DETAILED ACTION
This action is in reply to the Amendments filed on 07/23/2026.
Claims 1 and 13 are cancelled.
Claims 2-12 and 14-16 are rejected.
Claims 2-12 and 14-16 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment, filed 07/23/2026, has been entered. Claims 2, 5, 9, and 14-16 have been amended.
Priority
The current Application is a CON of US Patent No. 11,263,617 filed 12/04/2015. Therefore, the instant claims receive the effective filing date of 12/04/2015.
As stated in the prior Office Action regarding Double Patenting:
Regarding US Patent No. 11,263,617, there is no double patenting as US Patent No. 11,263,617 and the current claims are distinct inventions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 2-12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Under Step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test for Products and Processes, the claims must be directed to one of the four statutory categories (see MPEP 2106.03). All the claims are directed to one of the four statutory categories (YES).
Under Step 2A of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test, it is determined whether the claims are directed to a judicially recognized exception (see MPEP 2106.04). Step 2A is a two-prong inquiry.
Under Prong 1, it is determined whether the claim recites a judicial exception (YES). Taking Claim 2 as representative, the claim recites limitations that fall within the certain methods of organizing human activity groupings of abstract ideas, including:
-a display;
-one or more processors; and
-a computer-readable medium including an application and instructions configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the instructions for:
-receiving first graphical user interface content data for a first merchant associated with a first location;
-in response to receiving the first graphical user interface content data, obtaining, based on at least a portion of the first graphical user interface content data, a first graphical user interface template;
-receiving a first wireless beacon message from a first wireless beacon located at the first location near the device, including identification data for the first location;
-in response to receiving the first wireless beacon message, presenting a first graphical user interface object for invoking the application;
-detecting selection of the first graphical user interface object;
-in response to detecting selection of the first graphical user interface object, displaying, via the application, a first graphical user interface that includes at least a portion of the first graphical user interface content data, that is based on the first graphical user interface template, and that is generated by the application, wherein:
-in accordance with a determination that the first graphical user interface template is a first template type, the first graphical user interface [displaying] includes first content from the first graphical user interface content data that is arranged according to a first layout; and
-in accordance with a determination that the first graphical user interface template is a second template type, different from the first template type, the first graphical user interface [displaying] includes second content from the first graphical user interface content data that is arranged according to a second layout, different from the first layout;
-receiving second graphical user interface content data for a second merchant associated with a second location, wherein the second location is different from the first location;
-in response to receiving the second graphical user interface content data, obtaining, based on at least a portion of the second graphical user interface content data, a second graphical user interface template;
-receiving a second wireless beacon message from a second wireless beacon located at the second location near the device, including identification data for the second location;
-in response to receiving the second wireless beacon message, presenting a second graphical user interface object for invoking the application;
-detecting selection of the second graphical user interface object; and
-in response to detecting selection of the second graphical user interface object, displaying, via the application, a second graphical user interface that includes at least a portion of the second graphical user interface content data, that is based on the second graphical user interface template, and that is generated by the application, wherein:
-in accordance with a determination that the second graphical user interface template is a third template type, the second graphical user interface [displaying] includes first content from the second graphical user interface content data that is arranged according to a third layout; and
-in accordance with a determination that the second graphical user interface template is a fourth template type, different from the third template type, the second graphical user interface [displaying] includes second content from the second graphical user interface content data that is arranged according to a fourth layout, different from the third layout
The above limitations recite the concept of presenting merchant information based on template types. The above limitations fall within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” groupings of abstract ideas, enumerated in MPEP 2106.04(a).
Certain methods of organizing human activity include:
fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, and mitigating risk)
commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; and business relations)
managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions)
The limitations of receiving first graphical user interface content data for a first merchant associated with a first location; in response to receiving the first graphical user interface content data, obtaining, based on at least a portion of the first graphical user interface content data, a first graphical user interface template; receiving a first wireless beacon message from a first wireless beacon located at the first location near the device, including identification data for the first location; in response to receiving the first wireless beacon message, presenting a first graphical user interface object for invoking the application; detecting selection of the first graphical user interface object; in response to detecting selection of the first graphical user interface object, displaying, via the application, a first graphical user interface that includes at least a portion of the first graphical user interface content data, that is based on the first graphical user interface template, and that is generated by the application, wherein: in accordance with a determination that the first graphical user interface template is a first template type, the first graphical user interface [displaying] includes first content from the first graphical user interface content data that is arranged according to a first layout; and in accordance with a determination that the first graphical user interface template is a second template type, different from the first template type, the first graphical user interface [displaying] includes second content from the first graphical user interface content data that is arranged according to a second layout, different from the first layout; receiving second graphical user interface content data for a second merchant associated with a second location, wherein the second location is different from the first location; in response to receiving the second graphical user interface content data, obtaining, based on at least a portion of the second graphical user interface content data, a second graphical user interface template; receiving a second wireless beacon message from a second wireless beacon located at the second location near the device, including identification data for the second location; in response to receiving the second wireless beacon message, presenting a second graphical user interface object for invoking the application; detecting selection of the second graphical user interface object; and in response to detecting selection of the second graphical user interface object, displaying, via the application, a second graphical user interface that includes at least a portion of the second graphical user interface content data, that is based on the second graphical user interface template, and that is generated by the application, wherein: in accordance with a determination that the second graphical user interface template is a third template type, the second graphical user interface [displaying] includes first content from the second graphical user interface content data that is arranged according to a third layout; and in accordance with a determination that the second graphical user interface template is a fourth template type, different from the third template type, the second graphical user interface [displaying] includes second content from the second graphical user interface content data that is arranged according to a fourth layout, different from the third layout are processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover a commercial interaction. That is, other than reciting that the first content data is first graphical user interface content data, that the first template is a first graphical user interface template, that the first message is a wireless beacon message, that the receiving is from a first wireless beacon located at the first location near the device, that the first object is a first graphical user interface object for invoking the application, that the displaying is of a first graphical user interface via the application, that the content data is generated by the application, that the displaying is of a first graphical user interface, that the second content data is second graphical user interface content data, that the second template is a second graphical user interface template, the second message is a wireless beacon message, that the receiving is from a second wireless beacon located at the second location near the device, that the second object is a second graphical user interface object for invoking the application, that the displaying is of a second graphical user interface via the application, that the content data is generated by the application, and that the displaying is of a second graphical user interface, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed by people. For example, but for the “first graphical user interface content data,” “first graphical user interface template,” “a first wireless beacon message,” “a first wireless beacon,” “the device,” “a first graphical user interface object,” “invoking the application,” “the application,” “first graphical user interface,” “second graphical user interface content data,” “second graphical user interface template,” “a second wireless beacon message,” “a second wireless beacon,” “a second graphical user interface object,” and “second graphical user interface” language, “receiving,” “obtaining,” “receiving,” “presenting,” “detecting,” “displaying,” “a determination,” “a determination,” “receiving,” “obtaining,” “receiving,” “presenting,” “detecting,” “displaying,” “a determination,” and “a determination,” in the context of this claim encompasses advertising, and marketing or sales activities.
Under Prong 2, it is determined whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (NO).
-a display;
-one or more processors; and
-a computer-readable medium including an application and instructions configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the instructions for:
-receiving first graphical user interface content data for a first merchant associated with a first location;
-in response to receiving the first graphical user interface content data, obtaining, based on at least a portion of the first graphical user interface content data, a first graphical user interface template;
-receiving a first wireless beacon message from a first wireless beacon located at the first location near the device, including identification data for the first location;
-in response to receiving the first wireless beacon message, presenting a first graphical user interface object for invoking the application;
-detecting selection of the first graphical user interface object;
-in response to detecting selection of the first graphical user interface object, displaying, via the application, a first graphical user interface that includes at least a portion of the first graphical user interface content data, that is based on the first graphical user interface template, and that is generated by the application, wherein:
-in accordance with a determination that the first graphical user interface template is a first template type, the first graphical user interface includes first content from the first graphical user interface content data that is arranged according to a first layout; and
-in accordance with a determination that the first graphical user interface template is a second template type, different from the first template type, the first graphical user interface includes second content from the first graphical user interface content data that is arranged according to a second layout, different from the first layout;
-receiving second graphical user interface content data for a second merchant associated with a second location, wherein the second location is different from the first location;
-in response to receiving the second graphical user interface content data, obtaining, based on at least a portion of the second graphical user interface content data, a second graphical user interface template;
-receiving a second wireless beacon message from a second wireless beacon located at the second location near the device, including identification data for the second location;
-in response to receiving the second wireless beacon message, presenting a second graphical user interface object for invoking the application;
-detecting selection of the second graphical user interface object; and
-in response to detecting selection of the second graphical user interface object, displaying, via the application, a second graphical user interface that includes at least a portion of the second graphical user interface content data, that is based on the second graphical user interface template, and that is generated by the application, wherein:
-in accordance with a determination that the second graphical user interface template is a third template type, the second graphical user interface includes first content from the second graphical user interface content data that is arranged according to a third layout; and
-in accordance with a determination that the second graphical user interface template is a fourth template type, different from the third template type, the second graphical user interface includes second content from the second graphical user interface content data that is arranged according to a fourth layout, different from the third layout
The additional elements of claim 2 are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as generic computing hardware) such that they amount to nothing more than mere instructions to implement or apply the abstract idea on a generic computing hardware (or, merely use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea) as supported by paragraph [0078] of Applicant’s specification – “The computing device 1300 can include a memory interface 1302, one or more data processors, image processors and/or central processing units 1304.” Specifically, the additional elements of a device, a display, one or more processors, a computer-readable medium including instructions configured to be executed by the one or more processors, first graphical user interface content data, a first graphical user interface template, a first wireless beacon message, a first wireless beacon, the device, a first graphical user interface object, invoking the application, the application, a first graphical user interface, second graphical user interface content data, a second graphical user interface template, a second wireless beacon message, a second wireless beacon, a second graphical user interface object, and a second graphical user interface are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e. as a generic processor performing the generic computer functions of receiving data, obtaining data, presenting data, detecting data, displaying data, and determining data) such that they amount do no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea. Further, the additional elements do no more than generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (such as computers or computing networks). Employing well-known computer functions to execute an abstract idea, even when limiting the use of the idea to one particular environment, does not integrate the exception into a practical application.
Additionally, the additional elements are insufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the claim fails to i) reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, ii) apply the judicial exception with, or use the judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, iii) effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or iv) apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
Accordingly, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Under Step 2B, it is determined whether the claims recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claims of the present application do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (NO).
In the case of claim 2, taken individually or as a whole, the additional elements of claim 2 do not provide an inventive concept. As discussed above under step 2A (prong 2) with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements used to perform the claimed functions amount to no more than a general link to a technological environment.
Even considered as an ordered combination (as a whole), the additional elements do not add anything significantly more than when considered individually.
Claim 15 is a non-transitory computer-readable medium reciting similar functions as claim 2. Examiner notes that claim 15 recites the additional elements of a non-transitory computer-readable medium, one or more processors, a device, a display, first graphical user interface content data, a first graphical user interface template, a first wireless beacon message, a first wireless beacon, the device, a first graphical user interface object, invoking the application, the application, a first graphical user interface, second graphical user interface content data, a second graphical user interface template, a second wireless beacon message, a second wireless beacon, a second graphical user interface object, and a second graphical user interface, however, claim 15 does not qualify as eligible subject matter for similar reasons as claim 2 indicated above.
Claim 16 is a method reciting similar functions as claim 2. Examiner notes that claim 16 recites the additional elements of a device, a display, first graphical user interface content data, a first graphical user interface template, a first wireless beacon message, a first wireless beacon, the device, a first graphical user interface object, invoking the application, the application, a first graphical user interface, second graphical user interface content data, a second graphical user interface template, a second wireless beacon message, a second wireless beacon, a second graphical user interface object, and a second graphical user interface, however, claim 16 does not qualify as eligible subject matter for similar reasons as claim 2 indicated above.
Therefore, claims 2, 15, and 16 do not provide an inventive concept and do not qualify as eligible subject matter.
Dependent claims 3-12 and 14, when analyzed as a whole, are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because they do not add “significantly more” to the abstract idea. More specifically, dependent claims 3-12 and 14 further fall within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas in that they recite commercial interactions. Dependent claims 3-4, 8, and 11 do not recite any farther additional elements, and as such are not indicative of integration into a practical application for at least similar reasons discussed above. Dependent claims 5-7, 9-10, 12, and 14 recite the additional elements of the first graphical user interface content data, the second graphical user interface content data, the first graphical user interface template, the second graphical user interface template, the first graphical user interface, the second graphical user interface, the computer-readable medium, a graphical element, a first wireless beacon message, the device, and a second wireless beacon message, but similar to the analysis under prong two of Step 2A these additional elements are used as a tool to perform the abstract idea. As such, under prong two of Step 2A, claims 3-12 and 14 are not indicative of integration into a practical application for at least similar reasons as discussed above. Thus, dependent claims 3-12 and 14 are “directed to” an abstract idea. Next, under Step 2B, similar to the analysis of claims 2, 15, and 16, dependent claims 3-12 and 14 when analyzed individually and as an ordered combination, merely further define the commonplace business method (i.e. presenting merchant information based on template types) being applied on a general-purpose computer and, therefore, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Accordingly, the Examiner concludes that there are no meaningful limitations in the claims that transform the judicial exception into a patent eligible application such that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. The analysis above applies to all statutory categories of invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-11 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silveira et al. (US 2015/0006333 A1), hereinafter Silveira, in view of Nichols et al. (US 2015/0066746 A1), hereinafter Nichols.
Regarding claim 2, Silveira discloses a device, comprising:
-a display (Silveira, see at least: “a standalone program may be delivered to and installed on a personal computing device [i.e. a device, comprising:], such as the user's desktop computer or mobile device, and the standalone program may be configured to cause the personal computing device to perform the creation algorithms” [0031] and “the user may access the web server 100 through a user interface 200, which may be a web-based interface [i.e. a display] that the user accesses using a browser on the owner's device 105” [0051]);
-one or more processors (Silveira, see at least: “some embodiments may be implemented in a procedural programming language (e.g., "C"), or in an object oriented programming language (e.g., "C++"). Other embodiments of the invention may be implemented as preprogrammed hardware elements (e.g., application specific integrated circuits, FPGAs, and digital signal processors) [i.e. one or more processors], or other related components” [0132]); and
-a computer-readable medium including an application and instructions configured to be executed by the one or more processors (Silveira, see at least: “the disclosed apparatus and methods (e.g., see the various flow charts described above) may be implemented as a computer program product for use with a computer system. Such implementation may include a series of computer instructions fixed either on a tangible medium, such as a computer readable medium (e.g., a diskette, CD-ROM, ROM, or fixed disk) or transmittable to a computer system, via a modem or other interface device, such as a communications adapter connected to a network over a medium [i.e. a computer-readable medium including instructions configured to be executed by the one or more processors]” [0133] and “the web server 100 may generate the online store in the form of one or more web pages laid out according to an online store template stored, identified, and retrieved as described above with respect to other web page templates. The online store template may include API or function calls, software modules, and other web applications [i.e. including an application] as needed to implement secure purchasing of products listed in the online store” [0111]), the instructions for:
-receiving first graphical user interface content data for a first merchant associated with a first location (Silveira, see at least: “the user may access the web server 100 through a user interface 200, which may be a web-based interface that the user accesses using a browser on the owner's device 105. The user interface 200 may include an input form in which the user enters a seed input. The web server 100 may use the seed input to perform the information retrieval and website generation algorithms described below. The seed input may be a data element that partially or fully identifies the user's business (that is, the entity requesting the creation of the website) [i.e. receiving first graphical user interface content data for a first merchant]. The seed input may be one or more keywords including one or a combination of the following, for example and without limitation: part or all of the business name; part or all of the business address [i.e. associated with a first location]; the type of business, at a desired degree of specificity (i.e. "restaurant," "Indian restaurant," "North Indian restaurant," "vegan North Indian restaurant," etc.); part or all of the name of a person associated with the business, such as the owner or executive chef; part or all of the name of a relevant product produced or sold by the business; and any other text that may be used to identify the business” [0051]);
-in response to receiving the first graphical user interface content data, obtaining, based on at least a portion of the first graphical user interface content data, a first graphical user interface template (Silveira, see at least: “the web server 100 may perform text and context analysis of an image or one or more frames of a video provided as seed input [i.e. in response to receiving the first graphical user interface content data], in order to extract one or more keywords that may be used to perform identification or content searches as described below” [0052] and “the web server 100 may automatically categorize the identified entity, which is used for performing certain aspects of the generation of the website as described below with respect to step 330” [0062] and “ At step 330, the web server 100 may generate a sample website having a layout and the potential content arranged within the layout. The layout may be derived from a website template stored in the content framework, or stored in a template database and identified by the content framework. The content framework or template database may include a plurality of templates. A template may include one or more web pages and one or more content regions on each of the web pages. Each content region may describe a position and area on a web page. Each content region may identify the potential content, such as an image, text, or one or more content objects, that is to be inserted into the content region. The web server 100 thereby may generate a website that displays the inserted content at the content region's location on the web page. The arrangement of content regions and selection of content to be displayed therein may be designed according to one or more categories associated with the template. Specifically, where the web server 100 has identified the potential content in light of the entity's categories, the one or more templates associated with the relevant categories include web pages [i.e. obtaining, based on at least a portion of the first graphical user interface content data, a first graphical user interface template] and frames that arrange and present the appropriate potential content” [0069]);
-displaying, via the application, a first graphical user interface that includes at least a portion of the first graphical user interface content data, that is based on the first graphical user interface template, and that is generated by the application (Silveira, see at least: “FIG. 7 illustrates an example template 700 for a sample website in the restaurant category [i.e. displaying a first graphical user interface]. The template 700 includes page layouts 705-720 for a plurality of web pages that commonly appear on a restaurant website: a "home" page layout 705 for displaying basic information; a "menu" page layout 710 for displaying the menu; an "about" page layout 715 for displaying restaurant background, such as history of the restaurant or biographies of the owners or chef; and a "contact" page layout 720 for displaying addresses, phone numbers, driving directions, email feedback forms, and the like [i.e. that includes at least a portion of the first graphical user interface content data]. Each page layout 705-720 includes one or more content regions 725-775 for receiving and displaying one or more content objects and, optionally, additional content. Each content region 725-775 may be associated with a particular type of content or data (for example, as identified by the parameters of the content framework) [i.e. and that is based on the first graphical user interface template] in the potential content. To the extent particular data stores or data sources are likely to contain suitable data or content for a particular content region (e.g., a data store that includes only text may not be a suitable data source for content to populate a content region that calls for an image)” [0070] and “The seed input may be an image or video depicting, for example and without limitation: a part of the business, such as the storefront, interior, signage, or menu; trade dress, such as employee uniforms, vehicle decoration, and the like; one or more of the user's products or works of art; a person associated with the business, such as the owner or executive chef; and any other images that may be used to identify the business [i.e. that includes at least a portion of the first graphical user interface content data]. The seed input may be an audio recording, such as a dictation of identifying information that may be converted into text, a musical or spoken word performance that identifies an artist associated with the business, or another audio recording that conveys identifying information about the business” [0051] and “the web server 100 may generate the online store in the form of one or more web pages laid out according to an online store template stored, identified, and retrieved as described above with respect to other web page templates. The online store template may include API or function calls, software modules, and other web applications [i.e. displaying, via the application, a first graphical user interface that is generated by the application] as needed to implement secure purchasing of products listed in the online store” [0111] and Figs. 7 and 8A), wherein:
-in accordance with a determination that the first graphical user interface template is a first template type, the first graphical user interface includes first content from the first graphical user interface content data that is arranged according to a first layout (Silveira, see at least: “The content framework may include parameters that apply to all categories, parameters that apply to a subset of categories, parameters that apply to a single category including or excluding its subcategories, and parameters that apply only to one or more subcategories. Non-limiting examples of parameters that apply to all categories include entity name, address, phone number, and email address. Non-limiting examples of parameters that apply to a subset of categories include business hours, customer reviews or testimonials, social media mentions, brand-relevant images, promotions, locations, service lists, and price lists [i.e. the first graphical user interface includes first content from the first graphical user interface content data that is arranged according to a first layout]. Non-limiting examples of parameters that apply to a single category or sub-category include menus (to restaurants, including bars), images of hair cuts (to hair salons), and the like [i.e. in accordance with a determination that the first graphical user interface template is a first template type]” [0067] and “the web server 100 may generate a sample website having a layout and the potential content arranged within the layout. The layout may be derived from a website template stored in the content framework [i.e. in accordance with a determination that the first graphical user interface template is a first template type], or stored in a template database and identified by the content framework. The content framework or template database may include a plurality of templates … The arrangement of content regions and selection of content to be displayed therein may be designed according to one or more categories associated with the template [i.e. the first graphical user interface includes first content from the first graphical user interface content data that is arranged according to a first layout]” [0069]); and
-in accordance with a determination that the first graphical user interface template is a second template type, different from the first template type, the first graphical user interface includes second content from the first graphical user interface content data that is arranged according to a second layout, different from the first layout (Silveira, see at least: “The content framework may include parameters that apply to all categories, parameters that apply to a subset of categories, parameters that apply to a single category including or excluding its subcategories, and parameters that apply only to one or more subcategories. Non-limiting examples of parameters that apply to all categories include entity name, address, phone number, and email address. Non-limiting examples of parameters that apply to a subset of categories include business hours, customer reviews or testimonials, social media mentions, brand-relevant images, promotions, locations, service lists, and price lists [i.e. the first graphical user interface includes second content from the first graphical user interface content data that is arranged according to a second layout, different from the first layout]. Non-limiting examples of parameters that apply to a single category or sub-category include menus (to restaurants, including bars), images of hair cuts (to hair salons), and the like [i.e. in accordance with a determination that the first graphical user interface template is a second template type, different from the first template type]” [0067] and “the web server 100 may generate a sample website having a layout and the potential content arranged within the layout. The layout may be derived from a website template stored in the content framework, or stored in a template database and identified by the content framework. The content framework or template database may include a plurality of templates … The arrangement of content regions and selection of content to be displayed therein may be designed according to one or more categories associated with the template [i.e. the first graphical user interface includes second content from the first graphical user interface content data that is arranged according to a second layout, different from the first layout]” [0069]);
-receiving second graphical user interface content data for a second merchant associated with a second location, wherein the second location is different from the first location (Silveira, see at least: “the user may access the web server 100 through a user interface 200, which may be a web-based interface that the user accesses using a browser on the owner's device 105. The user interface 200 may include an input form in which the user enters a seed input. The web server 100 may use the seed input to perform the information retrieval and website generation algorithms described below. The seed input may be a data element that partially or fully identifies the user's business (that is, the entity requesting the creation of the website) [i.e. receiving second graphical user interface content data for a second merchant]. The seed input may be one or more keywords including one or a combination of the following, for example and without limitation: part or all of the business name; part or all of the business address [i.e. a second merchant associated with a second location]; the type of business, at a desired degree of specificity (i.e. "restaurant," "Indian restaurant," "North Indian restaurant," "vegan North Indian restaurant," etc.); part or all of the name of a person associated with the business, such as the owner or executive chef; part or all of the name of a relevant product produced or sold by the business; and any other text that may be used to identify the business” [0051] and “Non-limiting examples of parameters that apply to a single category or sub-category include menus (to restaurants, including bars), images of hair cuts (to hair salons), and the like [i.e. a second merchant]” [0067] and “In the example user interface 200 of FIG. 5, the user entered "thai house" as the seed input, and the web server 100 identified three candidate entities called Thai House but having different locations in the Metropolitan Phoenix, Ariz., area [i.e. wherein the second location is different from the first location]” [0059]);
-in response to receiving the second graphical user interface content data, obtaining, based on at least a portion of the second graphical user interface content data, a second graphical user interface template (Silveira, see at least: “the web server 100 may perform text and context analysis of an image or one or more frames of a video provided as seed input [i.e. in response to receiving the second graphical user interface content data], in order to extract one or more keywords that may be used to perform identification or content searches as described below” [0052] and “the web server 100 may automatically categorize the identified entity, which is used for performing certain aspects of the generation of the website as described below with respect to step 330” [0062] and “At step 330, the web server 100 may generate a sample website having a layout and the potential content arranged within the layout. The layout may be derived from a website template stored in the content framework, or stored in a template database and identified by the content framework. The content framework or template database may include a plurality of templates. A template may include one or more web pages and one or more content regions on each of the web pages. Each content region may describe a position and area on a web page. Each content region may identify the potential content, such as an image, text, or one or more content objects, that is to be inserted into the content region. The web server 100 thereby may generate a website that displays the inserted content at the content region's location on the web page. The arrangement of content regions and selection of content to be displayed therein may be designed according to one or more categories associated with the template. Specifically, where the web server 100 has identified the potential content in light of the entity's categories, the one or more templates associated with the relevant categories include web pages [i.e. obtaining, based on at least a portion of the second graphical user interface content data, a second graphical user interface template] and frames that arrange and present the appropriate potential content” [0069]);
-displaying, via the application, a second graphical user interface that includes at least a portion of the second graphical user interface content data, that is based on the second graphical user interface template, and that is generated by the application (Silveira, see at least: “FIG. 7 illustrates an example template 700 for a sample website in the restaurant category [i.e. displaying a second graphical user interface]. The template 700 includes page layouts 705-720 for a plurality of web pages that commonly appear on a restaurant website: a "home" page layout 705 for displaying basic information; a "menu" page layout 710 for displaying the menu; an "about" page layout 715 for displaying restaurant background, such as history of the restaurant or biographies of the owners or chef; and a "contact" page layout 720 for displaying addresses, phone numbers, driving directions, email feedback forms, and the like [i.e. that includes at least a portion of the second graphical user interface content data]. Each page layout 705-720 includes one or more content regions 725-775 for receiving and displaying one or more content objects and, optionally, additional content. Each content region 725-775 may be associated with a particular type of content or data (for example, as identified by the parameters of the content framework) [i.e. and that is based on the second graphical user interface template] in the potential content. To the extent particular data stores or data sources are likely to contain suitable data or content for a particular content region (e.g., a data store that includes only text may not be a suitable data source for content to populate a content region that calls for an image)” [0070] and “The seed input may be an image or video depicting, for example and without limitation: a part of the business, such as the storefront, interior, signage, or menu; trade dress, such as employee uniforms, vehicle decoration, and the like; one or more of the user's products or works of art; a person associated with the business, such as the owner or executive chef; and any other images that may be used to identify the business [i.e. that includes at least a portion of the second graphical user interface content data]. The seed input may be an audio recording, such as a dictation of identifying information that may be converted into text, a musical or spoken word performance that identifies an artist associated with the business, or another audio recording that conveys identifying information about the business” [0051] and “Non-limiting examples of parameters that apply to a single category or sub-category include menus (to restaurants, including bars), images of hair cuts (to hair salons), and the like [i.e. second]” [0067] and “the web server 100 may generate the online store in the form of one or more web pages laid out according to an online store template stored, identified, and retrieved as described above with respect to other web page templates. The online store template may include API or function calls, software modules, and other web applications [i.e. displaying, via the application, a second graphical user interface that is generated by the application] as needed to implement secure purchasing of products listed in the online store” [0111] and Figs. 7 and 8A), wherein:
-in accordance with a determination that the second graphical user interface template is a third template type, the second graphical user interface includes first content from the second graphical user interface content data that is arranged according to a third layout (Silveira, see at least: “The content framework may include parameters that apply to all categories, parameters that apply to a subset of categories, parameters that apply to a single category including or excluding its subcategories, and parameters that apply only to one or more subcategories. Non-limiting examples of parameters that apply to all categories include entity name, address, phone number, and email address. Non-limiting examples of parameters that apply to a subset of categories include business hours, customer reviews or testimonials, social media mentions, brand-relevant images, promotions, locations, service lists, and price lists [i.e. the second graphical user interface includes first content from the second graphical user interface content data that is arranged according to a third layout]. Non-limiting examples of parameters that apply to a single category or sub-category include menus (to restaurants, including bars), images of hair cuts (to hair salons), and the like [i.e. in accordance with a determination that the second graphical user interface template is a third template type]” [0067] and “the web server 100 may generate a sample website having a layout and the potential content arranged within the layout. The layout may be derived from a website template stored in the content framework [i.e. in accordance with a determination that the second graphical user interface template is a third template type], or stored in a template database and identified by the content framework. The content framework or template database may include a plurality of templates … The arrangement of content regions and selection of content to be displayed therein may be designed according to one or more categories associated with the template [i.e. the second graphical user interface includes first content from the second graphical user interface content data that is arranged according to a third layout]” [0069]); and
-in accordance with a determination that the second graphical user interface template is a fourth template type, different from the third template type, the second graphical user interface includes second content from the second graphical user interface content data that is arranged according to a fourth layout, different from the third layout (Silveira, see at least: (Silveira, see at least: “The content framework may include parameters that apply to all categories, parameters that apply to a subset of categories, parameters that apply to a single category including or excluding its subcategories, and parameters that apply only to one or more subcategories. Non-limiting examples of parameters that apply to all categories include entity name, address, phone number, and email address. Non-limiting examples of parameters that apply to a subset of categories include business hours, customer reviews or testimonials, social media mentions, brand-relevant images, promotions, locations, service lists, and price lists [i.e. the second graphical user interface includes second content from the second graphical user interface content data that is arranged according to a fourth layout, different from the third layout]. Non-limiting examples of parameters that apply to a single category or sub-category include menus (to restaurants, including bars), images of hair cuts (to hair salons), and the like [i.e. in accordance with a determination that the second graphical user interface template is a fourth template type, different from the third template type]” [0067] and “the web server 100 may generate a sample website having a layout and the potential content arranged within the layout. The layout may be derived from a website template stored in the content framework, or stored in a template database and identified by the content framework. The content framework or template database may include a plurality of templates … The arrangement of content regions and selection of content to be displayed therein may be designed according to one or more categories associated with the template [i.e. the second graphical user interface includes second content from the second graphical user interface content data that is arranged according to a fourth layout, different from the third layout]” [0069]).
Silveira does not explicitly disclose receiving a first wireless beacon message from a first wireless beacon located at the first location near the device, including identification data for the first location; in response to receiving the first wireless beacon message, presenting a first graphical user interface object for invoking the application; detecting selection of the first graphical user interface object; in response to detecting selection of the first graphical user interface object, displaying, via the application, a first graphical user interface; receiving a second wireless beacon message from a second wireless beacon located at the second location near the device, including identification data for the second location; in response to receiving the second wireless beacon message, presenting a second graphical user interface object for invoking the application; detecting selection of the second graphical user interface object; and in response to detecting selection of the second graphical user interface object, displaying, via the application, a second graphical user interface.
Nichols, however, teaches an application personalized for a merchant physical location (i.e. abstract), including the known technique of receiving a first wireless beacon message from a first wireless beacon located at the first location near the device, including identification data for the first location (Nichols, see at least: “the merchant physical location may include a beacon such as, for example, a Bluetooth® technology beacon, a Bluetooth® low energy (BLE) technology beacon, and/or a variety of other beacons known in the art. When the customer enters the merchant physical location, communication between the beacon and the customer device [i.e. receiving a first wireless beacon message from a first wireless beacon located at the first location near the device] may result in the determination that the customer location is associated with the merchant physical location … that merchant physical location personalization information discussed below may differ depending on which of the beacons in the merchant physical location the customer device is communicating with” [0050] and “the editable features on the payment application user interface 206 may have been provided by the payment application provider as a user interface template for merchants that wish to customize the user interface (or other user interfaces) for the payment application” [0039] and “The merchant physical location personalization information provision screen 204 also includes a text editor 208 that is associated with the text section 206b and that includes a text input box 208a and an add text button 208b. In one example, the user may provide text (e.g., "MERCHANT A") [i.e. including identification data from the first location] in the text input box 208a to have that text displayed in the text section 206b, and may select the add text button 208b to add another text section to the payment application user interface 206” [0040] and “the Retailer A-specific native shopping application implements Block S110 to receive a unique identifier from a beacon within the Retailer B storefront, implements Block S140 to identify the unique identifier as associated with Retailer B [i.e. including identification data from the first location], and implements Block S130 to determine that a Retailer B-specific native shopping application is not yet installed on the user's mobile computing device. Block S130 can subsequently prompt the user to install the Retailer B-specific native shopping application on his mobile computing device and confirm access to Retailer B-specific beacon data once the install is complete” [0022]);
the known technique of, in response to receiving the first wireless beacon message, presenting a first graphical user interface object for invoking the application (Nichols, see at least: “the Retailer A-specific native shopping application implements Block S110 to receive a unique identifier from a beacon within the Retailer B storefront, implements Block S140 to identify the unique identifier as associated with Retailer B [i.e. in response to receiving the first wireless beacon message], and implements Block S130 to determine that a Retailer B-specific native shopping application is not yet installed on the user's mobile computing device. Block S130 can subsequently prompt the user to install the Retailer B-specific native shopping application on his mobile computing device [i.e. presenting a first graphical user interface object for invoking the application] and confirm access to Retailer B-specific beacon data once the install is complete, as shown in FIG. 2” [0022] and Fig. 2 displays notification S130 on the mobile device that provides the user with selectable yes or no options for downloading the app);
the known technique of detecting selection of the first graphical user interface object (Nichols, see at least: “the Retailer A-specific native shopping application implements Block S110 to receive a unique identifier from a beacon within the Retailer B storefront, implements Block S140 to identify the unique identifier as associated with Retailer B, and implements Block S130 to determine that a Retailer B-specific native shopping application is not yet installed on the user's mobile computing device. Block S130 can subsequently prompt the user to install the Retailer B-specific native shopping application on his mobile computing device [i.e. detecting selection of the first graphical user interface object] and confirm access to Retailer B-specific beacon data once the install is complete, as shown in FIG. 2” [0022] and Fig. 2 displays notification S130 on the mobile device that provides the user with selectable yes or no options for downloading the app [i.e. detecting selection of the first graphical user interface object]);
the known technique of, in response to detecting selection of the first graphical user interface object, displaying, via the application, a first graphical user interface (Nichols, see at least: “Block S130 can subsequently prompt the user to install the Retailer B-specific native shopping application on his mobile computing device [i.e. in response to detecting selection of the first graphical user interface object] and confirm access to Retailer B-specific beacon data [i.e. displaying, via the application, a first graphical user interface] once the install is complete, as shown in FIG. 2” [0022] and “Block S140 functions to communicate with a computer network (e.g., a remote database) to retrieve information related to the wireless beacon based on the unique identifier received in Block S110 and to cooperate with Block S150 to collect and present personalized micro-location-based notification to the user through the mobile computing device. In one implementation, Block S140 passes the unique identifier received in Block S110 through a DNS (as described above) to identify the particular corresponding wireless beacon, as shown in FIGS. 1 and 2. Once the corresponding wireless beacon is identified by the DNS, the computer network can select a notification or other data to pass back to Block S140. In one example, a particular wireless beacon can be associated with a particular retailer storefront, and Block S140 can receive a welcome message (e.g., "Welcome to Caiti's Cakes) and a pending offer or deal (e.g., "Buy one cupcake and get one free") [i.e. displaying, via the application, a first graphical user interface]” [0026]);
the known technique of receiving a second wireless beacon message from a second wireless beacon located at the second location near the device, including identification data for the second location (Nichols, see at least: “the merchant physical location may include a beacon such as, for example, a Bluetooth® technology beacon, a Bluetooth® low energy (BLE) technology beacon, and/or a variety of other beacons known in the art. When the customer enters the merchant physical location, communication between the beacon and the customer device [i.e. receiving a second wireless beacon message from a second wireless beacon located at the second location near the device] may result in the determination that the customer location is associated with the merchant physical location … that merchant physical location personalization information discussed below may differ depending on which of the beacons in the merchant physical location the customer device is communicating with” [0050] and “the editable features on the payment application user interface 206 may have been provided by the payment application provider as a user interface template for merchants that wish to customize the user interface (or other user interfaces) for the payment application” [0039] and “The merchant physical location personalization information provision screen 204 also includes a text editor 208 that is associated with the text section 206b and that includes a text input box 208a and an add text button 208b. In one example, the user may provide text (e.g., "MERCHANT A") [i.e. including identification data for the second location] in the text input box 208a to have that text displayed in the text section 206b, and may select the add text button 208b to add another text section to the payment application user interface 206” [0040] and “the Retailer A-specific native shopping application implements Block S110 to receive a unique identifier from a beacon within the Retailer B storefront, implements Block S140 to identify the unique identifier as associated with Retailer B [i.e. including identification data for the second location], and implements Block S130 to determine that a Retailer B-specific native shopping application is not yet installed on the user's mobile computing device. Block S130 can subsequently prompt the user to install the Retailer B-specific native shopping application on his mobile computing device and confirm access to Retailer B-specific beacon data once the install is complete” [0022] Examiner notes that there are multiple retailer locations exemplified by Retailer A and Retailer B [i.e. the second location]);
the known technique of, in response to receiving the second wireless beacon message, presenting a second graphical user interface object for invoking the application (Nichols, see at least: “the Retailer A-specific native shopping application implements Block S110 to receive a unique identifier from a beacon within the Retailer B storefront, implements Block S140 to identify the unique identifier as associated with Retailer B [i.e. in response to receiving the second wireless beacon message], and implements Block S130 to determine that a Retailer B-specific native shopping application is not yet installed on the user's mobile computing device. Block S130 can subsequently prompt the user to install the Retailer B-specific native shopping application on his mobile computing device [i.e. presenting a second graphical user interface object for invoking the application] and confirm access to Retailer B-specific beacon data once the install is complete, as shown in FIG. 2” [0022] and Fig. 2 displays notification S130 on the mobile device that provides the user with selectable yes or no options for downloading the app; Examiner notes that there are multiple retailer locations exemplified by Retailer A and Retailer B [i.e. the second wireless beacon message and a second graphical user interface object]);
the known technique of detecting selection of the second graphical user interface object (Nichols, see at least: “the Retailer A-specific native shopping application implements Block S110 to receive a unique identifier from a beacon within the Retailer B storefront, implements Block S140 to identify the unique identifier as associated with Retailer B, and implements Block S130 to determine that a Retailer B-specific native shopping application is not yet installed on the user's mobile computing device. Block S130 can subsequently prompt the user to install the Retailer B-specific native shopping application on his mobile computing device [i.e. detecting selection of the second graphical user interface object] and confirm access to Retailer B-specific beacon data once the install is complete, as shown in FIG. 2” [0022] and Fig. 2 displays notification S130 on the mobile device that provides the user with selectable yes or no options for downloading the app [i.e. detecting selection of the second graphical user interface object] Examiner notes that there are multiple retailer locations exemplified by Retailer A and Retailer B [i.e. the second graphical user interface object]); and
the known technique of, in response to detecting selection of the second graphical user interface object, displaying, via the application, a second graphical user interface (Nichols, see at least: “Block S130 can subsequently prompt the user to install the Retailer B-specific native shopping application on his mobile computing device [i.e. in response to detecting selection of the second graphical user interface object] and confirm access to Retailer B-specific beacon data [i.e. displaying, via the application, a second graphical user interface] once the install is complete, as shown in FIG. 2” [0022] and “Block S140 functions to communicate with a computer network (e.g., a remote database) to retrieve information related to the wireless beacon based on the unique identifier received in Block S110 and to cooperate with Block S150 to collect and present personalized micro-location-based notification to the user through the mobile computing device. In one implementation, Block S140 passes the unique identifier received in Block S110 through a DNS (as described above) to identify the particular corresponding wireless beacon, as shown in FIGS. 1 and 2. Once the corresponding wireless beacon is identified by the DNS, the computer network can select a notification or other data to pass back to Block S140. In one example, a particular wireless beacon can be associated with a particular retailer storefront, and Block S140 can receive a welcome message (e.g., "Welcome to Caiti's Cakes) and a pending offer or deal (e.g., "Buy one cupcake and get one free") [i.e. displaying, via the application, a second graphical user interface]” [0026] Examiner notes that there are multiple retailer locations exemplified by Retailer A and Retailer B [i.e. the second graphical user interface object and a second graphical user interface]). These known techniques are applicable to the device of Silveira as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to an application personalized for a merchant physical location.
It would have been recognized that applying the known techniques of receiving a first wireless beacon message from a first wireless beacon located at the first location near the device, including identification data for the first location; in response to receiving the first wireless beacon message, presenting a first graphical user interface object for invoking the application; detecting selection of the first graphical user interface object; in response to detecting selection of the first graphical user interface object, displaying, via the application, a first graphical user interface; receiving a second wireless beacon message from a second wireless beacon located at the second location near the device, including identification data for the second location; in response to receiving the second wireless beacon message, presenting a second graphical user interface object for invoking the application; detecting selection of the second graphical user interface object; and in response to detecting selection of the second graphical user interface object, displaying, via the application, a second graphical user interface, as taught by Nichols, to the teachings of Silveira would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such references into similar devices. Further, adding the modifications of receiving a first wireless beacon message from a first wireless beacon located at the first location near the device, including identification data for the first location; in response to receiving the first wireless beacon message, presenting a first graphical user interface object for invoking the application; detecting selection of the first graphical user interface object; in response to detecting selection of the first graphical user interface object, displaying, via the application, a first graphical user interface; receiving a second wireless beacon message from a second wireless beacon located at the second location near the device, including identification data for the second location; in response to receiving the second wireless beacon message, presenting a second graphical user interface object for invoking the application; detecting selection of the second graphical user interface object; and in response to detecting selection of the second graphical user interface object, displaying, via the application, a second graphical user interface, as taught by Nichols, into the device of Silveira would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved device that would provide merchant physical location personalization information for respective different merchant physical locations (see Nichols, [0088]).
Regarding claim 3, Silveira in view of Nichols teaches the device of claim 2. Silveira further discloses:
-wherein the first template type is the same as the third template type and the second template type is the same as the fourth template type (Silveira, see at least: “The content framework may include parameters that apply to all categories, parameters that apply to a subset of categories, parameters that apply to a single category including or excluding its subcategories, and parameters that apply only to one or more subcategories. Non-limiting examples of parameters that apply to all categories include entity name, address, phone number, and email address. Non-limiting examples of parameters that apply to a subset of categories include business hours, customer reviews or testimonials, social media mentions, brand-relevant images, promotions, locations, service lists, and price lists. Non-limiting examples of parameters that apply to a single category or sub-category include menus (to restaurants, including bars), images of hair cuts (to hair salons), and the like [i.e. wherein the first template type is the same as the third template type and the second template type is the same as the fourth template type]” [0067] Examiner notes that the first template type and the third template type are restaurant templates and the second template type and the fourth template type are hair salon templates [i.e. wherein the first template type is the same as the third template type and the second template type is the same as the fourth template type]).
Regarding claim 4, Silveira in view of Nichols teaches the device of claim 2. Silveira further discloses:
-wherein the first template type is associated with a first type of business and the second template type is associated with a second type of business different than the first type of business (Silveira, see at least: “The content framework may include parameters that apply to all categories, parameters that apply to a subset of categories, parameters that apply to a single category including or excluding its subcategories, and parameters that apply only to one or more subcategories. Non-limiting examples of parameters that apply to all categories include entity name, address, phone number, and email address. Non-limiting examples of parameters that apply to a subset of categories include business hours, customer reviews or testimonials, social media mentions, brand-relevant images, promotions, locations, service lists, and price lists. Non-limiting examples of parameters that apply to a single category or sub-category include menus (to restaurants, including bars), images of hair cuts (to hair salons), and the like [i.e. wherein the first template type is associated with a first type of business and the second template type is associated with a second type of business different than the first type of business]” [0067] and “the web server 100 may generate a sample website having a layout and the potential content arranged within the layout. The layout may be derived from a website template stored in the content framework, or stored in a template database and identified by the content framework. The content framework or template database may include a plurality of templates … The arrangement of content regions and selection of content to be displayed therein may be designed according to one or more categories associated with the template [i.e. wherein the first template type is associated with a first type of business and the second template type is associated with a second type of business different than the first type of business]” [0069]).
Regarding claim 5, Silveira in view of Nichols teaches the device of claim 2. Silveira further discloses:
-wherein:
-the first content from the first graphical user interface content data is different than the second content from the first graphical user interface content data (Silveira, see at least: “The seed input may be a data element that partially or fully identifies the user's business (that is, the entity requesting the creation of the website) [i.e. the first content from the first graphical user interface content data is different than the second content from the first graphical user interface content data]. The seed input may be one or more keywords including one or a combination of the following, for example and without limitation: part or all of the business name; part or all of the business address; the type of business, at a desired degree of specificity (i.e. "restaurant," "Indian restaurant," "North Indian restaurant," "vegan North Indian restaurant," etc.); part or all of the name of a person associated with the business, such as the owner or executive chef; part or all of the name of a relevant product produced or sold by the business; and any other text that may be used to identify the business” [0051] and “Non-limiting examples of parameters that apply to a single category or sub-category include menus (to restaurants, including bars), images of hair cuts (to hair salons), and the like [i.e. the first content from the first graphical user interface content data is different than the second content from the first graphical user interface content data]” [0067]); and
-the first content from the second graphical user interface content data is different than the second content from the second graphical user interface content data (Silveira, see at least: “The seed input may be a data element that partially or fully identifies the user's business (that is, the entity requesting the creation of the website) [i.e. the first content from the second graphical user interface content data is different than the second content from the second graphical user interface content data]. The seed input may be one or more keywords including one or a combination of the following, for example and without limitation: part or all of the business name; part or all of the business address; the type of business, at a desired degree of specificity (i.e. "restaurant," "Indian restaurant," "North Indian restaurant," "vegan North Indian restaurant," etc.); part or all of the name of a person associated with the business, such as the owner or executive chef; part or all of the name of a relevant product produced or sold by the business; and any other text that may be used to identify the business” [0051] and “Non-limiting examples of parameters that apply to a single category or sub-category include menus (to restaurants, including bars), images of hair cuts (to hair salons), and the like [i.e. the first content from the second graphical user interface content data is different than the second content from the second graphical user interface content data]” [0067]).
Regarding claim 6, Silveira in view of Nichols teaches the device of claim 2. Silveira further discloses:
-wherein:
-the determination that the first graphical user interface template is the first template type includes a determination that the first graphical user interface content data includes a first template identifier corresponding to the first template type (Silveira, see at least: “the web server 100 may determine within each result one or more of a business name [i.e. the determination that the first graphical user interface template is the first template type includes a determination that the first graphical user interface content data includes a first template identifier], address, phone number, and other common identifying data elements using field identifiers from a form or database, text formatting such as html tags and text size and justification comparisons, punctuation pattern comparisons, and the like. The web server 100 may extract such identifying data elements from the compiled search results and associate the identifying data elements with the entity candidates” [0056] and “the web server 100 may automatically categorize the identified entity [i.e. a first template identifier corresponding to the first template type], which is used for performing certain aspects of the generation of the website as described below with respect to step 330” [0062] and “At step 330, the web server 100 may generate a sample website having a layout and the potential content arranged within the layout … where the web server 100 has identified the potential content in light of the entity's categories, the one or more templates associated with the relevant categories include web pages and frames that arrange and present the appropriate potential content [i.e. a first template identifier corresponding to the first template type]” [0069] Examiner notes the business name [i.e. a first template identifier] is used to categorize the entity and determine the template based on the categorization);
-the determination that the first graphical user interface template is the second template type includes a determination that the first graphical user interface content data includes a second template identifier corresponding to the second template type (Silveira, see at least: “the web server 100 may determine within each result one or more of a business name [i.e. the determination that the first graphical user interface template is the second template type includes a determination that the first graphical user interface content data includes a second template identifier], address, phone number, and other common identifying data elements using field identifiers from a form or database, text formatting such as html tags and text size and justification comparisons, punctuation pattern comparisons, and the like. The web server 100 may extract such identifying data elements from the compiled search results and associate the identifying data elements with the entity candidates” [0056] and “the web server 100 may automatically categorize the identified entity [i.e. a second template identifier corresponding to the second template type], which is used for performing certain aspects of the generation of the website as described below with respect to step 330” [0062] and “At step 330, the web server 100 may generate a sample website having a layout and the potential content arranged within the layout … where the web server 100 has identified the potential content in light of the entity's categories, the one or more templates associated with the relevant categories include web pages and frames that arrange and present the appropriate potential content [i.e. a second template identifier corresponding to the second template type]” [0069] Examiner notes that there are a plurality of business categories and the business name [i.e. a second template identifier] is used to categorize the entity and determine the template based on the categorization);
-the determination that the second graphical user interface template is the third template type includes a determination that the second graphical user interface content data includes a third template identifier corresponding to the third template type (Silveira, see at least: “the web server 100 may determine within each result one or more of a business name [i.e. the determination that the second graphical user interface template is the third template type includes a determination that the second graphical user interface content data includes a third template identifier], address, phone number, and other common identifying data elements using field identifiers from a form or database, text formatting such as html tags and text size and justification comparisons, punctuation pattern comparisons, and the like. The web server 100 may extract such identifying data elements from the compiled search results and associate the identifying data elements with the entity candidates” [0056] and “the web server 100 may automatically categorize the identified entity [i.e. a third template identifier corresponding to the third template type], which is used for performing certain aspects of the generation of the website as described below with respect to step 330” [0062] and “At step 330, the web server 100 may generate a sample website having a layout and the potential content arranged within the layout … where the web server 100 has identified the potential content in light of the entity's categories, the one or more templates associated with the relevant categories include web pages and frames that arrange and present the appropriate potential content [i.e. a third template identifier corresponding to the third template type]” [0069] Examiner notes that there are a plurality of business categories and the business name [i.e. a third template identifier] is used to categorize the entity and determine the template based on the categorization); and
-the determination that the second graphical user interface template is the fourth template type includes a determination that the second graphical user interface content data includes a fourth template identifier corresponding to the fourth template type (Silveira, see at least: “the web server 100 may determine within each result one or more of a business name [i.e. the determination that the second graphical user interface template is the fourth template type includes a determination that the second graphical user interface content data includes a fourth template identifier], address, phone number, and other common identifying data elements using field identifiers from a form or database, text formatting such as html tags and text size and justification comparisons, punctuation pattern comparisons, and the like. The web server 100 may extract such identifying data elements from the compiled search results and associate the identifying data elements with the entity candidates” [0056] and “the web server 100 may automatically categorize the identified entity [i.e. a fourth template identifier corresponding to the fourth template type], which is used for performing certain aspects of the generation of the website as described below with respect to step 330” [0062] and “At step 330, the web server 100 may generate a sample website having a layout and the potential content arranged within the layout … where the web server 100 has identified the potential content in light of the entity's categories, the one or more templates associated with the relevant categories include web pages and frames that arrange and present the appropriate potential content [i.e. a fourth template identifier corresponding to the fourth template type]” [0069] Examiner notes that there are a plurality of business categories and the business name [i.e. a fourth template identifier] is used to categorize the entity and determine the template based on the categorization).
Regarding claim 7, Silveira in view of Nichols teaches the device of claim 2. Silveira further discloses:
-wherein:
-the first graphical user interface template specifies a first type of data to display in the first graphical user interface (Silveira, see at least: “Non-limiting examples of parameters that apply to a single category or sub-category include menus (to restaurants, including bars) [i.e. a first type of data to display in the first graphical user interface], images of hair cuts (to hair salons), and the like” [0067] and “FIG. 7 illustrates an example template 700 for a sample website in the restaurant category. The template 700 includes page layouts 705-720 [i.e. the first graphical user interface template specifies] for a plurality of web pages that commonly appear on a restaurant website: a "home" page layout 705 for displaying basic information; a "menu" page layout 710 for displaying the menu [i.e. a first type of data to display in the first graphical user interface]” [0070]); and
-the second graphical user interface template specifies a second type of data to display in the second graphical user interface (Silveira, see at least: “Non-limiting examples of parameters that apply to a single category or sub-category include menus (to restaurants, including bars), images of hair cuts (to hair salons) [i.e. a second type of data to display in the second graphical user interface], and the like” [0067] and “Each page layout 705-720 [i.e. the second graphical user interface template specifies] includes one or more content regions 725-775 for receiving and displaying one or more content objects and, optionally, additional content. Each content region 725-775 may be associated with a particular type of content or data (for example, as identified by the parameters of the content framework) [i.e. a second type of data to display in the second graphical user interface] in the potential content” [0070]).
Regarding claim 8, Silveira in view of Nichols teaches the device of claim 2. Silveira further discloses:
-wherein:
-the first layout is based on the first template type (Silveira, see at least: “A template may include one or more web pages and one or more content regions on each of the web pages. Each content region may describe a position and area on a web page. Each content region may identify the potential content, such as an image, text, or one or more content objects, that is to be inserted into the content region. The web server 100 thereby may generate a website that displays the inserted content at the content region's location on the web page. The arrangement of content regions and selection of content to be displayed therein may be designed according to one or more categories associated with the template [i.e. the first layout is based on the first template type]” [0069]);
-the second layout is based on the second template type (Silveira, see at least: “A template may include one or more web pages and one or more content regions on each of the web pages. Each content region may describe a position and area on a web page. Each content region may identify the potential content, such as an image, text, or one or more content objects, that is to be inserted into the content region. The web server 100 thereby may generate a website that displays the inserted content at the content region's location on the web page. The arrangement of content regions and selection of content to be displayed therein may be designed according to one or more categories associated with the template [i.e. the second layout is based on the second template type]” [0069]);
-the third layout is based on the third template type (Silveira, see at least: “A template may include one or more web pages and one or more content regions on each of the web pages. Each content region may describe a position and area on a web page. Each content region may identify the potential content, such as an image, text, or one or more content objects, that is to be inserted into the content region. The web server 100 thereby may generate a website that displays the inserted content at the content region's location on the web page. The arrangement of content regions and selection of content to be displayed therein may be designed according to one or more categories associated with the template [i.e. the third layout is based on the third template type]” [0069]); and
-the fourth layout is based on the fourth template type (Silveira, see at least: “A template may include one or more web pages and one or more content regions on each of the web pages. Each content region may describe a position and area on a web page. Each content region may identify the potential content, such as an image, text, or one or more content objects, that is to be inserted into the content region. The web server 100 thereby may generate a website that displays the inserted content at the content region's location on the web page. The arrangement of content regions and selection of content to be displayed therein may be designed according to one or more categories associated with the template [i.e. the fourth layout is based on the fourth template type]” [0069]).
Regarding claim 9, Silveira in view of Nichols teaches the device of claim 2. Silveira further discloses:
-wherein the first graphical user interface content data contains a first set of content data and the second graphical user interface content data contains a second set of content data (Silveira, see at least: “A template may include one or more web pages and one or more content regions on each of the web pages. Each content region may describe a position and area on a web page … The arrangement of content regions and selection of content to be displayed therein may be designed according to one or more categories associated with the template. Specifically, where the web server 100 has identified the potential content in light of the entity's categories, the one or more templates associated with the relevant categories include web pages and frames that arrange and present the appropriate potential content [i.e. wherein the first graphical user interface content data contains a first set of content data and the second graphical user interface content data contains a second set of content data]” [0069]), the computer-readable medium further including instructions for:
-in accordance with the determination that the first graphical user interface template is the first template type, and wherein the first template type includes a first placeholder, displaying the first set of content data at a location of the first placeholder (Silveira, see at least: “A template may include one or more web pages and one or more content regions on each of the web pages. Each content region may describe a position and area on a web page. Each content region may identify the potential content, such as an image, text, or one or more content objects, that is to be inserted into the content region [i.e. and wherein the first template type includes a first placeholder]. The web server 100 thereby may generate a website that displays the inserted content at the content region's location on the web page. The arrangement of content regions and selection of content to be displayed therein may be designed according to one or more categories associated with the template [i.e. in accordance with the determination that the first graphical user interface template is the first template type]. Specifically, where the web server 100 has identified the potential content in light of the entity's categories, the one or more templates associated with the relevant categories include web pages and frames that arrange and present the appropriate potential content [i.e. displaying the first set of content data at a location of the first placeholder]” [0069]);
-in accordance with the determination that the second graphical user interface template is the second template type, and wherein the second template type includes a second placeholder, displaying the first set of content data at the location of a second placeholder (Silveira, see at least: “The content framework or template database may include a plurality of templates [i.e. the second graphical user interface template]. A template may include one or more web pages and one or more content regions on each of the web pages. Each content region may describe a position and area on a web page. Each content region may identify the potential content, such as an image, text, or one or more content objects, that is to be inserted into the content region [i.e. and wherein the second template type includes a second placeholder]. The web server 100 thereby may generate a website that displays the inserted content at the content region's location on the web page. The arrangement of content regions and selection of content to be displayed therein may be designed according to one or more categories associated with the template [i.e. in accordance with the determination that the second graphical user interface template is the second template type]. Specifically, where the web server 100 has identified the potential content in light of the entity's categories, the one or more templates associated with the relevant categories include web pages and frames that arrange and present the appropriate potential content [i.e. displaying the first set of content data at the location of a second placeholder]” [0069]);
-in accordance with the determination that the second graphical user interface template is the third template type, and wherein the third template type includes a third placeholder, displaying the second set of content data at the location of a third placeholder (Silveira, see at least: “The content framework or template database may include a plurality of templates [i.e. the second graphical user interface template]. A template may include one or more web pages and one or more content regions on each of the web pages. Each content region may describe a position and area on a web page. Each content region may identify the potential content, such as an image, text, or one or more content objects, that is to be inserted into the content region [i.e. and wherein the third template type includes a third placeholder]. The web server 100 thereby may generate a website that displays the inserted content at the content region's location on the web page. The arrangement of content regions and selection of content to be displayed therein may be designed according to one or more categories associated with the template [i.e. in accordance with the determination that the second graphical user interface template is the third template type]. Specifically, where the web server 100 has identified the potential content in light of the entity's categories, the one or more templates associated with the relevant categories include web pages and frames that arrange and present the appropriate potential content [i.e. displaying the second set of content data at the location of a third placeholder]” [0069]); and
-in accordance with the determination that the second graphical user interface template is the fourth template type, and wherein the fourth template type includes a fourth placeholder, displaying the second set of content data at the location of a fourth placeholder (Silveira, see at least: “The content framework or template database may include a plurality of templates [i.e. the second graphical user interface template]. A template may include one or more web pages and one or more content regions on each of the web pages. Each content region may describe a position and area on a web page. Each content region may identify the potential content, such as an image, text, or one or more content objects, that is to be inserted into the content region [i.e. and wherein the fourth template type includes a fourth placeholder]. The web server 100 thereby may generate a website that displays the inserted content at the content region's location on the web page. The arrangement of content regions and selection of content to be displayed therein may be designed according to one or more categories associated with the template [i.e. in accordance with the determination that the second graphical user interface template is the fourth template type]. Specifically, where the web server 100 has identified the potential content in light of the entity's categories, the one or more templates associated with the relevant categories include web pages and frames that arrange and present the appropriate potential content [i.e. displaying the second set of content data at the location of a fourth placeholder]” [0069]).
Regarding claim 10, Silveira in view of Nichols teaches the device of claim 2. Silveira further discloses:
-wherein:
-the first graphical user interface template includes a first header area that specifies a first type of data to be displayed (Silveira, see at least: "In the illustrated example template 700 [i.e. the first graphical user interface template], each page layout 705-720 includes a masthead region 725 and a navigation region 730 as common content across all web pages. The masthead region 725 may display the entity's name, logo, other graphics, or a combination thereof [i.e. includes a first header area that specifies a first type of data to be displayed]" [0071] and Fig. 7); and
-the second graphical user interface template includes a second header area that specifies a second type of data to be displayed (Silveira, see at least: "In the illustrated example template 700 [i.e. the second graphical user interface template], each page layout 705-720 includes a masthead region 725 and a navigation region 730 as common content across all web pages. The masthead region 725 may display the entity's name, logo, other graphics, or a combination thereof [i.e. includes a second header area that specifies a second type of data to be displayed]" [0071] and “the web server 100 may utilize a content framework that describes data elements that commonly appear as website content for each category of business [i.e. the second graphical user interface template]” [0066] and Fig. 7; Examiner notes that a different entity would have a different a name, logo, and other graphics [i.e. a second type of data to be displayed]).
Regarding claim 11, Silveira in view of Nichols teaches the device of claim 10. Silveira further discloses:
-wherein:
-the first type of data includes one or more of a first image, first text, and a first background color (Silveira, see at least: "In the illustrated example template 700, each page layout 705-720 includes a masthead region 725 and a navigation region 730 as common content across all web pages. The masthead region 725 may display the entity's name, logo, other graphics, or a combination thereof [i.e. the first type of data includes one or more of a first image, first text, and a first background color]" [0071] and Fig. 7); and
-the second type of data includes one or more of a second image, second text and a second background color (Silveira, see at least: "In the illustrated example template 700, each page layout 705-720 includes a masthead region 725 and a navigation region 730 as common content across all web pages. The masthead region 725 may display the entity's name, logo, other graphics, or a combination thereof [i.e. the second type of data includes one or more of a second image, second text and a second background color]" [0071] and Fig. 7; Examiner notes that a different entity would have a different a name, logo, and other graphics [i.e. the second type of data]).
Regarding claim 14, Silveira in view of Nichols teaches the device of claim 2.
Silveira does not explicitly disclose the first graphical user interface content data is received in response to receiving the first wireless beacon message; and the second graphical user interface content data is received in response to receiving the second wireless beacon message.
Nichols, however, teaches an application personalized for a merchant physical location (i.e. abstract), including the known technique of the first graphical user interface content data is received in response to receiving the first wireless beacon message (Nichols, see at least: “each of the beacon devices 600 in the beacon system 700 is configured to create a communication area 704 with its second communications system 604 to provide a portion of the merchant personalization application system 701… each of the beacon devices 600 are configured to communicate with customer devices within their respective communications area 704 (e.g., using the second communication system 608) [i.e. in response to receiving the first wireless beacon message] to collect information, and then send that information to the merchant network communication device 702 (e.g., using the first communication system 604) such that the data may be provided to a merchant device, an application provider device, a system provider device, and/or any other device operating to provide customer shopping help system discussed below [i.e. the first graphical user interface content data is received]” [0083] and “the merchant physical location may include a beacon such as, for example, a Bluetooth® technology beacon, a Bluetooth® low energy (BLE) technology beacon, and/or a variety of other beacons known in the art. When the customer enters the merchant physical location, communication between the beacon and the customer device may result in the determination that the customer location is associated with the merchant physical location [i.e. in response to receiving the first wireless beacon message] … that merchant physical location personalization information discussed below may differ depending on which of the beacons in the merchant physical location the customer device is communicating with [i.e. the first graphical user interface content data is received]” [0050]); and
the known technique of the second graphical user interface content data is received in response to receiving the second wireless beacon message (Nichols, see at least: “each of the beacon devices 600 in the beacon system 700 is configured to create a communication area 704 with its second communications system 604 to provide a portion of the merchant personalization application system 701… each of the beacon devices 600 are configured to communicate with customer devices within their respective communications area 704 (e.g., using the second communication system 608) [i.e. in response to receiving the second wireless beacon message] to collect information, and then send that information to the merchant network communication device 702 (e.g., using the first communication system 604) such that the data may be provided to a merchant device, an application provider device, a system provider device, and/or any other device operating to provide customer shopping help system discussed below [i.e. the second graphical user interface content data is received]” [0083] and “the merchant physical location may include a beacon such as, for example, a Bluetooth® technology beacon, a Bluetooth® low energy (BLE) technology beacon, and/or a variety of other beacons known in the art. When the customer enters the merchant physical location, communication between the beacon and the customer device may result in the determination that the customer location is associated with the merchant physical location [i.e. in response to receiving the second wireless beacon message] … that merchant physical location personalization information discussed below may differ depending on which of the beacons in the merchant physical location the customer device is communicating with [i.e. the second graphical user interface content data is received]” [0050]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Silveira with Nichols for the reasons identified above with respect to claim 2.
Claim 15 recites limitations directed towards a non-transitory computer-readable medium including an application and instructions configured to be executed by one or more processors of a device with a display (Silveira, see at least: “the disclosed apparatus and methods (e.g., see the various flow charts described above) may be implemented as a computer program product for use with a computer system. Such implementation may include a series of computer instructions fixed either on a tangible medium, such as a computer readable medium (e.g., a diskette, CD-ROM, ROM, or fixed disk) or transmittable to a computer system, via a modem or other interface device, such as a communications adapter connected to a network over a medium” [0133] and [0111]). The limitations recited in claim 15 are parallel in nature to those addressed above for claim 2, and are therefore rejected for those same reasons set forth above in claim 2.
Claim 16 recites limitations directed towards a method (i.e. abstract), at a device with a display (Silveira, see at least: [0031] and [0051]). The limitations recited in claim 16 are parallel in nature to those addressed above for claim 2, and are therefore rejected for those same reasons set forth above in claim 2.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silveira in view of Nichols in further view of Sanchez et al. (US 2014/0074605 A1), hereinafter Sanchez.
Regarding claim 12, Silveira in view of Nichols teaches the device of claim 2.
Silveira in view of Nichols does not explicitly teach the first graphical user interface template includes a graphical element for pre-authorizing a payment account; and the second graphical user interface template includes the graphical element for pre- authorizing the payment account.
Sanchez, however, teaches customizing merchant interfaces (i.e. [0084]), including the known technique of the first graphical user interface template includes a graphical element for pre-authorizing a payment account (Sanchez, see at least: “one or more templates and/or user interfaces are presented to prompt the merchant for payment parameters [i.e. the first graphical user interface template]. For example, the bill payment module 224 may generate or otherwise present to the merchant via the network 126 at the merchant system 112 a series of templates or predefined user interfaces” [0083] and “In block 320, a logo, other trademark, trade name, or other business identifier for the merchant can be received for inclusion in the opt-in mobile payment program. For example, when prompted, the merchant can upload a business logo from the merchant system 112 to the bill payment module 224 at the server transaction processing system 106 via the network 126 … the mobile commerce application program 116 may be branded with the merchant's logo and/or name. In some example embodiments, the mobile commerce application program 116 may be the same application program for some or all merchants, or those merchants within a single classification or geographical location. In the manner described above, various merchants, regardless of size, can adopt and implement a bill payment module 224 as a part of a mobile payment application program 116” [0084] and step 7 of Fig. 8 displays an interface associated with a merchant that allows a user to “select a payment type & submit to authorize pump” [i.e. the first graphical user interface template includes a graphical element for pre-authorizing a payment account]); and
the known technique of the second graphical user interface template includes the graphical element for pre- authorizing the payment account (Sanchez, see at least: “one or more templates and/or user interfaces are presented to prompt the merchant for payment parameters [i.e. the second graphical user interface template]. For example, the bill payment module 224 may generate or otherwise present to the merchant via the network 126 at the merchant system 112 a series of templates or predefined user interfaces” [0083] and “In block 320, a logo, other trademark, trade name, or other business identifier for the merchant can be received for inclusion in the opt-in mobile payment program. For example, when prompted, the merchant can upload a business logo from the merchant system 112 to the bill payment module 224 at the server transaction processing system 106 via the network 126 … the mobile commerce application program 116 may be branded with the merchant's logo and/or name. In some example embodiments, the mobile commerce application program 116 may be the same application program for some or all merchants, or those merchants within a single classification or geographical location. In the manner described above, various merchants [i.e. the second graphical user interface template], regardless of size, can adopt and implement a bill payment module 224 as a part of a mobile payment application program 116” [0084] and step 7 of Fig. 8 displays an interface associated with a merchant that allows a user to “select a payment type & submit to authorize pump” [i.e. the second graphical user interface template includes the graphical element for pre-authorizing the payment account]). These known techniques are applicable to the device of Silveira in view of Nichols as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to customizing merchant interfaces.
It would have been recognized that applying the known techniques of the first graphical user interface template includes a graphical element for pre-authorizing a payment account; and the second graphical user interface template includes the graphical element for pre- authorizing the payment account, as taught by Sanchez, to the teachings of Silveira in view of Nichols would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such references into similar devices. Further, adding the modifications of the first graphical user interface template includes a graphical element for pre-authorizing a payment account; and the second graphical user interface template includes the graphical element for pre-authorizing the payment account, as taught by Sanchez, into the device of Silveira in view of Nichols would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved device that would facilitate purchases (see Sanchez, [0002]).
Response to Arguments
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. §102/103
Applicant argues that even if the claims recited the alleged abstract idea, a point which the Applicant does not concede, the abstract idea is integrated into a practical application, as required by Step 2A Prong Two of the USPTO's 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (hereinafter 2019 PEG). The user interface introduced in the claims does in fact improve interaction with the computer system. The USPTO' s Subject Matter Eligibility Examples, to be used in conjunction with the 2019 PEG, provides an analogous example. Example 37 relates to the relocation of icons on a graphical user interface and is particularly applicable here. See 2019 PEG Examples 37 through 42 at 1-3. Claim 1 in Example 37 is directed to re-organizing home screen icons, so that icons used most often are presented nearest the home or start icon where they can be easily accessed. Id at 1. While claim 1 in Example 37 does recite a judicial exception, the claim is patent eligible because it is integrated into a practical application. Id at 2. Specifically, even though claim 1 in Example 37 only recites a GUI and a processor, the additional elements "recite a specific manner of automatically displaying icons based on usage which provides a specific improvement over prior systems[.]" Id at 2-3. The particular way in which the user interface is displayed and organized "result[s] in an improved user interface for electronic devices," rendering this claim patent eligible. In the instant application, amended independent claim 2 is patent eligible because it is directed to an improved user interface for a device. Independent claim 2 recites several additional elements, including one or more processors, a display, a computer-readable medium including an application, graphical user interface objects for invoking the application, and graphical user interfaces. Claim 2 further recites receiving user interface content data and graphical user interface templates based on the content data, receiving wireless beacon messages, presenting the graphical user interface objects, detecting selection of the graphical user interface objects, and in response to selection of the graphical user interface objects, displaying graphical user interfaces that include portions of content based on template type (Remarks, pages 10-12).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Unlike Example 37, which recite a specific manner of automatically displaying icons based on usage, the amended claims merely utilize generic computer technology to display data in a template. Employing well-known computer functions to execute an abstract idea, even when limiting the use of the idea to one particular environment, does not integrate the exception into a practical application. Accordingly, the additional elements are insufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the claim fails to reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field.
Applicant further argues that, even if independent claim 2 recites an abstract idea, which Applicant does not concede, it is integrated into a practical application. For example, amended independent claim 2 recites "receiving a first wireless beacon message from a first wireless beacon located at the first location near the mobile device ... ;" "in response to receiving the first wireless beacon message, presenting a first graphical user interface object for invoking [an] application;" and "in response to detecting selection of the first graphical user interface object, displaying, via the application, a first graphical user interface that includes at least a portion of the first graphical user interface content data .... " At least these limitations integrate the alleged abstract idea into a practical application because they improve the functioning of the device. Similar to the specific manner of automatically displaying icons based on usage recited in Example 37, claim 2 recites a specific manner of presenting a graphical user interface object based on receiving a wireless beacon message from a wireless beacon. Further, upon selection of the graphical user interface object, the device displays a graphical user interface that contains content related to a merchant at the location of the wireless beacon. By presenting the graphical user interface object when a user is in proximity to a location associated with a merchant, a user may easily and quickly open applications and view content associated with the merchant. Additionally, selecting and arranging the content data based on a template type that is selected based on the content data, allows the device to display the most relevant content. Thus, the device can save power by reducing the number of inputs required for the user to navigate to content relevant to the user's location. Therefore, the particular programming logic of the device results in an improved user interface for the device, rendering this claim patent eligible under at least Step 2A Prong Two (Remarks, pages 12-13).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Unlike Example 37, the amended claims do not recite the specific details of how the graphical user interface object is presented on the interface, nor do the claims recite what the graphical user interface object is; the amended claims recite the additional elements at a high level of generality (i.e. as generic computing hardware) such that they amount to nothing more than mere instructions to implement or apply the abstract idea on a generic computing hardware (or, merely use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea). For instance, any generic wireless beacons can send wireless beacon messages. Additionally, allowing a user to easily and quickly open applications and view content associated with the merchant are not improvements in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field as the recited technology itself is not improved, rather, it is merely utilized in a generic manner. Furthermore, organizing content to present relevant content is a business improvement and merely reducing data that needs to be processed does not improve the technology of the device itself as less power would be required to process less data in any generic device. Accordingly, the additional elements are insufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the claim fails to reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. §102/103
Applicant argues that the cited portions of Silveira are silent with respect to at least "receiving a first wireless beacon message from a first wireless beacon located at the first location near the mobile device, including identification data for the first location .... " Thus, Silveira does not teach all of the limitations of representative claim 2. In addition, previously-presented claim 13, which is substantially incorporated into claim 2, stands rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being patentable over Silveira as applied to claim 2 and further in view over Nichols (US 2015/00667 46). Applicant notes that claim 2, in addition to incorporating the elements of previous claim 13, has been amended to include elements not previously presented in claim 2 or claim 13. Applicant respectfully asserts that neither the cited portions of Silveira nor the cited portions of Nichols teach or suggest at least those additional elements. For example, the cited art does not teach or suggest "in response to receiving the first wireless beacon message, presenting a first graphical user interface object for invoking the application ... " as recited in amended claim 2. Thus, the cited portions of Silveira and Nichols, whether alone or in combination, do not teach or suggest all of the limitations of representative claim 2 (Remarks, pages 13-14).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Nichols teaches receiving a unique identifier from a beacon within a retailer that identifies the retailer [i.e. in response to receiving the first wireless beacon message], determining that a shopping application specific to the identified retailer is not installed on a user’s mobile device, and, in response to this determination, prompting the user via a notification on their mobile device to install the retailer-specific application [i.e. presenting a first graphical user interface object for invoking the application] (see Nichols, [0022] and Fig. 2). Accordingly, Silveira in view of Nichols teach the amended claims.
Applicant further argues that Claim 12 stands rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Silveira in further view of Sanchez et al. (US 2014/0074605). Sanchez does not cure the deficiencies of Silveira, discussed above (Remarks, page 14).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Sanchez isn’t cited to teach the argued amended features. As detailed in response to the argument above, Silveira in view of Nichols teach the amended claims.
Applicant further argues that Claim 14 stands rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Silveira in further view of Nichols. Nichols does not cure the deficiencies of Silveira, as discussed above (Remarks, page 14).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As detailed in response to the argument above, Nichols teaches receiving a unique identifier from a beacon within a retailer that identifies the retailer [i.e. in response to receiving the first wireless beacon message], determining that a shopping application specific to the identified retailer is not installed on a user’s mobile device, and, in response to this determination, prompting the user via a notification on their mobile device to install the retailer-specific application [i.e. presenting a first graphical user interface object for invoking the application] (see Nichols, [0022] and Fig. 2). Accordingly, Silveira in view of Nichols teach the amended claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-Kotas et al. (US 9,390,181 B1) teaches personalized landing pages.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARIELLE E WEINER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3689