DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GRAVINA (US 10,8890,247).
Regarding claim 1, GRAVINA discloses a turbine engine comprising: a turbo-engine coupled to an input shaft (120); a fan (38) coupled to an output shaft (45); and a gearbox assembly (46), wherein a torque is transferrable from the input shaft to the output shaft through the gearbox assembly, the gearbox assembly comprising: a split sun gear (106) rotationally coupled to the input shaft, the split sun gear comprising a forward sun gear (114) and an aft sun gear (112) separate from the forward sun gear, wherein the forward sun gear and the aft sun gear are each rotationally coupled to the input shaft; a plurality of planet gears (122, 124) located radially outward of, and intermeshing with, the split sun gear; and a single piece ring gear (126) located radially outward of, and intermeshing with, the plurality of planet gears ; and a connection device for rotationally coupling the split sun gear (106) to the input shaft (120), the connection device comprising a forward support member ((A), see Figure 1 below), an aft support member (B) , and an input shaft coupling member (C), wherein the forward support member, the aft support member, and the input shaft coupling member are coupled together (via the bolt and nut) at the input shaft coupling member.
Figure 1: Simplified and annotated Fig. 2 of GRAVINA
Regarding claim 7, the combination of GRAVINA_247-GRAVINA_260 discloses the forward support member (A) extends between the input shaft (120) and the forward sun gear (114), the aft support member (B) extends between the input shaft (120) and the aft sun gear (112), and the input shaft coupling member (C) rotationally couples the forward sun gear and the aft sun gear to the input shaft.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of GRAVINA discloses each of the forward support member (A), the aft support member (B), and the input shaft coupling member (C) comprises a first portion and a second portion.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of GRAVINA discloses a fastening device (bolts and nut) extending through the first portion of each of the forward support member, the aft support member, and the input shaft coupling member to secure the forward sun gear and the aft sun gear in an axial direction with respect to the input shaft
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GRAVINA (US 10,8890,247) as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, and further in view of MOULY et al. (US 11,674,592).
Regarding claim 2, GRAVINA does not disclose the split sun gear as a double helical gear.
MOULY teaches a sun gear (11) that has helical teeth (col. 3, lines 4-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have the teeth of the sun gear of GRAVINA be helical, as taught by MOULY, as MOULY teaches the teeth of the reducer can be straight, helical, or herringbone (col. 3, lines 4-7).
Claim(s) 5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GRAVINA (US 10,8890,247) as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, and further in view of GRAVINA et al. (US 10,823,260).
Regarding claim 5, GRAVINA_247 discloses the aft support member (B) is rotationally coupled to the input shaft coupling member (C) but does not disclose it being a curvic connection.
GRAVINA_260 teaches a connection device comprising a forward support member (51c), an aft support member (74c), and an input shaft coupling member (32c) via a curvic connection (see col. 9, lines 42-47; and Figs. 9-10 of GRAVINA_260).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the connection device of GRAVINA_247 to have the details of GRAVINA_260 as they both are used to connect an input shaft to a split sun gear of a gear box assembly of a turbine engine. The design detailed in GRAVINA_260 allows for the transmission device to be manufactured and assembled simply, so as to reduce the errors in construction and assembly. (GRAVINA_260, col.1, lines 63-67).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of GRAVINA-GRAVINA_260 discloses the forward support member is rotationally coupled to the aft support member with a curvic connection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 9-14, and 17-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 4 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection required by the claim amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEREK D KNIGHT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655