Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-10, 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enigma: Decentralized Computation Platform with Guaranteed Privacy in view of Koorella et al. (US 2020/0349261) hereafter Koorella and Frank et al. (US 2019/0259034) hereafter Frank and Dabell et al. (US 2018/0359312) hereafter Dabell.
5. Enigma discloses a secure resource management system, comprising:
a resource record repository configured for storing a resource record for a resource, the resource record comprising information of a resource provider of the resource, information of resource users having a right to obtain the resource, and a resource transaction history (Section 3, Code is executed both on the blockchain (public parts) and on Enigma (private or computationally intensive parts); Section 1, public nature of the blockchain guarantees transparency over how applications work
and leaves an irrefutable record of activities, providing strong incentives for honest behavior. [blockchain provides transaction history, Enigma provides right to obtain resource]; section 6, specifically 6.2.2, Storing and loading data for direct access via the DHT (distributed hash table)); and
a resource verification subsystem configured for:
receiving a request to verify an authorized user of the resource (Section 6, Algorithm 3),
responsive to receiving the request, querying the resource record repository to retrieve the resource record (Section 6, Algorithm 3 – CheckPermission -> Algorithm 2, permissions check against the blockchain),
determining, based on the resource record, a resource user currently having a right to obtain the resource as the authorized user of the resource (Section 6, Algorithm 2), and
transmitting, in response to the request, the verification result identifying the authorized user of the resource, wherein the verification result is useable to grant access to the resource by the authorized user (Section 6, Algorithm 2).
Enigma does not explicitly disclose a verification result to a remote computing device. However, in an analogous art, Koorella discloses database private document sharing with smart contracts for authorization including a verification result to a remote computing device (para 49-53, proposal response 292 is sent back to the client 260 along with an endorsement signature, if approved). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the implementation of Enigma with the implementation of Koorella in order to overcome the deficiencies of a centralized database such as fault tolerance, increased connectivity, reduced bottlenecks, etc. (para 3).
Enigma and Koorella do not explicitly disclose a remaining unused portion of the resource. However, in an analogous art, Frank discloses an authorization server communicating with an account provider computer and account access system including a remaining unused portion of a resource (para 64). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the implementation of Enigma and Koorella with the implementation of Frank in order to determining whether or not there is a sufficient amount of resources in the account to satisfy the access request (para 63).
Enigma, Koorella, and Frank do not explicitly disclose predicting the value of the resource within the given time period, the prediction based on at least a determination of an amount of the resource available within the given time period and transmitting the predicted value. However, in an analogous art, Dabell discloses dynamic cloud pricing including predicting the value of the resource within the given time period, the prediction based on at least a determination of an amount of the resource available within the given time period and transmitting the predicted value (para 21). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the implementation of Enigma, Koorella, and Frank with the implementation of Dabell in order to adjust pricing as a function of supply and demand (para 21).
6. Enigma, Koorella, Frank, and Dabell disclose the secure resource management system of claim 5, wherein the resource record repository is implemented in a secure database (Enigma, Section 3, Storage).
7. Enigma, Koorella, Frank, and Dabell disclose the secure resource management system of claim 5, wherein the resource record repository is implemented in a hybrid blockchain comprising a public blockchain and a private blockchain (Section 3); the public blockchain is configured to store an encrypted version of the resource transaction history contained in the resource record (Koorella, para 45) and the private blockchain is configured to store the resource record (Section 3).
8. Enigma, Koorella, Frank, and Dabell disclose the secure resource management system of claim 5, wherein the resource record repository is implemented in a public blockchain (Enigma, Section 3).
9. Enigma, Koorella, Frank, and Dabell disclose the secure resource management system of claim 5, wherein the resource verification subsystem is further configured for: receiving a resource transaction reporting message; and updating the resource record repository based on the resource transaction reporting message (Enigma, Section 3).
10. Enigma, Koorella, Frank, and Dabell disclose the secure resource management system of claim 9, wherein the resource transaction reporting message comprises data describing a resource distribution or a resource transfer (Enigma, Section 3; Section 1).
Claims 1-2, 14-19 are similar in scope to claims 5-10 and are rejected under similar rationale.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,282,530 in view of Dabell et al. (US 2018/0359312) hereafter Dabell. The US Patent does not explicitly claim predicting the value of the resource within the given time period, the prediction based on at least a determination of an amount of the resource available within the given time period. However, in an analogous art, Dabell discloses dynamic cloud pricing including predicting the value of the resource within the given time period, the prediction based on at least a determination of an amount of the resource available within the given time period and transmitting the predicted value (para 21). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the implementation of Enigma, Koorella, and Frank with the implementation of Dabell in order to adjust pricing as a function of supply and demand (para 21).
Conclusion
/JAMES R TURCHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439