DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 4, 2025 was filed after the mailing date of the application on April 4, 2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Paragraph [0001] on p. 1 of Applicant’s disclosure recites “…U.S. Patent Application No. 18,601,739, filed March 11, 2024, which is a continuation of…” where it should instead recite “…U.S. Patent Application No. 18,601,739, filed March 11, 2024, now U.S. Patent No. 12,314,833, which is a continuation of…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 20 uses the word “means” and thus is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 10, 11, 16, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lupon (US009978014B2).
As per Claim 1, Lupon teaches a processing device comprising: a plurality of weight registers (308, Fig. 3A) for receiving and storing a first plurality of values (number of registers 308.1-308.4 for storing weights, col. 4, lines 62-64); a first multiplier (306.1) configured to receive a first value of the first plurality of values; and a second multiplier (306.2) configured to receive a second value of the first plurality of values; one or more inputs configured to receive a second plurality of values; and a plurality of multiplexers (310) configured to receive the second plurality of values and respectively route a third value of the second plurality of values to the first multiplier, and a fourth value of the second plurality of values to the second multiplier, wherein the first multiplier is configured to perform a first multiplication of the first value by the third value, and the second multiplier is configured to perform a second multiplication of the second value by the fourth value, wherein the first multiplication is configured to be performed concurrently with the second multiplication (number of registers 308.1-308.4 for storing weights and a number of multiplexers 310.1-310.6 which control when input signals and weight parameters are available to multipliers 306.1-306.4, col. 4, lines 62-66; each of multipliers 306.1-306.4 may include a first input to receive a value of the input signal and a second input to receive a weight, multipliers 306.1-306.4 may perform multiplication operation of inputs, col. 5, lines 5-9; multipliers 306.1-306.4 may operate in parallel, col. 5, line 35).
As per Claim 6, Lupon teaches wherein a first one of the plurality of multiplexers (310.1, Fig. 3A) is coupled to a first adder (314.1) and a second one of the plurality of multiplexers (310.4) is coupled to a second adder (314.3) (number of multiplexers 310.1-310.6 which control when input signals and weight parameters are available to multipliers 306.1-306.4, col. 4, lines 64-66; adders for summing products from outputs of multipliers 306.1-306.4, adders are carry-save adder 314.1-314.4, col. 5, lines 12-15; Fig. 3A shows that first multiplexer 310.1 is coupled to multiplier 306.1 which is coupled to first adder 314.1, and second multiplexer 310.4 is coupled to multiplier 306.3 which is coupled to second adder 314.3).
As per Claim 10, Lupon teaches further comprising: an adder circuitry (304, Fig. 3A) configured to generate a first sum by adding at least a portion of a product generated by the first multiplier (306.1) (reconfigurable accumulator 304 may include a network of adders for summing products from outputs of multipliers 306.1-306.4, col. 5, lines 11-13).
As per Claims 11, 16, and 19, these claims are similar in scope to Claims 1, 6, and 10 respectively, and therefore are rejected under the same rationale. As per Claim 20, Claim 20 is similar in scope to Claim 1, and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5 and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lupon (US009978014B2) in view of Martin (US 20190147327A1).
As per Claim 2, Lupon is relied upon for the teachings as discussed above relative to Claim 1.
However, Lupon does not teach further comprising: a control device configured to identify data associated with the second plurality of values and transmit a third plurality of values to the plurality of multiplexers, and the plurality of multiplexers are configured to route the second plurality of values based on the third plurality of values. However, Martin teaches further comprising: a control device configured to identify data associated with the second plurality of values and transmit a third plurality of values to the plurality of multiplexers, and the plurality of multiplexers are configured to route the second plurality of values based on the third plurality of values (control block 304 may be configured to identify whether each input datum or its respective weight are zero, if either the input datum or its respective weight are zero, the datum-weight pair is skipped and not processed, the next non-zero operation may instead be performed on the same cycle, this can be achieved through the use of multiplexers 304 and 308 which are configured to pass to the multiplication logic 309 (multiplier) only on those datum-weight pairs where both the datum and weight are non-zero, [0140]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lupon to include a control device configured to identify data associated with the second plurality of values and transmit a third plurality of values to the plurality of multiplexers, and the plurality of multiplexers are configured to route the second plurality of values based on the third plurality of values because Martin suggests that if the sparsity is high many of the operations are skipped, and the total number of cycles taken to process the neuron is much reduced [0140].
As per Claim 3, Lupon does not teach wherein the data is indicative of one or more of the second plurality of values that are zero. However, Martin teaches wherein the data is indicative of one or more of the second plurality of values that are zero [0140]. This would be obvious for the reasons given in the rejection for Claim 2.
As per Claim 4, Lupon does not teach wherein the routing is configured to skip the one or more of the second plurality of values that are zero. However, Martin teaches wherein the routing is configured to skip the one or more of the second plurality of values that are zero [0140]. This would be obvious for the reasons given in the rejection for Claim 2.
As per Claim 5, Lupon does not teach wherein the third value and the fourth value are each nonzero values. However, Martin teaches wherein the third value and the fourth value are each nonzero values [0140]. This would be obvious for the reasons given in the rejection for Claim 2.
As per Claims 12-15, these claims are similar in scope to Claims 2-5 respectively, and therefore are rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lupon (US009978014B2) in view of Langhammer (US007230451B1).
Lupon is relied upon for the teachings as discussed above relative to Claim 1.
However, Lupon does not teach wherein the first multiplier and the second multiplier are configured in a column. However, Langhammer teaches wherein the first multiplier and the second multiplier are configured in a column (plurality of multipliers arranged in column, col. 16, line 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lupon so that the first multiplier and the second multiplier are configured in a column as suggested by Langhammer. It is well-known in the art that this tight layout optimizes data routing, drastically reduces electrical latency, and allows for efficient processing such as executing multiply-accumulate instructions.
23. Claim(s) 8, 9, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lupon (US009978014B2) in view of Ross (US 20180046907A1).
24. As per Claim 8, Lupon is relied upon for the teachings as discussed above relative to Claim 1.
However, Lupon does not teach wherein the first plurality of values are configured to be divided into a first set of values and a second set of values. However, Ross teaches wherein the first plurality of values are configured to be divided into a first set of values and a second set of values (divide the sets of weight inputs into portions having fewer sets of weight inputs than a number of columns in the array, [0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lupon so that the first plurality of values are configured to be divided into a first set of values and a second set of values because Ross suggests that this way, all of the weight values are divided and distributed to be processed, so that all of the weight values are processed [0057].
25. As per Claim 9, Lupon does not teach wherein the second plurality of values are configured to be divided into a first subarray and a second sub array, wherein the third value is included in the first subarray and the fourth value is included in the second subarray. However, Ross teaches wherein the second plurality of values are configured to be divided into a first subarray and a second sub array, wherein the third value is included in the first subarray and the fourth value is included in the second subarray (divide the sets of activation inputs into portions so that each portion has a size less than or equal to a number of rows in the array, [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lupon so that the second plurality of values are configured to be divided into a first subarray and a second sub array, wherein the third value is included in the first subarray and the fourth value is included in the second subarray because Ross suggests that this way, all of the second plurality of values are divided and distributed to be processed, so that all of the second plurality of values are processed [0053].
26. As per Claim 18, Claim 18 is similar in scope to Claim 9, and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
27. Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lupon (US009978014B2) in view of Langhammer (US007230451B1) and Ross (US 20180046907A1).
Lupon is relied upon for the teachings as discussed above relative to Claim 11.
However, Lupon does not teach wherein the first multiplier and the second multiplier are configured in a column. However, Langhammer teaches this limitation, as discussed in the rejection for Claim 7.
However, Lupon and Langhammer do not teach the first plurality of values are configured to be divided into a first set of values and a second set of values. However, Ross teaches this limitation, as discussed in the rejection for Claim 8.
Conclusion
JH
/JONI HSU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611