DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed 3/5/2026 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. A copy of non-patent literature cite no. 4 ("Fusion Drill-Powered Cultivator") has not been included. This IDS has been placed in the application file, but the information related to this document has not been considered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because claims 1, 12, and 20 (the independent claims) each recite "a highest point of the curved top surface" with respect to the gear housing structure, but previously set forth "a highest point of the curved top surface" with respect to the frame mounting structure. The claims are being further examined as though "a highest point of the curved top surface" reads "the highest point of the curved top surface" with respect to the gear housing structure. Additionally, claims 2-11 are objected to because of their dependency on claim 1, and claims 13-19 are objected to because of their dependency on claim 12. Appropriate correction (or explanation) is required.
Claim Interpretation
The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The claimed vertical and horizontal portions are interpreted to have their two longest dimensions in a respective vertical or horizontal plane. Thus, such vertical and horizontal portions have a length, longitude, or longitudinal axis in a respective vertical or horizontal plane. This interpretation is consistent with the vertical and horizontal portions (e.g., horizontal and vertical portions of 32) in the specification and drawings of the instant application. Additionally, it is noted that "a frame mounting structure" and "a gear housing structure" are parts of (i.e., elements of, since they are indented under) the blade housing in claim 1, but that "a frame mounting structure" and "a gear housing structure" are parts of the housing structure and are NOT parts of the blade housing in claims 12 and 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over "Tilther Instruction Manual" from Johnny's Selected Seeds (cite no. 2 under 'Non-Patent Literature Documents' in the IDS of 4/4/2025; a copy of which is located in the file for 18/213,797; this reference is hereinafter referred to as "Tilther") in view of "Iconoclast - Lightweight Cultivator/Tilther for gardeners and small market farms" from Neversink Farms (cited in the accompanying PTO-892; this reference is hereinafter referred to as "Iconoclast").
Regarding claim 12, Tilther discloses a cultivator comprising:
a housing structure comprising:
a blade housing comprising:
an elongated back portion (see annotated Fig. A, below);
an elevated front portion (opposite the elongated back portion; an edge of the elevated front portion shown in annotated Fig. A, below);
a curved top surface (see annotated Fig. A, below) extending between the elevated front portion and the elongated back portion; and
opposing exterior sides including a first exterior side and a second exterior side (see annotated Fig. A, below);
a frame mounting structure (see annotated Fig. A, below) located adjacent to the first exterior side of the blade housing (as shown in Fig. A), the frame mounting structure extending vertically upward above a highest point of the curved top surface of the blade housing (as shown in Fig. A) and being configured to provide increased rigidity to a first side of the housing structure (holding structure of the cultivator thereby providing increased rigidity to a first side of the housing structure, which includes itself and also includes the upper frame set forth below);
a gear housing structure (see annotated Fig. A, below) located adjacent to the second exterior side of the blade housing (as shown in Fig. A), wherein the gear housing structure has an outward facing interior region (including that labeled in annotated Fig. A and the opposing plate defining an interior region that faces outward from the blade housing), the gear housing structure extending vertically above the highest point of the curved top surface of the blade housing (as shown in Fig. A) and being configured to provide increased rigidity to a second side of the housing structure and a portion of the curved top surface of the blade housing located adjacent to the second exterior side of the blade housing (holding structure of the cultivator thereby providing increased rigidity, particularly to itself and adjacent parts); and
an upper frame being a metallic structure (the frame set forth as aluminum on p. 2) having a horizontal portion and opposing first and second vertical portions (see annotated Fig. A, below), the first vertical portion being secured (via the horizontal portion and/or the curved top surface) to the frame mounting structure (as shown in Fig. A), and the second vertical portion being secured to the gear housing structure (as shown in Fig. A);
an operating handle structure (including parts A, B, and J) secured (via part J and nuts and bolts therefor) to the horizontal portion of the upper frame of the housing structure; and
a blade structure (of part K, including tines) located in an interior portion of the blade housing (see figures on p. 1 and bottommost figure on p. 3) and rotatably secured to mounting locations (via an axle) on the first and second sides of the housing structure, wherein the blade housing exposes the blade structure in a direction that is opposite a user when the cultivator is being used by the user and covers the blade structure in a vertical direction and in an opposing direction that is closest to the user when the cultivator is being used by the user (see topmost figure on p. 1).
Figure A. Annotated figure from p. 2 of Tilther.
Tilther does not disclose the upper frame being a single-piece. However, Iconoclast teaches a cultivator comprising:
a housing structure:
a blade housing (see annotated Fig. B, below);
a frame mounting structure (see annotated Fig. B, below) located adjacent to a first exterior side of the blade housing, the frame mounting structure extending vertically upward above a highest point of a curved top surface of the blade housing (as shown in Fig. B);
a gear housing structure (see annotated Fig. B, below) located adjacent to a second exterior side of the blade housing, the gear housing structure extending vertically above the highest point of the curved top surface of the blade housing (as shown in Fig. B); and
an upper frame (see annotated Fig. B, below) being a single-piece structure (shown as a single, unitary piece without any connecting joints) having a horizontal portion and opposing first and second vertical portions (see annotated Fig. B, below), the first vertical portion being secured (via the horizontal portion and/or the blade housing) to the frame mounting structure (as shown in Fig. B), and the second vertical portion being secured to the gear housing structure (as shown in Fig. B);
an operating handle structure (see annotated Fig. B, below) secured to the upper frame of the housing structure (as shown in Fig. B).
Figure B. Annotated figure from p. 9 of Iconoclast.
Iconoclast is analogous because Iconoclast discloses a walk-behind cultivator having a blade housing, a frame mounting structure, a gear housing structure, an upper frame, and an operating handle. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the cultivator of Tilther with single-piece construction as taught by Iconoclast in order to improve structural integrity (by eliminating joints, which are potential weak points). Additionally, providing the cultivator of Tilther with a single-piece upper frame as taught by Iconoclast is a simple substitution of one known element (i.e., a single-piece upper frame as taught by Iconoclast) for another (i.e., a multiple piece upper frame of Tilther) to obtain predictable results (as demonstrated by Iconoclast). See MPEP § 2143(I)(B). It is also use of a known technique (i.e., single-piece construction in Iconoclast) to improve a similar device (i.e., the upper frame in Tilther) in the same way. See MPEP § 2143(I)(C). Further, it has been held that the use of a one-piece construction instead of multiple pieces would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice. See In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965).
Regarding claim 14, Tilther discloses each opposing exterior side (i.e., each of the first exterior side and the second exterior side shown in annotated Fig. A, above) of the blade housing including a bearing slot (for the axle securing/holding/supporting the tines of the blade structure; the axle shown extending through the first exterior side in bottommost figures on pp. 1 and 2; and the axle shown extending through the second exterior side in bottommost figure on p. 3), and wherein the blade structure (of part K, including tines) is rotatably secured (by the axle) to the bearing slot of each opposing exterior side of the blade housing.
Regarding claim 15, Tilther discloses the outward facing interior region (including that labeled "gear housing structure" in annotated Fig. A and the opposing plate defining an interior region that faces outward from the blade housing) of the gear housing structure including a blade axle gear mounting structure (including the axle and/or structure supporting the axle) aligned with a mounting location for the blade structure (of part K, including tines) in the gear housing structure (as shown in the bottommost figure on p. 3).
Regarding claim 16, Tilther discloses a blade axle gear (bottom gear shown in bottommost figure on p. 3) mounted to the blade axle gear mounting structure, wherein the blade structure (of part K, including tines) is attached (via the axle) to the blade axle gear (as shown in the bottommost figure on p. 3).
Regarding claim 17, Tilther discloses a blade engagement component including a throttle cable (D) attached to operating handle structure and interacting with a trigger. Tilther does not explicitly disclose a throttle control lever and a trigger strap as claimed. However, Iconoclast teaches a cultivator comprising a blade engagement component including:
a throttle control lever (upper control lever shown in figures on pp. 3 and 5) mounted to the operating handle structure;
a trigger strap (strap shown over the trigger of the cordless drill in the figure on p. 8); and
a throttle cable attached to the throttle control lever and the trigger strap (shown in figures on pp. 3, 5 and 8).
Iconoclast is analogous because Iconoclast discloses a walk-behind cultivator having a blade housing, a frame mounting structure, a gear housing structure, an upper frame, and an operating handle. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above combination with throttle control means as taught by Iconoclast in order to effectively power the cultivator. Additionally, providing the above combination with the throttle control means of Iconoclast is a simple substitution of one known element for another (i.e., of throttle control means for each other) to obtain predictable results (as taught by Iconoclast). See MPEP § 2143(I)(B). Further, it is noted that throttle control means of this kind are generally known to be utilized to actuate a trigger and hold the trigger in an "on" position in general operation of a walk-behind tool, as taught by Grieder (US 2,629,220; see col. 4, lines 10-19).
Regarding claim 18, Tilther discloses a power tool mounted to the housing structure (as shown in the figures on pp. 1-3), Iconoclast also teaches a power tool mounted to housing structure (see figures on pp. 3, 6, and 8). In view of the modification made in relation to claim 17, Iconoclast teaches activation of the throttle control lever causing the trigger strap to activate the power tool (in order for the cultivator to operate).
Regarding claim 19, Tilther discloses the power tool being a cordless drill (as shown in the figures on pp. 1-3 and described on p. 1). Iconoclast also shows the power tool being a cordless drill (see figure on p. 8).
Regarding claim 20, Tilther discloses the cultivator with respect to claim 12, as set forth above. Tilther does not explicitly disclose the upper frame having a first curved portion and a second curved portion forming transitions between the horizontal portion and the first and second vertical portions as claimed. However, Iconoclast teaches the upper frame having a first curved portion (see annotated Fig. B, above) and a second curved portion (see annotated Fig. B, above) forming transitions between the horizontal portion and the first and second vertical portions, respectively (as shown in Fig. B).
Iconoclast is analogous because Iconoclast discloses a walk-behind cultivator having a blade housing, a frame mounting structure, a gear housing structure, an upper frame, and an operating handle. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above combination with curved transitions as taught by Iconoclast in order to decrease stress concentration as is known in general engineering practice. Additionally, providing the above combination with curved transitions as taught by Iconoclast is use of known technique (i.e., curved transitions as taught by Iconoclast) to improve a similar device (i.e., the upper frame of the above combination) in the same way. See MPEP § 2143(I)(C).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tilther in view of Iconoclast as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Trelford (US 4,601,163).
Regarding claim 13, neither Tilther nor Iconoclast explicitly discloses the blade housing being formed from a single injection molded part. Trelford teaches a ground treatment device for cultivating having a main body (7) and a cover (8) which are each molded in one piece from plastic (see col. 2, lines 49-53). Trelford is analogous because Trelford discloses a walk-behind ground treatment device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above combination with the fabrication means as taught by Trelford in order to achieve considerable cost savings and eliminate corrosion problems. (See Trelford, col. 1, lines 21-37.) Additionally, as noted above, it has been held that the use of a one-piece construction instead of multiple pieces would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice. See In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-11 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the objection set forth in this Office action.
Conclusion
/JFM/9/22/26
/CHRISTOPHER J SEBESTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671