DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1:
Claims 1-20 are directed to a method (i.e., a process). Accordingly, claims 1-20 are all within at least one of the four statutory categories.
Step 2A - Prong One:
Regarding Prong One of Step 2A, the claim limitations are to be analyzed to determine whether, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, they “recite” a judicial exception or in other words whether a judicial exception is “set forth” or “described” in the claims. An “abstract idea” judicial exception is subject matter that falls within at least one of the following groupings: a) certain methods of organizing human activity, b) mental processes, and/or c) mathematical concepts.
Representative independent claim 1 includes limitations that recite at least one abstract idea. Specifically, independent claim 1 recites:
1. A method comprising:
receiving, at a remote server that is geographically remote from an infant care location where an infant is being monitored, real-time data associated with a plurality of sets of clinical measurements of the infant, the plurality of sets of clinical measurements including a vital measurement of the infant transmitted from a sensor physically attached to the infant;
storing the real-time data associated with the plurality of sets of clinical measurements of the infant as a plurality of time series data in a data store associated with the remote server;
causing a graphical user interface to present the plurality of time series data in a time- synchronized manner on a monitor located at a monitoring facility, the plurality of time series data displayed in real-time as the plurality of sets of clinical measurements are measured at the infant care location, wherein the monitoring facility is located geographically remotely from the infant care location;
receiving a communication from the monitoring facility that the infant is at risk of a potential brain injury condition; and
providing a notification to the infant care location regarding the potential brain injury condition.
The Examiner submits that the foregoing underlined limitations constitute “certain methods of organizing human activity” because receiving from an infant care location where an infant is being monitored, real-time data associated with a plurality of sets of clinical measurements of the infant, the plurality of sets of clinical measurements including a vital measurement of the infant; present the plurality of time series data in a time- synchronized manner at a monitoring facility, the plurality of time series data displayed as the plurality of sets of clinical measurements are measured at the infant care location, wherein the monitoring facility is located geographically remotely from the infant care location; receiving a communication from the monitoring facility that the infant is at risk of a potential brain injury condition; and providing a notification to the infant care location regarding the potential brain injury condition amount to managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions), at the currently claimed high level of generality.
Accordingly, the claim recites at least one abstract idea.
Step 2A - Prong Two:
Regarding Prong Two of Step 2A, it must be determined whether the claim as a whole integrates the abstract idea into a practical application. It must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
The limitations of claim 1, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers certain methods of organizing human activity but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting a remote server, a sensor, a data store, a graphical user interface, and a monitor to perform the limitations, nothing in the claim elements precludes the steps from practically being certain methods of organizing human activity. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers certain methods of organizing human activity but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the remote server, data store, graphical user interface, and monitor are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as generic computer components performing generic computer functions of receiving data, storing data, presenting/displaying data, and providing data) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. The claim recites the additional limitation of receiving a measurement transmitted from a sensor. Such step would be routinely used by those of ordinary skill in the art and is a well-understood, routine and conventional activity specified at a high level of generality. It is mere data gathering in conjunction with the abstract idea and therefore adds insignificant extrasolution activity to the judicial exception. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception (the abstract idea). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (see MPEP § 2106.05). Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation.
Claims 2-20 are ultimately dependent from Claim(s) 1 and include all the limitations of Claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim(s) 2-20 recite the same abstract idea. Claims 2-20 describe further limitations regarding displaying a list of infants, an overview, a number of open tickets, and a number of monitored infants with a condition, wherein the condition is seizure, classifying infants, color coding the risk status, displaying based on the color coding, detecting an anomaly, generating/sending an alert, determining a score, determining that the anomaly is present, wherein the datasets include a plurality of time series, wherein the timeframe is no less than 10 seconds, receiving a user input, setting the timeframe, computing an average value and visualizing the average value, receive as input a time series associated with a time frame of data associated with clinical measurement of the infant, to output a determination of whether the infant is having a seizure; output a score indicating a probability of the infant capable of cerebral autoregulation; output a score indicating an overall risk of the infant having clinical deterioration or brain injury; output a first score based on data associated with the plurality of sets of clinical measurements of the infant; output a second score based on clinical information including support or mediation being received by the infant; and output a third score indicating an overall risk of the infant having clinical deterioration or brain injury based on the first score and the second score; wherein the first score, second score, and third score are generated repeatedly at different times, and displays the first score, the second score, or the third score at different times to show risk trend of the infant. The limitations in claims 10-12 and 16-19 regarding “machine-learning” and “training” do not amount to more than a recitation of the words "apply it" (or an equivalent), such as mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer. These are all just further describing the abstract idea recited in claim 1, without adding significantly more.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
Step 2B:
Regarding Step 2B, representative independent claim 1 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for reasons the same as those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitations directed to a remote server receiving data from a sensor and storing real-time data in a data store associated with the remote server, all of which the Examiner submits merely add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea or are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality), the Examiner further submits that such steps are not unconventional as they merely consist of receiving and transmitting data over a network and storing and retrieving information in memory. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
The dependent claims do not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the dependent claims do not integrate the at least one abstract idea into a practical application.
Therefore, claims 1-20 are ineligible under 35 USC §101.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: change “a graphical user interface” to “a graphical user interface (GUI).” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: change “the plurality of infant care facilities” to “a plurality of infant care facilities“ at line 2. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: change “the aggregated data” to “aggregated data” at lines 2-3. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: change “a timeframe” to “the timeframe” at line 2. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pradeep et al. (US 2016/0287073 A1) in view of Pathak et al. (US 2019/0340515 A1).
(A) Referring to claim 1, Pradeep discloses A method comprising (abstract of Pradeep):
receiving, at a remote server that is geographically remote from an infant care location where an infant is being monitored, real-time data associated with a plurality of sets of clinical measurements of the infant, the plurality of sets of clinical measurements including a vital measurement of the infant transmitted from a sensor physically attached to the infant (Fig. 1, para. 22 & 25-27 of Pradeep; providing an infant monitoring device that is wearable by an infant. The monitoring hub may include interaction with remote servers configured to aggregate information from multiple wearable baby monitoring devices in disparate locations.);
storing the real-time data associated with the plurality of sets of clinical measurements of the infant as a plurality of time series data in a data store associated with the remote server (para. 5, 22, 24, 25, 27, 31, and 40 of Pradeep; the monitoring hub may include interaction with remote servers configured to aggregate information from multiple wearable baby monitoring devices in disparate locations. The processor processes the measurement data and selects and customizes learning materials for an infant associated with the infant monitoring device. The persistent storage stores learning materials provided by a remote platform that receives information from a plurality of infant monitoring hubs. The platform interface facilitates the exchange of information with the remote platform, which analyzes measurement data to identify a plurality of windows of receptivity and corresponding learning materials. The time series of wake/sleep is a pulse train that should (for healthy sleep patterns) have regular pulse width and spacing. By estimating those parameters, the onset of the next wake/sleep transition and the duration of the subsequent state (whether waking or sleeping) can be predicted. As an infant grows, the characteristic spacing and width of the pulses will change (eventually converging on a long duration of sleep at night with shorter naps throughout the day for a healthy baby). These changes typically happen on the time scale of months, so sleep predictions may look at time frames on the order of the last week. By observing patterns on this time scale, changes in the sleep patterns can be predicted on a faster time scale than those patterns evolve.);
wherein the monitoring facility is located geographically remotely from the infant care location (Fig. 1, and para. 25 & 94 of Pradeep; The remote system 105 includes a platform 115, which is designed to collect data from a community of users. In various examples, information about an infant 107 is collected at the wearable baby monitoring device 111, this information is processed at the monitoring hub 113, and models can be developed at the platform 115. if a mobile device is used as a monitoring hub 735, then the baby monitoring system can be portable. As such, the monitoring system can be used outdoors, at remote locations outside of the home, etc. With this system, continuous monitoring can remain uninterrupted when the baby is taken outside or to another location. The baby monitoring device 753 can continue to transmit data to the mobile device in these embodiments. If there are other peripheral devices used for monitoring at home, such as a camera 761, audio sensor 765, or the like, that would be cumbersome or inconvenient to use while outdoors or traveling, these devices can be inactive during these outings. For instance, the monitoring system can be placed in a remote monitoring mode so that the peripheral devices, such as external devices 759 and tablet device 759, can be in a sleep mode or an energy saving mode and not transmit information during the outing.);
receiving a communication from the monitoring facility that the infant is at risk of a potential brain injury condition and providing a notification to the infant care location regarding the potential brain injury condition (para. 27 & 55-57 of Pradeep; the platform may store models such as an environmental suitability model (predicting a range of environmental conditions and expected infant characteristics corresponding to these environmental conditions), baby orientation model (predicting a position of a baby based on data such as motion and geoposition), learning receptivity model (predicting a time and duration when an infant will be receptive to learning), and health model (predicting a health concern such as an epileptic seizure, lying in a prone position associated with increased risk of SIDS, etc.). These models may include thresholds for making various determinations, which can trigger notifications to a caregiver. In some examples, the notification can also include recommendations about how to reposition the baby, etc. In another example, the baby's growth can be monitored, such as by caregiver input 355, or by a sensor such as a scale (not shown) that is connected to the system as a peripheral device. This growth can be used to estimate the baby's developmental age and from this information a schedule can be developed at the hub outlining when an infant should be taught something. In yet other examples, motion 303, such as a shake of the baby's hand can be monitored to determine motor development, blood flow can be monitored and correlated to brain development, and electrodermal activity can be monitored to predict health 333 occurrences such as epileptic seizures. In another example, predictions about the baby's activity can be made using data from the accelerometer and GSR, as described in more detail with regard to FIG. 4.).
Pradeep does not expressly disclose causing a graphical user interface to present the plurality of time series data in a time- synchronized manner on a monitor located at a monitoring facility, the plurality of time series data displayed in real-time as the plurality of sets of clinical measurements are measured at the infant care location.
Pathak discloses causing a graphical user interface to present the plurality of time series data in a time- synchronized manner on a monitor located at a monitoring facility, the plurality of time series data displayed in real-time as the plurality of sets of clinical measurements are measured at the infant care location (Fig. 1, para. 14, 53, 54, 79, 90, 95, 96, & 101-103 of Pathak; the monitor further stores in a memory, time series data for a set of time periods. The monitor determines, based on the predictive model, a set of activities. Each activity corresponds to a different one of the time periods. The monitor, responsive to determining that a predetermined time threshold has elapsed, generates a log report including, for each of the time periods, the determined activity and displaying the log report on a user interface. At block 401 of method 400, monitor application 113 receives, from a movement sensor, a time series of data including an inertial measurement for each of a set of time periods. At block 401, monitor application 113 receives the time series of data generally as described with respect to block 301.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the aforementioned features of Pathak within Pradeep. The motivation for doing so would have been to determine a set of activities, if intervention is required, and so alerts, status information, or other information can be displayed (para. 53, 70, and 14 of Pathak).
(B) Referring to claim 2, Pradeep discloses wherein the GUI displays a list of a plurality of monitored infants (para. 24, 28, & 35 of Pradeep).
(C) Referring to claim 3, Pradeep discloses wherein the GUI displays an overview of a number of registered infant care facilities and a number of monitored infants at the number of registered infant care facilities (para. 22, 24, 28, 35, and 54 of Pradeep).
(D) Referring to claim 4, Pradeep discloses wherein the GUI displays a number of monitored infants with a particular clinical condition (para. 24, 27, and 55 of Pradeep).
(E) Referring to claim 5, Pradeep discloses wherein the particular clinical condition is seizure (para. 27 & 55 of Pradeep).
(F) Referring to claim 8, Pradeep discloses further comprising: detecting an anomaly associated with a clinical condition based on the aggregated data; and responsive to detecting the anomaly, generating and sending an alert at a client device at the monitoring facility (para. 45, 54-56, 24, and 27 of Pradeep).
(G) Referring to claim 9, Pradeep discloses further comprising: sending the alert to a client device at the infant care facility (para. 46, 55, 56, 59, 78, and 89 of Pradeep).
(H) Referring to claim 10, Pradeep discloses applying the data associated with the plurality of sets of clinical measurements of the infant to the machine-learning model, causing the machine-learning model to determine a score indicating a likelihood of the anomaly being present; and responsive to determining that the score is greater than a threshold, determining that the anomaly is present (para. 27, 31, 36, 38, 39, and 46 of Pradeep).
Pradeep does not expressly disclose wherein detecting an anomaly comprises: accessing a machine-learning model trained on training datasets, training datasets comprising historical data associated with clinical measurements of a plurality of infants.
Pathak discloses wherein detecting an anomaly comprises: accessing a machine-learning model trained on training datasets, training datasets comprising historical data associated with clinical measurements of a plurality of infants (para. 11-13, 54, 85, and 112-116 of Pathak).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the aforementioned features of Pathak within Pradeep. The motivation for doing so would have been so the model can be continuously updated and improved over time (para. 113 of Pathak).
(I) Referring to claim 11, Pradeep does not disclose wherein the machine-learning model is trained based on an unsupervised training method.
Pathak discloses wherein the machine-learning model is trained based on an unsupervised training method (para. 112 of Pathak).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the aforementioned feature of Pathak within Pradeep. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve prediction (para. 112 of Pathak).
(J) Referring to claim 12, Pradeep does not disclose wherein the training datasets include a plurality of time series, each of which is associated with a timeframe of data associated with clinical measurements of an infant among the plurality of infants, and the machine-learning model is a classifier trained based on contrastive learning.
Pathak discloses wherein the training datasets include a plurality of time series, each of which is associated with a timeframe of data associated with clinical measurements of an infant among the plurality of infants, and the machine-learning model is a classifier trained based on contrastive learning (para. 13, 50, 71, 75, 76, 98, 106, 112, and 118 of Pathak).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the aforementioned features of Pathak within Pradeep. The motivation for doing so would have been to determine the infant’s activity (para. 50 of Pathak).
(K) Referring to claim 13, Pradeep does not disclose wherein the timeframe is no less than 10 seconds.
Pathak discloses wherein the timeframe is no less than 10 seconds (para. 143, 150, 86, 109, 116, and 134 of Pathak).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the aforementioned feature of Pathak within Pradeep. The motivation for doing so would have to recognize trends (para. 71 of Pathak).
(L) Referring to claim 14, Pradeep discloses further comprising: receiving a user input indicating a timeframe value; and responsive to receiving the user input, setting the timeframe to the timeframe value (para. 53, 71, and 40 of Pradeep).
(M) Referring to claim 15, Pradeep does not disclose further comprising: computing an average value of a set of clinical measurements during a timeframe; and visualizing the average value on the GUI.
Pathak discloses computing an average value of a set of clinical measurements during a timeframe; and visualizing the average value on the GUI (para. 148-150 and 84 of Pathak).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the aforementioned features of Pathak within Pradeep. The motivation for doing so would have to provide feedback (para. 150 of Pathak).
(N) Referring to claim 16, Pradeep discloses the machine-learning model is trained to receive as input a time series associated with a time frame of data associated with clinical measurement of the infant, to output a determination of whether the infant is having a seizure (para. 27, 31, 36-40, and 55 of Pradeep).
(O) Referring to claim 18, Pradeep discloses wherein the machine-learning model is trained to output a score indicating an overall risk of the infant having clinical deterioration or brain injury (para. 27, 31, 36-40, 55, and 56 of Pradeep).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pradeep et al. (US 2016/0287073 A1) in view of Pathak et al. (US 2019/0340515 A1), and further in view of Graff et al. (US 2017/0169175 A1).
(A) Referring to claim 6, Pradeep and Pathak do not disclose wherein the GUI displays a number of open tickets indicating communications between users at the plurality of infant care facilities and users at the monitoring facility.
Graff discloses wherein the GUI displays a number of open tickets indicating communications between users at the plurality of care facilities and users at the monitoring facility (Fig. 1, para. 127 & 128 of Graff).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the aforementioned features of Graff within Pradeep and Pathak. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide the appropriate interventions (para. 129 of Graff).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pradeep et al. (US 2016/0287073 A1) in view of Pathak et al. (US 2019/0340515 A1), and further in view of Pavagada Nagaraja et al. (US 2016/0345832 A1).
(A) Referring to claim 7, Pradeep and Pathak do not disclose further comprising: classifying monitored infants into a plurality of risk status; color coding the plurality of risk status into a plurality of colors; and displaying the monitored infants based on the color coding.
Pavagada Nagaraja discloses further comprising: classifying monitored infants into a plurality of risk status; color coding the plurality of risk status into a plurality of colors; and displaying the monitored infants based on the color coding (para. 83 and 21 of Pavadaga Nagaraja).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the aforementioned features of Pavagada Nagaraja within Pradeep and Pathak. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a simplified health indicator (para. 21 of Pavagada Nagaraja).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pradeep et al. (US 2016/0287073 A1) in view of Pathak et al. (US 2019/0340515 A1), and further in view of Burton (US 2021/0169417 A1).
(A) Referring to claim 17, Pradeep and Pathak do not disclose wherein the machine-learning model is trained to output a score indicating a probability of the infant capable of cerebral autoregulation.
Burton discloses wherein the machine-learning model is trained to output a score indicating a probability of the infant capable of cerebral autoregulation (para. 4087, 2189, 3686, 1000, and 1005 of Burton).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the aforementioned features of Burton within Pradeep and Pathak. The motivation for doing so would have been to evaluate head injury (para. 4087 of Burton).
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pradeep et al. (US 2016/0287073 A1) in view of Pathak et al. (US 2019/0340515 A1), and further in view of Freeman et al. (US 2019/0385744 A1).
(A) Referring to claim 19, Pradeep and Pathak do not disclose wherein the machine-learning model is trained to: output a first score based on data associated with the plurality of sets of clinical measurements of the infant; output a second score based on clinical information including support or mediation being received by the infant; and output a third score indicating an overall risk of the infant having clinical deterioration or brain injury based on the first score and the second score.
Freeman discloses wherein the machine-learning model is trained to: output a first score based on data associated with the plurality of sets of clinical measurements of the patient; output a second score based on clinical information including support or mediation being received by the patient; and output a third score indicating an overall risk of the patient having clinical deterioration or brain injury based on the first score and the second score (para. 26, 45, 153, 165-174 of Freeman ).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the aforementioned features of Freeman within Pradeep and Pathak. The motivation for doing so would have been to identify a clinical condition of the patient (para. 176 of Freeman).
(B) Referring to claim 20, Pradeep and Pathak do not disclose wherein the first score, second score, and third score are generated repeatedly at different times, and the GUI further displays the first score, the second score, or the third score at different times to show risk trend of the infant.
Freeman discloses wherein the first score, second score, and third score are generated repeatedly at different times, and the GUI further displays the first score, the second score, or the third score at different times to show risk trend of the patient (para. 192, 87, 157, 26, 45, 153, and 165-174 of Freeman).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the aforementioned features of Freeman within Pradeep and Pathak. The motivation for doing so would have been to identify a clinical condition of the patient (para. 176 of Freeman).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited but not applied prior art teaches interfaces displaying patient data (US 2020/0066415 A1); maternal and infant health intelligence and cognitive insights system and score to predict the risk of maternal, fetal and infant morbidity and mortality (US 2021/0118574 A1); and two-way secure channels between multiple services across service groups (US 2022/0329584 A1).
/LENA NAJARIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3687