DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application 19/170,680 filed on
04/04/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant's claim for domestic priority to which is a CON of 18/668,434 05/20/2024 PAT 12,294,560 which is a CON of 18/450,447 08/16/2023 PAT 12,021,804 which claims benefit of 63/401, 114 08/25/2022.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 (hereinafter "examined claim") are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 (hereinafter as "patent claim") of U.S. Patent No. 12,294,560 B2 (US Application No. 18/668,434). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are merely obvious variations of the claims in the U.S. Patent No. 12,294,560 B2 (US Application No. 18/668,434 as outlined in the table below.
Examined claim (Application No. 19,170,680)
Patent claim of U.S. Patent No. 12,294,560 B2 (US Application No. 18/668,434).
1. A method comprising:
receiving a set of messages, each message associated with an account of a user and comprising content corresponding to a digital asset;
analyzing the set of messages, and
determining a type of digital asset within each message of the set of messages;
grouping, based on the determined type of digital asset, the set of messages, the grouping comprising creating a cluster related to each of the types of digital assets;
storing, within a location associated with the user account, the groupings of messages; and
enabling, from the location within the user account, access to the digital assets from the grouping of messages.
1. A method comprising:
receiving a set of messages, each message associated with an account of a user and comprising content corresponding to a digital asset;
analyzing the set of messages, and
determining a type of digital asset within each message of the set of messages;
grouping, based on the determined type of digital asset, the set of messages, the grouping comprising creating a cluster related to each of the types of digital assets;
storing, within a location associated with the user account, the groupings of messages;
enabling, from the location within the user account, access to the digital assets from the grouping of messages;
generating a mapping rule for the groupings of messages, each mapping rule comprising information related to the digital assets within each grouping; and providing at least one digital asset to a third party system based on a respective mapping rule.
8. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium tangibly encoded with computer-executable instructions, that when executed by a processor, perform a method comprising:
receiving a set of messages, each message associated with an account of a user and comprising content corresponding to a digital asset;
analyzing the set of messages, and determining a type of digital asset within each message of the set of messages;
grouping, based on the determined type of digital asset, the set of messages, the grouping comprising creating a cluster related to each of the types of digital assets;
storing, within a location associated with the user account, the groupings of messages; and
enabling, from the location within the user account, access to the digital assets from the grouping of messages.
14. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium tangibly encoded with computer-executable instructions, that when executed by a device, performs a method comprising:
receiving a set of messages, each message associated with an account of a user and comprising content corresponding to a digital asset;
analyzing the set of messages, and determining a type of digital asset within each message of the set of messages;
grouping, based on the determined type of digital asset, the set of messages, the grouping comprising creating a cluster related to each of the types of digital assets;
storing, within a location associated with the user account, the groupings of messages;
enabling, from the location within the user account, access to the digital assets from the grouping of messages;
generating a mapping rule for the groupings of messages, each mapping rule comprising information related to the digital assets within each grouping; and providing at least one digital asset to a third party system based on a respective mapping rule.
15. A system comprising: a processor configured to:
receive a set of messages, each message associated with an account of a user and comprising content corresponding to a digital asset;
analyze the set of messages, and determine a type of digital asset within each message of the set of messages;
group, based on the determined type of digital asset, the set of messages, the grouping comprising creating a cluster related to each of the types of digital assets;
store, within a location associated with the user account, the groupings of messages; and
enable, from the location within the user account, access to the digital assets from the grouping of messages.
8. A device comprising: a processor configured to:
receive a set of messages, each message associated with an account of a user and comprising content corresponding to a digital asset;
analyze the set of messages, and determine a type of digital asset within each message of the set of messages;
group, based on the determined type of digital asset, the set of messages, the grouping comprising creating a cluster related to each of the types of digital assets;
store, within a location associated with the user account, the groupings of messages;
enable, from the location within the user account, access to the digital assets from the grouping of messages;
generate a mapping rule for the groupings of messages, each mapping rule comprising information related to the digital assets within each grouping; and provide at least one digital asset to a third party system based on a respective mapping rule.
Although the claims 1, 8 and 15 (hereinafter "examined claim" Application No. 19,170,680) at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of claims 1, 8 and 15 of the examined application are disclosed by the limitations of claims 1, 14 and 8 (hereinafter as "patent claim") of US Patent U.S. Patent No. 12,294,560 B2 (US Application No. 18/668,434), and as such is unpatentable for obvious-type double patenting.
Instant Application Claim 2 recites substantially the same limitation as the patented claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. US Patent No. 12,294,560 B2 US Application No. 18/668,434, therefore the application claim 2 is anticipated by the patented claim 7.
Instant Application Claims 3-7 recite substantially the same limitation as the patented claims 2-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,294,560 B2 US Application No. 18/668,434, therefore the application claims 3-7 are anticipated by the patented claims 2-6.
Instant Application Claim 9 recites substantially the same limitation as the patented claim 18 of U.S. Patent No. US Patent No. 12,294,560 B2 US Application No. 18/668,434, therefore the application claim 9 is anticipated by the patented claim 18.
Instant Application Claims 10-11 recite substantially the same limitation as the patented claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. US Patent No. 12,294,560 B2 US Application No. 18/668,434, therefore the application claims 10-11 are is anticipated by the patented claim 15.
Instant Application Claim 12 recites substantially the same limitation as the patented claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. US Patent No. 12,294,560 B2 US Application No. 18/668,434, therefore the application claim 12 is anticipated by the patented claim 16.
Instant Application Claims 13-14 recite substantially the same limitation as the patented claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. US Patent No. 12,294,560 B2 US Application No. 18/668,434, therefore the application claims 13-14 are is anticipated by the patented claim 17.
Instant Application Claim 16 recites substantially the same limitation as the patented claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. US Patent No. 12,294,560 B2 US Application No. 18/668,434, therefore the application claim 16 is anticipated by the patented claim 13.
.
Instant Application Claims 17-20 recite substantially the same limitation as the patented claims 9-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,294,560 B2 US Application No. 18/668,434, therefore the application claims 17-20 are anticipated by the patented claims 9-12.
Therefore, claims 1-20 (hereinafter "examined claim" US Application No. 19,170,680) is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 (hereinafter as "patent claim") of US Patent 12,294,560 B2 US Application No. 18/668,434. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are merely obvious variations of the claims 1-18 (hereinafter as "patent claim") of US Patent 12,294,560 B2 US Application No. 18/668,434, and as such is unpatentable for obvious- type double patenting.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-12 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Raviv et al. (US 2020/0202388 A1, hereinafter “Raviv”).
Regarding Claim 1, Raviv teaches a method comprising: receiving a set of messages, each message associated with an account of a user and comprising content corresponding to a digital asset ([paragraph 0007, 0103-0105, 0111] describes receiving a set of messages and message addressed to a user's inbox and message associated with a user account comprising message includes content from a commercial entity corresponding to a digital coupon (e.g. a digital asset));
analyzing the set of messages, and determining a type of digital asset within each message of the set of messages ([paragraph 0106-0112] describes the set of messages are analyzed to determine a product type of the digital coupon (e.g. the digital asset));
grouping, based on the determined type of digital asset, the set of messages, the grouping comprising creating a cluster related to each of the types of digital assets ([paragraph 0053, 0113, 0116-0117] describes grouping the set of messages and grouping comprising messages related to a product preference type of the user are tagged with the product type (e.g. cluster) related to each of the types of digital coupons (e.g. the digital assets));
storing, within a location associated with the user account, the groupings of messages (paragraph 0073, 0119, 0121-0122, Fig 7B] describes storing a location and watching view associated with the user account and product preference types (e.g. the grouping) of messages); and
enabling, from the location within the user account, access to the digital assets from the grouping of messages ([paragraph 0012, 0122] describes the + icon enables the user to select and open the digital content (e.g. the digital assets) to retain the deal being offered).
Regarding claim 2, Raviv teaches the method, further comprising: receiving a request from a user in association with a service provided by a third party system, wherein the at least one digital asset is provided in accordance with the received request ([paragraph 0094-0095, 0111] describes receiving a request from a user in association with a third party service providers (e.g., Groupon®, Walmart®, REI®, Home Depot®, EBates®, for example) that provide third party deals or digital coupons to users in a manner based on messages and digital coupon (e.g. digital asset) is provided to the user based on received request).
Regarding claim 3, Raviv teaches the method, further comprising: detecting activity of the user, the activity corresponding to a context ([Fig 6A, paragraph 0082] describes the user opens an email message (e.g. detecting the user activity) and the user is viewing a particular product type message (e.g. the activity corresponding to a context));
analyzing, based on the context, the groupings of messages ([paragraph 0084, 0111] describes based on the context/particular type of product message being viewed, another product message is identified from the user’s inbox that is a related product type in the groupings of messages); and
identifying a digital asset from the grouping that corresponds to the context ([paragraph 0082-0084] describes identifying a digital coupon (e.g. a digital asset) i.e. deal such as coupon for 70% off from the grouping that corresponds to the context).
Regarding claim 4, Raviv teaches the method, further comprising: providing the identified digital asset in response to the detection of the activity ([paragraph 0082-0084,Fig 6A] describes providing the identified digital coupon (e.g. digital asset) when the user opens the mail message a deal portion (Fig. 6, 606) is also displayed),
wherein the enabled access comprises the provided identified digital asset ([paragraph 0121-0122] describes the existing coupons retrieved from the user’s inbox also exist in the watching view where access to the coupon is enabled).
Regarding claim 5, Raviv teaches he method , further comprising: analyzing metadata associated with each of the set of messages, the metadata providing information indicating content within a respective message within the set of messages, wherein the determination of the type of digital asset within each message is based on the analysis of the metadata ([paragraph 0108-0112] describes analyzing specific fields of the message such as body/sender/multimedia portions etc.(e.g. metadata) associated with each of the set of messages and specific fields of the message such as body/sender/multimedia portions etc.(e.g. metadata) providing information indicating content (i.e. type of information) within a respective message within the set of messages and determination of the type of digital coupon (e.g. digital asset) within each message is based on the analysis of the specific fields of the message such as body/sender/multimedia portions etc.(e.g. metadata)).
Regarding claim 8, this claim contains limitations found within that of claim 1 and the same rationale to rejection is used except for the claim 8 a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium tangibly encoded with computer-executable instructions, that when executed by a processor, perform a method. Raviv teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium tangibly encoded with computer-executable instructions, that when executed by a processor, perform a method ([paragraph 0014] describes non-transitory computer-readable storage medium has tangibly stored thereon, or tangibly encoded thereon, computer readable instructions that when executed by a device (e.g., application server, email server, ad server, content server and/or client device, and the like) cause at least one processor to perform a method).
. Regarding claims 9-12, these claims contain limitations found within that of claims 2-5 and the same rationale to rejections are used.
Regarding claim 15, this claim contains limitations found within that of claim 1 and the same rationale to rejection is used except for the claim 8 a system comprising: a processor configured to. Raviv teaches a system comprising: a processor configured to ([paragraph 0014] describes a system comprising at least one processor configured to perform a method).
Regarding claims 16-19, these claims contain limitations found within that of claims 2-5 and the same rationale to rejections are used.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7, 13-14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raviv et al. (US 2020/0202388 A1, hereinafter “Raviv”); in view of Grabovitch et al. (US 10,616,161, hereinafter “Grabovitch”).
Regarding claim 6, Raviv teaches the method, further comprising: analyzing each of the set of messages ([paragraph 0106-0110] describes the set of messages are analyzed to determine a product type of the digital coupon (e.g. digital asset)); and
extracting, the digital assets from within each message in the set of messages ([paragraph 0111] describes extracting the digital coupons (e.g. digital assets) from message in the set of messages); and
storing the extracted digital assets ([paragraph 0121] describes storing in user account the extracted digital coupons (e.g. digital assets)).
Raviv fails to teach wherein analyzing a message structure associated with each of the set of messages; wherein extracting, based on the message structure within each of the set of messages, the digital assets from within each message in the set of messages; wherein storing, within the user account, the extracted digital assets.
However, Grabovitch teaches wherein analyzing a message structure associated with each of the set of messages ([Fig. 4, 402-416; Column 14, line 15-Column 16, line 21] describes analyzing DOM hierarchy of a message (e.g. message structure) associated with each of the set of messages);
wherein extracting, based on the message structure within each of the set of messages, the digital assets from within each message in the set of messages ([Fig. 4, 418; Column 16, lines 22-28] describes extracting based on DOM hierarchy of a message (e.g. message structure) includes entity digital content such as coupons from within each message in the set of messages);
wherein storing, within the user account, the extracted digital assets ([Column 16, lines 22-28] describes storing, within the user account (i.e. database associated with user’s inbox) the extracted digital coupons (e.g. digital assets)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Raviv to include wherein analyzing a message structure associated with each of the set of messages; wherein extracting, based on the message structure within each of the set of messages, the digital assets from within each message in the set of messages; wherein storing, within the user account, the extracted digital assets as taught by Grabovitch. One ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Raviv in the Grabovitch system in order to provide an improved message extraction framework that can be applied without any pre-learning/training. (Grabovitch: [Column 1, lines 63 – Column 2, line 1]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Raviv and Grabovitch teaches the method, wherein the enabled access is provided via the stored extracted digital assets (Raviv: [paragraph 0122] describes enabling the user account (i.e. database associated with user’s inbox) via the extracted digital coupons (e.g. digital assets)).
Regarding claims 13-14, these claims contain limitations found within that of claims 6-7 and the same rationale to rejections are used.
Regarding claim 20, Raviv teaches the system, wherein the processor is further configured to: analyze each of the set of messages ([paragraph 0106-0110] describes the set of messages are analyzed to determine a product type of the digital coupon (e.g. digital asset)); and
extract, the digital assets from within each message in the set of messages ([paragraph 0111] describes extracting the digital coupons (e.g. digital assets) from message in the set of messages); and
store, the extracted digital assets ([paragraph 0121] describes storing in user account the extracted digital coupons (e.g. digital assets));
wherein the enabled access is provided via the stored extracted digital assets ([paragraph 0122] describes enabling the user account (i.e. database associated with user’s inbox) via the extracted digital coupons (e.g. digital assets)).
Raviv fails to teach wherein analyze a message structure associated with each of the set of messages; wherein extract, based on the message structure within each of the set of messages, the digital assets from within each message in the set of messages; wherein store, within the user account, the extracted digital assets.
However, Grabovitch teaches wherein analyze a message structure associated with each of the set of messages ([Fig. 4, 402-416; Column 14, line 15-Column 16, line 21] describes analyzing DOM hierarchy of a message (e.g. message structure) associated with each of the set of messages);
wherein extract, based on the message structure within each of the set of messages, the digital assets from within each message in the set of messages ([Fig. 4, 418; Column 16, lines 22-28] describes extracting based on DOM hierarchy of a message (e.g. message structure) includes entity digital content such as coupons from within each message in the set of messages);
wherein store, within the user account, the extracted digital assets ([Column 16, lines 22-28] describes storing, within the user account (i.e. database associated with user’s inbox) the extracted digital coupons (e.g. digital assets)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Raviv to include wherein analyze a message structure associated with each of the set of messages; wherein extract, based on the message structure within each of the set of messages, the digital assets from within each message in the set of messages; wherein store, within the user account, the extracted digital assets as taught by Grabovitch. One ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Raviv in the Grabovitch system in order to provide an improved message extraction framework that can be applied without any pre-learning/training. (Grabovitch: [Column 1, lines 63 – Column 2, line 1]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
- ARASU et al., US 2021/0036980 A1, Disclosed are systems and methods for improving interactions with and between computers in content providing.
- GOENKA et al., US 2020/0134101 A1, Disclosed are systems and methods for improving interactions and searching and/or hosting systems supported by or configured with devices, servers and/or platforms.
- RAMALINGAM et al., US 2019/0173825 A1, Disclosed is a system and method for email management.
/M.J.S/Examiner, Art Unit 2459
/TONIA L DOLLINGER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2459