DETAILED ACTION
Currently pending claims are 1 – 20.
Double Patenting
The nonstatutory (or provisional) double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the "right to exclude" granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. See In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969). A timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on a nonstatutory double patenting ground provided the conflicting application or patent is shown to be commonly owned with this application. See 37 CFR 1.130(b).
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claim 1 – 20 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of provisional obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 – 8 & 10 – 20 of U.S. co-pending application 18/968,550. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other – accordingly, because the listed claims of U.S. co-pending application virtually contain(s) every element of the listed claims of the instant application and thus anticipate the claim(s) of the instant application. Claim(s) of the instant application therefore is/are not patently distinct from the earlier patent claim(s) and as such is/are unpatentable over obvious-type double patenting. A later patent claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier patent claim if the later claim is obvious over, or anticipated by, the earlier claim. In re Longi, 759 F.2d at 896, 225 USPQ at 651 (affirming a holding of obviousness-type double patenting because the claims at issue were obvious over claims in four prior art patents); In re Berg, 140 F.3d at 1437, 46 USPQ2d at 1233 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (affirming a holding of obviousness type double patenting where a patent application claim to a genus is anticipated by a patent claim to a species within that genus). “ELI LILLY AND COMPANY v BARR LABORATORIES, INC., United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, ON PETITION FOR REHEARING EN BANC (DECIDED: May 30, 2001)”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 4 & 6 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Roth et al. (U.S. Patent 10,320,624), in view of Das et al. (U.S. Patent 11,501,013), and in view of Pattar et al. (U.S. Patent 11,822,567).
As per claim 1, 19 & 20, Roth teaches a method for network asset matching, comprising:
executing a first autonomous penetration test of a network (Roth: FIG. 1 & Col. 11 Line 3 – 5: executing a (security) simulation mode to test an access request based on an existing access control policy), wherein executing the first autonomous penetration test comprises:
gaining unauthorized access to a first set of network assets of the network (Roth: see above & FIG. 3 / E-322 and FIG. 4 / E-406, E-410 and Col. 11 Line 12 – 25: determining a denial of an unauthorized access from a 1st simulation mode access request to a set of network assets);
obtaining respective first sets of attributes for the first set of network assets (Roth: see above & Col. 12 Line 22 – 29: collecting a set of network asset attributes including (e.g.) an initiated IP address associated with the simulation mode access request that causes a denial of unauthorized access due to an attribute of the initiated IP address is not among the IP addresses permitted (range) per specific fields (permission attributes) of the access control policy, and etc.));
executing a second autonomous penetration test of the network (Roth: see above & Col. 13 Line 7 – 10 & Col. 14 Line 36 – 41: responsive to the denial of an unauthorized access from the first (test) simulation mode access request, determining a possible policy remediation (modification) and enabling another test (simulation) on the modified access control policy to test the access request – this is also consistent with the disclosure of the instant specification (SPEC: Para [0014]: performing an additional test after the security mitigations are applied, and weaknesses and vulnerabilities identified during the additional test), wherein executing the second autonomous penetration test comprises:
gaining unauthorized access to a second set of network assets of the network (Roth: see above); and
obtaining respective second sets of attributes for the second set of network assets (Roth: see above & below);
performing a network asset matching procedure to match one or more first network assets of the first set of network assets with one or more second network assets of the second set of network assets (Roth: see above & Col. 13 / Line 1 – 5 / Line 8 – 14 / Line 31 – 35: performing a matching process by determining differences of (1st & 2nd) network asset attributes including a last decimal of the IP address, action types of the policy, privilege levels, and etc. so as to provide different rating associated with various remediation options when recommending to the users), the network asset matching procedure based at least in part on similarity scores between the respective first sets of attributes and the respective second sets of attributes (see Das below).
However, Roth does not disclose expressly matching procedure is based on similarity scores.
Das (& Roth) teach the network asset matching procedure based at least in part on similarity scores between the respective first sets of attributes and the respective second sets of attributes (Roth: see above) || (Das: Col. 11 Line 44 – 46 / Line 1 – 5 / Line 35 – 42 and Col. 2 Line 50 – 67: (a) analyzing the difference of behaviors in terms of a plurality of network asset attributes from what has been previously observed / collected in the stream of records, and (b) making an assessment on a similarity (level) w.r.t. multi-aspect data anomaly detection w.r.t. a categorical / group attributes such as IP addresses, number of connections, packet size and etc., so as to derive an anomaly score in accordance with the assessed similarity level)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to propose the modification of matching procedure is based on similarity scores because Das teaches to alternatively, effectively and securely provide a comprehensive security mechanism by analyzing the difference of behaviors in terms of attributes from what has been previously observed / collected in the stream of records, and (b) determining a similarity (level) w.r.t. multi-aspect data anomaly detection w.r.t. a plurality of a categorical / group attributes such as IP addresses, number of connections, packet size and etc., so as to derive an anomaly score in accordance with the assessed similarity level (see above) within the Roth’s system of performing a matching process by determining differences of (1st & 2nd) network assets including a last decimal of the IP address, action types of the policy, privilege levels, and etc. so as to provide different rating associated with various remediation options as recommended to the users (see above).
However, Das as modified does not disclose applying a first label associated with a first network asset.
Pattar (& Das) teaches applying a first label associated with a first network asset of the one or more first network assets to a second network asset of the one or more second network assets based at least in part on a match between the first network asset and the second network asset via the network asset matching procedure (Roth: see above) || (Pattar: Abstract / Table 1 & Col. 7 Line 29 – 35 and Col. 10 Line 1 – 5: (a) mapping data attributes between the source and target entities by auto-mapping of a plurality of source data attributes (i.e. a 1st network asset) and a plurality of target data attributes (i.e. a 2nd network asset) based on data attribute similarity (matching) of a metadata information as provided, and (b) applying / determining a weighting factor (i.e. as a first label) of each of the candidate source data attributes to respective target data attributes to determine an association of a final data attribute – this is also consistent with the disclosure of the instant specification (SPEC-PG.PUB: Para [0057] Line 1 – 5 & Para [0056] Line 6 – 10: tagging (i.e. labeling) a first priority level as an indication during the autonomous testing process).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to propose the modification of applying a first label associated with a first network asset because Das teaches to alternatively, effectively and securely provide a comprehensive security mechanism by mapping data attributes between the source and target entities with an auto-mapping of a plurality of source data attributes (i.e. a 1st network asset) and a plurality of target data attributes (i.e. a 2nd network asset) based on data attribute similarity (matching) of a metadata information as provided, and (b) applying / determining a weighting factor (i.e. a first label) of each of the candidate source data attributes to respective target data attributes to determine an association of a final data attribute) (see above) within the Roth’s system of performing a matching process by determining differences of (1st & 2nd) network assets including a last decimal of the IP address, action types of the policy, privilege levels, and etc. so as to provide different rating associated with various remediation options as recommended to the users (see above).
outputting a network assessment report indicating network security information associated with the network based at least in part on the network asset matching procedure and applying the first label associated with the first network asset to the second network asset (Das: see above) || (Pattar: see above) || (Roth: see above & Col. 17 Line 48 – 50 & Col. 13 Line 30 – 35: providing an analysis report based on an assessment analysis on the modified access control policy and recommending different rating (priorities) of various remediation options to the users).
As per claim 2, Roth as modified teaches receiving one or more inputs indicating application of the first label to the first network asset of the first set of network assets, wherein applying the first label to the second network asset is based at least in part on receiving the one or more inputs (Das: see above) || (Roth: see above) || (Pattar: see above & Col. 10 Line 1 – 5: an indication is based on an input of the result from the analysis process, wherein in case (if) a source data attribute does not have a weighted score greater than a threshold value, then no source data attribute is set as the mapped data attribute for the target data attribute – i.e. excluding a match between the source and the target attribute based on a similarity score being below a threshold).
As per claim 3, Roth as modified teaches receiving one or more inputs indicating application of one or more labels to one or more network assets of the first set of network assets, the second set of network assets, or both; and generating one or more recommendations associated with deployment of tripwires based at least in part on the one or more labels, wherein the network assessment report comprises the one or more recommendations (Das: see above) || (Pattar: see above) || (Roth: see above & Col. 17 Line 48 – 50 & Col. 13 Line 30 – 35: providing a recommendations based on an analysis report from an assessment analysis on the modified access control policy to recommend different rating (priorities) of various remediation options to the users).
As per claim 6, Roth as modified teaches dynamically updating a user interface with an indication of a plurality of external network assets identified based at least in part on a periodic scan of a plurality of ports of the network; and receiving one or more inputs indicating authorization to perform autonomous penetration testing operations targeting one ormore external network assets of the plurality of external network assets, wherein the first autonomous penetration test, the second autonomous penetration test, or both are in accordance with the one or more inputs (Pattar: see above) || (Roth: see above) || (Das: see above & Col. 7 Line 33 – 38: updating a user interface to identify / input a scheduled event scanning time being referenced as time of day, day of week and etc., during a predefined time period).
As per claim 7, Roth as modified teaches assigning a respective weighting factor to each attribute of the respective first sets of attributes and of the respective second sets of attributes, wherein performing the network asset matching procedure comprises: generating the similarity scores based at least in part on respective weighting factors (Roth: see above) || (Das: see above & Col. 2 Line 50 – Col. 3 Line 2: assigning a weighted factor to a difference value associated with a similarity assessment between a group of network asset attributes).
As per claim 8 – 10 & 15, Roth as modified teaches assigning a first weighting factor to a first attribute; and assigning a second weighting factor to a second attribute, wherein the first weighting factor is greater than the second weighting factor, and wherein the first attribute is static over time relative to the second attribute (Roth: see above) || (Das: see above & Col. 10 Line 31 – 33 & Col. 2 Line 64 – Col. 3 Line 2 / Line 26 – 32: (a) such that different weights associated with different network asset attributes with different degrees in the determination of maliciousness to further (b) deriving a combined (summation) risk (anomaly) score based on various network configurations or services).
As per claim 11, Roth as modified teaches receiving one or more user inputs that indicate the respective weighting factors, wherein assigning the respective weighting factor to each attribute is in accordance with the one or more user inputs (Roth: see above) || (Das: see above Col. 10 Line 31 – 33 & Col. 4 Line 34 – 36: for each individual user per baseline profile).
As per claim 12, Roth as modified teaches generating a matrix having a first dimension corresponding to the first set of network assets and having a second dimension corresponding to the second set of network assets, wherein respective entries of the matrix comprise the similarity scores between the respective first sets of attributes of each network asset along the first dimension and the respective second sets of attributes of each network asset along the second dimension (Das: see above | Roth: see above: (a) 1st and 2nd dimensions are referred to 1st and 2nd attributes as responsive to a denial of an unauthorized access from the 1st (test) simulation mode access request (see above), utilizing a possible policy remediation (modification) and then enabling another (2nd) test (simulation) on the modified access control policy to test the access request (Roth: Col. 13 Line 7 – 10 & Col. 14 Line 36 – 41) such that 1st and 2nd dimensions (attributes) can be analyzed in accordance with a mapping matrix (Roth: Col. 13 Line 7 – 14) to (b) further determine a similarity (difference) between each pair of dimensions (attributes) to derive an anomaly score (Das: Col. 11 Line 44 – 46 / Line 1 – 5 / Line 35 – 42 and Col. 2 Line 50 – 67)).
As per claim 13, Roth as modified teaches identifying a mismatch between a first attribute of a third network asset of the first set of network assets and a second attribute of a fourth network asset of the second set of network assets, wherein a match between the third network asset and the fourth network asset is excluded from the match of the one or more first network assets with the one or more second network assets based at least in part on the mismatch (Das: see above) || (Roth: see above) || (Pattar: see above & Col. 10 Line 1 – 5: excluding a match between the source and the target attribute based on a similarity score being below the threshold, wherein in case (if) a source data attribute does not have a weighted score greater than a threshold value, then no source data attribute is set as the mapped data attribute for the target data attribute).
As per claim 14, Roth as modified teaches excluding a match between the third network asset and the fourth network asset from the match of the one or more first network assets with the one or more second network assets based at least in part on the similarity score being below the threshold (Das: see above) || (Roth: see above) || (Pattar: see above & Col. 10 Line 1 – 5: excluding a match between the source and the target attribute based on a similarity score being below the threshold, wherein in case (if) a source data attribute does not have a weighted score greater than a threshold value, then no source data attribute is set as the mapped data attribute for the target data attribute).
As per claim 16 – 17, Roth as modified teaches outputting the network assessment report indicating the first set of network assets accessed during the first autonomous penetration test and the second set of network assets accessed during the second autonomous penetration test (Das: see above) || (Roth: see above, Col. 17 Line 48 – 50 & Col. 13 Line 30 – 35: providing an analysis report based on the assessment analysis on the modified access control policy (w.r.t. the 2nd test vs. the 1st test of simulation mode access request) and recommending different rating of various remediation options to the users).
As per claim 18, Roth as modified teaches wherein the respective first sets of attributes, the respective second sets of attributes, or both comprise a domain name system (DNS) hostname, a hostname, a network basic input/output (NetBIOS) name, a media access control (MAC) address, an internet protocol (IP) address, machine identifier, a virtual host, a virtual machine identifier, a device fingerprint, a hardware fingerprint, a subnet, a lightweight directory access protocol (LDAP) host name, elastic compute cloud instance identifier, a resource identifier associated with cloud assets, a set of services, open ports, certificate names, secure sockets layer (SSL) certificates, a set of fileshares, a set of applications, application data, operating systems, flags, penetration test configuration attributes, or any combination thereof (Das| Roth: see above: e.g. including at least an internet protocol (IP) address).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Roth et al. (U.S. Patent 10,320,624), in view of Das et al. (U.S. Patent 11,501,013), in view of Pattar et al. (U.S. Patent 11,822,567), and in view of Liljeback et al. (U.S. Patent 11,544,052).
As per claim 4, Liljeback (& Roth as modified) teaches matching the one or more first network assets of the first set of network assets with the one or more second network assets of the second set of network assets in accordance with first Kubernetes metadata associated with the one or more first network assets matching second Kubernetes metadata associated with the one or more second network assets (Das: see above) || (Pattar: see above) || (Roth: see above) || (Liljeback: the metadata can be stored as Kubernetes metadata and defined in a user attribute definition file, a custom resource, or in some other central metadata mapping service such that rather than referencing each user attribute for deployment of a system update, the declarative deployment file can reference a group (set) of user attributes).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to propose the modification of matching the one or more first network assets of the first set of network assets with the one or more second network assets of the second set of network assets in accordance with Kubernetes metadata because Liljeback teaches to alternatively, effectively and securely provide a comprehensive security mechanism by storing the metadata as Kubernetes metadata and defining in a user attribute definition file, a custom resource, or in some other central metadata mapping service such that rather than referencing each user attribute for deployment of a system update, the declarative deployment file can reference a group of user attributes (see above) within the Roth’s system of performing a matching process by determining differences of (1st & 2nd) network assets including a last decimal of the IP address, action types of the policy, privilege levels, and etc. so as to provide different rating associated with various remediation options as recommended to the users (see above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
---------------------------------------------------
/Longbit Chai/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2431
No. #2629 – 2026
---------------------------------------------------