DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment After Non-Final Rejection filed 06/24/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,284,424 in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 2018/0310066), herein Kobayashi.
Application No. 19/170,004
U.S. Patent No. 12,284,424
1. An information display method based on a video, comprising:
1. A video-based information displaying method, comprising:
receiving a triggering operation for displaying information of a user in a process of playing back the video;
receiving an information display triggering operation of a user in a process of playing back a video;
displaying first information of at least two pieces of information in an information display region of a playback page of the video, wherein the at least two pieces of information are associated with the video, and a size of the information display region is smaller than a size of the playback page;
displaying first target information of at least two pieces of target information associated with the video in an information displaying region of a playback page of the video, wherein a size of the information displaying region is smaller than a size of the playback page;
receiving a first triggering operation for switching of the user, and switching the first information displayed in the information display region to second information of the at least two pieces of information.
receiving a first switch triggering operation of the user, and switching the first target information displayed in the information displaying region to second target information of the at least two pieces of target information;
However, the patented claims do not explicitly teach displaying first information of at least two pieces of information in an information display region of a playback page of the video in the process of playing back the video.
In an analogous art, Kobayashi, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches displaying first information of at least two pieces of information in an information display region of a playback page of the video in the process of playing back the video. (Figs. 3, 5A-5D: User terminal 10 displays item image 42B while a video is played in moving image display part 21A, [0059], [0060], [0068]-[0070].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the patented claims by displaying first information of at least two pieces of information in an information display region of a playback page of the video in the process of playing back the video, as taught by Kobayashi, for the benefit of continuing playback of the video content while the user interacts with the information.
Claim 2 of the application corresponds to claim 2 of the patent.
Claim 3 of the application corresponds to claim 3 of the patent.
Claim 4 of the application corresponds to claim 4 of the patent.
Claim 5 of the application corresponds to claim 5 of the patent.
Claim 6 of the application corresponds to claim 6 of the patent.
Claim 7 of the application corresponds to claim 7 of the patent.
Claim 8 of the application corresponds to claim 1 of the patent.
Claim 9 of the application corresponds to claim 8 of the patent.
Claim 10 of the application corresponds to claim 9 of the patent.
Claim 11 of the application corresponds to claim 10 of the patent in view of Kobayashi.
Claim 12 of the application corresponds to claim 11 of the patent.
Claim 13 of the application corresponds to claim 12 of the patent.
Claim 14 of the application corresponds to claim 13 of the patent.
Claim 15 of the application corresponds to claim 14 of the patent.
Claim 16 of the application corresponds to claim 15 of the patent.
Claim 17 of the application corresponds to claim 16 of the patent.
Claim 18 of the application corresponds to claim 10 of the patent.
Claim 19 of the application corresponds to claim 17 of the patent.
Claim 20 of the application corresponds to claim 18 of the patent in view of Kobayashi.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-13 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crossley et al. (US 2020/0134320), herein Crossley in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 2018/0310066), herein Kobayashi.
Consider claim 1, Crossley clearly teaches an information display method based on a video, (Fig. 1B) comprising:
receiving a triggering operation for displaying information of a user in a process of playing back the video; (Fig. 6B: User 203 selects product 608, [0042], [0043], [0083].)
displaying first information of at least two pieces of information in an information display region of a playback page of the video, wherein the at least two pieces of information are associated with the video, and a size of the information display region is smaller than a size of the playback page; (Fig. 6C: Product 608 expands to show the corresponding product details container 603, [0084].)
receiving a first triggering operation for switching of the user, and switching the first information displayed in the information display region to second information of the at least two pieces of information. (Fig. 6D: User 203 then selects product 607 and product details container 603 will be hidden and a new product details container becomes visible, [0086].)
However, Crossley does not explicitly teach displaying first information of at least two pieces of information in an information display region of a playback page of the video in the process of playing back the video.
In an analogous art, Kobayashi, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches displaying first information of at least two pieces of information in an information display region of a playback page of the video in the process of playing back the video. (Figs. 3, 5A-5D: User terminal 10 displays item image 42B while a video is played in moving image display part 21A, [0059], [0060], [0068]-[0070].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Crossley by displaying first information of at least two pieces of information in an information display region of a playback page of the video in the process of playing back the video, as taught by Kobayashi, for the benefit of continuing playback of the video content while the user interacts with the information.
Consider claim 2, Crossley combined with Kobayashi clearly teaches the receiving the triggering operation for displaying information of the user comprises: receiving the triggering operation for displaying information based on a triggering operation of the user on a preset information display control on the playback page. (Fig. 6B: User 203 selects product 608, [0042], [0043], [0083] Crossley.)
Consider claim 3, Crossley combined with Kobayashi clearly teaches determining sizes and positions of an image display region and a text display region of the information display region, wherein a size of the image display region is larger than a size of the text display region. (Fig. 8B: Product details card 806 includes an image of the product which is larger than the text description, [0105]-[0108] Crossley.)
Consider claim 6, Crossley combined with Kobayashi clearly teaches displaying thumbnail information in the information display region, wherein the thumbnail information comprises thumbnail images of the at least two pieces of information; the receiving the first triggering operation for switching of the user comprises: receiving the first triggering operation for switching of the user based on a triggering operation of the user on a thumbnail image of the second information in the thumbnail information. (Figs. 6C, 6D: An image of the shirt 608 or pants 607 can be selected to display the corresponding product details container, [0084], [0086] Crossley.)
Consider claim 7, Crossley combined with Kobayashi clearly teaches the displaying the first information of the at least two pieces of information in the information display region of the playback page of the video comprises: in response to a triggering operation of the user on a thumbnail image of the first information in the thumbnail information, performing displaying of the first information of the at least two pieces of information in the information display region of the playback page of the video. (Fig. 6C: Product 608 is selected to show the corresponding product details container 603, [0084] Crossley.)
Consider claim 8, Crossley combined with Kobayashi clearly teaches displaying a live stream switching control on the playback page; in response to detecting that the user triggers the live stream switching control, displaying a live stream page associated with current information, wherein the current information is information which is currently displayed on the playback page among the at least two pieces of information. (Fig. 6B: When the video is paused the user presses the play button and product inset 601 displays products in real-time to match the products displayed in the current video frame, [0081], [0082], [0091] Crossley.)
Consider claim 9, Crossley combined with Kobayashi clearly teaches the information comprises at least one of an object image, an object name, object characteristic information, object review information and object exchange information, wherein the number of object images is at least one. ([0069], [0081], [0084] Crossley)
Consider claim 10, Crossley combined with Kobayashi clearly teaches acquiring the at least two pieces of information associated with the video. (Metadata controller 205 receives product information from product server 207, [0041]-[0043], [0045], [0081] Crossley.)
Consider claim 11, Crossley clearly teaches an information display apparatus based on a video, (Fig. 1A) comprising:
a processor; a memory, configured to store executable instructions for the processor; wherein the processor is configured to read the executable instructions from the memory, ([0124]-[0130]) the processor is configured to:
receive a triggering operation for displaying information of a user in a process of playing back a video; (Fig. 6B: User 203 selects product 608, [0042], [0043], [0083].)
display first information of the at least two pieces of information in an information display region of a playback page of the video, wherein the at least two pieces of information are associated with the video, and a size of the information display region is smaller than a size of the playback page; (Fig. 6C: Product 608 expands to show the corresponding product details container 603, [0084].)
receive a first triggering operation for switching of the user, and switch the first information displayed in the information display region to second information of the at least two pieces of information. (Fig. 6D: User 203 then selects product 607 then product details container 603 will be hidden and a new product details container becomes visible, [0086].)
However, Crossley does not explicitly teach displaying first information of at least two pieces of information in an information display region of a playback page of the video in the process of playing back the video.
In an analogous art, Kobayashi, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches displaying first information of at least two pieces of information in an information display region of a playback page of the video in the process of playing back the video. (Figs. 3, 5A-5D: User terminal 10 displays item image 42B while a video is played in moving image display part 21A, [0059], [0060], [0068]-[0070].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Crossley by displaying first information of at least two pieces of information in an information display region of a playback page of the video in the process of playing back the video, as taught by Kobayashi, for the benefit of continuing playback of the video content while the user interacts with the information.
Consider claim 12, Crossley combined with Kobayashi clearly teaches the processor is configured to: receive the triggering operation for displaying information based on a triggering operation of the user on a preset information display control on the playback page. (Fig. 6B: User 203 selects product 608, [0042], [0043], [0083] Crossley.)
Consider claim 13, Crossley combined with Kobayashi clearly teaches the processor is further configured to: determine sizes and positions of an image display region and a text display region of the information display region, wherein a size of the image display region is larger than a size of the text display region. (Fig. 8B: Product details card 806 includes an image of the product which is larger than the text description, [0105]-[0108] Crossley.)
Consider claim 16, Crossley combined with Kobayashi clearly teaches the processor is further configured to: display thumbnail information in the information display region, wherein the thumbnail information comprises thumbnail images of the at least two pieces of information; the processor is specifically configured to: receive the first triggering operation for switching of the user based on a triggering operation on a thumbnail image of the second information in the thumbnail information. (Figs. 6C, 6D: An image of the shirt 608 or pants 607 can be selected to display the corresponding product details container, [0084], [0086] Crossley.)
Consider claim 17, Crossley combined with Kobayashi clearly teaches the processor is specifically configured to: in response to a triggering operation of the user on a thumbnail image of the first information in the thumbnail information, perform displaying of the first information of the at least two pieces of information in the information display region of the playback page of the video. (Fig. 6C: Product 608 is selected to show the corresponding product details container 603, [0084] Crossley.)
Consider claim 18, Crossley combined with Kobayashi clearly teaches the processor is further configured to: display a live stream switching control on the playback page; in response to detecting that the user triggers the live stream switching control, display a live stream page associated with current information, wherein the current information is information which is currently displayed on the playback page among the at least two pieces of information. (Fig. 6B: When the video is paused the user presses the play button and product inset 601 displays products in real-time to match the products displayed in the current video frame, [0081], [0082], [0091] Crossley.)
Consider claim 19, Crossley combined with Kobayashi clearly teaches the information comprises at least one of an object image, an object name, object characteristic information, object review information and object exchange information, wherein the number of object images is at least one. ([0069], [0081], [0084] Crossley)
Consider claim 20, Crossley clearly teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the storage medium has a computer program stored thereon, and when a processor executes the computer program, ([0124]-[0130]) the processor executes steps of:
receiving a triggering operation for displaying information of a user in a process of playing back a video; (Fig. 6B: User 203 selects product 608, [0042], [0043], [0083].)
displaying first information of the at least two pieces of information in an information display region of a playback page of the video, wherein the at least two pieces of information are associated with the video, and a size of the information display region is smaller than a size of the playback page; (Fig. 6C: Product 608 expands to show the corresponding product details container 603, [0084].)
receiving a first triggering operation for switching of the user, and switching the first information displayed in the information display region to second information of the at least two pieces of information. (Fig. 6D: User 203 then selects product 607 then product details container 603 will be hidden and a new product details container becomes visible, [0086].)
However, Crossley does not explicitly teach displaying first information of at least two pieces of information in an information display region of a playback page of the video in the process of playing back the video.
In an analogous art, Kobayashi, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches displaying first information of at least two pieces of information in an information display region of a playback page of the video in the process of playing back the video. (Figs. 3, 5A-5D: User terminal 10 displays item image 42B while a video is played in moving image display part 21A, [0059], [0060], [0068]-[0070].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Crossley by displaying first information of at least two pieces of information in an information display region of a playback page of the video in the process of playing back the video, as taught by Kobayashi, for the benefit of continuing playback of the video content while the user interacts with the information.
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crossley et al. (US 2020/0134320) in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 2018/0310066) in view of Minne (US 11,303,965).
Consider claim 5, Crossley combined with Kobayashi clearly teaches object images in the image displaying region.
However, Crossley combined with Kobayashi does not explicitly teach when the number of object images in the image display region is at least two, receiving a second triggering operation for switching of the user in the image display region; switching a first image displayed in the image display region to a second image.
In an analogous art, Minne, which discloses a system for displaying product information, clearly teaches when the number of object images in the image display region is at least two, receiving a second triggering operation for switching of the user in the image display region; switching a first image displayed in the image display region to a second image. (Fig. 1: Selection elements 220 allow the product image to be changed to differing views of the same product, col. 5 lines 12-20.)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Crossley combined with Kobayashi by when the number of object images in the image display region is at least two, receiving a second triggering operation for switching of the user in the image display region; switching a first image displayed in the image display region to a second image, as taught by Minne, for the benefit of allowing the user to view additional images of the product.
Consider claim 15, Crossley combined with Kobayashi and Minne clearly teaches the processor is further configured to: when the number of object images on the image display region is at least two, receive a second triggering operation for switching of the user in the image display region; switch a first image displayed on the image display region to a second image. (Fig. 1: Selection elements 220 allow the product image to be changed to differing views of the same product, col. 5 lines 12-20 Minne.)
Conclusion
In the case of amending the claimed invention, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN R SCHNURR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425