DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
The rejection of claims 1, 3-7, 9, and 15-20 on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting over claims 16-21 and 24-32 of U.S. Patent No. 12,294,227, set forth in the Office Action mailed 04/08/26, is hereby withdrawn in response to the approved terminal disclaimer filed 07/08/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 10, 13, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US 2019/0222069; “Zhang”; reference of record).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches a wireless power transfer device (figure 1), the wireless power transfer device comprising:
a first transmitting coil (101) oriented along a first axis (x); and
a second transmitting coil (100) oriented along a second axis (y) different from the first axis (x) and positioned above (see portion of coil 100 above coil 101 in figure 1) the first transmitting coil (101) along a thickness direction (z) perpendicular to the first axis (x) and the second axis (y), wherein a center of the second transmitting coil (100) along the second axis (y) is adjacent to a center of the first transmitting coil (101) along the first axis (x), and
the wireless power transfer device (figure 1) being configured:
to generate a plurality of directionally different potential magnetic fields (according to driving currents, phase, and frequency modulation of coils; para. [0011]-[0012]); and
to select, from among the plurality of directionally different potential magnetic fields (para. [0011]-[0012]), a set magnetic field based on preliminary information about at least one of:
a gravity orientation of the wireless power transfer device relative to a gravity vector (A gravity orientation of a device on Earth will inherently align with the gravity vector on Earth.),
a bodily orientation of the wireless power transfer device relative to a patient's body, or
a plurality of load comparisons (Para. [0074] teaches determining magnetic field shapes by comparing coil parameters under load conditions and no-load conditions.), each between first and second loads in first and second LC resonant circuits (para. [0011]) of the wireless power transfer device and in response to the wireless power transfer device generating a corresponding one of the plurality of directionally different potential magnetic fields, the first and second LC resonant circuits respectively including first and second transmitting coils (101, 100).
As for claim 2, Zhang teaches a driver (providing driving currents to coils 100-101) configured to drive the first and second transmitting coils (100, 101);
a memory storing instructions (para. [0028]); and
a controller (providing phase and current control discussed in para. [0012]), the controller configured:
to select the set magnetic field based on the preliminary information and in response to executing the instructions (Para. [0011]-[0012] and [0074] teach phase and current control of the coils 100, 101.), and
after selecting the set magnetic field, to generate the set magnetic field by driving the first and second transmitting coils via the driver (Para. [0011]-[0012] and [0074] teach phase and current control of the coils 100, 101.).
As for claim 3, Zhang teaches wherein the selecting the set magnetic field comprises determining a first amplitude of a first current, a second amplitude of a second current, and a phase difference between the first and second currents, the wireless power transfer device being configured to generate the set magnetic field in response to driving the first and second transmitting coils with the first and second currents (Para. [0011]-[0012] and [0074] teach phase and current control of the coils 100, 101.).
As for claim 7, Zhang teaches wherein the preliminary information is at least about the plurality of load comparisons (Para. [0074] teaches determining magnetic field shapes by comparing coil parameters under load conditions and no-load conditions.).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang teaches a wireless power transfer device (figure 1), comprising:
a first transmitting coil (101) oriented along a first axis (x); and
a second transmitting coil (100) oriented along a second axis (y) different from the first axis (x) and positioned above (see portion of coil 100 above coil 101 in figure 1) the first transmitting coil (101) along a thickness direction (z) perpendicular to the first axis (x) and the second axis (y), wherein a center of the second transmitting coil (100) along the second axis (y) is adjacent to a center of the first transmitting coil (101) along the first axis (x), and
a driver (providing driving currents to coils 100-101) configured to drive the first and second transmitting coils (100, 101); and
a controller (providing phase and current control discussed in para. [0012]) configured:
to simultaneously and differentially drive the first and second transmitting coils (100, 101), via the driver, and
to determine a first amplitude of a first current, a second amplitude of a second current, and a phase difference between the first and second currents, the first and second transmitting coils being configured to generate a magnetic field aligned with a receiver coil of an electronic device in response to the first and second transmitting coils being driven with the first and second currents (Para. [0011]-[0012] and [0074] teach phase and current control of the coils 100, 101.).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang teaches a first LC resonant circuit (para. [0011]) comprising the first transmitting coil (101); and
a second LC resonant circuit (para. [0011]) comprising a second transmitting coil (100),
wherein the controller is configured to differentially drive the first and second transmitting coils to generate a plurality of directionally different preliminary magnetic fields, and wherein, the controller is configured to determine the first amplitude, the second amplitude, and the phase difference based on a plurality of pairs of first and second reflected loads in the first and second LC resonant circuits, each of the pairs being in response to a corresponding one of the plurality of directionally different preliminary magnetic fields being generated (Para. [0011]-[0012] and [0074] teach phase and current control of the coils 100, 101.).
Regarding claims 15 and 20, the methods as recited in the claims are inherently present in the structure discussed above in the rejection of claims 1, 2, and 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Harrison et al. (US 2019/0098122; “Harrison”; reference of record).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang teaches wherein the preliminary information is at least about the gravity orientation of the wireless power transfer device (A gravity orientation of a device on Earth will inherently align the gravity vector on Earth.), but fails to teach wherein the wireless power transfer device comprises an inertial measurement unit (IMU) configured to measure the gravity orientation of the wireless power transfer device.
However, it is well-known to those of ordinary skill in the art to determine a gravity orientation of a device in wireless transmitter/receiver devices using an inertial sensor. For example, see figure 2 and para. [0049] of Harrison.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an inertial measurement unit to determine the gravity orientation of Zhang because such a modification would have been implementing a well-known gravity orientation determination device.
As for claim 11, Zhang teaches determining a gravity orientation of the first and second transmitting coils relative to a gravity vector (A gravity orientation of a device on Earth will inherently align with the gravity vector on Earth.),
wherein the controller is configured to determine the first amplitude, the second amplitude, and the phase difference (Para. [0011]-[0012] and [0074] teach phase and current control of the coils 100, 101.) based on the gravity orientation of the first and second transmitting coils (A gravity orientation of a device on Earth will inherently align with the gravity vector on Earth.).
Zhang fails to teach an inertial measurement unit (IMU) configured to determine the gravity orientation of the first and second transmitting coils relative to a gravity vector.
However, it is well-known to those of ordinary skill in the art to determine a gravity orientation of a device in wireless transmitter/receiver devices using an inertial sensor. For example, see figure 2 and para. [0049] of Harrison.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an inertial measurement unit to determine the gravity orientation of Zhang because such a modification would have been implementing a well-known gravity orientation determination device.
Regarding claims 17, the methods as recited in the claims are inherently present in the structure discussed above in the rejection of claims 4.
Claims 5 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Harrison and Schmidt et al. (US 2018/0212451; “Schmidt”; reference of record).
As for claim 5, Zhang teaches the wireless power transfer device of claim 4, as detailed above, but fails to teach wherein the preliminary information is further about at least one of: a gravity orientation of an implantable medical device (IMD) relative to a gravity vector; a bodily orientation of the IMD relative to a patient's body; or a prior magnetic field previously generated by the wireless power transfer device and a prior gravity orientation of the wireless power transfer device relative to a gravity vector while the wireless power transfer device generated the prior magnetic field.
However, it is well-known to those of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a multi-coil wireless power transfer device to provide power to an implantable medical device. For example, see figure 11 of Schmidt.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the multi-coil wireless power transfer device of Zhang to provide power to an implantable medical device because such a modification would have been exercising a well-known application of a multi-coil wireless power transfer device.
Regarding claim 18, the method as recited in the claim is inherently present in the structure discussed above in the rejection of claim 5.
Claims 6, 9, 12, 14, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Schmidt.
As for claim 6, Zhang teaches the wireless power transfer device of claim 1, as detailed above, but fails to teach wherein the preliminary information is at least about the bodily orientation of the wireless power transfer device relative to a patient's body.
However, it is well-known to those of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a multi-coil wireless power transfer device to provide power to an implantable medical device. For example, see figure 11 of Schmidt.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the multi-coil wireless power transfer device of Zhang to provide power to an implantable medical device because such a modification would have been exercising a well-known application of a multi-coil wireless power transfer device.
Regarding claim 9, Zhang teaches a wireless power transfer system (figure 1), comprising: the wireless power transfer device of claim 1; and
wherein the selecting the set magnetic field comprises determining a degree of alignment between the set magnetic field and a receiver coil, and the set magnetic field is selected based on the determined degree of alignment (Zhang teaches controlling power transfer directions based on positions of receivers/loads. Para. [0017], [0078], [0080]).
Zhang fails to teach an implantable medical device comprising the receiver coil.
However, it is well-known to those of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a multi-coil wireless power transfer device to provide power to an implantable medical device. For example, see figure 11 of Schmidt.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the multi-coil wireless power transfer device of Zhang to provide power to an implantable medical device because such a modification would have been exercising a well-known application of a multi-coil wireless power transfer device.
Regarding claim 12, Zhang teaches the wireless power transfer device of claim 10, as detailed above, but fails to teach where the wireless power transfer device is configured to couple to a patient's body such that the first and second transmitting coils have a set bodily orientation relative to the patient's body, wherein the controller is configured to determine the first amplitude, the second amplitude, and the phase difference based on the bodily orientation of the first and second transmitting coils.
However, it is well-known to those of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a multi-coil wireless power transfer device to provide power to an implantable medical device. For example, see figure 11 of Schmidt.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the multi-coil wireless power transfer device of Zhang to provide power to an implantable medical device because such a modification would have been exercising a well-known application of a multi-coil wireless power transfer device.
Regarding claim 14, Zhang teaches a wireless power transfer system, comprising: the wireless power transfer electronic device of claim 10; as detailed above, but fails to teach the electronic device being an implantable medical device.
However, it is well-known to those of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a multi-coil wireless power transfer device to provide power to an implantable medical device. For example, see figure 11 of Schmidt.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the multi-coil wireless power transfer device of Zhang to provide power to an implantable medical device because such a modification would have been exercising a well-known application of a multi-coil wireless power transfer device.
Regarding claims 16 and 19, the methods as recited in the claims are inherently present in the structure discussed above in the rejection of claims 6 and 9.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Aldhaher (US 2021/0083634; reference of record).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang teaches the wireless power transfer device of claim 7, as detailed above, but fails to teach wherein a load comparison of the plurality of load comparisons comprises a comparison between a corresponding voltage ratio to a corresponding amplitude ratio, wherein the corresponding amplitude ratio is based on a ratio of first amplitude of a first current provided to the first transmitting coil by a driver and based on a first bus voltage and a second amplitude of a second current provided to the second transmitting coil by the driver and based on a second bus voltage, and wherein the corresponding voltage ratio is based on a ratio of the first bus voltage and the second bus voltage.
However, it is well-known to those of ordinary skill in the art to control a current provided to a transmitting coil, which generates a magnetic field of the transmitting coil, using a value of a reflected load. For example, see para. [0175]-[0178] of Aldhaher.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the currents/magnetic fields of Zhang according to reflected loads because such a modification would have been implementing a well-known transmitting coil magnetic field control operation. The voltage ratio and amplitude ratio of claim 8 are indicators of reflected loads (para. [00236] of the instant application).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LEVI GANNON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836 July 22, 2026