DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
As a result of the Amendment filed on March 23, 2026, claims 1-2, 4-9,11-16 and 19-20 are pending. Claims 1, 8, and 15 are amended. Claims 3, 10 and 17-18 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 23, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has incorporated some of the elements of dependent claim 3 (now canceled) into independent claim 1 and argues that the previously cited Elhadad reference (US 2024/0045495 A1) does not teach the features of “wherein the waveform modes include waveform modes optimized for texting rendering assigned to regions include text and waveform modes optimized for image rendering assigned to regions including one or more images.” Specifically, Applicant is arguing that Elhadad does not analyze whether a region contains text or images and assign a rendering mode optimized for that content type. (Applicant Remarks at pg. 9). The challenges to independent claims 8 and 15 turn on the same amendments to independent claim 1.
The Office respectfully disagrees with the above conclusions. As cited Elhadad explicitly shows separated regions containing text (See Fig. 6, #602; 602 includes email being depicted) and regions containing images (Fig. 6, #604; 604 includes images and icons such as mountain and weather icon). Furthermore, Elhadad teaches differentiating these respective regions with the driving scheme (Fig. 6, #604; 604 includes images and icons such as mountain and weather icon; See additionally Figs 4-6, Detailed Description, [0220-0231], “According to some embodiments, the at least one updated duty cycle configuration includes a first updated duty cycle configuration for the first display region and a first portion of the second display region and a second updated duty cycle configuration for a second portion of the second display region, the first portion of the second display region differs from the second region of the second display region. The terms “updated duty cycle configuration”, “display region”, and “differs” may be understood as described earlier…] By way of a non-limiting example, turning to FIG. 6, during the first time period, processing device 460 (FIG. 4) may display content in display region 602 (e.g., virtual screen 112) according to duty cycle configuration 610 (e.g., 60%) and content in display region 604 (e.g., virtual widgets 114C and 114D) according to duty cycle configuration 612 (e.g., 20%). When the first time period lapses, (e.g., in response to a notification associated with virtual widget 114D), processing device 460 may update the first and second duty cycle configurations, for example by lowering the duty cycle for each by 10%”; Examiner’s note—duty cycle represents different waveforms of driving). Since the duty cycle is the waveform being used for driving, the duty cycle configurations reads upon the “waveform modes” element recited. In addition, under Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) of “optimizing”, the duty cycle change benefits disclosed in Elhadad (See inter alia, Detailed Decsription, [0142]) also anticipates the “optimizing” element. Thus, Elhadad continues to read upon the limitation at issue “wherein the waveform modes include waveform modes optimized for texting rendering assigned to regions include text and waveform modes optimized for image rendering assigned to regions including one or more images.”
For the foregoing reasons, the rejection to each of the pending claims are maintained with the Elhadad reference. An updated search was conducted, but no new art is cited at this time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-9,11-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Elhadad et al., United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2024/0045495 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Elhadad discloses a device (Figs. 1-4, generally), comprising:
a display including a rendering area (Fig. 4, #452, display; Detailed Description, [0019-0124], including also projector); and
circuitry (Fig. 4, processing device, #460; Detailed Description, [0125]) configured to:
obtain data associated with digital content including multiple digital content types (Detailed Description, [0125]; See also Detailed Description, [0214-0231], “By way of a non-limiting example, turning to FIG. 6, during the first time period, processing device 460 (FIG. 4) may display content in display region 602 (e.g., virtual screen 112) according to duty cycle configuration 610 (e.g., 60%) and content in display region 604 (e.g., virtual widgets 114C and 114D) according to duty cycle configuration 612 (e.g., 20%). When the first time period lapses, (e.g., in response to a notification associated with virtual widget 114D), processing device 460 may update the first and second duty cycle configurations, for example by lowering the duty cycle for each by 10%. Thus, the first updated duty cycle configuration may now be 50% and the second updated duty cycle configuration may now be 10%. However, processing device 460 may determine that virtual widget 114D should be displayed according to the higher of the two duty cycle configurations (e.g., 50%), e.g., to draw the attention of user 100 to incoming notifications. Thus, processing device 460 may use the 50% duty cycle configuration (e.g., first updated duty cycle configuration) to display virtual widget 114D (e.g., a first portion of display region 604) and virtual screen 112 and may use the 10% duty cycle configuration (e.g., second updated duty cycle configuration) to display virtual widget 114C (e.g., second portion of display region 604).”);
segment, based on the data, the rendering area into regions including digital content of different digital content types of the multiple digital content types (Detailed Description, [0220-0231], “Thus, the extended reality environment may be divided into different display regions for the first and second time periods such that the first and second display regions include different sections of the extended reality environment during the first and second time periods. In other words, in addition to updating the duty cycle configurations, the regions of the extended reality environment included in each of the first and second display regions may be updated…. For example, the first updated display region may now include the virtual screen and additionally the desktop, and the second updated display region may now include only the section adjacent to the virtual screen (e.g., without the desktop).”);
determine, based on the different digital content types, waveform modes for the regions, wherein the waveform modes include waveform modes optimized for texting rendering assigned to regions include text (See Fig. 6, #602; 602 includes email being depicted) and waveform modes optimized for image rendering assigned to regions including one or more images (Fig. 6, #604; 604 includes images and icons such as mountain and weather icon; See additionally Figs 4-6, Detailed Description, [0220-0231], “According to some embodiments, the at least one updated duty cycle configuration includes a first updated duty cycle configuration for the first display region and a first portion of the second display region and a second updated duty cycle configuration for a second portion of the second display region, the first portion of the second display region differs from the second region of the second display region. The terms “updated duty cycle configuration”, “display region”, and “differs” may be understood as described earlier…] By way of a non-limiting example, turning to FIG. 6, during the first time period, processing device 460 (FIG. 4) may display content in display region 602 (e.g., virtual screen 112) according to duty cycle configuration 610 (e.g., 60%) and content in display region 604 (e.g., virtual widgets 114C and 114D) according to duty cycle configuration 612 (e.g., 20%). When the first time period lapses, (e.g., in response to a notification associated with virtual widget 114D), processing device 460 may update the first and second duty cycle configurations, for example by lowering the duty cycle for each by 10%”; Examiner’s note—duty cycle represents different waveforms of driving);
cause, based on the waveform modes for the regions, the digital content of the different digital content types to be rendered (Figs 4-6, Detailed Description, [0220-0231], “Thus, the extended reality environment may be divided into different display regions for the first and second time periods such that the first and second display regions include different sections of the extended reality environment during the first and second time periods. In other words, in addition to updating the duty cycle configurations, the regions of the extended reality environment included in each of the first and second display regions may be updated…uring the first time period, content may be displayed in the first display region (including just the virtual screen) according to the first duty cycle configuration, and in the second display region (including the area adjacent to the virtual screen and the desktop) according to the second duty cycle configuration. During the second time period, the display regions may be divided up differently. For example, the first updated display region may now include the virtual screen and additionally the desktop, and the second updated display region may now include only the section adjacent to the virtual screen (e.g., without the desktop). Content in the first updated display region (including the virtual screen and desktop) may be displayed according to the first updated duty cycle configuration, and content in the second updated display region (including only the section adjacent to the virtual screen) may be displayed according to the second updated duty cycle configuration.”).
Regarding claim 2, Elhadad discloses wherein the regions are nonoverlapping (See regions 602/604 in Fig. 6 being nonoverlapping).
Regarding claim 4, wherein the digital content, of the different digital content types, is rendered simultaneously (See Figs. 4-6 and Detailed Description, [0216-0231]).
Regarding claim 5, wherein the data includes at least one of user input data and user preference data (See inter alia, Detailed Description, [0101-0105]), and wherein the circuitry is further configured to:
adjust, based on the at least one of the user input data or the user preference data, at least one waveform mode for at least one region to at least one adjusted waveform mode for the at least one region (Figs. 4-8, Detailed Description, [0214-0231], “Examples of an external event may include an alert, trigger or signal received from an external computing device or peripheral device (e.g., configured with a sensor such as an optical, IR, acoustic, vibration, temperature, heat, humidity, electric and/or magnetic, or any other type of sensor), a user (e.g., as a user input) or any other type of external stimulus. The user input may include input via an input device (e.g., keyboard, electronic pointing device, touch-based device), a voice command, a gesture (e.g., eye via an eye tracker, head, hand, body), or any other type of user input. For example, external events that may trigger a processing device to terminate the first time period may include receiving a notification of a scheduled calendar event, receiving a timeout notification (e.g., NACK) from an external device, completing the receiving of data from an external source, or receiving an external warning to update system software, or install protective measures against malware.”).
Regarding claim 6, Elhadad discloses wherein the circuitry, to cause, based on the waveform modes for the regions, the digital content of the different digital content types to be rendered, is configured to:
generate, based on the waveform modes for the regions, commands (Figs. 4-10, Detailed Description, [0223-0247], “4. A user 1016 donning smart glasses 1006 may interface with content displayed by smart glasses 1006, e.g., via gestures, voice commands, keystrokes on a keyboard 1018, a pointing device such as an electronic mouse 1022, or any other user interfacing means. Processing device 460 (FIG. 4) may extract content from virtual display 1002, (e.g., in response to input from user 1016). As an example, processing device 460 may extract virtual house plant 1014 from virtual display 1002.”); and
apply the commands to render the digital content of the different digital content types (Figs. 4-10, Detailed Description, [0223-0247]).
Regarding claim 7, wherein the regions are associated with initial waveform modes based on the different digital content types (Figs 4-6, Detailed Description, [0220-0231], “By way of a non-limiting example, turning to FIG. 6, during the first time period, processing device 460 (FIG. 4) may display content in display region 602 according to duty cycle configuration 610 (e.g., 60%) and content in display region 604 according to duty cycle configuration 612 (e.g., 20%). After the lapse of a predetermined time period (e.g., the first time period), processing device 460 may determine that power source 440 (e.g., a battery) is running low, and may update the duty cycle configurations for displaying content in each of display regions 602 and 604, e.g., by reducing the duty cycle for each duty cycle configuration by half. “), and
wherein at least one waveform mode is different from at least one initial waveform mode (Figs 4-6, Detailed Description, [0220-0231], “According to some embodiments, the at least one updated duty cycle configuration includes a first updated duty cycle configuration for the first display region and a first portion of the second display region and a second updated duty cycle configuration for a second portion of the second display region, the first portion of the second display region differs from the second region of the second display region. The terms “updated duty cycle configuration”, “display region”, and “differs” may be understood as described earlier…] By way of a non-limiting example, turning to FIG. 6, during the first time period, processing device 460 (FIG. 4) may display content in display region 602 (e.g., virtual screen 112) according to duty cycle configuration 610 (e.g., 60%) and content in display region 604 (e.g., virtual widgets 114C and 114D) according to duty cycle configuration 612 (e.g., 20%). When the first time period lapses, (e.g., in response to a notification associated with virtual widget 114D), processing device 460 may update the first and second duty cycle configurations, for example by lowering the duty cycle for each by 10%”; Examiner’s note—lowering duty cycle is different from initial duty cycle)
Regarding claim 8, Elhadad discloses a method (Figs. 4-10, generally, See also Abstract and Summary) comprising the functional limitations of claim 1. Thus, claim 8 is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 1 with the same cited sections of Elhadad.
Regarding claim 9, this is met by the rejection to claim 2.
Regarding claim 11, this is met by the rejection to claim 4.
Regarding claim 12, this is met by the rejection to claim 5.
Regarding claim 13, this is met by the rejection to claim 6.
Regarding claim 14, this is met by the rejection to claim 7.
Regarding claim 15, Elhdad discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium (Fig, 4, memory device, #411; See inter alia, Detailed Description, [0129][0232]) storing a set of instructions, the set of instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a device including a rendering area (Figs. 4-6, processing device, #460; display, #452 and output interface, #450; Detailed Description, [0120-0125]), cause the device to: perform the functional aspects of independent claim 1 (or independent claim 8).
Thus, claim 15 is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 1 and claim 8 with the same cited sections of Elhadad.
Regarding claim 16, this is met by the rejection to claim 2.
Regarding claim 19, this is met by the rejection to claim 4.
Regarding claim 20, this is met by the rejection to claim 5.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KWIN XIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626