DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4 are pending for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/14/2026; 08/20/2025; 06/13/2025; 04/03/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,309,387 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because for claiming the same methods of constructing an initial motion candidate list and then reconfiguring that list from reconstructed neighbor samples around the current block.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US 20170332099 A1).
Regarding claim 3, a bit stream generated by a method, the method comprising… is a product by process claim limitation where the product is the bit stream and the process is the method steps to generate the bitstream. MPEP §2113 recites “Product-by-Process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps”. Thus, the scope of the claim is the storage medium storing the bitstream (with the structure implied by the method steps). The structure includes the information and samples manipulated by the steps.
“To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated”. MPEP §2111.05(I)(A). When a claimed “computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists. MPEP §2111.05(III). The storage medium storing the claimed bitstream in claim 3 merely serves as a support for the storage of the bitstream and provides no functional relationship between the stored bitstream and storage medium. Therefor the structure bitstream, which scope is implied by the method steps, is non-functional descriptive material and given no patentable weight. MPEP §2111.05(III). Thus, the claim scope is just a storage medium storing data and is anticipated by Lee which recites a storage medium storing a bitstream ([0084]-[0085]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20170332099 A1) in view of Chen (US 20180359483 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches an image decoding method, performed by a decoding apparatus, comprising:
deriving motion information candidates of a current block based on motion vectors of neighboring blocks of the current block (Video encoder 20 may derive a histogram of motion vector information for neighboring blocks relative to the current blocks (502). [0305]);
constructing a motion information candidate list for the current block based on the motion information candidates (Video encoder 20 may be further configured to construct a motion vector candidate list of merge candidates for the current block of video data based on motion information from the number of neighboring blocks relative to the current block. In some examples, the motion information considered is the derived histogram (504). [0305]);
deriving parameters of L motion information candidates among the motion information candidates ([0306] In another example of the disclosure, video encoder 20 may be configured to order a predetermined fixed subset of spatial merge candidates in the motion vector candidate list based on the derived histogram.);
constructing a modified motion information candidate list by comparing the parameters and rearranging the L motion information candidates (video encoder 20 and video decoder 30 may be configured adaptively determine the order from the MV histogram. In another example, instead of checking each neighboring block (e.g., 4×4 spatial merge candidates), the re-ordering of spatial merging candidates is based on the size of prediction block (e.g., PU in HEVC), that contains the block used to derive the spatial merging candidates. [0281]);
deriving motion information of the current block based on the modified motion information candidate list (Video decoder 30 may then determine a current motion vector from the motion vector candidate list (556), [0316]);
deriving a prediction sample of the current block based on the motion information (decode the current block of video data using the current motion vector (558). [0316]); and
generating a reconstructed picture based on the prediction sample (decode the current block of video data using the current motion vector (558). [0316]),
wherein the L motion information candidates are a motion information candidate in first order to a motion information candidate in Lth order in the motion information candidate list,
wherein the motion vectors of the neighboring blocks include a motion vector of a spatial neighboring block adjacent to the current block ([0318] In another example of the disclosure, video decoder 30 may be configured to determine a fixed number of spatial merge candidates from the total number of neighboring blocks to add to the motion vector candidate list based on the derived histogram.), and
Lee does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however, in an analogous art, Chen teaches wherein based on a spatial neighboring block not adjacent to the current block being included in a current rectangular region covering the current block, the motion vectors of the neighboring blocks include a motion vector of the spatial neighboring block not adjacent to the current block ([0181] FIG. 15 is a block diagram illustrating example non-adjacent blocks, in accordance with a technique of this disclosure. As shown in FIG. 15, the non-adjacent blocks 1500 are reconstructed blocks that are not immediately adjacent to a current block 1502. Fig. 20&21 show non-adjacent blocks in non-square region surrounding current block).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to take the teachings of Chen and apply them to Lee. One would be motivated as such as to improve the candidate selection pool.
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches an image encoding method, performed by a encoding apparatus, comprising:
deriving motion information candidates of a current block based on motion vectors of neighboring blocks of the current block (Video encoder 20 may derive a histogram of motion vector information for neighboring blocks relative to the current blocks (502). [0305]);
constructing a motion information candidate list for the current block based on the motion information candidates (Video encoder 20 may be further configured to construct a motion vector candidate list of merge candidates for the current block of video data based on motion information from the number of neighboring blocks relative to the current block. In some examples, the motion information considered is the derived histogram (504). [0305]);
deriving parameters of L motion information candidates among the motion information candidates ([0306] In another example of the disclosure, video encoder 20 may be configured to order a predetermined fixed subset of spatial merge candidates in the motion vector candidate list based on the derived histogram.);
constructing a modified motion information candidate list by comparing the parameters and rearranging the L motion information candidates (video encoder 20 and video decoder 30 may be configured adaptively determine the order from the MV histogram. In another example, instead of checking each neighboring block (e.g., 4×4 spatial merge candidates), the re-ordering of spatial merging candidates is based on the size of prediction block (e.g., PU in HEVC), that contains the block used to derive the spatial merging candidates. [0281]);
selecting a motion information candidate for the current block based on the modified motion information candidate list (Video decoder 30 may then determine a current motion vector from the motion vector candidate list (556), [0316]);
encoding a motion information candidate index of the current block representing the selected motion information candidate (mode select unit 40 may determine which of the candidates is to be used to encode motion information of the current block, and encode a merge index representing the selected candidate. [0074]); and
encoding image information including the motion information candidate index (Video encoder 20 may signal an index (e.g., merge index) of the selected motion vector candidate to video decoder 30. [0124]),
wherein the L motion information candidates are a motion information candidate in first order to a motion information candidate in Lth order in the motion information candidate list,
wherein the motion vectors of the neighboring blocks include a motion vector of a spatial neighboring block adjacent to the current block ([0318] In another example of the disclosure, video decoder 30 may be configured to determine a fixed number of spatial merge candidates from the total number of neighboring blocks to add to the motion vector candidate list based on the derived histogram.), and
Lee does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however, in an analogous art, Chen teaches wherein based on a spatial neighboring block not adjacent to the current block being included in a current rectangular region covering the current block, the motion vectors of the neighboring blocks include a motion vector of the spatial neighboring block not adjacent to the current block ([0181] FIG. 15 is a block diagram illustrating example non-adjacent blocks, in accordance with a technique of this disclosure. As shown in FIG. 15, the non-adjacent blocks 1500 are reconstructed blocks that are not immediately adjacent to a current block 1502. Fig. 20&21 show non-adjacent blocks in non-square region surrounding current block).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to take the teachings of Chen and apply them to Lee. One would be motivated as such as to improve the candidate selection pool.
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches a transmission method for image data, the method comprising:
obtaining a bitstream of image information including a motion information candidate index of a current block representing a motion information candidate included in a modified motion information candidate list for the current block (Video decoder 30 may determine, based on information obtained from a bitstream, the index into the candidate list. In addition, video decoder 30 may generate the same candidate list and may determine, based on the index, the selected candidate. Video decoder 30 may then use the motion information of the selected candidate to generate a predictive block for the current video unit. [0010]); and
transmitting the data including the bitstream of the image information including the motion information candidate index of the current block (Fig. 1: 16),
wherein the modified motion information candidate list for the current block is constructed by deriving motion information candidates of a current block based on motion vectors of neighboring blocks of the current block, constructing a motion information candidate list for the current block based on the motion information candidates, deriving parameters of L motion information candidates among the motion information candidates, comparing the parameters and rearranging the L motion information candidates (video encoder 20 and video decoder 30 may be configured adaptively determine the order from the MV histogram. In another example, instead of checking each neighboring block (e.g., 4×4 spatial merge candidates), the re-ordering of spatial merging candidates is based on the size of prediction block (e.g., PU in HEVC), that contains the block used to derive the spatial merging candidates. [0281])
wherein the L motion information candidates are a motion information candidate in first order to a motion information candidate in Lth order in the motion information candidate list,
wherein the motion vectors of the neighboring blocks include a motion vector of a spatial neighboring block adjacent to the current block ([0318] In another example of the disclosure, video decoder 30 may be configured to determine a fixed number of spatial merge candidates from the total number of neighboring blocks to add to the motion vector candidate list based on the derived histogram.), and
Lee does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however, in an analogous art, Chen teaches wherein based on a spatial neighboring block not adjacent to the current block being included in a current rectangular region covering the current block, the motion vectors of the neighboring blocks include a motion vector of the spatial neighboring block not adjacent to the current block ([0181] FIG. 15 is a block diagram illustrating example non-adjacent blocks, in accordance with a technique of this disclosure. As shown in FIG. 15, the non-adjacent blocks 1500 are reconstructed blocks that are not immediately adjacent to a current block 1502. Fig. 20&21 show non-adjacent blocks in non-square region surrounding current block).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to take the teachings of Chen and apply them to Lee. One would be motivated as such as to improve the candidate selection pool.
Conclusion
/HESHAM K ABOUZAHRA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486