DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 9, 10, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Deville et al. (2024/0041470 – Embodiment 1).
Regarding claim 1, Deville et al. disclose an exclusion clip delivery and recapture system (1500 and 1600, Fig. 3; delivery device 1600 is used to deliver the clip 1500. for recapture of the clip 1500, the delivery device 1600 is moved into a recapture position, para [0154]; exclusion clip 1500, para [0146]), comprising: an exclusion clip including a first strut having a first connector interface and a second strut having a second connector interface (1510 having 1512 and 1520 having 1522, Fig. 2; clip has opposing clip struts 1510, 1520 proximal ends of 1510, 1520 each have internal connector interfaces 1512, 1522, para [0153]); and a delivery and recapture device for the exclusion clip (1600, Fig. 3; delivery device 1600 is used to deliver the clip 1500 for recapture of the clip 1500, the delivery device 1600 is moved into a recapture position, para [0154]), comprising: a handle including a jaw control (2000 with 2020, Fig. 3; 1600 has a handle portion 2000, para [0154]; trigger 2020 is actuated to start the jaw-opening actuation, para [0177]); a shaft having a proximal end connected to the handle (see right end of 1609 coupled to 2000, Fig. 3; shaft 1609, para [0154]); and an end effector, connected to a distal end of the shaft (see 1601 coupled to left end of 1608, Fig. 3; end effector 1601, para [0154]), comprising first and second jaws operatively connected to the jaw control to move at least one of the first or second jaws with respect to the other (see 1602 and 1604 as first and second jaws, Fig. 4 and 9; trigger 2020 is actuated to start the jaw-opening actuation of the cams 1602, 1604, para [0177]), a first connector on the first jaw for engagement with the first connector interface of the exclusion clip (see 1610 on 1602 to engage with 1512, Fig. 4-10), and a second connector on the second jaw for engagement with the second connector interface of the exclusion clip (see 1610 on 1604 to engage with 1522, Fig. 4-10; internal connector interfaces 1512,1522 have entrances into which a respective internal connector 1610,1620 of the delivery device is inserted, para [0153]); and a guide mechanism for guiding at least one of the first or second connectors into engagement with the exclusion clip (see tapered shape of 1514/1524 leading into 1512/1522, respectively, Fig. 2; a desirable exemplary shape of the second entrance 1524 (and of the first entrance 1514) is conical with a cone angle a conical shape of the entrance 1524 is desirable to enable the user to insert the shafts into the internal connector interfaces 1512,1522 and to allows the shafts to enter therein even if the central axes of the shafts are slightly out of alignment with the central axes of the internal connector interfaces 1512,1522, para [0160]; conical shape of entrances guides internal connectors into proper alignment for engagement with the internal connector interfaces of exclusion clip).
Regarding claim 4, each of the first and second connector interfaces includes a cavity having a proximal end with an opening for receiving the respective one of the first or second connector and a closed distal end (see 1512/1522 defining cavity with open, lower end leading to 1514/1524 and closed, upper end, Fig. 2 and 4-9; 1512,1522 have entrances into which a respective internal connector is inserted, para [0153]).
Regarding claim 9, at least one of the first and second connectors has a lock (1614, 1624, Fig. 4-7; connector locks 1614, 1624, para [0177]) in a form of a distal end that is displaceable laterally in response to tension from a tether (see 1614/1624 as distal ends of 1610/1620, Fig. 4-7; in order to unlock the connector locks 1614,1624, first and second lock release cords 1616, 1618 (see Fig. 22) are connected to the proximal ends thereof and a force applied at the proximal end of lock release cords 1616, 1618 causes 1614,1624 to deformed and collapse, para [0160]; deformation and collapse of 1614/1624 must be lateral displacement in order to disengage from laterally positioned 1516/1526, Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 10, the guide mechanism includes at least one cone on a proximal end of the exclusion clip (see 1514/1524 on the lower, proximal end of 1500, Fig. 2; a desirable exemplary shape of the second entrance 1524 (and of the first entrance 1514) is conical with a cone angle a conical shape of the entrance 1524 is desirable to enable the user to insert the shafts into the internal connector interfaces 1512,1522 and to allow the shafts to enter therein even if the central axis of the shafts are slightly out of alignment with the central axes of the internal connector interfaces 1512,1522, para [0160]).
Regarding claim 19, Deville et al. disclose an exclusion clip delivery and recapture system (1500 and 1600, Fig. 3; delivery device 1600 is used to deliver the clip 1500 for recapture of the clip 1500, the delivery device 1600 is moved into a recapture position, para [0154]; exclusion clip 1500, para [0146]), comprising: an exclusion clip including a first strut having a first connector interface and a second strut having a second connector interface (1500 with 1510 having 1512 and 1520 having 1522, Fig. 2; clip 1500 has opposing clip struts 1510, 1520 proximal ends of 1510, 1520 each have internal connector interfaces 1512, 1522, para [0153]); and a delivery and recapture device (1600, Fig. 3; delivery device 1600 is used to deliver the clip 1500 for recapture of the clip 1500, the delivery device 1600 is moved into a recapture position, para (0154]) comprising first and second jaws movable with respect to one another (see 1602 and 1604 as first and second jaws which have moved with respect to each other from Fig. 4 to 9; trigger 2020 is actuated to start the jaw-opening actuation of the cams 1602, 1604, para [0177]), a first connector on the first jaw for engagement with the first connector interface of the exclusion clip (see 1610 on 1602 to engage with 1512, Fig. 4-10), and a second connector on the second jaw for engagement with the second connector interface of the exclusion clip (see 1620 on 1604 to engage with 1522, Fig. 4-10; internal connector interfaces 1512,1522 have entrances into which a respective internal connector 1610,1620 of the delivery device is inserted, para [0153]); a lock for selectively locking the exclusion clip on, and selectively releasing the exclusion clip from, the delivery and recapture device (1614,1624, Fig. 4-9; at least one of the internal connector interfaces 1512,1522 has a respective lock orifice into which a respective connector lock 1614,1624 of the internal connectors 1610,1620 is inserted, para [0153]; when actuated lock/unlock controller exerts a force to release a lock 1614,1624 thereby allowing the clip 1500 to leave the delivery device 1600 and be implanted the lock control can automatically lock during recapture, para [0154]); and a guide mechanism for guiding at least one of the first or second connectors into engagement with the delivery and recapture device to recapture the exclusion clip after being selectively released (see tapered shape of 1514/1524 leading into 1512/1522, respectively, Fig. 2; a desirable exemplary shape of the second entrance 1524 (and of the first entrance 1514) is conical with a cone angle a conical shape of the entrance 1524 is desirable to enable the user to insert the shafts into the internal connector interfaces 1512,1522 and to allows the shafts to enter therein even if the central axes of the shafts are slightly out of alignment with the central axes of the internal connector interfaces 1512,1522, para [0160]; conical shape of entrances guides internal connectors into proper alignment for engagement with the internal connector interfaces of exclusion clip).
Claims 1, 4, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Deville et al. (2024/0041470 – Embodiment 2).
Regarding claim 1, Deville et al. disclose an exclusion clip delivery and recapture system (1500 and 1600, Fig. 3; delivery device 1600 is used to deliver the clip 1500. for recapture of the clip 1500, the delivery device 1600 is moved into a recapture position, para [0154]; exclusion clip 1500, para [0146]), comprising: an exclusion clip including a first strut having a first connector interface and a second strut having a second connector interface (1510 having 1512 and 1520 having 1522, Fig. 2; clip has opposing clip struts 1510, 1520 proximal ends of 1510, 1520 each have internal connector interfaces 1512, 1522, para [0153]); and a delivery and recapture device for the exclusion clip (1600, Fig. 3; delivery device 1600 is used to deliver the clip 1500 for recapture of the clip 1500, the delivery device 1600 is moved into a recapture position, para [0154]), comprising: a handle including a jaw control (2000 with 2020, Fig. 3; 1600 has a handle portion 2000, para [0154]; trigger 2020 is actuated to start the jaw-opening actuation, para [0177]); a shaft having a proximal end connected to the handle (see right end of 1609 coupled to 2000, Fig. 3; shaft 1609, para [0154]); and an end effector, connected to a distal end of the shaft (see 1601 coupled to left end of 1608, Fig. 3; end effector 1601, para [0154]), comprising first and second jaws operatively connected to the jaw control to move at least one of the first or second jaws with respect to the other (see 1602 and 1604 as first and second jaws, Fig. 4 and 9; trigger 2020 is actuated to start the jaw-opening actuation of the cams 1602, 1604, para [0177]), a first connector on the first jaw for engagement with the first connector interface of the exclusion clip (see 1610 on 1602 to engage with 1512, Fig. 4-10), and a second connector on the second jaw for engagement with the second connector interface of the exclusion clip (see 1620 on 1604 to engage with 1522, Fig. 4-10; internal connector interfaces 1512,1522 have entrances into which a respective internal connector 1610,1620 of the delivery device is inserted, para [0153]); and a guide mechanism for guiding at least one of the first or second connectors into engagement with the exclusion clip (another exemplary embodiment for the locking features includes use of magnetic materials internal connector has an internal magnet attached to lock control cord and the clip strut has a magnetic component or feature inside the internal connector interface. The magnet of the internal connector imposes a magnetic force on the magnetic component of feature inside the internal connector interface, para [0175]; Note: intended use, magnetic force between magnet of the internal connector and magnet of the interface would act as a guide due to attraction between magnets).
Regarding claim 4, each of the first and second connector interfaces includes a cavity having a proximal end with an opening for receiving the respective one of the first or second connector and a closed distal end (see 1512/1522 defining cavity with open, lower end leading to 1514/1524 and closed, upper end, Fig. 2 and 4-9; 1512,1522 have entrances into which a respective internal connector is inserted, para [0153]).
Regarding claim 11, the guide mechanism includes at least one magnet (another exemplary embodiment for the locking features includes use of magnetic materials internal connector has an internal magnet attached to lock control cord and the clip strut has a magnetic component or feature inside the internal connector interface. The magnet of the internal connector imposes a magnetic force on the magnetic component of feature inside the internal connector interface, para [0175]; Note: intended use, magnetic force between magnet of the internal connector and magnet of the interface would act as a guide due to attraction between magnets) and the at least one magnet is positioned at the closed distal end of the cavity of at least one of the first connector interface or the second connector interface, or the at least one magnet is positioned at the proximal end of the cavity of at least one of the first connector interface or the second connector interface (the clip strut has a magnetic component or feature inside the internal connector interface, para [0175]; reasonably assuming placement similar to locks 1516/1526 of Fig. 4; and thus 1516 is considered at the proximal end of 1512).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 12, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deville et al. (2024/0041470) in view of Delgado et al. (2019/0142580).
Regarding claim 2, Deville et al. disclose the system substantially as described above with respect to claim 1, but fail to disclose the guide mechanism includes a tether extending from at least one of the first connector or the second connector. However, in similar art, Delgado et al. teach a tethering line (3232, Fig. 179; tethering line or suture 3232, para [0520]), wherein a coupler structure is moved into engagement with a device over the tethering line (see 3220 moved into engagement with 3210 over 3232, Fig. 179-181; retracting the tethering line 3232 in the retraction direction reduced the length of the tethering line thereby moving the coupler 3220 towards the device 3210, para [0520]; 3234 is a mislabel in Fig. 180 and should be 3232 since the numeral 3234 is never used and points to the same structure as 3232, which is used). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the tethering line of Delgado et al. on one of the internal connectors and corresponding internal connector interface of Deville et al., in order to allow the internal connector to be guided into engagement with the interfaces with simple retraction of the tethering line to bring the interfaces into engagement with the connectors, simplifying the guide mechanism further.
Regarding claim 12, Deville et al. disclose the system substantially as described above with respect to claims 1 and 4, but fail to disclose the guide mechanism includes a flexible extension extending from at least one of the first connector or the second connector. However, in similar art, Delgado et al. teaches a tethering line (3232, Fig. 179; tethering line or suture 3232, para [0520]), wherein a coupler structure is moved into engagement with a device over the tethering line (see 3220 moved into engagement with 3210 over 3232, Fig. 179-181; retracting the tethering line 3232 in the retraction direction reduced the length of the tethering line thereby moving the coupler 3220 towards the device 3210, para [0520]; 3234 is a mislabel in Fig. 180 and should be 3232 since the numeral 3234 is never used and points to the same structure as 3232, which is used). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the tethering line of Delgado et al., which would be a flexible extension, on one of the internal connectors and corresponding internal connector interface of Deville et al., in order to allow the internal connector to be guided into engagement with the interfaces with simple retraction of the tethering line to bring the interfaces into engagement with the connectors, simplifying the guide mechanism further.
Regarding claim 13, the flexible extension is selectively turnable or bendable in response to a user input (Note: intended use, tether would rotate (turn) with rotation of entire device by user).
Regarding claim 20, Deville et al. disclose the system substantially as described above with respect to claim 19, but fail to disclose the guide mechanism includes a tether extending from at least one of the first connector or the second connector, wherein the tether is retractable guiding at least one of the first or second connectors into engagement with the delivery and recapture device. However, in similar art, Delgado et al. teaches a tethering line (3232, Fig. 179; tethering line or suture 3232, para [0520]), wherein a coupler structure is moved into engagement with a device over the tethering line (see 3220 moved into engagement with 3210 over 3232, Fig. 179-181; retracting the tethering line 3232 in the retraction direction reduced the length of the tethering line thereby moving the coupler 3220 towards the device 3210, para [0520]; 3234 is a mislabel in Fig. 180 and should be 3232 since the numeral 3234 is never used and points to the same structure as 3232, which is used). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the tethering line of Delgado et al. on one of the internal connectors and corresponding internal connector interface of Deville et al., in order to allow the internal connector to be guided into engagement with the interfaces with simple retraction of the tethering line to bring the interfaces into engagement with the connectors, simplifying the guide mechanism further.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deville et al. (2024/0041470) in view of Beck (2020/0060706).
Regarding claim 14, Deville et al. disclose the system substantially as described above with respect to claim 1, but fail to disclose the end effector is removably connected to the distal end of the shaft. However, in similar art, Beck teaches an end effector comprising a pair of jaws (600 with 604/606, Fig. 6-8; end effector 600 pair of jaws 604 and 606, para [0066]) which is removably connected to the distal end of a shaft (see connection of 600 to 102 via 122, Fig. 6-8; tubular body 102, para [0057] coupler 122 mounted at the end of the actuator link 600 includes a socket having a portion for receiving the coupler, para [0066]; the socket and the ball can be exchanged such that the ball is made part of the end effector and the socket is disposed at the end of the actuator link, para [0069]; there is provided a removable end effector, para [0024]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the removable end effector of Beck with ball on the end effector of Deville et al. and socket on the shaft of Deville et al., in order for the shaft of Deville et al. to be reused with new end-effectors, reducing waste. Beck further teaches the system wherein the distal end of the shaft includes a mechanism to grasp a proximal end of the end effector (the ball is made part of the end effector and the socket is disposed at the end of the actuator link, para [0069]; socket 616 having a spherical recess portion for receiving the ball, para [0066]; see how 616 grasps 122, Fig. 6-7).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deville et al. (2024/0041470) in view of Yeung et al. (2022/0015848).
Regarding claim 15, Deville et al. disclose the system substantially as described above with respect to claim 1, but fail to disclose the end effector is rotatably connected to the distal end of the shaft, and the end effector is telescoping distal to the rotatable connection. However, in similar art, Yeung et al. teaches a surgical assembly (100, Fig. 1A-D; surgical system 100, para [0054]) comprising a rotary driving assembly (150, Fig. 1A- D, para [0055]) and a more distal telescopic drive assembly (160, Fig. 1A-D; para [0055]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the rotary and telescopic drive assemblies to the connection between the shaft and end effector of Deville et al., increasing the range of motion available to the end effector and allowing the positioning of the remainder of the instrument to remain the same as the end effector makes smaller moves to get into position.
Claims 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deville et al. (2024/0041470) in view of Frings (2014/0324087).
Regarding claim 16, Deville et al. disclose the system substantially as described above with respect to claim 1, further comprising an actuator for moving the at least one of the first or second jaws with respect to the other in response to the jaw control (see 2022 pulling on 2024 to actuate 1602/1604, Fig. 29-33; trigger 2020 is actuated to start the jaw-opening actuation of the cams 1602, 1604. This trigger 2020 is connected through a jaw control cord 2022 to cam block 2024 that when moved proximally, imparts a force on the cams 1602, 1604 about the pivots at an angle, para [0177]), but Deville et al. does not specifically teach the actuator including one of a pulley actuator, a hydraulic actuator, or a screw and nut actuator. However, in similar art, Frings teaches a hydraulically actuatable surgical tool comprising two jaw members (14 with 141', Fig. 1a-b; surgical tool 14. members 141' with gripping surfaces, para [0057]; two hydraulically actuatable, pivotably connected members, Abstract). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the hydraulic actuation system of Frings on the actuation system of Deville et al., in order to replace the cord that can be worn down over time due to movement with a stationary tube to convey the actuation fluid.
Regarding claim 18, Frings further teaches wherein the actuator is the hydraulic actuator, wherein the hydraulic actuator includes a bladder positioned between the first and second jaws, wherein the bladder is selectively inflatable to move the at least one of the first or second jaws with respect to the other (see 152 positioned between 141'(s), inflation of 152 causing movement of 141'(s), Fig. la to 1b; members 141' close as a result of force exerted by the balloon 152 on the guide portions, para [0059]), or wherein each of the first and second jaws is at least partially hollow and selectively inflatable to move the at least one of the first or second jaws with respect to the other.
Claims 5, 6, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deville et al. (2024/0041470) in view of Srinimukesh et al. (2020/0345494).
Regarding claim 5, Deville et al. disclose the system substantially as described above with respect to claims 1 and 4, but fail to disclose the guide mechanism includes a first tether extending from the first connector, a distal end of the first tether being removably attached to the closed distal end of the cavity of the first connector. However, in similar art, Srinimukesh et al. teaches a tethering line (3232, Fig. 179; tethering line or suture 3232, para [0520]), wherein a coupler structure is moved into engagement with a device over the tethering line (see 3220 moved into engagement with 3210 over 3232, Fig. 179-181; retracting the tethering line 3232 in the retraction direction reduced the length of the tethering line thereby moving the coupler 3220 towards the device 3210, para [0520]; 3234 is a mislabel in Fig. 180 and should be 3232 since the numeral 3234 is never used and points to the same structure as 3232, which is used), and wherein the tethering line coupled to a distal end of a cavity of the device (see 3232 secured to lower, distal end of cavity of 3210 via 3218, Fig. 179-181; securing portions 3218, para [0520]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to before the effective filing date of the claimed invention apply the tethering line of Srinimukesh et al. on the first internal connector and corresponding first internal connector interface of Deville et al., in order to allow the internal connector to be guided into engagement with the interfaces with simple retraction of the tethering line to bring the interfaces into engagement with the connectors, simplifying the guide mechanism further. With respect to the removably attachment of such tethering line, Srinimukesh et al. teaches a replacement valve which is releasably attached to a delivery system via plurality of tethers (para [0024]), the tethers releasably attached by release pins (para [0078]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the release pins of Srinimukesh et al. on the tethers of Deville et al. and Srinimukesh et al., in order to enable the clip to be easily fully released from the delivery device once the clip is in the desired position.
Regarding claim 6, the combination does not specifically teach the use of a plurality of tethers (para [0024]). However, Examiner notes it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the tether and release pin of the first connector and interface of Deville et al. and Srinimukesh et al. to also be used on the second connector and interface of Deville et al., in order to provide a redundancy in case one tether is released early and ensure the connectors are guided individually in case of accidental relative movement between the jaws as the connectors are guided into position.
Regarding claim 21, Deville et al. disclose the system substantially as described above with respect to claim 19, but fail to disclose each of the first and second connector interfaces includes a cavity having a proximal end with an opening for receiving the respective one of the first or second connector and a closed distal end (see 1512/1522 defining cavity with open, lower end leading to 1514/1524 and closed, upper end, Fig. 2 and 4-9; 1512,1522 have entrances into which a respective internal connector is inserted, para [0153]), but Deville et al. does not specifically teach wherein the guide mechanism includes a first tether extending from the first connector, a distal end of the first tether being removably attached to the closed distal end of the cavity of the first connector. However, in similar art, Srinimukesh et al. teaches a tethering line (3232, Fig. 179; tethering line or suture 3232, para [0520]), wherein a coupler structure is moved into engagement with a device over the tethering line (see 3220 moved into engagement with 3210 over 3232, Fig. 179-181; retracting the tethering line 3232 in the retraction direction reduced the length of the tethering line thereby moving the coupler 3220 towards the device 3210, para [0520]; 3234 is a mislabel in Fig. 180 and should be 3232 since the numeral 3234 is never used and points to the same structure as 3232, which is used), and wherein the tethering line coupled to a distal end of a cavity of the device (see 3232 secured to lower, distal end of cavity of 3210 via 3218, Fig. 179-181; securing portions 3218, para [0520]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the tethering line of Srinimukesh et al. on the first internal connector and corresponding first internal connector interface of Deville et al., in order to allow the internal connector to be guided into engagement with the interfaces with simple retraction of the tethering line to bring the interfaces into engagement with the connectors, simplifying the guide mechanism further. With respect to the removably attachment of such tethering line, Srinimukesh et al. teaches a replacement valve which is releasably attached to a delivery system via plurality of tethers (para [0024]), the tethers releasably attached by release pins (para [0078]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the release pins of Srinimukesh et al. on the tethers of Deville et al. and Srinimukesh et al., in order to enable the clip to be easily fully released from the delivery device once the clip is in the desired position.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 7, 8, 17, 22, and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the attached PTO-892.
/Ryan J. Severson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771