DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The filing dated 4/4/25 is entered. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kuo, US-20190347980.
In regards to claim 1, Kuo discloses a method comprising: receiving a pulse width value corresponding to a pulse for activating a pixel of a color channel for a frame (Fig. 6, 70 pixel with 72R, 72G, 72B color subpixels and channels; Par. 0080-0085 reading the image data, which includes a pulse width value, for a subpixel to determine emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, 124A-E; Fig. 8, 124A-E emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, are driven, i.e. activated, in an emission period range 122, i.e. frame); dividing the pulse into a plurality of sub-pulses (Fig. 6, 70 pixel with 72R, 72G, 72B color subpixels and channels; Par. 0080-0085 reading the image data, which includes a pulse width value, for a subpixel to determine emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, 124A-E; Fig. 8, 124A-E emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, are driven, i.e. activated, in an emission period range 122, i.e. frame); and activating the pixel for the frame based on the plurality of sub-pulses (Fig. 6, 70 pixel with 72R, 72G, 72B color subpixels and channels; Par. 0080-0085 reading the image data, which includes a pulse width value, for a subpixel to determine emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, 124A-E; Fig. 8, 124A-E emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, are driven, i.e. activated, in an emission period range 122, i.e. frame).
In regards to claim 10, Kuo discloses device (Par. 0004 electronic display) comprising: a pixel circuit corresponding to a color channel (Fig. 6, 70 pixel with 72R, 72G, 72B color subpixels and channels); a plurality of bit circuits coupled to the pixel circuit (Fig. 6, 54 timing controller and 62 column driver, i.e. bit circuits; Par. 0069 “The timing controller 54 transmits the image data 56 to the row driver 60 and/or the column driver 62 to program the memory of the pixel array 69 with digital data signals associated with the image data 56, where the digital data signals indicate the emission brightness/gray level for the pixels of the pixel array 69.”); and a control circuit (Fig. 8, 104 switch, 105 0-11 counter, 106 bit-plane clock, 108 reset, 78 register, 116 data clock for each sub-pixel) coupled to the plurality of bit circuits (Fig. 6, 54 timing controller and 62 column driver, i.e. bit circuits; Par. 0069 “The timing controller 54 transmits the image data 56 to the row driver 60 and/or the column driver 62 to program the memory of the pixel array 69 with digital data signals associated with the image data 56, where the digital data signals indicate the emission brightness/gray level for the pixels of the pixel array 69.”) and configured to: receive a pulse width value corresponding to a pulse for activating the pixel circuit for a frame (Fig. 6, 70 pixel with 72R, 72G, 72B color subpixels and channels; Par. 0080-0085 reading the image data, which includes a pulse width value, for a subpixel to determine emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, 124A-E; Fig. 8, 124A-E emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, are driven, i.e. activated, in an emission period range 122, i.e. frame); divide the pulse into a plurality of sub-pulses (Fig. 6, 70 pixel with 72R, 72G, 72B color subpixels and channels; Par. 0080-0085 reading the image data, which includes a pulse width value, for a subpixel to determine emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, 124A-E; Fig. 8, 124A-E emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, are driven, i.e. activated, in an emission period range 122, i.e. frame); and activate the pixel circuit for the frame based on the plurality of sub-pulses (Fig. 6, 70 pixel with 72R, 72G, 72B color subpixels and channels; Par. 0080-0085 reading the image data, which includes a pulse width value, for a subpixel to determine emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, 124A-E; Fig. 8, 124A-E emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, are driven, i.e. activated, in an emission period range 122, i.e. frame).
In regards to claim 19, Kuo discloses a device (Par. 0004 electronic display) comprising: a plurality of pixels (Fig. 6, 70 pixel with 72R, 72G, 72B color subpixels and channels); and a control circuit coupled to the plurality of pixels (Fig. 8, 104 switch, 105 0-11 counter, 106 bit-plane clock, 108 reset, 78 register, 116 data clock for each sub-pixel) and configured to, for each pixel: receive a pulse width value corresponding to a pulse for activating the pixel for a frame (Fig. 6, 70 pixel with 72R, 72G, 72B color subpixels and channels; Par. 0080-0085 reading the image data, which includes a pulse width value, for a subpixel to determine emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, 124A-E; Fig. 8, 124A-E emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, are driven, i.e. activated, in an emission period range 122, i.e. frame); divide the pulse into a plurality of sub-pulses (Fig. 6, 70 pixel with 72R, 72G, 72B color subpixels and channels; Par. 0080-0085 reading the image data, which includes a pulse width value, for a subpixel to determine emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, 124A-E; Fig. 8, 124A-E emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, are driven, i.e. activated, in an emission period range 122, i.e. frame); and activate the pixel for the frame based on the plurality of sub-pulses (Fig. 6, 70 pixel with 72R, 72G, 72B color subpixels and channels; Par. 0080-0085 reading the image data, which includes a pulse width value, for a subpixel to determine emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, 124A-E; Fig. 8, 124A-E emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, are driven, i.e. activated, in an emission period range 122, i.e. frame).
In regards to claim 2, Kuo discloses activating the pixel further comprises interleaving active periods corresponding to the plurality of sub-pulses with inactive periods (Fig. 6, 70 pixel with 72R, 72G, 72B color subpixels and channels; Par. 0080-0085 reading the image data, which includes a pulse width value, for a subpixel to determine emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, 124A-E; Fig. 8, 124A-E emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, are driven, i.e. activated, in an emission period range 122, i.e. frame, with inactive periods interleaved).
In regards to claim 11, Kuo discloses the control circuit is configured to interleave active periods corresponding to the plurality of sub-pulses with inactive periods (Fig. 6, 70 pixel with 72R, 72G, 72B color subpixels and channels; Par. 0080-0085 reading the image data, which includes a pulse width value, for a subpixel to determine emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, 124A-E; Fig. 8, 124A-E emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, are driven, i.e. activated, in an emission period range 122, i.e. frame, with inactive periods interleaved).
In regards to claim 3, Kuo discloses receiving a second pulse width value corresponding to a second pulse for activating a second pixel of a second color channel for the frame (Fig. 6, 70 pixel with 72R, 72G, 72B color subpixels and channels; Par. 0080-0085 reading the image data, which includes a pulse width value, for a subpixel to determine emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, 124A-E; Fig. 8, 124A-E emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, are driven, i.e. activated, in an emission period range 122, i.e. frame, with inactive periods interleaved; each color sub-pixel 72 is processed and driven independently to provide the correct emission for pixel 70); dividing the second pulse into a second plurality of sub-pulses (Fig. 6, 70 pixel with 72R, 72G, 72B color subpixels and channels; Par. 0080-0085 reading the image data, which includes a pulse width value, for a subpixel to determine emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, 124A-E; Fig. 8, 124A-E emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, are driven, i.e. activated, in an emission period range 122, i.e. frame, with inactive periods interleaved; each color sub-pixel 72 is processed and driven independently to provide the correct emission for pixel 70); and activating the second pixel for the frame based on the second plurality of sub-pulses (Fig. 6, 70 pixel with 72R, 72G, 72B color subpixels and channels; Par. 0080-0085 reading the image data, which includes a pulse width value, for a subpixel to determine emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, 124A-E; Fig. 8, 124A-E emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, are driven, i.e. activated, in an emission period range 122, i.e. frame, with inactive periods interleaved; each color sub-pixel 72 is processed and driven independently to provide the correct emission for pixel 70).
In regards to claim 12, Kuo discloses a second pixel circuit corresponding to a second color channel (Fig. 6, 70 pixel with 72R, 72G, 72B color subpixels and channels); wherein the control circuit is configured to: receive a second pulse width value corresponding to a second pulse for activating the second pixel circuit for the frame (Fig. 6, 70 pixel with 72R, 72G, 72B color subpixels and channels; Par. 0080-0085 reading the image data, which includes a pulse width value, for a subpixel to determine emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, 124A-E; Fig. 8, 124A-E emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, are driven, i.e. activated, in an emission period range 122, i.e. frame, with inactive periods interleaved; each color sub-pixel 72 is processed and driven independently to provide the correct emission for pixel 70); divide the second pulse into a second plurality of sub-pulses (Fig. 6, 70 pixel with 72R, 72G, 72B color subpixels and channels; Par. 0080-0085 reading the image data, which includes a pulse width value, for a subpixel to determine emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, 124A-E; Fig. 8, 124A-E emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, are driven, i.e. activated, in an emission period range 122, i.e. frame, with inactive periods interleaved; each color sub-pixel 72 is processed and driven independently to provide the correct emission for pixel 70); and activate the second pixel circuit for the frame based on the second plurality of sub-pulses (Fig. 6, 70 pixel with 72R, 72G, 72B color subpixels and channels; Par. 0080-0085 reading the image data, which includes a pulse width value, for a subpixel to determine emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, 124A-E; Fig. 8, 124A-E emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, are driven, i.e. activated, in an emission period range 122, i.e. frame, with inactive periods interleaved; each color sub-pixel 72 is processed and driven independently to provide the correct emission for pixel 70).
In regards to claim 4, Kuo discloses a ratio between the pulse and the second pulse is maintained for the plurality of sub-pulses and the second plurality of sub-pulses (Fig. 6, 70 pixel with 72R, 72G, 72B color subpixels and channels; Par. 0080-0085 reading the image data, which includes a pulse width value, for a subpixel to determine emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, 124A-E; Fig. 8, 124A-E emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, are driven, i.e. activated, in an emission period range 122, i.e. frame, with inactive periods interleaved; an emission period for each color sub-pixel 72 of the pixel 70 is the same and the data associated with the emission period is the same bit length).
In regards to claim 13, Kuo discloses a ratio between the pulse and the second pulse is maintained for the plurality of sub-pulses and the second plurality of sub-pulses (Fig. 6, 70 pixel with 72R, 72G, 72B color subpixels and channels; Par. 0080-0085 reading the image data, which includes a pulse width value, for a subpixel to determine emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, 124A-E; Fig. 8, 124A-E emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, are driven, i.e. activated, in an emission period range 122, i.e. frame, with inactive periods interleaved; an emission period for each color sub-pixel 72 of the pixel 70 is the same and the data associated with the emission period is the same bit length).
In regards to claim 5, Kuo discloses dividing the pulse into the plurality of sub-pulses is based on the ratio satisfying a ratio threshold (Fig. 6, 70 pixel with 72R, 72G, 72B color subpixels and channels; Par. 0080-0085 reading the image data, which includes a pulse width value, for a subpixel to determine emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, 124A-E; Fig. 8, 124A-E emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, are driven, i.e. activated, in an emission period range 122, i.e. frame, with inactive periods interleaved; an emission period for each color sub-pixel 72 of the pixel 70 is the same and the data associated with the emission period is the same bit length therefore the sub-pulses for each 72 sub-pixel correspond to a same bit length for the pulse and second pulse).
In regards to claim 14, Kuo discloses dividing the pulse into the plurality of sub-pulses is based on the ratio satisfying a ratio threshold (Fig. 6, 70 pixel with 72R, 72G, 72B color subpixels and channels; Par. 0080-0085 reading the image data, which includes a pulse width value, for a subpixel to determine emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, 124A-E; Fig. 8, 124A-E emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, are driven, i.e. activated, in an emission period range 122, i.e. frame, with inactive periods interleaved; an emission period for each color sub-pixel 72 of the pixel 70 is the same and the data associated with the emission period is the same bit length therefore the sub-pulses for each 72 sub-pixel correspond to a same bit length for the pulse and second pulse).
In regards to claim 6, Kuo discloses the pulse width value corresponds to a bit sequence representing decreasing numbers of cycles from a most significant bit (MSB) of the bit sequence to a least significant bit (LSB) of the bit sequence (Fig. 6, 70 pixel with 72R, 72G, 72B color subpixels and channels; Par. 0080-0085 reading the image data, which includes a pulse width value, for a subpixel to determine emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, 124A-E; Fig. 8, 124A-E emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, are driven, i.e. activated, in an emission period range 122, i.e. frame, with inactive periods interleaved; Par. 0084 pulse width of the image data is a bit sequence from MSB to LSB).
In regards to claim 15, Kuo discloses the pulse width value corresponds to a bit sequence representing decreasing numbers of cycles from a most significant bit (MSB) of the bit sequence to a least significant bit (LSB) of the bit sequence (Fig. 6, 70 pixel with 72R, 72G, 72B color subpixels and channels; Par. 0080-0085 reading the image data, which includes a pulse width value, for a subpixel to determine emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, 124A-E; Fig. 8, 124A-E emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, are driven, i.e. activated, in an emission period range 122, i.e. frame, with inactive periods interleaved; Par. 0084 pulse width of the image data is a bit sequence from MSB to LSB).
In regards to claim 7, Kuo discloses dividing the pulse into the plurality of sub-pulses includes interleaving cycles represented by different bit values (Fig. 6, 70 pixel with 72R, 72G, 72B color subpixels and channels; Par. 0080-0085 reading the image data, which includes a pulse width value, for a subpixel to determine emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, 124A-E; Fig. 8, 124A-E emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, are driven, i.e. activated, in an emission period range 122, i.e. frame, with inactive periods interleaved; Par. 0084 pulse width of the image data is a bit sequence from MSB to LSB and each bit of the bit sequence has an associate sub-pulse width that are toggled on and off based on the bit sequence).
In regards to claim 16, Kuo discloses dividing the pulse into the plurality of sub-pulses includes interleaving cycles represented by different bit values (Fig. 6, 70 pixel with 72R, 72G, 72B color subpixels and channels; Par. 0080-0085 reading the image data, which includes a pulse width value, for a subpixel to determine emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, 124A-E; Fig. 8, 124A-E emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, are driven, i.e. activated, in an emission period range 122, i.e. frame, with inactive periods interleaved; Par. 0084 pulse width of the image data is a bit sequence from MSB to LSB and each bit of the bit sequence has an associate sub-pulse width that are toggled on and off based on the bit sequence).
In regards to claim 8, Kuo discloses interleaving the cycles using a counter circuit (Par. 0080 “memory 78 may output the image data 98 to the switch 104, for example, bit by bit in order from least significant bit to most significant bit, according to a clocking signal generated by a combination of the counter 105 and the bit-plane clock 106”).
In regards to claim 17, Kuo discloses interleaving the cycles using a counter circuit (Par. 0080 “memory 78 may output the image data 98 to the switch 104, for example, bit by bit in order from least significant bit to most significant bit, according to a clocking signal generated by a combination of the counter 105 and the bit-plane clock 106”).
In regards to claim 9, Kuo discloses receiving, from a neighboring pixel, a second pulse width value before the frame ends (Fig. 6, 70 pixel with 72R, 72G, 72B color subpixels and channels; Par. 0080-0085 reading the image data, which includes a pulse width value, for a subpixel to determine emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, 124A-E; Fig. 8, 124A-E emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, are driven, i.e. activated, in an emission period range 122, i.e. frame, with inactive periods interleaved; each color sub-pixel 72 is processed and driven independently to provide the correct emission for pixel 70); sending, to a second neighboring pixel, the pulse width value; dividing the second pulse width value into a second plurality of sub-pulses (Fig. 6, 70 pixel with 72R, 72G, 72B color subpixels and channels; Par. 0080-0085 reading the image data, which includes a pulse width value, for a subpixel to determine emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, 124A-E; Fig. 8, 124A-E emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, are driven, i.e. activated, in an emission period range 122, i.e. frame, with inactive periods interleaved; each color sub-pixel 72 is processed and driven independently to provide the correct emission for pixel 70); and activating the pixel for a remainder of the frame based on the second plurality of sub-pulses (Fig. 6, 70 pixel with 72R, 72G, 72B color subpixels and channels; Par. 0080-0085 reading the image data, which includes a pulse width value, for a subpixel to determine emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, 124A-E; Fig. 8, 124A-E emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, are driven, i.e. activated, in an emission period range 122, i.e. frame, with inactive periods interleaved; each color sub-pixel 72 is processed and driven independently to provide the correct emission for pixel 70).
In regards to claim 18, Kuo discloses the control circuit is configured to: receive, from a neighboring pixel, a second pulse width value before the frame ends (Fig. 6, 70 pixel with 72R, 72G, 72B color subpixels and channels; Par. 0080-0085 reading the image data, which includes a pulse width value, for a subpixel to determine emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, 124A-E; Fig. 8, 124A-E emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, are driven, i.e. activated, in an emission period range 122, i.e. frame, with inactive periods interleaved; each color sub-pixel 72 is processed and driven independently to provide the correct emission for pixel 70); send, to a second neighboring pixel, the pulse width value; divide the second pulse width value into a second plurality of sub-pulses (Fig. 6, 70 pixel with 72R, 72G, 72B color subpixels and channels; Par. 0080-0085 reading the image data, which includes a pulse width value, for a subpixel to determine emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, 124A-E; Fig. 8, 124A-E emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, are driven, i.e. activated, in an emission period range 122, i.e. frame, with inactive periods interleaved; each color sub-pixel 72 is processed and driven independently to provide the correct emission for pixel 70); and activate the pixel for a remainder of the frame based on the second plurality of sub-pulses (Fig. 6, 70 pixel with 72R, 72G, 72B color subpixels and channels; Par. 0080-0085 reading the image data, which includes a pulse width value, for a subpixel to determine emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, 124A-E; Fig. 8, 124A-E emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, are driven, i.e. activated, in an emission period range 122, i.e. frame, with inactive periods interleaved; each color sub-pixel 72 is processed and driven independently to provide the correct emission for pixel 70).
In regards to claim 20, Kuo discloses the control circuit is configured to: send the pulse width value to a neighboring pixel before the frame ends (Fig. 6, 70 pixel with 72R, 72G, 72B color subpixels and channels; Par. 0080-0085 reading the image data, which includes a pulse width value, for a subpixel to determine emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, 124A-E; Fig. 8, 124A-E emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, are driven, i.e. activated, in an emission period range 122, i.e. frame, with inactive periods interleaved; each color sub-pixel 72 is processed and driven independently to provide the correct emission for pixel 70); divide the pulse width value into a second plurality of sub-pulses (Fig. 6, 70 pixel with 72R, 72G, 72B color subpixels and channels; Par. 0080-0085 reading the image data, which includes a pulse width value, for a subpixel to determine emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, 124A-E; Fig. 8, 124A-E emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, are driven, i.e. activated, in an emission period range 122, i.e. frame, with inactive periods interleaved; each color sub-pixel 72 is processed and driven independently to provide the correct emission for pixel 70); and activate the neighboring pixel for a remainder of the frame based on the second plurality of sub-pulses (Fig. 6, 70 pixel with 72R, 72G, 72B color subpixels and channels; Par. 0080-0085 reading the image data, which includes a pulse width value, for a subpixel to determine emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, 124A-E; Fig. 8, 124A-E emission periods, i.e. sub-pulses, are driven, i.e. activated, in an emission period range 122, i.e. frame, with inactive periods interleaved; each color sub-pixel 72 is processed and driven independently to provide the correct emission for pixel 70).
Conclusion
/CORY A ALMEIDA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628 4/10/2026