DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Notes
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species A1, and Species B1 (claims 1, 3-8) in the reply on 03/02/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 2 and 9-30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 3-8 are objected to because of the following informality:
Claim 1 is objected to because of the informality in the recitation “R1” in line 5. Examiner suggests changing the recitation to “R1”. All claims which depend on clam 1 are objected by virtue of dependency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the informality in the recitation “R2” in line 7. Examiner suggests changing the recitation to “R2”. All claims which depend on clam 1 are objected by virtue of dependency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the informality in the recitation “R1” in line 1. Examiner suggests changing the recitation to “R1”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the informality in the recitation “R2” in line 1. Examiner suggests changing the recitation to “R2”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HE (CN 117603266 A, see English Machine Translation).
Regarding claim 1, HE teaches a chemical compound represented by any one of the structural formulas (see the compound represented by the following compound formula (I), see [0085]-[0092]) comprising:
wherein R1 or R is an alkyl group containing at least 1 and no more than 8 carbon atoms or a group of the form -CH2CH2(OCH2CH2)nOCH3, where n is an integer equal to at least 0 and no more than 5, and R2 is ethyl or vinyl (see
,
, see [0087]).
Regarding claim 4, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
HE teaches a perovskite film (see the perovskite film with the transparent conductive layer and the hole transport layer, see Fig. 1), comprising: a transparent conducting oxide (TCO) substrate layer (see the transparent conductive layer 2); a perovskite layer (see the perovskite absorber layer 4); and a hole transport layer (see the hole transport layer 3) comprising at least one chemical compound according to claim 1 ([0103] The hole transport layer 3 is formed from any of the hole transport materials mentioned above, such as the compound shown in formula (I); see the compound formula (I) in the rejection of claim 1), disposed between and linking the TCO substrate and the perovskite layer (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 4.
HE teaches wherein the at least one compound comprises (2- (9-ethyl-9H-carbazol-3-yl)ethyl)phosphonic acid, (E)-(2-(9-ethyl-9H-carbazol-3- yl)vinyl)phosphonic acid, (E)-(2-(9-ethyl-carbazol-2-yl)vinyl)phosphonic acid, (2-(9-ethyl- carbazol-2-yl)ethyl)phosphonic acid (EtCz2EPA), or a combination thereof (see (2-(9-ethyl-9H-carbazol-3-yl)ethyl)phosphonic acid (see
), see the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 8, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 4.
HE teaches a solar cell (see the perovskite solar cell in Fig. 1), comprising the perovskite film of claim 4 (see the rejection of claim 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HE (CN 117603266 A, see English Machine Translation) as applied claim 1 above, further in view of BRAID (Conjugated Phosphonic Acid Modified Zinc Oxide Electron Transport Layers for Improved Performance in Organic Solar Cells).
Regarding claim 3, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
HE teaches R1 is ethyl, R2 is ethyl, and the chemical compound is (2-(9-ethyl-9H-carbazol-3-yl)ethyl)phosphonic acid (see
), but does not explicitly disclose the claimed “vinyl” in the phosphonic acid substituent (
). However, BRAID disclose an improved performance in organic solar cell, wherein the conjugated phosphonic acid (
, which is (E) type) modified solar cells shows higher power conversion efficiency than the nonconjugated phosphonic acid (
) modified devices (see Abstract, Fig. 1, Conclusions), wherein the conjugated linkage led not only to an improvement in work function, but also to increased open circuit voltage, short circuit current, and power conversion efficiency (PCE) of devices compared to the nonconjugated modifier (see P19230). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the nonconjugated phosphonic acid (
) in HE with the conjugated phosphonic acid (
, which is (E) type) as taught by BRAID, because the conjugated phosphonic acid (
, which is (E) type) led not only to an improvement in work function, but also to increased open circuit voltage, short circuit current, and power conversion efficiency (PCE) of solar cell devices compared to the phosphonic acid (
), and because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144). Therefore, modified HE teaches R1 is ethyl, R2 is vinyl, and the chemical compound is (E)-(2-(9-ethyl-9H-carbazol-3-yl)vinyl)phosphonic acid (see the discussion above).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HE (CN 117603266 A, see English Machine Translation) as applied claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 7, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 4.
HE teaches a total thickness of between about 500 nm and about 1500 nm ([0101] the thickness of the hole transport layer is 20-200 nm, [0106] The thickness of the transparent conductive layer 2 can be 50-500 nm, [0107] The thickness of the perovskite absorber layer 4 can be 200-1000 nm; Based on the disclosure, the total thickness is calculated as to be 270-1700 nm; Given the teachings above, it would have been obvious to have selected thickness within the disclosed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (see MPEP § 2144.05, I.).).
Contact Information
/TAE-SIK KANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728