DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “point cloud data acquisition module”, “spatial smoothing module”, “pose adjustment module “, “convergence determination module” in claims 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al (T. Ma, B. Xia, Y. Ou, J. Wang and S. Xu, "Robust Second-Order LiDAR Bundle Adjustment Algorithm Using Mean Squared Group Metric," in IEEE Transactions on Automation Science and Engineering, vol. 22, pp. 12831-12844, 2025, doi: 10.1109/TASE.2025.3541199. ) in view of Liu et al (Z. Liu and F. Zhang, "BALM: Bundle Adjustment for Lidar Mapping," in IEEE Robotics and Automation Letters, vol. 6, no. 2, pp. 3184-3191, April 2021, doi: 10.1109/LRA.2021.3062815)
Regarding claim 1, Ma discloses A system for LiDAR point cloud processing (Section 1- Introduction, Light detection and ranging (LiDAR) is a three dimensional scanning sensor with the continuous-time sampling characteristic.), comprising:
a point cloud data acquisition module configured to receive point cloud data (Section 1 – Introduction, the point cloud will be transformed into the map coordinate system and used to update the point-based map (relative to the feature based map);
a spatial smoothing module configured to generate a fitted surface from the point cloud data using a predetermined kernel size, wherein the fitted surface provides an estimation of locations of points in the point cloud data (Section 2B - Bundle Adjustment, The bundle adjustment algorithm is widely used in 3D reconstruction and SLAM It leverages the co-view constraints of landmarks to construct a joint estimation model for both landmarks and multi-frame poses, allowing for the refinement of the local map.);
a convergence determination module configured to assess a convergence of the pose adjustment by comparing a change in pose adjustment to a threshold value (Section 5B -Dataset experiment, If the initial value provided by the front-end pose is poor, the landmark parameters may not be able to converge to a better state, leading to divergent estimation results.),
wherein if the change exceeds the threshold value, the kernel size is updated, and the system is configured to repeat the spatial smoothing and pose adjustment modules with the updated kernel size (Section 5B – Dataset experiment, RSO-BA algorithm’s robust kernel function which reweights all measurements. The measurements corresponding to flatter plane landmarks have larger weights in the optimization process, which improves estimation accuracy.)
Liu disclsoes a pose adjustment module configured to perform pose adjustment on a LiDAR frame of the point cloud data by calculating an error between points on the fitted surface and corresponding data points in the point cloud data (Section 3A - Direct BA Formulation, This agrees well to our intuition that the 3D point-cloud map (hence the plane or edge features) are determined once the scan poses are known. Moreover, the optimization on the poses T reduces to minimizing the eigen values of the matrix A), and
adjusting a pose of the LiDAR frame to minimize the error (Section 3A - Direct BA Formulation, in case of plane feature, the direct BA formulation is to minimize the summed squared distance from each plane feature point pi,which depends on the pose T)
Ma and Liu are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify bundle adjustment of Ma to include a pose adjustment module configured to perform pose adjustment on a LiDAR frame of the point cloud data by calculating an error between points on the fitted surface and corresponding data points in the point cloud data, and adjusting a pose of the LiDAR frame to minimize the error as described by Liu.
The motivation for doing so would have been to lidar bundle adjustment as minimizing the distance from a feature point to its matched edge or plane to greatly reduces the optimization scale and allows large-scale dense plane and edge features to be used. (Liu, Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Ma and Liu to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Ma discloses wherein the spatial smoothing module is further configured to sample the point cloud data using Principal Component Analysis (PCA) to calculate an initial point normal of the point cloud data (Section 2A – Points cloud registration, Chen and Medioni proposed a point-to-plane registration algorithm. This approach derives surface features by fitting the local point set in the target model using principal component analysis (PCA))
Regarding claim 3, Ma discloses wherein the spatial smoothing module is further configured to obtain an estimation of initial point normals in relation to neighborhood point normals, wherein neighborhood points are located within a distance defined by the kernel size from the initial points (Section 2C – Problem formulation, where the plane landmark is represented by πj= nj,dj T , with nj = nj,x,nj,y,nj,z T as normal vector, dj as the distance from the origin to the plane.)
Regarding claim 4, Ma discloses wherein the spatial smoothing module is further configured to project neighborhood points to a tangent space of a kernel (Section 2C – Explicit Second-Order Estimator, ti ∈ R3 is the translation component of Ti. j = j,1, j,2, j,3 T is the closest point representation[16]of plane landmark πj).
Regarding claim 5, Ma discloses wherein the spatial smoothing module is further configured to determine parameters for a kernel using the projected neighborhood points (Section 2C – Explicit Second-Order Estimator Initially, we ignore the effect of ρ(·) and parameterize the estimated values of the mean square group metric c′ i,j).
Regarding claim 6, Ma discloses wherein the spatial smoothing module is further configured to determine optimal parameters for a polynomial smoothing kernel using least squares estimation, wherein the estimation is based on a Gaussian radial weight function (Section 2B – Bundle Adjustment, The BA problem is solved using an approximate second-order method based on Gauss-Newton.).
Regarding claim 7, Ma discloses wherein the pose adjustment module is further configured to determine a Jacobian of the error (Section 2C – Problem formulation, By calculating the first-order partial derivative of πj with respect to yj,Jk j=∂πj ∂yk can be obtained).
Regarding claim 8, Ma discloses wherein the convergence determination module is configured to update the kernel size by reducing the kernel size (Section 2B – Bundle Adjustment, the error metrics ci,j and cj in (4) compromise scale interpretability due to the use of the group matrix, making it difficult to determine the appropriate threshold for the robust kernel function.).
Regarding claim 9, Ma discloses wherein the convergence determination module is configured to update the kernel size by reducing the kernel size in steps according to a predefined reduction factor or a reduction function (Section 5A – Experimental setup, this algorithm uses QR decomposition to calculate the reduction error vector and the reduction Jacobian matrix.)
Regarding claim 10, Ma discloses wherein the convergence determination module is configured to update the kernel size with a constant (section 6 – Conclusion and Future work, Leveraging the mean square group metric with scale interpretability, the robust BA model can be built using a robust kernel function.).
Regarding claim 11, Ma discloses a method for LiDAR point cloud processing (Section 1- Introduction, Light detection and ranging (LiDAR) is a three dimensional scanning sensor with the continuous-time sampling characteristic.), comprising:
receiving point cloud data (Section 1 – Introduction, the point cloud will be transformed into the map coordinate system and used to update the point-based map (relative to the feature based map);;
generating a fitted surface from the point cloud data using a predetermined kernel size, wherein the fitted surface provides an estimation of locations of points in the point cloud data (Section 2B - Bundle Adjustment, The bundle adjustment algorithm is widely used in 3D reconstruction and SLAM It leverages the co-view constraints of landmarks to construct a joint estimation model for both landmarks and multi-frame poses, allowing for the refinement of the local map.);
performing pose adjustment on a LiDAR frame of the point cloud data by calculating an error between points on the fitted surface and corresponding data points in the point cloud data, and adjusting a pose of the LiDAR frame to minimize the error;
assessing a convergence of the pose adjustment by comparing a change in pose adjustment to a threshold value; and
when the change exceeds the threshold value (Section 5B -Dataset experiment, If the initial value provided by the front-end pose is poor, the landmark parameters may not be able to converge to a better state, leading to divergent estimation results.),
updating the kernel size and re- iterating the fitted surface generation and pose adjustment steps with the updated kernel size (Section 5B – Dataset experiment, RSO-BA algorithm’s robust kernel function which reweights all measurements. The measurements corresponding to flatter plane landmarks have larger weights in the optimization process, which improves estimation accuracy.)
Liu discloses performing pose adjustment on a LiDAR frame of the point cloud data by calculating an error between points on the fitted surface and corresponding data points in the point cloud data, and adjusting a pose of the LiDAR frame to minimize the error (Section 3A - Direct BA Formulation, This agrees well to our intuition that the 3D point-cloud map (hence the plane or edge features) are determined once the scan poses are known. Moreover, the optimization on the poses T reduces to minimizing the eigen values of the matrix A), and
assessing a convergence of the pose adjustment by comparing a change in pose adjustment to a threshold value (Section 3A - Direct BA Formulation, in case of plane feature, the direct BA formulation is to minimize the summed squared distance from each plane feature point pi,which depends on the pose T)
Ma and Liu are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify bundle adjustment of Ma to include performing pose adjustment on a LiDAR frame of the point cloud data by calculating an error between points on the fitted surface and corresponding data points in the point cloud data, and adjusting a pose of the LiDAR frame to minimize the error; assessing a convergence of the pose adjustment by comparing a change in pose adjustment to a threshold value as described by Liu.
The motivation for doing so would have been to lidar bundle adjustment as minimizing the distance from a feature point to its matched edge or plane to greatly reduces the optimization scale and allows large-scale dense plane and edge features to be used. (Liu, Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Ma and Liu to obtain the invention as specified in claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, Ma discloses wherein the step of generating the fitted surface further comprises sampling the point cloud data using Principal Component Analysis (PCA) to calculate an initial point normal of the point cloud data (Section 2A – Points cloud registration, Chen and Medioni proposed a point-to-plane registration algorithm. This approach derives surface features by fitting the local point set in the target model using principal component analysis (PCA))
Regarding claim 13, Ma discloses wherein the step of generating the fitted surface further comprises obtaining an estimation of initial point normals in relation to neighborhood point normals, wherein neighborhood points are located within a distance defined by the kernel size from the initial points (Section 2C – Problem formulation, where the plane landmark is represented by πj= nj,dj T , with nj = nj,x,nj,y,nj,z T as normal vector, dj as the distance from the origin to the plane.)
Regarding claim 14, Ma discloses wherein the step of generating the fitted surface further comprises projecting neighborhood points to a tangent space of a kernel (Section 2C – Explicit Second-Order Estimator, ti ∈ R3 is the translation component of Ti. j = j,1, j,2, j,3 T is the closest point representation[16]of plane landmark πj).
Regarding claim 15, Ma discloses wherein the step of generating the fitted surface further comprises determining parameters for a kernel using the projected neighborhood points (Section 2C – Explicit Second-Order Estimator Initially, we ignore the effect of ρ(·) and parameterize the estimated values of the mean square group metric c′ i,j).
Regarding claim 16, Ma discloses wherein the step of generating the fitted surface further comprises determining optimal parameters for a polynomial smoothing kernel using least squares estimation, wherein the estimation is based on a Gaussian radial weight function (Section 2B – Bundle Adjustment, The BA problem is solved using an approximate second-order method based on Gauss-Newton.).
Regarding claim 17, Ma discloses wherein the step of performing pose adjustment further comprises determining a Jacobian of the error between points on the fitted surface and corresponding data points in the point cloud data (Section 2C – Problem formulation, By calculating the first-order partial derivative of πj with respect to yj,Jk j=∂πj ∂yk can be obtained).
Regarding claim 18, Ma discloses wherein the step of assessing convergence of the pose adjustment further comprises updating the kernel size by reducing the kernel size (Section 2B – Bundle Adjustment, the error metrics ci,j and cj in (4) compromise scale interpretability due to the use of the group matrix, making it difficult to determine the appropriate threshold for the robust kernel function.).
Regarding claim 19, Ma discloses wherein the step of assessing convergence of the pose adjustment further comprises updating the kernel size by reducing the kernel size in steps according to a predefined reduction factor or a reduction function (Section 5A – Experimental setup, this algorithm uses QR decomposition to calculate the reduction error vector and the reduction Jacobian matrix.)
Regarding claim 20, Ma discloses wherein the step of assessing convergence of the pose adjustment further comprises updating the kernel size with a constant (section 6 – Conclusion and Future work, Leveraging the mean square group metric with scale interpretability, the robust BA model can be built using a robust kernel function.).
Conclusion
/SHIVANG I PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615