used as an aftermarket add-on kit.
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Eliasson and King discloses a method including installing a sub-frame (Eliasson) and connecting a step assembly (King).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,319,233. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 1 of the present application is fully anticipated by Claim 1 of the ‘233 patent.
Claim 2 of the present application is fully anticipated by Claim 2 of the ‘233 patent.
Claim 3 of the present application is fully anticipated by Claim 3 of the ‘233 patent.
Claim 4 of the present application is fully anticipated by Claim 4 of the ‘233 patent.
Claim 5 of the present application is fully anticipated by Claim 5 of the ‘233 patent.
Claim 6 of the present application is fully anticipated by Claim 6 of the ‘233 patent.
Claim 7 of the present application is fully anticipated by Claim 1 of the ‘233 patent.
Claim 8 of the present application is fully anticipated by Claim 7 of the ‘233 patent.
Claim 9 of the present application is fully anticipated by Claim 8 of the ‘233 patent.
Claim 10 of the present application is fully anticipated by Claim 9 of the ‘233 patent.
Claim 11 of the present application is fully anticipated by Claim 10 of the ‘233 patent.
Claim 12 of the present application is fully anticipated by Claim 11 of the ‘233 patent.
Claim 13 of the present application is fully anticipated by Claim 12 of the ‘233 patent.
Claim 14 of the present application is fully anticipated by Claim 13 of the ‘233 patent.
Claim 15 of the present application is fully anticipated by Claim 14 of the ‘233 patent.
Claim 16 of the present application is fully anticipated by Claim 15 of the ‘233 patent.
Claim 17 of the present application is fully anticipated by Claim 11 of the ‘233 patent.
Claim 18 of the present application is fully anticipated by Claim 16 of the ‘233 patent.
Claim 19 of the present application is fully anticipated by Claim 17 of the ‘233 patent.
Claim 20 of the present application is fully anticipated by Claim 18 of the ‘233 patent.
Conclusion
/JASON S DANIELS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612