DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10 are pending. Claims 1 is independent.
This Application was published as US 20250315632.
Apparent priority: 4-3-2024
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS dated 8-8-2025 has been considered and placed in the application file.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 2 and 4 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 and 4, line(s) 2, should be “the user interface for different wording.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant is advised that should claim 2, 4 be found allowable, claim 3, 5 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Double Patenting
Claim 1, 5 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1,4-6 of copending Application No. 19169914 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the issued patent are narrower in scope than that of the instant application and therefore anticipates the claims if the instant application. Please see the Claim Mapping in the table below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Each of the claims of the instant application map to the co-pending application, where Claim (I) maps to Claim (C).
Claim 1 (I): Claim 1 + 4 (C); Claim 5 (I): Claim 5 + 6 (C);
Instant Application: 19169928
co-pending: 19169914
Claim 1: 1. A method comprising using at least one hardware processor to:
receive instruction to generate a particular type of document comprising a plurality of containers, and wherein the document has a primary language and a secondary language;
generate the document with the plurality of containers;
receive text in either the primary language for certain of the plurality of containers;
populate the text into the corresponding containers of the plurality of containers;
automatically translate the text into the secondary language and populate the translated text into the corresponding containers of the plurality of containers;
present the document with the text to a user via a user interface for review and editing;
receiving edits to the text in the primary language, and automatically translating the edits into the text in the second language;
and
updating the presentation of the document to highlight the edits and the translation of the edits.
Claim 1 + 4: A method comprising using at least one hardware processor to:
receive instruction to generate a particular type of document comprising a plurality of containers, and wherein the document has a primary language and a secondary language;
generate the document with the plurality of containers;
receive text in either the primary language for certain of the plurality of containers;
populate the text into the corresponding containers of the plurality of containers;
automatically translate the text into the secondary language and populate the translated text into the corresponding containers of the plurality of containers; and
present the test to a user via a user interface for review and editing.
4. The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving edits to the text in the primary language, and automatically translating the edits into the text in the second language.
Claims 2-4,8-10 are rejected in the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,4-6 of co-pending: 19169914 in view of Hodson (US 20130173247), Please see below prior art mapping for these claim limitations for each corresponding claim. It would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to have modified the co-pending application with the teachings of Hodson Doing so may also improve the accuracy of the final translation by preventing the system from incorrectly using those terms as context for the translation of other terms.” as noted by Hodson disclosure in paragraphs 36.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected in the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,4-6 of co-pending: 19169914 in view of Nilsson. Please see the claim mapping below with respect to prior art rejection as well as motivation to combine.
Claim 1, 5 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1,4-6 of copending Application No. 19169973 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the issued patent are narrower in scope than that of the instant application and therefore anticipates the claims if the instant application. Please see the Claim Mapping in the table below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Each of the claims of the instant application map to the co-pending application, where Claim (I) maps to Claim (C).
Claim 1 (I): Claim 1 + 4 (C); Claim 5 (I): Claim 5 + 6 (C);
Instant Application: 19169928
co-pending: 19169973
Claim 1: 1. A method comprising using at least one hardware processor to:
receive instruction to generate a particular type of document comprising a plurality of containers, and wherein the document has a primary language and a secondary language;
generate the document with the plurality of containers;
receive text in either the primary language for certain of the plurality of containers;
populate the text into the corresponding containers of the plurality of containers;
automatically translate the text into the secondary language and populate the translated text into the corresponding containers of the plurality of containers;
present the document with the text to a user via a user interface for review and editing;
receiving edits to the text in the primary language, and automatically translating the edits into the text in the second language;
and
updating the presentation of the document to highlight the edits and the translation of the edits.
Claim 1 + 4: 1. A method comprising using at least one hardware processor to:
receive instruction to generate a particular type of document comprising a plurality of containers, and wherein the document has a primary language and a secondary language;
generate the document with the plurality of containers;
receive text in either the primary language for certain of the plurality of containers;
populate the text into the corresponding containers of the plurality of containers;
automatically translate the text into the secondary language and populate the translated text into the corresponding containers of the plurality of containers;
present the document with the text to a user via a user interface for review and editing;
and identifying certain text in the text int eh primary language and suggesting proper formatting for the identified text based on a type of document being created.
4. The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving edits to the text in the primary language, and automatically translating the edits into the text in the second language;
and updating the presentation of the document to highlight the edits and the translation of the edits.
Claims 2-4,8-10 are rejected in the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,4-6 of co-pending: 19169973 in view of Hodson (US 20130173247), Please see below prior art mapping for these claim limitations for each corresponding claim. It would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to have modified the co-pending application with the teachings of Hodson Doing so may also improve the accuracy of the final translation by preventing the system from incorrectly using those terms as context for the translation of other terms.” as noted by Hodson disclosure in paragraphs 36.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected in the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,4-6 of co-pending: 19169973 in view of Nilsson. Please see the claim mapping below with respect to prior art rejection as well as motivation to combine.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: The independent Claims are directed to statutory categories:
Claim 1 is a method claim and directed to the process category of patentable subject matter.
Step 2A, Prong One: Does the Claim recite a Judicially Recognized Exception? Abstract Idea? Are these Claims nevertheless considered Abstract as a Mathematical Concept (mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations), Mental Process (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion), or Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity (1-fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk), 2-commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations), 3- managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions) and fall under the judicial exception to patentable subject matter?)
The rejected Claims recite Mental Processes or Methods of Organizing Human Activity such as receiving direction on how a document should be formatted. Furthermore, receiving it in text and translating it to another language. Further edits can be made, and translations of the edit would be done as well.
Step 2A, Prong Two: Additional Elements that Integrate the Judicial Exception into a Practical Application? Identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception(s), and evaluating those additional elements to determine whether they integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. “Integration into a practical application” requires an additional element(s) or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. Uses the considerations laid out by the Supreme Court and the Federal Circuit to evaluate whether the judicial exception is integrated into a practical application.
1. A method comprising using at least one hardware processor to:
receive instruction to generate a particular type of document comprising a plurality of containers, and wherein the document has a primary language and a secondary language;
generate the document with the plurality of containers;
receive text in either the primary language for certain of the plurality of containers;
populate the text into the corresponding containers of the plurality of containers;
automatically translate the text into the secondary language and populate the translated text into the corresponding containers of the plurality of containers;
present the document with the text to a user via a user interface for review and editing;
receiving edits to the text in the primary language, and automatically translating the edits into the text in the second language; and
updating the presentation of the document to highlight the edits and the translation of the edits.
The limitation of “receive …”, “generate …”, “receive …”, “populate …”, “automatically …”, “present …”, “receiving …”, and “updating …” , as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, a person receiving instructions on how a document should be, the format of the document, the language, and the translated language. Where each part has its own section in the document. Furthermore, receiving a piece of text and translating it to another language in its correct section within the document. Further edits can be made, and translations of the edit would be done as well. Where those edits and translations would be indicated via highlighting.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claim 1 only recites additional elements that are computer components “processor” (paragraph 27) recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using the computer components amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
Claims 2 additionally recite 2. The method of claim 1, further comprising presenting the user with suggestions via the user interface for deferent wording of text in the primary language that will translate better. However, this limitation does not prevent a human from performing the steps mentally as described above. Further, the person would recommend alternative words as he is editing to have better translated text. Thus, the claim is directed towards a mental process. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements that is “user interface” where its pre-solution by receiving something from the user. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Claims 3 additionally recites 3. The method of claim 1, further comprising presenting the user with at least one alternative translations via the user interface, and receiving a selection of one of the at least one alternative translations. However, these limitations encompass a person having multiple translations for a user to choose from. Thus, the claim is directed towards a mental process. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements that is “user interface” where its pre-solution by receiving something from the user. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Claims 6 additionally recites 6. The method of claim 1, further comprising presenting to the user, via the user interface, a review panel that displays recent edits and translations. However, these limitations encompass a person having the text and translation with the edits and the translated edit showing. Where its not erased but rather a version history is displayed. Thus, the claim is directed towards a mental process. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements that is “user interface” where its pre-solution by receiving something from the user. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Claims 7 additionally recites 7. The method of claim 6, further comprising receiving via the user interface a selection of a recent edit or translation, and displaying the selected edit or translation. However, these limitations encompass a person having the text and translation with the edits and the translated edit showing. Where its not erased but rather a version history is displayed. Thus, the claim is directed towards a mental process. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements that is “user interface” where its pre-solution by receiving something from the user. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Claims 8 additionally recites 8. The method of claim 1, wherein receive text in either the primary language comprises receiving text typed in via the user interface, receiving a scan of the text, receiving an image of the text, or otherwise receiving an upload of the text. However, these limitations encompass a person receiving the text via paper and pencil. Thus, the claim is directed towards a mental process. Similar to above, no additional limitations are provided that provide a practical application, or amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claims 9 additionally recites 9. The method of claim 8, further comprises presenting the user with an option via the user interface to accept or reject the edit or translation. However, these limitations encompass a person showing the translations to the user and them choosing which one they want. Thus, the claim is directed towards a mental process. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements that is “user interface” where its pre-solution by receiving something from the user. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Claims 10 additionally recites 10. The method of claim 8, further comprising presenting the user with an option via the user interface to accept the translation, receive more possible translations, manually edit via the user interface the translations, or assign the translation to a collaborator. However, these limitations encompass a person showing the translations to the user and them choosing which one they want. Furthermore, they giving feedback on the translation. Thus, the claim is directed towards a mental process. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements that is “user interface” where its pre-solution by receiving something from the user. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Claim 4 contains limitations similar to those found in claim 2 and therefore are not patent eligible for the same reasons.
Claim 5 contains limitations similar to those found in claim 3 and therefore are not patent eligible for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5,8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Hodson (US 20130173247) in view of DU; (US 20220374617).
Claim 1
Regarding Claim 1, Hodson teaches
Hodson:
Hodson teaches 1. A method comprising using at least one hardware processor to:receive instruction to generate a particular type of document comprising a plurality of containers, and wherein the document has a primary language and a secondary language;
(“[0087] Returning to FIG. 4, the system then enters a loop in which it accepts text from the user and interactively updates the translation as the user continues to modify the text. A screen 550 such as FIG. 7 depicts may in an embodiment of the invention comprise a text entry and/or editing area 560, which may display the text 565 in the user's working language. As discussed above, the system may translate text as units or chunks, which may (but need not) represent a complete phrase, clause, or sentence. As FIG. 7 depicts, a sentence 570 that includes the current chunk is highlighted in the display.”
“[0098] FIG. 6, also described above, is presented if a user chooses to create a new document. Here they can specify the languages to create the document in (the first being the master language by default, though this can be changed at any point), the type of document they wish to create, the formality and sensitivity of the document, as well as basic attributes like the title, and those allowed to edit the project, or who are included in the workflow. Other options that may be specified, e.g., on a page such as FIG. 6 depicts, may include, e.g.:”
Containers=units or chunks)
generate the document with the plurality of containers;
(“[0087] Returning to FIG. 4, the system then enters a loop in which it accepts text from the user and interactively updates the translation as the user continues to modify the text. A screen 550 such as FIG. 7 depicts may in an embodiment of the invention comprise a text entry and/or editing area 560, which may display the text 565 in the user's working language. As discussed above, the system may translate text as units or chunks, which may (but need not) represent a complete phrase, clause, or sentence. As FIG. 7 depicts, a sentence 570 that includes the current chunk is highlighted in the display.”)
receive text in either the primary language for certain of the plurality of containers;
(“[0087] Returning to FIG. 4, the system then enters a loop in which it accepts text from the user and interactively updates the translation as the user continues to modify the text. A screen 550 such as FIG. 7 depicts may in an embodiment of the invention comprise a text entry and/or editing area 560, which may display the text 565 in the user's working language. As discussed above, the system may translate text as units or chunks, which may (but need not) represent a complete phrase, clause, or sentence. As FIG. 7 depicts, a sentence 570 that includes the current chunk is highlighted in the display.”
“[0007] In an embodiment of the invention, a user may provide text in a primary language to be translated to one or more different target languages. The user can choose to view the translated text or can keep the translation hidden.
[0008] An embodiment of the invention may comprise a translation module that examines the source text as it is input by the user. The translation module translates words, phrases, or both, as they are entered by the user but may continually backtrack and incrementally update word translations as strings of words are developed to increase contextual accuracy. The translation module may limit its incremental updating to single sentences, or use linguistic clues from neighboring phrases and sentences to improve the candidate translations returned.”)
populate the text into the corresponding containers of the plurality of containers;
(“[0087] Returning to FIG. 4, the system then enters a loop in which it accepts text from the user and interactively updates the translation as the user continues to modify the text. A screen 550 such as FIG. 7 depicts may in an embodiment of the invention comprise a text entry and/or editing area 560, which may display the text 565 in the user's working language. As discussed above, the system may translate text as units or chunks, which may (but need not) represent a complete phrase, clause, or sentence. As FIG. 7 depicts, a sentence 570 that includes the current chunk is highlighted in the display.”
Containers=units or chunks)
automatically translate the text into the secondary language and populate the translated text into the corresponding containers of the plurality of containers;
(“[0087] Returning to FIG. 4, the system then enters a loop in which it accepts text from the user and interactively updates the translation as the user continues to modify the text. A screen 550 such as FIG. 7 depicts may in an embodiment of the invention comprise a text entry and/or editing area 560, which may display the text 565 in the user's working language. As discussed above, the system may translate text as units or chunks, which may (but need not) represent a complete phrase, clause, or sentence. As FIG. 7 depicts, a sentence 570 that includes the current chunk is highlighted in the display.”
“[0090] As disclosed above, if an exact match is not found for particular source text, the system in an embodiment of the invention may attempt to find candidate phrases, clauses, or sentences in the source language for which exact translations are known and which have the same meaning (or similar/synonymous meanings) to the original source text. The user may select one of these proposed expressions in the source language, and, if so, the selected expression will replace the original expression in the text editing area 560 (FIG. 7), and the foreign translation of the replacement expression will be added to the translation.”)
present the document with the text to a user via a user interface for review and editing;
(“[0085] In an embodiment of the invention, the user may also give a title 830 to the document. As depicted, other controls allow the user to specify individuals and/or groups with whom the document may be shared (e.g., for collaboration or post-editing/review) 530 and the method of distribution 535. When the user is satisfied with the settings, the user may select the "Save" control 540 to create the document and then begin composing it, e.g., through a user interface screen 550 such as FIG. 7 depicts.
[0086] In an embodiment of the invention, the user may have access to linguistic tools while composing or editing the document. These tools might include, among many possibilities, spell-checking utilities, multi-lingual dictionaries with contextual references, thesauruses, and quality indicators, such as may indicate those chunks needing the most work (e.g., through highlighting). These tools might be activated, e.g., through a toolbar appearing above the document authoring window (FIG. 7) and/or through other user interface components (not pictured), as will be appreciated by those having skill in the art. Words and chunks might be highlighted in the text, and the multilingual dictionary/thesaurus reference could then be retrieved. These tools might be tailored to give examples from the document's domain, so as to be most useful to the author/editor. The quality metrics tools might use the individual chunk scores, along with heuristics over neighboring chunks to highlight those sections whose quality does not attain a particular threshold, or has a marked variance from the surrounding chunks. A user might be able to modify this threshold, and to work on improving these chunks, or flag particular areas for later review by other collaborators.
[0087] Returning to FIG. 4, the system then enters a loop in which it accepts text from the user and interactively updates the translation as the user continues to modify the text. A screen 550 such as FIG. 7 depicts may in an embodiment of the invention comprise a text entry and/or editing area 560, which may display the text 565 in the user's working language. As discussed above, the system may translate text as units or chunks, which may (but need not) represent a complete phrase, clause, or sentence. As FIG. 7 depicts, a sentence 570 that includes the current chunk is highlighted in the display.”)
receiving edits to the text in the primary language, and automatically translating the edits into the text in the second language; and
(“[0087] Returning to FIG. 4, the system then enters a loop in which it accepts text from the user and interactively updates the translation as the user continues to modify the text. A screen 550 such as FIG. 7 depicts may in an embodiment of the invention comprise a text entry and/or editing area 560, which may display the text 565 in the user's working language. As discussed above, the system may translate text as units or chunks, which may (but need not) represent a complete phrase, clause, or sentence. As FIG. 7 depicts, a sentence 570 that includes the current chunk is highlighted in the display.
[0088] As the user enters text in block 420 of FIG. 4, the system determines periodically in block 425 whether to continue updating the translation of the current chunk or to begin processing a new chunk. In an embodiment of the invention, such periodic evaluation may take place after every user action that changes the text at all, including without limitation after every keystroke. Alternatively, in an embodiment of the invention, the periodic evaluation may take place less frequently, e.g., waiting at least for short pauses between keystrokes such as may occur naturally during composition. Such pauses may also reflect a design decision to refrain from frequently prompting the user to select among candidate translations (as described below), which may become bothersome if it occurs, e.g., after every keystroke.”)
[updating the presentation of the document to highlight the edits and the translation of the edits.]
Hodson does not explicitly teach all of the updating the presentation of the document to highlight the edits and the translation of the edits.
DU:
However, DU teaches the updating the presentation of the document to highlight the edits and the translation of the edits.
(“[0041] Optionally, providing the translation recommendation in step S12 may include: distinctively displaying the translation recommendation from the reference translation in the translated text area. In this case, distinctive display of the translation recommendation in the translated text area may be removed, in the case that the confirmation operation of the user for the translation recommendation is detected.
[0042] The distinctive display can be performed by the means of bold font, highlighted font, different-colored characters, different-colored background, shading effects, etc., which can distinctively display the translation recommendation. In a possible implementation, the distinctive display may be performed in a display mode different from the inputted translation. For example, in the editing area, the inputted translation may be displayed in bold font, and the translation recommendation may be displayed in normal font. Alternatively, the inputted translation can be displayed in black font, and the translation recommendation is displayed in gray font, etc. In the case that the confirmation operation of the user for the translation recommendation is detected, the display mode of the translation recommendation can be adjusted to be the same as the display mode of the inputted translation. For example, the inputted translation may be displayed in bold font, and the translation recommendation may be displayed in normal font. In the case that the confirmation operation of the user is detected, the translation recommendation is adjusted to be displayed in bold font.”
“[0060] FIG. 3 is a schematic diagram of a possible translation interface. As shown in the uppermost area of FIG. 3, the original text display area may be located above the translated text area and the editing area. The textual content may be obtained and then be translated. The reference translation may be displayed in the translated text area. The translation recommendation from the reference translation may be provided in the editing area based on the input of the user in the editing area. The translation recommendations that have been confirmed as translation results or the translations that have been inputted by the user are displayed in bold font. The translation recommendation which is displayed is shown in gray ordinary font. As shown in the middle area of FIG. 3, a non-confirmation operation of the user inputting the translation in the editing area (such as inputting a translation different from the translation recommendation in the editing area) is detected, and the reference translation is updated based on the translation inputted by the user (the characters displayed in bold and underlined are characters inputted by the user). The translation recommendation from the updated reference translation is displayed for the user. As shown in the bottom area of FIG. 3, after the user adopts the translation recommendation from the updated reference translation, the translation recommendation is displayed in the editing area as the translation result. If the user edits the textual content in the original text display area (the characters displayed in bold and underlined are characters modified by the user), the reference translation is updated based on the textual content edited by the user, and the translation recommendation from the reference translation is provided.”)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hodson to incorporate the teachings of DU to provide a “updating the presentation of the document to highlight the edits and the translation of the edits.” Doing so would Improve the efficiency and quality of the translation, as recognized by DU. (paragraph 37).
Claim 2 and 4
Regarding Claim 2, Hodson in view of DU teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Further, Hodson teach 2. The method of claim 1, further comprising presenting the user with suggestions via the user interface for deferent wording of text in the primary language that will translate better.
(“[0009] An embodiment of the invention may comprise narrowing the set of possible translations that must be evaluated (which may be referred to as the "translation search space") by displaying to the user candidate source language words/phrases/sentences that may be similar to text that the user provided. ("Text" is used in a broad sense and may, depending on the context, refer to one or more words, phrases, sentences, or combinations thereof) Candidate source language text may be retrieved from the database using linguistic similarity metrics, for example word edit-distance or parse-tree similarity, between what the user typed, and the human-edited translations available for the particular language pairs in question. In such an embodiment, the user may choose one of the candidate phrases as a direct replacement for the entered text, which may cause the translation to be within certain quality bounds for particular domains. The user may alternatively choose to ignore the candidate sentences. Having chosen a candidate phrase, the user may in an embodiment of the invention choose either to maintain the original phrase on the primary language side or to replace the phrase in the primary language with the selected candidate phrase also.”
“[0090] As disclosed above, if an exact match is not found for particular source text, the system in an embodiment of the invention may attempt to find candidate phrases, clauses, or sentences in the source language for which exact translations are known and which have the same meaning (or similar/synonymous meanings) to the original source text. The user may select one of these proposed expressions in the source language, and, if so, the selected expression will replace the original expression in the text editing area 560 (FIG. 7), and the foreign translation of the replacement expression will be added to the translation.
[0091] FIG. 7 depicts the presentation of such candidates according to an embodiment of the invention, in a region 580 adjacent to the sentence 570 currently being translated. As depicted, for example, the alternate source phrase 585 scoring the highest in similarity to the translated sentence 570 is at the top of the list of suggested alternate source phrases 590. Next to each source phrase 585, 590 are symbols that a user may select to accept 595 or reject 600 a particular replacement phrase.”)
Claim 4 contains limitations similar to those found in Claim 2 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 3 and 5
Regarding Claim 3, Hodson in view of DU teaches the limitation of claim 1.
Further Hodson teaches
3. The method of claim 1, further comprising presenting the user with at least one alternative translations via the user interface, and receiving a selection of one of the at least one alternative translations.
(“[0108] N-best list: The statistical translation system maintains n-best lists of translations between language pairs, including sub-sets of sentences, and words. Each item is scored, and the user may select/combine these options in ways different to those inferred by the translation engine.”)
Claim 5 contains limitations similar to those found in Claim 3 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 8
Regarding Claim 8, Hodson in view of DU teaches the limitation of claim 1.
Further Hodson teaches 8. The method of claim 1, wherein receive text in either the primary language comprises receiving text typed in via the user interface, receiving a scan of the text, receiving an image of the text, or otherwise receiving an upload of the text.
(“[0087] Returning to FIG. 4, the system then enters a loop in which it accepts text from the user and interactively updates the translation as the user continues to modify the text. A screen 550 such as FIG. 7 depicts may in an embodiment of the invention comprise a text entry and/or editing area 560, which may display the text 565 in the user's working language. As discussed above, the system may translate text as units or chunks, which may (but need not) represent a complete phrase, clause, or sentence. As FIG. 7 depicts, a sentence 570 that includes the current chunk is highlighted in the display.
[0088] As the user enters text in block 420 of FIG. 4, the system determines periodically in block 425 whether to continue updating the translation of the current chunk or to begin processing a new chunk. In an embodiment of the invention, such periodic evaluation may take place after every user action that changes the text at all, including without limitation after every keystroke. Alternatively, in an embodiment of the invention, the periodic evaluation may take place less frequently, e.g., waiting at least for short pauses between keystrokes such as may occur naturally during composition. Such pauses may also reflect a design decision to refrain from frequently prompting the user to select among candidate translations (as described below), which may become bothersome if it occurs, e.g., after every keystroke.”)
Claim 9
Regarding Claim 9, Hodson in view of DU teaches the limitation of claim 1.
Further Hodson teaches 9. The method of claim 8, further comprising presenting the user with an option via the user interface to accept or reject the edit or translation.
(“[0090] As disclosed above, if an exact match is not found for particular source text, the system in an embodiment of the invention may attempt to find candidate phrases, clauses, or sentences in the source language for which exact translations are known and which have the same meaning (or similar/synonymous meanings) to the original source text. The user may select one of these proposed expressions in the source language, and, if so, the selected expression will replace the original expression in the text editing area 560 (FIG. 7), and the foreign translation of the replacement expression will be added to the translation.
[0091] FIG. 7 depicts the presentation of such candidates according to an embodiment of the invention, in a region 580 adjacent to the sentence 570 currently being translated. As depicted, for example, the alternate source phrase 585 scoring the highest in similarity to the translated sentence 570 is at the top of the list of suggested alternate source phrases 590. Next to each source phrase 585, 590 are symbols that a user may select to accept 595 or reject 600 a particular replacement phrase.”)
Claim 10
Regarding Claim 10, Hodson in view of DU teaches the limitation of claim 1.
Further Hodson teaches 10. The method of claim 8, further comprising presenting the user with an option via the user interface to accept the translation,
(“[0088] As the user enters text in block 420 of FIG. 4, the system determines periodically in block 425 whether to continue updating the translation of the current chunk or to begin processing a new chunk. In an embodiment of the invention, such periodic evaluation may take place after every user action that changes the text at all, including without limitation after every keystroke. Alternatively, in an embodiment of the invention, the periodic evaluation may take place less frequently, e.g., waiting at least for short pauses between keystrokes such as may occur naturally during composition. Such pauses may also reflect a design decision to refrain from frequently prompting the user to select among candidate translations (as described below), which may become bothersome if it occurs, e.g., after every keystroke.”
“[0108] N-best list: The statistical translation system maintains n-best lists of translations between language pairs, including sub-sets of sentences, and words. Each item is scored, and the user may select/combine these options in ways different to those inferred by the translation engine.”)
receive more possible translations,
(“[0108] N-best list: The statistical translation system maintains n-best lists of translations between language pairs, including sub-sets of sentences, and words. Each item is scored, and the user may select/combine these options in ways different to those inferred by the translation engine.”)
manually edit via the user interface the translations, or assign the translation to a collaborator.
(“[0103] As illustrated in FIG. 7, also described above, the authoring mode of the system allows for each sentence to be analyzed as it is being written, and suggestions to be flagged to the user based on the closest multi-lingual matches in the database. The matches are ranked in order of likelihood of a match given the specified document constraints. Constraints can be modified at the sentence level to see a broader list of possibilities. The user can select one of the displayed options, or continue with the specific wording they would like, and then choose to flag the item for review. Alternatively, it is possible that more options will be available once additional text has been provided. The lower screen shows the translation into one of the selected languages, which can be hidden or modified as needed. The translation language being displayed can also be changed, as can the authoring language for the document.”)
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Hodson in view of DU in further view of Nilsson (US 20110179073).
Claim 6
Regarding Claim 6, Hodson in view of DU teaches the limitation of claim 1.
Further Hodson teaches
6. The method of claim 1, further comprising presenting to the user, via the user interface, a review panel that displays recent edits and translations.
(“[0103] As illustrated in FIG. 7, also described above, the authoring mode of the system allows for each sentence to be analyzed as it is being written, and suggestions to be flagged to the user based on the closest multi-lingual matches in the database. The matches are ranked in order of likelihood of a match given the specified document constraints. Constraints can be modified at the sentence level to see a broader list of possibilities. The user can select one of the displayed options, or continue with the specific wording they would like, and then choose to flag the item for review. Alternatively, it is possible that more options will be available once additional text has been provided. The lower screen shows the translation into one of the selected languages, which can be hidden or modified as needed. The translation language being displayed can also be changed, as can the authoring language for the document.”
“[0111] Referring to FIG. 12, the sharing and collaboration pane shows revision history for the document, identifying, e.g., who edited it, and when. These changes can be viewed, rolled back, and collaborators can be contacted directly to resolve any outstanding issues. If a collaborator is online, it may be possible in an embodiment of the invention to chat with them while working on the document.”)
Hodson in view of DU, do not explicitly teach A review panel that displays a translation
However, Nilsson teaches 6. The method of claim 1, further comprising presenting to the user, via the user interface, a review panel that displays recent edits and translations.
(“[0064] Option "View strings" (option 524) displays data from the database using customizable filters. The customizable filters includes but not limited to; data and time interval, added by user, last changed by user, source language strings, target language strings, source language string data, target language string data, user definable string data, string folders. Clicking on a string brings it up and allows the user to edit or add to the string data.”
“[0071] With reference now to FIG. 9, illustrating a flowchart of the proofread process according to one embodiment of the present invention. The process starts (step 902) by listing all available languages (step 904), this includes the source language and the target languages. The user selects a language for proofreading (step 906). All strings in the selected language that are not marked as proofread is listed (step 908). The list can use user definable filters including but not limited to; string folders, string entered/changed during specified time period, string entered or changed by specified user. The user selects a string for proofreading (step 910). If the selected string is not in the source language but rather in one of the target languages then the source language version of the string is also displayed to the user.”)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hodson in view of DU to incorporate the teachings of Nilsson to provide a review panel with the translation Doing so would allow the user to filter the proofreading list to strings, organization and corporations, as recognized by Nilsson. (paragraph 71).
Claim 7
Regarding Claim 7, Hodson in view of DU in further view of Nilsson teaches the limitation of claim 6.
Further Nilsson teaches 7. The method of claim 6, further comprising receiving via the user interface a selection of a recent edit or translation, and displaying the selected edit or translation.
(“[0064] Option "View strings" (option 524) displays data from the database using customizable filters. The customizable filters includes but not limited to; data and time interval, added by user, last changed by user, source language strings, target language strings, source language string data, target language string data, user definable string data, string folders. Clicking on a string brings it up and allows the user to edit or add to the string data.”
“[0071] With reference now to FIG. 9, illustrating a flowchart of the proofread process according to one embodiment of the present invention. The process starts (step 902) by listing all available languages (step 904), this includes the source language and the target languages. The user selects a language for proofreading (step 906). All strings in the selected language that are not marked as proofread is listed (step 908). The list can use user definable filters including but not limited to; string folders, string entered/changed during specified time period, string entered or changed by specified user. The user selects a string for proofreading (step 910). If the selected string is not in the source language but rather in one of the target languages then the source language version of the string is also displayed to the user.”)
See claim 6 for rationale.
Reference Cited
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US 20230153546 to PELEG discloses receives user text and generates alternatives and translates it to another language.
US 20210165973 to Kofman discloses translates media editing system that receives audio/video, further automatically generates source language and translated language transcript. As well as displays both languages through a editing UI and updates the translation when the source text is edited.
US 20250036404 to Dillon discloses a translation system that identifies multiple documents/fields, automatically translating them. Furthermore, allows translated text to be edited.
US 20260111688 to YAMADA discloses multilingual document review and editing system that displays the orginal document and its translation side by side. Furthermore, teaches edits/corrections in either language, further automatically translates the edit.
Conclusion
/ALI M HASSAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2653
/Paras D Shah/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2653 09/28/2026