DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
In Applicant’s response to election filed 8/4/2026, Applicant requested reconsideration of the election of species requirement set forth in the Office action dated 6/4/2026. The request has been considered, and the election of species requirement has been withdrawn. All claims have been examined.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wherein the first cartridge includes a first capacitor, the second cartridge includes a second capacitor, and an electrostatic capacitance of the first capacitor is different from an electrostatic capacitance of the second capacitor” (see claim 6) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 4 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In each of claims 1 and 4, the 4th paragraph recites “a second tray by which the second cartridge is attachably/detachably supported, and which is displaced, relative to the rotary, between a third position where the second cartridge is located outside the rotary and a fourth position where the first cartridge is located inside the rotary” (emphasis added). It appears that “first cartridge” should be corrected to --second cartridge--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Nitta et al. (US 2024/0152091; “Nitta”) in view of Okano et al. (US 5,049,930; “Okano”).
The applied reference to Nitta has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Regarding claim 1, Nitta discloses an image forming apparatus 1 (Fig. 1) to/from which a first cartridge 70y and a second cartridge 70m are attachable/detachable, the first cartridge storing a first developer, and the second cartridge storing a second developer (Fig. 1 [0028, 0037]), the image forming apparatus comprising:
a rotary 90 (Fig. 1) including a first developing chamber 53a/53y (Figs. 3-4A) configured to store the first developer supplied from the first cartridge 70y, and a second developing chamber 53a/53m configured to store the second developer supplied from the second cartridge 70m (Figs. 3-4A [0050-0051]);
a first tray 80y by which the first cartridge 70y is attachably/detachably supported, and which is displaced, relative to the rotary, between a first position where the first cartridge is located outside the rotary (see Fig. 6B) and a second position where the first cartridge is located inside the rotary (see Fig. 6A) ([0092-0093, 0099-0100]); and
a second tray 80m by which the second cartridge 70m is attachably/detachably supported, and which is displaced, relative to the rotary, between a third position where the second cartridge is located outside the rotary (see Fig. 6B) and a fourth position where the first cartridge (i.e., the second cartridge) is located inside the rotary (see Fig. 6A) ([0092-0093, 0099-0100]).
Nitta fails to disclose:
the first tray including a first tray contact member,
the second tray including a second tray contact member;
a circuit including the first tray contact member or the second tray contact member and including a detector,
wherein
the first cartridge includes a conductive first cartridge contact member,
the second cartridge includes a conductive second cartridge contact member,
in a case where the first cartridge is supported by the first tray in a state where the first tray is located at the first position, the first cartridge contact member and the first tray contact member come into contact with each other,
in a case where the first tray contact member and the first cartridge contact member have come into contact with each other, a first current is generated in the circuit, and the detector detects a signal that is based on the first current, and
in a case where the second cartridge is supported by the first tray in a state where the first tray is located at the first position, the second cartridge contact member and the first tray contact member do not come into contact with each other, and the first current is not generated in the circuit.
Okano teaches providing first contact member 9a/9b and second contact member 10a/10c in cartridge mounting portions while providing conductive first cartridge contact member 5a/5b and conductive second cartridge contact member 6a/6c to first cartridge 1 and second cartridge 2 (Fig. 1 Col. 2 line 50 - Col. 3 line 6). Included is also a circuit including the first contact member 9a/9b or the second contact member 10/10c (see Fig. 2) and including a detector (controller 24/discrimination means) (Fig. 1 Col. 3 lines 16-35).
Additionally, in a case where the first cartridge 1 is supported by the first mounting portion, the first cartridge contact member 5a/5b and the first contact member 9a/9b come into contact with each other (Fig. 1), in a case where the first contact member 5a/5b and the first cartridge contact member 9a/9b have come into contact with each other, a first current is generated in the circuit, and the detector detects a signal (discrimination signal) that is based on the first current (Col. 3 lines 36-47), and
in a case where the second cartridge 2 is supported by the first mounting portion, the second cartridge contact member 6a/6c and the first contact member 9a/9b do not come into contact with each other (Fig. 2; 6c and 9b do not contact each other), and the first current is not generated in the circuit (Col. 3 lines 36-47 and Col. 4 lines 16-33).
Utilizing the teachings of Okano, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include first and second tray contact members in the first and second trays, conductive first and second cartridge contact members in the first and second cartridges, a circuit including the first tray contact member or the second tray contact member and including a detector, configured such that in a case where the first cartridge is supported by the first tray in a state where the first tray is located at the first position, the first cartridge contact member and the first tray contact member come into contact with each other, in a case where the first tray contact member and the first cartridge contact member have come into contact with each other, a first current is generated in the circuit, and the detector detects a signal that is based on the first current, and in a case where the second cartridge is supported by the first tray in a state where the first tray is located at the first position, the second cartridge contact member and the first tray contact member do not come into contact with each other, and the first current is not generated in the circuit. One would have been motivated to make this modification in order to never permit erroneous mounting of a plurality of developer tanks (cartridges) having the same configuration (Okano 40-47).
Regarding claim 2, modified Nitta teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first cartridge contact member 5a/5b is a conductive wire extending in a longitudinal direction of the first cartridge, and the second cartridge contact member 6a/6c is a conductive wire extending in a longitudinal direction of the second cartridge (Okano Fig. 1 Col. 2 lines 50-68; connector pins are thick wires).
Regarding claim 3, modified Nitta teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a direction in which the first tray is displaced from the second position to the first position is a displacement direction, and in a case where the second cartridge is supported by the first tray in a state where the first tray is located at the first position, the second cartridge contact member and the first tray contact member are located at different positions in the displacement direction (see Fig. 1 of Okano and Figs. 6A-6B of Nitta; contacts on a longitudinal end of the cartridges as taught by Okano would yield different locations in the displacement direction of Nitta).
Regarding claim 7, modified Nitta teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: a moving mechanism 85 that causes the first tray to move between the first position and the second position, and causes the second tray to move between the third position and the fourth position (Nitta Fig. 8 [0082]).
Claims 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Nitta (US 2024/0152091) in view of Nakashima (US 2006/0067715).
The applied reference to Nitta has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Regarding claim 4, Nitta discloses an image forming apparatus 1 (Fig. 1) to/from which a first cartridge 70y and a second cartridge 70m are attachable/detachable, the first cartridge storing a first developer, and the second cartridge storing a second developer (Fig. 1 [0028, 0037]), the image forming apparatus comprising:
a rotary 90 (Fig. 1) including a first developing chamber 53a/53y (Figs. 3-4A) configured to store the first developer supplied from the first cartridge 70y, and a second developing chamber 53a/53m configured to store the second developer supplied from the second cartridge 70m (Figs. 3-4A [0050-0051]);
a first tray 80y by which the first cartridge 70y is attachably/detachably supported, and which is displaced, relative to the rotary, between a first position where the first cartridge is located outside the rotary (see Fig. 6B) and a second position where the first cartridge is located inside the rotary (see Fig. 6A) ([0092-0093, 0099-0100]); and
a second tray 80m by which the second cartridge 70m is attachably/detachably supported, and which is displaced, relative to the rotary, between a third position where the second cartridge is located outside the rotary (see Fig. 6B) and a fourth position where the first cartridge (i.e., the second cartridge) is located inside the rotary (see Fig. 6A) ([0092-0093, 0099-0100]).
Nitta fails to disclose:
the first tray including a first tray contact member,
the second tray including a second tray contact member;
a circuit including the first tray contact member or the second tray contact member and including a detector,
wherein
the first cartridge includes a conductive first cartridge contact member,
the second cartridge includes a conductive second cartridge contact member,
in a case where the first cartridge is supported by the first tray in a state where the first tray is located at the first position, the first cartridge contact member and the first tray contact member come into contact with each other,
in a case where the first tray contact member and the first cartridge contact member have come into contact with each other, a first current is generated in the circuit, and the detector detects a signal that is based on the first current, and
in a case where the second cartridge is supported by the first tray in a state where the first tray is located at the first position, the second cartridge contact member and the first tray contact member come into contact with each other, a second current different from the first current is generated in the circuit, and the detector detects a signal that is based on the second current.
Nakashima teaches providing first contact member 80A and second contact member 80B in cartridge mounting portions 40 while providing conductive first cartridge contact member 76A and conductive second cartridge contact member 76B to first cartridge 30A and second cartridge 30B (Figs. 1-2 [0056-0057]). Included is also a circuit including the first contact member 80A or the second contact member 80B and including a detector 811A/811B (Fig. 9 [0071-0072]).
Additionally, in a case where the first cartridge 30A is supported by the first mounting portion, the first cartridge contact member 76A and the first contact member 80A come into contact with each other (Figs. 2 and 9; note that it appears that contact member 76A is incorrectly illustrated as 71A in Fig. 9), in a case where the first contact member 80A and the first cartridge contact member 76A have come into contact with each other, a first current is generated in the circuit, and the detector detects a signal that is based on the first current ([0073, 0081]), and
in a case where the second cartridge 30B is supported by the first mounting portion, the second cartridge contact member 76B and the first contact member 80A come into contact with each other, a second current different from the first current is generated in the circuit, and the detector detects a signal that is based on the second current ([0073, 0081]).
Utilizing the teachings of Nakashima, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include first and second tray contact members in the first and second trays, conductive first and second cartridge contact members in the first and second cartridges, a circuit including the first tray contact member or the second tray contact member and including a detector, configured such that in a case where the first cartridge is supported by the first tray in a state where the first tray is located at the first position, the first cartridge contact member and the first tray contact member come into contact with each other, in a case where the first tray contact member and the first cartridge contact member have come into contact with each other, a first current is generated in the circuit, and the detector detects a signal that is based on the first current, and in a case where the second cartridge is supported by the first tray in a state where the first tray is located at the first position, the second cartridge contact member and the first tray contact member come into contact with each other, a second current different from the first current is generated in the circuit, and the detector detects a signal that is based on the second current. One would have been motivated to make this modification in order to determine whether or not the developer tank/cartridge fitted thereto is a correct one (Nakashima [0064, 0073]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Nitta teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 4, wherein a resistor value of the first cartridge contact member is different from a resistor value of the second cartridge contact member (Nakashima [0073]; “the waveform appearing during a transient phenomenon period changes in accordance with the capacitance of capacitor C or the value of resistance R”).
Regarding claim 6, modified Nitta teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the first cartridge includes a first capacitor, the second cartridge includes a second capacitor, and an electrostatic capacitance of the first capacitor is different from an electrostatic capacitance of the second capacitor (Nakashima [0063, 0073]).
*NOTICE TO APPLICANT*
Claims 1-7 would further be obvious over:
Nitta et al. (US 2024/0152083) in view of Okano or Nakashima in the same manner applied to the rejections above.
Nitta et al. (US 2024/0152074) in view of Okano or Nakashima in the same manner applied to the rejections above.
These references to Nitta have a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the references, they constitute prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) and may be overcome in the same manner as outlined above.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is cited as related art.
Conclusion
/CARLA J THERRIEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852