DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Claims 14-20 in the reply filed on 04 August 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 1-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 27 August 2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 14-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0207158 to Barbieri et al., effectively filed 26 May 2020, (“Barbieri”) in view of US 2019/0389727 to Perkins et al. (“Perkins”).
With regard to Claims 14 and 20, Barbieri teaches a method of making a composite wire material comprising annealing a core wire comprising nickel, and coating layers of graphene thereon (see Abstract; ¶¶ [0020]-[0024], [0032]). Barbieri does not teach the claimed annealing conditions and temperatures. Perkins is similarly directed to production of composite wire material comprising carbon layers including graphene thereon, and teaches annealing under a hydrogen and argon atmosphere prior to carbon layer deposition in order to minimize residual oxygen and reduce crystallographic defects (see Abstract; ¶¶ [0037], [0048]-[0053], [0063]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have employed the claimed annealing conditions and temperatures in the method of Barbieri in order to minimize residual oxygen and reduce crystallographic defects as taught by Perkins.
With regard to Claims 15 and 18, Perkins teaches annealing for a duration of 5 minutes (see Example 1, ¶¶ [0091], [0096]) and that gas flow rates are adjustable in order to achieve optimal/desirable reduction and/or metal sublimation rates (see ¶ [0054]). To the extent the reference does not expressly teach the claimed gas flow rates, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have employed the claimed gas flow rates throughout the course of routine experimentation and optimization in pursuit of desired reduction and/or sublimation rates.
With regard to Claim 16, Perkins teaches vapor deposition of benzene for graphene formation and temperatures within the claimed range (see ¶¶ [0049], [0051]). Perkins also teaches pausing and resuming production via control systems (see ¶ [0056]) and that gas flow rates are adjustable in order to achieve optimal/desirable deposition rates (see ¶ [0054]). To the extent the reference does not expressly teach the claimed gas flow rates and duration, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have employed the claimed gas flow rates and duration throughout the course of routine experimentation and optimization in pursuit of desired deposition rates.
With regard to Claim 17, Perkins teaches exposing the wire substrate under a flowing mixture of hydrogen and argon gas (see Example 1; ¶¶ [0091], [0096]). Perkins also teaches pausing and resuming production via control systems (see ¶ [0056]). The reference does not expressly teach the claimed duration; however it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have held wire substrates in a ready state such as that taught by Perkins for any duration prior to annealing and coating operations in order to meet fluctuating production demands.
2. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barbieri in view of Perkins as applied to Claim 18, and further in view of US 2011/0195207 to Hong et al. (“Hong”).
With regard to Claim 19, Barbieri and Perkins do not expressly teach vacuum environments as claimed. To the extent that vacuum annealing and/or coating operations are not implicitly obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in order to avoid impurities, Hong is similarly directed to producing graphene-coated wire via vapor deposition of benzene, and teaches conducting operations under vacuum (see Abstract; ¶¶ [0043], [0075], [0077]-[0078], [0110]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have conducted operations in the method of Barbieri in view of Perkins under vacuum with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/Michael P. Rodriguez/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712