Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/3/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park (KR20080023240A), henceforth referred to as Park.
Regarding claim 15, Park discloses a method for producing a connection adapter for fastening a chassis component at a vehicle component, the method comprising: providing a semi-finished product made of steel (Paragraph [0005]: "It is preferable that the metallic material constituting the portion of the body 2 is made of stainless steel"), deep drawing the semi-finished product made of steel (Paragraph [0005]: "a body 2 constituting a stud 1 is formed by a deep drawing method"), in order to obtain a cylindrical region with a cylinder cover surface and a cylinder lateral surface (Figure 6: body 2 comprises a lateral surface and cover surface 6A), introducing a fastening opening into the cylinder cover surface in order to obtain the connection adapter formed as a hollow cylindrical sleeve, which has the cylinder cover surface and the cylinder lateral surface (Figure 6: cover surface 6A comprises a fastening opening), wherein the cylinder cover surface and the cylinder lateral surface delimit a sleeve interior of the hollow cylindrical sleeve (Figure 6: lateral surface of body 2 and cover surface 6A delineate an interior of stud 1), and wherein the hollow cylindrical sleeve is formed as a one-piece and material-uniform deep-drawn component made of steel (Paragraph [0005]: "It is preferable that the metallic material constituting the portion of the body 2 is made of stainless steel").
Regarding claim 16, Park discloses separating a projection extending from the cylinder lateral surface of the connection adapter formed as a hollow cylindrical sleeve (Paragraph [0005]: "The body 2 is slitted and trimmed the flange 6 is formed through a trimming process").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salzberger (DE102019105712A1), henceforth referred to as Salzberger, in view of Walde (US20150093591A1), henceforth referred to as Walde.
Regarding claim 1, Salzberger discloses a connection adapter for fastening a chassis component at a vehicle component, wherein the connection adapter is formed as a hollow cylindrical sleeve (Figure 3: connection adapter component insert 3 is formed as a hollow cylindrical sleeve), which has a cylinder cover surface and a cylinder lateral surface, wherein the cylinder cover surface and the cylinder lateral surface delimit a sleeve interior of the hollow cylindrical sleeve (Figure 3: lateral surface 3A and end face 3B delimit an interior of insert 3) and wherein: the cylinder lateral surface is fastenable at the chassis component in a material-bonding manner, in a force-fitting manner, in a form-fitting manner, or any combination thereof (Paragraph [0009]: "A sufficiently secure joining of the aforementioned insert to the extruded profile part, more precisely to its cavity, can be achieved in various ways, for example, by positive locking (e.g., with a square cross-section) and/or force locking (e.g., by pressing in or screwing) and/or by material locking, e.g., by thermal joining or welding"), a fastening opening is formed in the cylinder cover surface, through which a fastening means is guidable in order to fasten the connection adapter at the vehicle component (Figure 3: fastening means 4 comprises a hole through which a fastener can be placed).
However, Salzberger does not teach the cylindrical sleeve is formed by deep drawing. Walde discloses the hollow cylindrical sleeve is formed as a one-piece and material-uniform deep-drawn component made of steel (Claim 1: "shaping the planar blank in at least one deep-drawing step to form a pot-shaped raw component having an essentially planar bottom region or step section and a circumferential frame adjacent thereto"). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cylinder of Salzberger to have the manufacturing process of Walde in order to increase the yield strength of the component (Paragraph [0038]). Further, Applicant's claim of “the hollow cylindrical sleeve is formed as a one-piece and material-uniform deep-drawn component made of steel" is a product-by-process claim. Determination of patentability is based on the product itself, and not dependent upon the method of production. See MPEP 2113. The product of Applicant’s product-by-process claim is the same as or an obvious variant of the process in Salzberger.
Regarding claim 2, Salzberger does not teach the thickness of the cover surface. Walde discloses the cylinder cover surface, the cylinder lateral surface, or both, of the hollow cylindrical sleeve have a wall thickness between 1.5 mm and 5 mm (Paragraph [0071]: "If a component is deep-drawn in a normal method starting from a material with a thickness of 1.1 mm . . . If the bottom is increased to a thickness of 1.3 mm by using the proposed method, then a hardness of HV10=151-166 results, and even in the range of HV10=176-181 if it is increased to a thickness of 1.7 mm", thus, the cover surface has a thickness of 1.7mm). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cylinder of Salzberger to have the thickness of Walde in order to increase the yield strength of the component (Paragraphs [0038, 0071]).
Regarding claim 3, Salzberger as modified discloses the hollow cylindrical sleeve has a transition region circumferring the hollow cylindrical sleeve, and wherein the transition region is formed between the cylinder cover surface and the cylinder lateral surface of the hollow cylindrical sleeve (Figure 3: insert 3 comprises a transition region between lateral surface 3A and end 3B, circumferring the insert 3).
Regarding claim 4, Salzberger does not teach the thickness of the transition region. Walde discloses the transition region has a wall thickness between 1.0 mm and 5 mm (Paragraph [0038]: "wherein the material thickness D9 of the bottom region is preferably at least 1.5 times as great as the material thickness D9′ of the frame" and Paragraph [0071]: "If a component is deep-drawn in a normal method starting from a material with a thickness of 1.1 mm . . . If the bottom is increased to a thickness of 1.3 mm by using the proposed method, then a hardness of HV10=151-166 results, and even in the range of HV10=176-181 if it is increased to a thickness of 1.7 mm", further, Figure 7: transition region between body 101 and bottom 102 does not decrease in thickness, the transition region has a wall thickness between 1.1-1.7mm). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cylinder of Salzberger to have the thickness of Walde in order to increase the yield strength of the component (Paragraphs [0038, 0071])
Regarding claim 5, Salzberger as modified discloses the hollow cylindrical sleeve has no cylinder bottom surface at a bottom side of the hollow cylindrical sleeve opposite the cylinder cover surface (Figure 3: insert 3 has no cylinder bottom surface opposite end 3B).
Regarding claim 7, Salzberger as modified discloses the cylinder lateral surface is weldable, screwable, or both, to the chassis component (Paragraph [0009]: "A sufficiently secure joining of the aforementioned insert to the extruded profile part, more precisely to its cavity, can be achieved in various ways, for example, by positive locking (e.g., with a square cross-section) and/or force locking (e.g., by pressing in or screwing) and/or by material locking, e.g., by thermal joining or welding").
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salzberger and Walde as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Ichishima (US20110097176A1), henceforth referred to as Ichishima.
Regarding claim 6, Salzberger and Walde do not teach the fastening opening diameter. Ichishima discloses the fastening opening in the cylinder cover surface has an opening diameter between 7 mm and 30 mm, or any combination thereof (Paragraph [0020]: "the sub frame rigid collar for car that provides with the cylindrical portion and the tapered outer peripheral portion used for the mass-produced car corresponding to bolt diameters etc. of 14 mm or 16 mm" and figure 1: subframe collar 25 accommodates bolt 10). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the collar of Salzberger and Walde with the opening dimension of Z in order to accommodate standard automotive fastener sizes (Paragraph [0020]).
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakai (US20200102014A1), henceforth referred to as Sakai, in view of Walde.
Regarding claim 8, Sakai discloses a chassis arrangement in a vehicle, comprising: a chassis component (Figure 11: subframe 72), and a connection adapter for fastening the chassis component at a vehicle component (Figure 11: collar 103A and Paragraph [0109]: "The third rear subframe-side attachment portion 103 includes a collar 103A extending vertically through the tip end of the first extension 92C. The collar 103A is welded to the upper and lower walls of the first extension 92C. Each third rear subframe-side attachment portion 103 is disposed on the underside of the corresponding third vehicle body-side attachment portion 85 and is fastened to the third vehicle body-side attachment portion 85 by a bolt"), wherein the connection adapter is formed as a hollow cylindrical sleeve, (Figure 11: collar 103A is formed as a hollow, cylindrical sleeve), and wherein: the cylinder lateral surface is fastenable at the chassis component in a material-bonding manner, in a force-fitting manner, in a form-fitting manner, or any combination thereof (Paragraph [0109]: "The collar 103A is welded to the upper and lower walls of the first extension 92C"), a fastening opening is formed in the cylinder cover surface, through which a fastening means is guidable in order to fasten the connection adapter at the vehicle component (Paragraph [0109]: "Each third rear subframe-side attachment portion 103 is disposed on the underside of the corresponding third vehicle body-side attachment portion 85 and is fastened to the third vehicle body-side attachment portion 85 by a bolt"), wherein the cylinder lateral surface of the connection adapter is fastened to the chassis component in a material-bonding manner, in a force-fitting manner, in a form-fitting manner, or any combination thereof (Paragraph [0109]: "The collar 103A is welded to the upper and lower walls of the first extension 92C").
Sakai does not teach the sleeve being formed by deep drawing. Walde discloses the hollow cylindrical sleeve is formed as a one-piece and material-uniform deep-drawn component made of steel (Claim 1: "shaping the planar blank in at least one deep-drawing step to form a pot-shaped raw component having an essentially planar bottom region or step section and a circumferential frame adjacent thereto"). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cylinder of Sakai to have the manufacturing process of Walde in order to increase the yield strength of the component (Paragraph [0038]). Further, Applicant's claim of “the hollow cylindrical sleeve is formed as a one-piece and material-uniform deep-drawn component made of steel" is a product-by-process claim. Determination of patentability is based on the product itself, and not dependent upon the method of production. See MPEP 2113. The product of Applicant’s product-by-process claim is the same as or an obvious variant of the process in Sakai.
Regarding claim 9, Sakai as modified discloses the chassis component is a front axle carrier, a rear axle carrier, or a twist beam axle (Figure 1: subframe 72 formed as an axle carrier).
Regarding claim 10, Sakai as modified discloses the connection adapter is fastened to an adapter arm of the chassis component, in a material-bonding manner, in a force-fitting manner, in a form-fitting manner, or any combination thereof (Paragraph [0109]: "The collar 103A is welded to the upper and lower walls of the first extension 92C" and Figure 11: extension 92C forms an adapter arm of subframe 72).
Regarding claim 11, Sakai as modified discloses the chassis arrangement has at least one end-side connection adapter, which is fastened to one end of the chassis component or to a further end of the chassis component facing away from the one end of the chassis component (Figure 11: end side adapter collar 102A).
Regarding claim 12, Sakai as modified discloses the chassis arrangement has at least one central connection adapter, which is fastened to a central region of the chassis component in a material-bonding manner, in a force-fitting manner, in a form- fitting manner, or any combination thereof (Figure 11: central connection adapter collar 103A, and Paragraph [0109]: "The collar 103A is welded to the upper and lower walls of the first extension 92C), and wherein the central region is arranged between one end of the chassis component, and a further end of the chassis component facing away from the one end of the chassis component (Figure 11: collar 103A arranged between front end part 91D and rear cross member 93).
Regarding claim 13, Sakai as modified discloses the chassis arrangement has a first longitudinal member and a second longitudinal member (Figure 11: first and second longitudinal members 91), wherein the chassis arrangement has a first cross member and a second cross member extending transversely to the first longitudinal member and the second longitudinal member (Figure 11: first and second cross members 92 and 93 extend transversely to connect longitudinal members 91), wherein the first cross member and the second cross member are each fastened in a material-bonding manner, force-locked manner, or both, to the first longitudinal member and to the second longitudinal member (Claim 10: "the rear subframe longitudinal members are inserted in the through-holes, respectively, and are welded to the rear subframe cross member").
Regarding claim 14, Sakai as modified discloses the chassis arrangement comprises a vehicle component and a fastening means wherein the fastening means is guided through the fastening opening in the cylinder cover surface of the connection adapter and a further fastening opening of the vehicle component and is fixed to the connection adapter in order to fasten the connection adapter at the vehicle component (Paragraph [0109]: "Each first extension 92C has a tip end (laterally outer end) formed with a third rear subframe-side attachment portion 103. The third rear subframe-side attachment portion 103 includes a collar 103A extending vertically through the tip end of the first extension 92C. The collar 103A is welded to the upper and lower walls of the first extension 92C. Each third rear subframe-side attachment portion 103 is disposed on the underside of the corresponding third vehicle body-side attachment portion 85 and is fastened to the third vehicle body-side attachment portion 85 by a bolt").
Cited Prior Art not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure includes Womack (US-20220242486-A1), which discloses a cylindrical sleeve vehicle component.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW JAMES O'NEILL/Examiner, Art Unit 3614
/JASON D SHANSKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614