DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by HOLGER DE 102014207390 A1.
CLAIM 1
HOLGER discloses an apparatus comprising:
an electronic control unit (ECU) (a control unit provides power to a pair of bidirectional switches. The pair of switches is used to selectively charge and discharge individual battery cells.)
wherein the ECU comprises a bidirectional switch; and
a jumpstart access port wiring connected with the ECU ( the jump start point is used to couple the low voltage subnet with another vehicle or connect a charger.) .
CLAIM 2
HOLGER discloses the claimed invention except for the location jumpstart access port.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention the invention was made to locate the jumpstart port in any design choice location since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
CLAIM 3
HOLGER et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the jumpstart access port comprises a connection with the bidirectional switch.
CLAIM 4
HOLGER et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the ECU comprises a microcontroller, wherein the jumpstart access port comprises a connection with the microcontroller. (The control unit for controlling the coupling unit can have a computer program).
CLAIM 5
HOLGER et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the jumpstart access port is configured to connect with an external power source.
(the jump start point is used to couple the low voltage subnet with another vehicle or connect a charger.)
CLAIM 6
HOLGER et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the bidirectional switch comprises a connection with a low voltage battery of a vehicle.
CLAIM 7
HOLGER et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the bidirectional switch comprises a connection with a battery management system of a vehicle.
(The control unit can be, for example, a battery management system associated with the battery, which comprises, for example, further functional units which are set up to acquire and process measurement data on temperatures, voltages provided, discharged currents and charge states of the battery or battery units and, with the aid of these variables, management functions which increase the life, reliability and safety of the battery system.)
CLAIM 8
HOLGER et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the ECU comprises a common bus, wherein the jumpstart access port connects with the common bus.
(Fig. 4, low voltage bus connecting 53,high voltage bus line connecting 30,25,40)
CLAIM 9
HOLGER et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the ECU operates jumpstart related functions, the jumpstart related functions comprise enabling a door latch, a passenger seat motor, a headlamp, an alarm module, or frunk latch.
(the quiescent currents of the low-voltage consumers 29 in the low voltage subnetwork 21 provides, for example, an anti-theft alarm system is powered.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-20 allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record does not discloses or suggest a method comprising receiving external power from a jumpstart access port and “…determining that power is acceptable…”,”…authenticating a user profile…”.
March 18, 2026
/ROBERT L DEBERADINIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836