CTNF 19/170,945 CTNF 75767 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/7/25 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 10, 13, and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 10, lines 7-12, the term “wherein the engaged portion includes: a first engaged portion disposed on one side in the longitudinal direction; and a second engaged portion disposed on the other side in the longitudinal direction” is a duplicate of the same term in lines 1-6 and should be deleted. Claim 13, lines 4-6, the term “wherein the engaged portion further includes a fourth engaged portion disposed on the other side in the second direction at a position different from a position of the second engaged portion” is a duplicate of the same term in lines 1-3 and should be deleted. Claim 16, lines 1-2, the term “wherein the second engagement portion has a restriction surface along the second direction and the third direction” is a duplicate of the same term in lines 3-4 and should be deleted . Appropriate correction is required. 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation 07-30-03 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. 07-30-05 The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. 07-30-06 This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: developing roller in claims 17 and 19, photosensitive drum in claims 18 and 20, storage portion in claim 20 . Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. If applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Hashimoto et al. (US 2020/0264535) . Regarding claim 1, Hashimoto discloses a container 31 for containing developer, the container comprising: a first frame body 52 (fig. 5) provided with an opening portion 54 (fig. 6), the first frame body having a first surface 53F (fig. 6) extending along an edge of the opening portion; a second frame body 42 (fig. 5) connected to the first frame body to cover the opening portion and forming a storage portion for storing developer together with the first frame body, the second frame body having a second surface (43F, fig. 6) facing the first surface and extending along a direction in which the first surface extends; and a connection member G (fig. 11) connecting the first frame body and the second frame body, wherein one of the first surface and the second surface is provided with a protruding portion 53T, an other of the first surface and the second surface is provided with a recessed portion 43U (par. 0035), wherein the protruding portion is inserted into the recessed portion so that a tip surface 53T of the protruding portion and a bottom surface 43U of the recessed portion are not in contact with each other (par. 0039, fig. 11), and wherein the connection member is provided between the protruding portion and the recessed portion so as to contact both the tip surface of the protruding portion and the bottom surface of the recessed portion (see fig. 11). Regarding claim 2, Hashimoto discloses wherein the first surface 53F faces the second surface 43F with a gap therebetween (par. 0037, fig. 11). Regarding claim 3, Hashimoto discloses wherein the first surface 53F annularly extends along the edge of the opening portion, and wherein the second surface 43F annularly extends along the first surface (fig. 11). Regarding claim 4, Hashimoto discloses wherein the first surface 53T includes a flat portion 53Tb and an inclined portion 53Tf at a position different from the flat portion in a direction along the edge, and wherein the inclined portion extends in a direction away from the flat portion with respect to a direction orthogonal to the flat portion toward the direction along the edge (see fig. 11). Regarding claim 5, Hashimoto discloses wherein the inclined portion includes a curved surface (see fig. 11). Regarding claim 6, Hashimoto discloses wherein the inclined portion includes a planar surface provided at a position different from the curved surface in the direction along the edge (see fig. 11). Regarding claim 7, Hashimoto discloses wherein the first frame body has a first abutting surface 53T (fig. 6) on an outer side of the first surface in a direction from an inside to an outside of the storage portion, wherein the second frame body has a second abutting surface 43U (fig. 6) on an outer side of the second surface in the direction from the inside to the outside of the storage portion, and wherein a position of the second frame body with respect to the first frame body is determined by abutting the first abutting surface and the second abutting surface (fig. 6). Regarding claim 8, Hashimoto discloses wherein the first abutting surface and the second abutting surface are surfaces extending in a longitudinal direction of the first frame body (fig. 6). Regarding claim 9, Hashimoto discloses wherein the first frame body includes an engagement portion 53Tf (fig. 8) in the vicinity of the first abutting surface, wherein the second frame body includes an engaged portion 43U (fig. 6) in the vicinity of the second abutting surface, and wherein the engagement portion and the engaged portion are engaged to restrict a relative movement of the first abutting surface and the second abutting surface in a direction intersecting the first abutting surface (par. 0049). Regarding claim 10, Hashimoto discloses wherein the engagement portion includes: a first engagement portion (see left 53Tf, fig. 8) disposed on one side in the longitudinal direction; and a second engagement portion (see right 53Tf, fig. 8) disposed on an other side in the longitudinal direction, wherein the first engagement portion and the first engaged portion are engaged to restrict a relative movement of the first frame body and the second frame body in the longitudinal direction and a direction orthogonal to the longitudinal direction and orthogonal to the first abutting surface, and wherein the second engagement portion and the second engaged portion are engaged to allow the relative movement in the longitudinal direction and the direction orthogonal to the longitudinal direction. Regarding claim 11, Hashimoto discloses wherein the engagement portion further includes a third engagement portion (middle 53Tf, fig. 8) disposed between the first engagement portion and the second engagement portion in the longitudinal direction, wherein the engaged portion further includes a third engaged portion disposed between the first engaged portion and the second engaged portion in the longitudinal direction, and wherein the third engagement portion and the third engaged portion are engaged to allow the relative movement in the longitudinal direction and the direction orthogonal to the longitudinal direction. Regarding claim 12, Hashimoto discloses wherein the direction orthogonal to the longitudinal direction includes a first direction along the first abutting surface and a third direction orthogonal to both the first direction and a second direction that is the longitudinal direction (fig. 6). Regarding claim 13, Hashimoto discloses wherein the engaged portion further includes a fourth engaged portion 53M2 (fig. 8) disposed on the other side in the second direction at a position different from a position of the second engaged portion, wherein the fourth engagement portion and the fourth engaged portion are engaged to allow the relative movement in the first direction, the second direction, and the third direction, and4wherein the fourth engagement portion includes an engaging force applying portion, and the fourth engaged portion includes an engaging force receiving portion that contacts the engaging force applying portion in the third direction and is slidable in the second direction. Regarding claim 14, Hashimoto discloses wherein the engaging force applying portion and the engaging force receiving portion are brought into a state of being engaged with each other in a case where at least one of the engagement portion and the engaged portion undergoes elastic deformation in a case where the first frame body and the second frame body are connected (par. 0047). Regarding claim 15, Hashimoto discloses wherein the elastic deformation is deformation in which the engaging force applying portion and the engaging force receiving portion relatively move in the first direction (par. 0048). Regarding claim 16, Hashimoto discloses wherein the second engaged portion includes a restricted surface along the second direction and the third direction and faces the restriction surface in the first direction, and wherein, in a case where the first frame body and the second frame body are connected, before at least one of the fourth engagement portion and the fourth engaged portion is elastically deformed, the restriction surface of the second engagement portion and the restricted surface of the second engaged portion face each other in the first direction (fig. 9). Regarding claims 17 and 19, Hashimoto discloses a developing roller 32 configured to bear developer, the developing roller being rotatably supported by the first frame body, wherein the relative movement is allowed in a direction that includes a direction along a rotation axis of the developing roller (par. 0031, fig. 1). Regarding claims 18 and 20, Hashimoto discloses a photosensitive drum 21 configured to bear a toner image, the photosensitive drum being rotatably supported by the first frame body, wherein the relative movement is allowed in a direction that includes a direction along a rotation axis of the photosensitive drum (par. 0025). Regarding claim 21, Hashimoto discloses wherein a Young's modulus of the connection member is lower than a Young's modulus of the first frame body and lower than a Young's modulus of the second frame body (stiffness of adhesive (connection member) should be lower than thermoplastic (frame body), par. 0031, 0039). Regarding claim 22, Hashimoto discloses wherein the first frame body and the second frame body are made of resin (i.e. injection molding, par. 0031). Regarding claim 23, Hashimoto discloses wherein the connection member is formed by curing a melted resin (par. 0039). Regarding claims 24-29, the claimed method steps are inherent from the product structure as discussed in claims 1-23 above. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Hoang Ngo whose telephone number is (571)272-2138. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:30 am - 4:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Stephanie Bloss can be reached at 571-272-3555. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /HOANG X NGO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852 Application/Control Number: 19/170,945 Page 2 Art Unit: 2852