DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species I (shape memory polymer) and sub-species D (Figure 8A), and claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 02/03/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Compton et al. (Pub. No. US 2018/0008005, herein after Compton).
With respect to claim 1, Compton discloses a footwear system (see figures 1-12) comprising: one or more portions (elastomeric bodies 50) including an outsole (30, FIGS. 9a, 9b and 9c are partial cross-sectional views of the footwear shown in FIG. 9, showing the elastomeric body in the undeployed, partially deployed and fully deployed states) configured in a first profile (partially deployed state, see figure 9b), the one or more portions comprising an electroactive polymer (disposed at least partially within the outsole 30 is a plurality of elastomeric bodies 50); and
an actuator that can be stimulated with electricity (solenoid valve 62) configured to apply, responsive to determining that the value satisfies a profile configuration condition (microprocessor 60 is configured to evaluate communications from the sensor 56 or the transceiver 58 for predefined environmental criteria permitting the microprocessor 60 to actuate a solenoid valve 62), the electrical stimulation to the electroactive polymer of the one or more portions to change a configuration of the one or more portions from the first profile to a second profile (fully deployed state, see figure 9c) in accordance with the surface of the ground (on a rainy day a remote device 66 such as a cell phone could sense weather and GPS data and send an electrical signal 59, signaling that it is wet and you are walking outside, to the footwear 20; see paragraphs [0036] & [0038]),
wherein the one or more portions configured in the first profile includes one or more protrusions (disposed at least partially within each elastomeric bodies 50 is a member 52. FIGS. 5a and 5b show a partial sectional view of an elastomeric body 50 with a member 52 in both the deployed and retracted and state, see paragraph [0028]) extending from the outsole (30) at a first length (partially deployed, see figure 9b), and wherein the one or more portions configured in the second profile includes the one or more protrusions extending from the outsole at a second length (fully deployed, see figure 9c).
one or more sensors (the control system 49 can be switches, knobs 49b, as shown in FIGS. 10a and 10b, levers, and solenoids in cooperation with electrical signals by way of a plurality of sensors and remote devices 66, as shown in FIG. 11) coupled to the outsole (see figure 11) and configured to generate a value based on a surface of a ground with which the outsole comes into contact;
With respect to claim 2, Compton discloses wherein the electrical actuator is configured to apply a second varying electrical current to the electroactive polymer of the one or more portions to transform the electroactive polymer to change the configuration of the one or more portions from the second profile to a third profile (FIGS. 9a, 9b and 9c are partial cross sectional views of the footwear shown in FIG. 9, showing the elastomeric body in the undeployed, partially deployed and fully deployed states).
With respect to claim 3, Compton discloses wherein the electrical actuator is coupled with a memory (the microprocessor 60 is configured to evaluate communications from the sensor 56 or the transceiver 58 for predefined environmental criteria permitting the microprocessor 60 to actuate a solenoid valve 62) and configured to identify the second profile from a plurality of profiles stored in the memory (FIG. 11 shows one embodiment of the footwear 20 having a control system 49 where a sensor 56 or a transceiver 58 is in communication with a microprocessor 60).
With respect to claim 4, Compton discloses wherein the electrical actuator (62) is configured to cause expansion at least one portion of the one or more portions in at least a longitudinal or lateral direction to change the configuration of the one or more portions from the first profile to the second profile (The control system 49 allows for the selection of varying quantities of elastomeric bodies 50 to deploy. This embodiment allows the footwear 20 to selectively deploy a plurality of types of members 52. The footwear 20 may be configured to switch between a soft traction pad and sports cleat optimizing traction for multiple surfaces).
With respect to claim 5, Compton discloses wherein to change the configuration of the one or more portions from the first profile to the second profile, the electrical actuator (solenoid 62) is configured to apply the varying electrical current (the control system 49 can be switches, knobs 49b, as shown in FIGS. 10a and 10b, levers, and solenoids in cooperation with electrical signals by way of a plurality of sensors and remote devices 66, as shown in FIG. 11) to alter a state of the electroactive polymer (elastomeric bodies 50) of the one or more portions to cause the first profile to change to the second profile (see figures 9a-c).
With respect to claim 6, Compton discloses wherein the one or more portions configured in the first profile includes a sole (outsole 30, see figures 9a-c) configured in a first sole pattern (partially deployed state) and wherein the one or more portions configured in the second profile includes the sole configuration in a second sole pattern (fully deployed state).
With respect to claim 7, Compton discloses wherein the first sole pattern comprises at least one of a first number of protrusions, a first shape of protrusions, a first dimension of protrusions, first rigidity of protrusions, or a first set of locations of protrusions, and wherein the second sole pattern comprises at least a second number of protrusions, a second shape of protrusion, second dimension of protrusion or a second set of protrusions (Footwear 20 may be any style of footwear including, for example, footwear that typically includes cleats such as Baseball cleats, soccer cleats, football cleats, and golf shoes. However, footwear 20 is not to be restricted to types of footwear known to have cleats. Footwear 20 could also be any style of footwear that could accommodate a retractable body for additional traction and/or support in certain circumstances, such as a boot, a basketball shoe, a tennis shoe, a climbing shoe or a running shoe).
With respect to claim 8, Compton discloses a user record configured to store information related to the surface and the one or more protrusions in accordance with a schedule (on a rainy day a remote device 66 such as a cell phone could sense weather and GPS data and send an electrical signal 59, signaling that it is wet and you are walking outside, to the footwear 20) the processing unit (microprocessor 60 would then make a decision whether to deploy additional traction based on predefined criteria).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,279,667. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims contain all of the key limitations from the above patent
“a footwear system comprising: one or more portions including an outsole configured in a first profile, the one or more portions comprising an electroactive polymer; and an electrical actuator configured to apply a varying electrical current to the electroactive polymer of the one or more portions to transform the electroactive polymer to change a configuration of the one or more portions from the first profile to a second profile, wherein the one or more portions configured in the first profile includes one or more protrusions extending from the outsole at a first length, and wherein the one or more portions configured in the second profile includes the one or more protrusions extending from the outsole at a second length”, but are broader in some aspects and adds features in other respects. With respect to the claims being broader, once the applicant receives a patent for a species or a more specific embodiment, he is not entitled to a patent for the generic or broader invention without maintaining common ownership and ensuring that the term of the latter issued patent will expire at the end of the original term of the earlier issued patent. This is because the more specific "anticipates" the broader. Drawing a helpful analogy, if you have a broad claim to examine, and you find a reference, which discloses every element of the claim, you have a reference that anticipates. The same is true in an obviousness-type double patenting analysis where the claim being examined is merely broader than the claim patented before. The patented claim "anticipates" the application claim. That is, in a nutshell, the rationale for why the two claims are not patentably distinct. It has been held that the generic invention is "anticipated" by the "species". See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shown are footwear systems comprising shape memory polymers.
/JILA M MOHANDESI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732
JMM
03/04/2026