DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
In claim 10 applicant uses the phrase “estimating cloth of the laundry” based on the published specification (see [0107]) the meaning of such a term will be understood to be synonymous to determination of a type of cloth.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Girotto (EP3348694A1)
As to claim 1, Girotto discloses a drum washing machine comprising: a housing (ref 2); a tub (ref 5) to be accommodated in the housing and to store water; a drum (ref 6) rotatable while accommodated in the tub; an upper support mechanism (ref 8) comprising one or more hanging springs configured to suspend the tub while the tub is accommodated in the housing; a lower support mechanism (ref 9) comprising one or more dampers configured to support the tub while the tub is accommodated in the housing; a load detector (ref 13) configured to detect a load acting on the upper support mechanism and a load acting on the lower support mechanism; and a processor (ref 12) configured to obtain a load of the tub based on a load detection result of the load detector [0126 & 0139].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Girotto (EP3348694A1) in view of Lee (US20150000350A1).
As to claims 2-3, Girotto teaches the machine of claim 1 but Girotto does not explicitly detail the support structure which connects the load cell to the housing, however such a configuration is known in the art, as seen by Lee.
Lee discloses an art related washing machine (abstract), wherein brackets (refs 262/264) are utilized for connecting a support element, such as a spring (ref 50) to the housing. Deformation measuring units (refs 261/263, i.e., load cell with strain gauge) are connected between the housing and a spring holder that allows for sensing of strain experienced by a tub [0076-0082] and a controller (ref 265) which obtains such sensed strain [0077].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Girotto to implement the support structure and strain gauge of Lee in order support load sensing element and detect the strain (Lee [0076-0082]). As Girotto does not explicitly showcase, in detail, the support structure for the spring to the cabinet, it is in the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a known structure with a reasonable expectation of success.
As to claims 4-9, Modified Girotto teaches the machine of claim 3, wherein the limitations are option when a singular load cell is provided. Claims 6-9 are also optional for the recitation of two or more brackets, springs, and dampers.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Girotto (EP3348694A1) in view of Lee (US20150000350A1) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Garofalo (EP0962576A1), Tibirica (AU2007203340A1), and Kim (KR20120110518A).
As to claim 4, Modified Girotto teaches the machine of claim 3, but does not disclose the presence of Wheatstone bridge. However, the use of strain sensors in such a configuration is known in the art, as seen by Garofalo and Tibirica. Modified Girotto also does not disclose the specific manner in which the controller calculates the load; however, summing of individual load components to obtain a total load is known in the art, as seen by Kim.
Garofalo discloses an art related washing machine (abstract), wherein it is known to utilize strain gauges on potions of the machine which support the loaded laundry [0019]. Further, Garofalo also indicates that such gauges are part of a Wheatstone bridge (see Fig.2 & [0019]) and the number and placement of such elements can be located in various locations, including front and rear portions of the machine, while still accomplishing their task [0019]
Tibirica disclose an art related washing machine, wherein it is well known that typical load cell utilizes four strain gauges in a Wheatstone bridge arrangement (Page 6 lines 8-25) where each suspension element has a load cell (page 5 lines 30-35).
Kim discloses an art related washing machine, wherein it is known to sum the loads from individual components in order to determine a total load [149, 163]. Accordingly, a skilled artisan recognizes that such is a common sense and logical manner that is well established in determining the total load.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Girotto to utilize Wheatstone bridges having strain gauges for each support component, as such is well-known in the art (see Garofalo and Tibirica). Further, a skilled artisan would also find it obvious to calculate the total load experienced by summing the loads of the Wheatstone bridge circuits, as it is a known manner of determining a total load. It is in the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize known configurations and manners of calculating load with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Girotto (EP3348694A1) in view of Lee (US20150000350A1), Garofalo (EP0962576A1), Tibirica (AU2007203340A1), and Kim (KR20120110518A) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Lack (WO0009793A1) and Ashrafzadeh (US20110030460A1).
As to claim 5, Modified Girotto teaches the machine of claim 4, but does not disclose multiplying by a real number. However, such a feature would be obvious in view of Lack and Ashrafzadeh.
Lack discloses an art related textile treating machine (abstract), wherein it is known that multiplying a reading by a calibration factor allows for correction of erroneous readings (Page 5 lines 10-20).
Ashrafzadeh discloses an art related washing machine (abstract), wherein it is known to calculate load using multiple readings and taking an average [0050, 0060 & 0067-0068]. A skilled artisan recognizes that averaging of values reads on a multiplying by a corrective factor as it enables mitigating effects of inconsistent and outlier readings.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Girotto to multiply the readings by a calibration factor and/or utilize averages in order to determine the total load in order to correct and erroneous readings and mitigate the effect of inconsistent and outlier readings.
Claim(s) 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Girotto (EP3348694A1) in view of Lee (US20150000350A1), Garofalo (EP0962576A1), Tibirica (AU2007203340A1), and Kim (KR20120110518A) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Hoppe (US20080155761A1).
As to claims 6-9, Modified Girotto teaches the machine of claim 4, wherein the support mechanism is a multi-point support mechanism including two hanging springs and at least two dampers (see Girotto Figs.2-3) and brackets for having the load cell and strain gauge provided on a side of the support mechanisms (see Lee Figs.3-10). Further, Modified Girotto also indicates that the number and placement of such elements can be located in various locations, including front and rear portions of the machine, while still accomplishing their task (Garofalo [0019]). Modified Girotto does not explicitly disclose each or the some of the supports having the load cell. However, such a feature is well-known and obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as seen by Hoppe.
Hoppe discloses an art related washing machine (abstract), wherein it is known that a washing machine can utilize multiple supports [0012] and load cells can be provided in each or some of supports [0012].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Girotto to provide any number of supports, including a plurality of upper and lower support mechanism, and include any number of load cells, including each support having a load cell or only some of the supports having a load cell, as is known in the art in order to provide suitable support and load cells for supporting and detecting the load (Hoppe [0012]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Girotto (EP3348694A1) in view of Hooker (US11479897B1).
As to claim 10, Girotto teaches the machine of claim 1, wherein Girotto envisages the measurement of a clothing amount by utilizing a water level and amount of water absorbed the clothing [0134 & 0147-0150]. Accordingly, a water level sensor is understood to be present. However, assuming arguendo that Girotto does not explicitly dictate both the presence of a water level sensor and the detection result of the load detector to determine the clothing amount, such a feature is known in the art as seen by Hooker.
Hooker discloses an art related washing machine (abstract), wherein it is known art to utilize load cells for determining weight and also utilizing a pressure sensor (e.g., a type of water level sensor) to determine the amount of water absorbed the laundry (Col.10 line 65 to Col.11 line 16) in order to configure a wash cycle accordingly (see incorporated reference U.S. Pat No. 10,273,622 Figs.5-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Girotto to provide a water level sensor and utilize the water level sensor and load sensor to determine laundry amount and type in order to configure a wash cycle accordingly.
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Girotto (EP3348694A1) in view of Lee (US20150000350A1) and Hoppe (US20080155761A1).
As to claim 11, Girotto teaches the machine of claim 1, wherein the upper and lower support mechanisms have multiple supporting members including two springs and four dampers (see Figs.2-3). Girotto also envisages the use of strain gauges with said support members [0126]. Although Girotto does not explicitly disclose four strain gauges for the upper and lower supports, the use of multiple strain gauges is known in the art, as seen by Lee and Hoppe.
Lee discloses an art related washing machine (abstract), wherein it is known that utilizing a load cell with two strain gauges allows for detecting both compressive and tension readings to obtain more accurate load detection [0073].
Hoppe discloses an art related washing machine (abstract), wherein it is known that a washing machine can utilize multiple supports [0012] and load cells can be provided in each or some of supports [0012].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Girotto to utilize multiple load cells with two strain gauges on each support in order to achieve more accurate load detection (Lee [0073] & Hoppe [0012]). Accordingly, such a modification would provide multiple supporting elements each having a load cell with two strain gauges.
As to claim 12, Modified Girotto teaches the drum-type washing machine of configured claim 11, wherein: the upper support mechanism is among two upper support mechanisms to suspend both sides along a left/right direction, which is also a central portion of the tub along a front/rear direction, from the housing (see Girotto Figs.2-3); and the lower support mechanism is among four lower support mechanisms configured to support both sides along the left/right direction, which is also a front side of the tub, and both sides along the left/right direction, which is also a rear side of the tub, with respect to the housing (see Girotto Figs.2-3), and the load detector comprises: two first load cells respectively installed on the two upper support mechanisms and each comprising two first strain gauges; and four second load cells respectively installed on the four lower support mechanisms and each comprising one second strain gauge (see Lee and Hoppe).
As to claim 13, Modified Girotto teaches the drum-type washing machine of claim 12, wherein each of the two first load cells comprises a first strain-producing body that is bent by a load acting on a respective hanging spring, the two strain gauges of each of the two first load cells are arranged on both sides of the first strain-producing body so as to measure a strain of a contraction side and an expansion side of the first strain-producing body (see Lee Figs.2-10 & [0073]), each of the four second load cells comprises a second strain-producing body that is bent by a load acting on a respective damper, and the one strain gauge of each of the four second load cells is arranged on one surface of the second strain-producing body so as to measure a strain of any one of a contraction side and an expansion side of the second strain-producing body (e.g., see Lee in conjunction with Girotto and Hoppe).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Girotto (EP3348694A1) in view of Lee (US20150000350A1) and Hoppe (US20080155761A1) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Garofalo (EP0962576A1), Tibirica (AU2007203340A1), and Kim (KR20120110518A).
As to claim 14, Modified Girotto teaches the machine of claim 12, but does not disclose the presence of Wheatstone bridge. However, the use of strain sensors in such a configuration is known in the art, as seen by Garofalo and Tibirica. Modified Girotto also does not disclose the specific manner in which the controller calculates the load; however, summing of individual load components to obtain a total load is known in the art, as seen by Kim.
Garofalo discloses an art related washing machine (abstract), wherein it is known to utilize strain gauges on potions of the machine which support the loaded laundry [0019]. Further, Garofalo also indicates that such gauges are part of a Wheatstone bridge (see Fig.2 & [0019]) and the number and placement of such elements can be located in various locations, including front and rear portions of the machine, while still accomplishing their task [0019]
Tibirica disclose an art related washing machine, wherein it is well known that typical load cell utilizes four strain gauges in a Wheatstone bridge arrangement (Page 6 lines 8-25) where each suspension element has a load cell (page 5 lines 30-35).
Kim discloses an art related washing machine, wherein it is known to sum the loads from individual components in order to determine a total load [149, 163]. Accordingly, a skilled artisan recognizes that such is a common sense and logical manner that is well established in determining the total load.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Girotto to utilize Wheatstone bridges having strain gauges for each support component, as such is well-known in the art (see Garofalo and Tibirica). Further, a skilled artisan would also find it obvious to calculate the total load experienced by summing the loads of the Wheatstone bridge circuits, as it is a known manner of determining a total load. It is in the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize known configurations and manners of calculating load with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Girotto (EP3348694A1) in view of Lee (US20150000350A1), Hoppe (US20080155761A1), Garofalo (EP0962576A1), Tibirica (AU2007203340A1), and Kim (KR20120110518A) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Lack (WO0009793A1) and Ashrafzadeh (US20110030460A1).
As to claim 15, Modified Girotto teaches the machine of claim 14, but does not disclose multiplying by a real number. However, such a feature would be obvious in view of Lack and Ashrafzadeh.
Lack discloses an art related textile treating machine (abstract), wherein it is known that multiplying a reading by a calibration factor allows for correction of erroneous readings (Page 5 lines 10-20).
Ashrafzadeh discloses an art related washing machine (abstract), wherein it is known to calculate load using multiple readings and taking an average [0050, 0060 & 0067-0068]. A skilled artisan recognizes that averaging of values reads on a multiplying by a corrective factor as it enables mitigating effects of inconsistent and outlier readings.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Girotto to multiply the readings by a calibration factor and/or utilize averages in order to determine the total load in order to correct and erroneous readings and mitigate the effect of inconsistent and outlier readings.
Conclusion
/OMAIR CHAUDHRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711