DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The claim objections and 112(b) rejections have been addressed and are therefore withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments regarding the 103 rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant merely states that the new limitations are not met without providing evidence. Apdalhaliem in view of Gross and Sears discloses that “the light source is at least one of an aircraft passenger reading light coupled to a passenger service unit, a cabin light located within the cabin of the aircraft, or an edge light configured circumferentially around at least a portion of glass of the aircraft window”. Gross teaches “The controllable light source may direct light into the photochromic material through at least one of the narrow edges of the window” (Para 0015) which may be considered a cabin light and/or an edge light as claimed.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 16 states “directing the respective light source either towards the photochromatic material”. “Either” should be removed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-11, 14-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Apdalhaliem et al (US 20150296565 A1) in view of Gross et al (US 20140327949 A1), and in view of Sears et al (US 20230028165 A1).
For claim 1, Apdalhaliem discloses a system for shading or unshading of an aircraft window, the system comprising:
the aircraft window Fig. 3;
a photochromatic material Para 0049: “dimmable window panel 210 may be implemented using a device selected from one of an electrochromic device, a photochromic device” coupled to the aircraft window.
Apdalhaliem does not explicitly state that there are light sources in the aircraft cabin.
However, Gross teaches a photochromic window 2 with a dedicated light source Fig. 5: 28,
wherein the light source is at least one of an aircraft passenger reading light coupled to a passenger service unit, a cabin light located within the cabin of the aircraft, or an edge light configured circumferentially around at least a portion of glass of the aircraft window 28 is an edge light at the circumference of the glass.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Apdalhaliem by using the photochromatic window, including a controlled dedicated light source for control of the photochromic layer, as disclosed by Gross. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to control the photochromic layer.
Apdalhaliem does not disclose whether the first state is transparent or opaque, stating that the window operates “in response to at least one of voltage, light, or heat applied to dimmable window panel”. It seems the window could be constructed with either one as the default and that light would effect change to the other state.
Sears teaches that it is known for either state to be the default Para 0013: “wherein a default orientation of a host material in the active liquid crystal layer is selected to be in a dark state or in a clear state”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Apdalhaliem by having the first state by transparent and the second be opaque as disclosed by Sears. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in cases where it was desired to have the window be transparent for more time, therefore saving energy.
For claim 4, Apdalhaliem discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the photochromatic material is coupled to an interior of the aircraft window Gross, layer 10 is interior to layers 8 and wherein the photochromatic material is responsive to a light wavelength in a range of 100 nm to 1 mm Gross, Para 0036: “The light 12 may be in the ultra violet region of the spectrum or in the 400 to 500 nanometer wavelength region, to match the activation wavelength of photochromic material layer 10”.
For claim 5, Apdalhaliem discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the light source outputs a light wavelength in a range of 100 nm to 1 mm Gross, Para 0036: “The light 12 may be in the ultra violet region of the spectrum or in the 400 to 500 nanometer wavelength region”.
For claim 6, Apdalhaliem discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the photochromatic material is exposed to the light source by a passenger directing the light source towards the photochromatic material Para 0007: “dimmable window panel may be controlled by a passenger to change the amount of light entering passenger cabin”, the light is directed toward the material when it is on; as modified, the control is the light source of Gross.
For claim 7, Apdalhaliem discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising:
a crew member-controlled mechanism, wherein the crew member-controlled mechanism is coupled to the light source and wherein the photochromatic material is exposed to the light source by the crew member-controlled mechanism directing the light source towards the photochromatic material Para 0007: “dimmable window panel may be controlled by a passenger to change the amount of light entering passenger cabin”, and a crew member may also use the control (intended use); as modified, the control is the light source of Gross.
For claim 8, Apdalhaliem discloses the system of claim 7, wherein the crew member-controlled mechanism is at least one of an actuator or a motor whatever causes the light to operate is actuating that operation and therefore is an actuator.
For claim 9, Apdalhaliem discloses the system of claim 7, further comprising:
a controller Fig. 2: controller 216, wherein the controller is configured to:
receive an input from a crew member of the aircraft Para 0007: “dimmable window panel may be controlled by a passenger” or crew-member; and
send a command to the crew member-controlled mechanism causing the crew member-controlled mechanism to direct a light of the light source on the photochromatic material Para 0068: “Controller 216 also may control changing dimmable window panel 210 between transparent state 224 and opaque state 226”, as modified by Gross the control is the light source.
For claim 10, Apdalhaliem discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising:
a color filter or reflective coating, wherein the color filter or reflective coating is coupled to an exterior of the aircraft window Gross, Para 0038: “having two layers of reflecting coating 20 on its two faces”.
For claim 11, Apdalhaliem discloses an aircraft, the aircraft comprising:
a plurality of aircraft windows Fig. 1;
a photochromatic material coupled to each of the plurality of aircraft windows Para 0049: “dimmable window panel 210 may be implemented using a device selected from one of an electrochromic device, a photochromic device”.
Apdalhaliem does not explicitly state that there are light sources in the aircraft cabin.
However, Gross teaches a photochromic window 2 with a dedicated light source Fig. 5: 28,
wherein the light source is at least one of an aircraft passenger reading light coupled to a passenger service unit, a cabin light located within the cabin of the aircraft, or an edge light configured circumferentially around at least a portion of glass of the aircraft window 28 is an edge light at the circumference of the glass.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Apdalhaliem by using the photochromatic window, including a controlled dedicated light source for control of the photochromic layer, as disclosed by Gross. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to control the photochromic layer.
Apdalhaliem does not disclose whether the first state is transparent or opaque, stating that the window operates “in response to at least one of voltage, light, or heat applied to dimmable window panel”. It seems the window could be constructed with either one as the default and that light would effect change to the other state.
Sears teaches that it is known for either state to be the default Para 0013: “wherein a default orientation of a host material in the active liquid crystal layer is selected to be in a dark state or in a clear state”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Apdalhaliem by having the first state by transparent and the second be opaque as disclosed by Sears. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in cases where it was desired to have the window be transparent for more time, therefore saving energy.
For claim 14, Apdalhaliem discloses the aircraft of claim 11, wherein the photochromatic material is coupled to an interior of each of the plurality of aircraft windows Gross, layer 10 is interior to layers 8 and wherein the photochromatic material is responsive to a light wavelength in a range of 100 nm to 1 mm Gross, Para 0036: “The light 12 may be in the ultra violet region of the spectrum or in the 400 to 500 nanometer wavelength region, to match the activation wavelength of photochromic material layer 10”.
For claim 15, Apdalhaliem discloses the aircraft of claim 11, wherein the light source outputs a light wavelength in a range of 100 nm to 1 mm Gross, Para 0036: “The light 12 may be in the ultra violet region of the spectrum or in the 400 to 500 nanometer wavelength region”.
For claim 16, Apdalhaliem discloses the aircraft of claim 11, wherein the photochromatic material on each of the plurality of aircraft windows is exposed to a respective light source of the plurality of light sources by a passenger directing the respective light source towards the photochromatic material on a respective aircraft window of the plurality of aircraft windows Para 0007: “dimmable window panel may be controlled by a passenger to change the amount of light entering passenger cabin”, the light is directed toward the material when it is on; as modified, the control is the light source of Gross.
For claim 17, Apdalhaliem discloses the aircraft of claim 11, further comprising:
a plurality of crew member-controlled mechanisms, wherein each crew member- controlled mechanism of the plurality of crew member-controlled mechanisms is coupled to a respective light source of the plurality of light sources and wherein the photochromatic material on each of the plurality of aircraft windows is exposed to the respective light source by a respective crew member-controlled mechanism directing the respective light source either towards or away from the photochromatic material on a respective aircraft window of the plurality of aircraft windows Para 0007: “dimmable window panel may be controlled by a passenger to change the amount of light entering passenger cabin”, and a crew member may also use the control (intended use); as modified, the control is the light source of Gross.
For claim 18, Apdalhaliem discloses the aircraft of claim 17, wherein the plurality of crew member-controlled mechanisms are at least one of an actuator or a motor whatever causes the light to operate is actuating that operation and therefore is an actuator.
For claim 19, Apdalhaliem discloses the aircraft of claim 17, further comprising:
a controller Fig. 2: controller 216, wherein the controller is configured to:
receive an input from a crew member of the aircraft Para 0007: “dimmable window panel may be controlled by a passenger” or crew-member; and
send a command to each of the plurality of crew member-controlled mechanisms causing the plurality of crew member-controlled mechanisms to direct a light of a respective light source of the plurality of light sources on the photochromatic material of a respective aircraft window of the plurality of aircraft windows Para 0068: “Controller 216 also may control changing dimmable window panel 210 between transparent state 224 and opaque state 226”, as modified by Gross the control is the light source.
For claim 20, Apdalhaliem discloses the aircraft of claim 11, further comprising:
a color filter or reflective coating coupled to an exterior of each of the plurality of aircraft windows Gross, Para 0038: “having two layers of reflecting coating 20 on its two faces”.
For claim 21, Apdalhaliem discloses a system for shading or unshading of an aircraft window, the system comprising:
the aircraft window Fig. 3;
a photochromatic material Para 0049: “dimmable window panel 210 may be implemented using a device selected from one of an electrochromic device, a photochromic device” coupled to the aircraft window.
Apdalhaliem does not explicitly state that there are light sources in the aircraft cabin.
However, Gross teaches a photochromic window 2 with a dedicated light source Fig. 5: 28,
wherein the light source is at least one of an aircraft passenger reading light coupled to a passenger service unit, a cabin light located within the cabin of the aircraft, or an edge light configured circumferentially around at least a portion of glass of the aircraft window 28 is an edge light at the circumference of the glass.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Apdalhaliem by using the photochromatic window, including a controlled dedicated light source for control of the photochromic layer, as disclosed by Gross. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to control the photochromic layer.
Apdalhaliem does not disclose whether the first state is transparent or opaque, stating that the window operates “in response to at least one of voltage, light, or heat applied to dimmable window panel”. It seems the window could be constructed with either one as the default and that light would effect change to the other state.
Sears teaches that it is known for either state to be the default Para 0013: “wherein a default orientation of a host material in the active liquid crystal layer is selected to be in a dark state or in a clear state”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Apdalhaliem by having the first state by opaque and the second be transparent as disclosed by Sears. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in cases where it was desired to have the window be opaque for more time, therefore saving energy.
For claim 22, Apdalhaliem discloses the system of claim 21, wherein the photochromatic material is exposed to the light source by a passenger directing the light source towards the photochromatic material Para 0007: “dimmable window panel may be controlled by a passenger to change the amount of light entering passenger cabin”, the light is directed toward the material when it is on; as modified, the control is the light source of Gross.
For claim 23, Apdalhaliem discloses the system of claim 21, further comprising:
a crew member-controlled mechanism, wherein the crew member-controlled mechanism is coupled to the light source, wherein the photochromatic material is exposed to the light source by the crew member-controlled mechanism directing the light source towards the photochromatic material Para 0007: “dimmable window panel may be controlled by a passenger to change the amount of light entering passenger cabin”, and a crew member may also use the control (intended use); as modified, the control is the light source of Gross, and wherein the crew member-controlled mechanism is at least one of an actuator or a motor whatever causes the light to operate is actuating that operation and therefore is an actuator.
For claim 24, Apdalhaliem discloses the system of claim 23, further comprising:
a controller Fig. 2: controller 216, wherein the controller is configured to:
receive an input from a crew member of the aircraft Para 0007: “dimmable window panel may be controlled by a passenger” or crew-member; and
send a command to the crew member-controlled mechanism causing the crew member-controlled mechanism to direct a light of the light source on the photochromatic material Para 0068: “Controller 216 also may control changing dimmable window panel 210 between transparent state 224 and opaque state 226”, as modified by Gross the control is the light source.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/COLIN ZOHOORI/Examiner, Art Unit 3642 /JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642