DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because, while the claims herein are directed to a method and/or system, which could be classified under one of the listed statutory classifications (i.e., 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (hereinafter “PEG”) “PEG” Step 1=Yes), the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Regarding claims 1, 11, and 20, the claims recite, in part, receiving a service viewing request; determining, in response to the service viewing request, a primary service and at least one additional service to be provided; and providing a presentation of an aggregate page comprising primary service information related to the primary service and additional service information related to the at least one additional service, wherein the primary service information is presented at a higher priority than the additional service information or the primary service information is more prominently presented than the additional service information.
The limitations, as drafted and detailed above, recites advertising of service providers by request, which falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas, and more specifically advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea (i.e. “PEG” Revised Step 2A Prong One=Yes).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims only recite the additional elements of client device (claims 1, 11, 20), electronic device (claim 11), processing unit (claim 11), memory (claim 11)¸ non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (claim 20)¸ and computer program (claim 20). The additional technical elements above are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e. as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of receiving, determining, and providing) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. There are no additional functional limitations to be considered under prong two.
Accordingly, the additional technical elements above do not integrate the abstract idea/judicial exception into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. More specifically, the additional elements fail to include (1) improvements to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technical field (see MPEP 2106.05(a)), (2) applying or using a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition (see Vanda memo), (3) applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine (see MPEP 2106.05(b)), (4) effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing (see MPEP 2106.05(c)), or (5) applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (see MPEP 2106.05(e) and Vanda memo).
Rather, the limitations merely add the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)), or generally link the use of the
judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (see MPEP 2106.05(h)). Thus, the claim is “directed to” an abstract idea (i.e. “PEG” Revised Step 2A Prong Two=Yes).
When considering Step 2B of the Alice/Mayo test, the claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
More specifically, as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of using client device (claims 1, 11, 20), electronic device (claim 11), processing unit (claim 11), memory (claim 11)¸ non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (claim 20)¸ and computer program (claim 20) to perform the claimed functions amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component.
“Generic computer implementation” is insufficient to transform a patent-ineligible abstract idea into a patent-eligible invention (See Affinity Labs, _F.3d_, 120 U.S.P.Q.2d 1201 (Fed. Cir. 2016), citing Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2352, 2357) and more generally, “simply appending conventional steps specified at a high level of generality” to an abstract idea does not make that idea patentable (See Affinity Labs, _F.3d_, 120 U.S.P.Q.2d 1201 (Fed. Cir. 2016), citing Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1300). Moreover, “the use of generic computer elements like a microprocessor or user interface do not alone transform an otherwise abstract idea into patent-eligible subject matter (See FairWarning, 120 U.S.P.Q.2d. 1293, citing DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hotels.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245, 1256 (Fed. Cir. 2014)). As such, the additional elements of the claim do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they would be generic computer functions in any computer implementation. Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception (the abstract idea). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of the computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide generic computer implementation.
The Examiner notes simply implementing an abstract concept on a computer, without meaningful limitations to that concept, does not transform a patent-ineligible claim into a patent- eligible one (See Accenture, 728 F.3d 1336, 108 U.S.P.Q.2d 1173 (Fed. Cir. 2013), citing Bancorp, 687 F.3d at 1280), limiting the application of an abstract idea to one field of use does not necessarily guard against preempting all uses of the abstract idea (See Accenture, 728 F.3d 1336, 108 U.S.P.Q.2d 1173 (Fed. Cir. 2013), citing Bilski, 130 S. Ct. at 3231), and further the prohibition against patenting an abstract principle “cannot be circumvented by attempting to limit the use of the [principle] to a particular technological environment” (See Accenture, 728 F.3d 1336, 108 U.S.P.Q.2d 1173 (Fed. Cir. 2013), citing Flook, 437 U.S. at 584), and finally merely limiting the field of use of the abstract idea to a particular existing technological environment does not render the claims any less abstract (See Affinity Labs, _F.3d_, 120 U.S.P.Q.2d 1201 (Fed. Cir. 2016), citing Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2358; Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1294; Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593, 612 (2010); Content Extraction & Transmission LLC v. Wells Fargo Bank, Nat' l Ass' n, 776 F.3d 1343, 1348 (Fed. Cir. 2014); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355 (Fed. Cir. 2014).
Applicant herein only requires a general purpose computer (see Applicant specification paragraphs 00100, 00107); therefore, there does not appear to be any alteration or modification to the generic activities indicated, and they are also therefore recognized as insignificant activity with respect to eligibility.
The dependent claims 2-10 and 12-19 appear to merely limit determining an additional service using a service cluster, determining the services based on a ranking of resource competition and specifics of that competition, providing an aggregate page based on a predetermined trigger operation, specifics of the predetermined trigger operation, presenting all of the service information simultaneously, specifics of the data contained on the aggregate page, an advertising viewing request, and a time and position of the viewing request, and therefore only limit the application of the idea, and not add significantly more than the idea (i.e. “PEG” Step 2B=No).
The client device (claims 1, 11, 20), electronic device (claim 11), processing unit (claim 11), memory (claim 11)¸ non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (claim 20)¸ and computer program (claim 20) are each functional generic computer components that perform the generic functions of receiving, determining, and providing, all common to electronics and computer systems.
Applicant's specification does not provide any indication that the client device (claims 1, 11, 20), electronic device (claim 11), processing unit (claim 11), memory (claim 11)¸ non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (claim 20)¸ and computer program (claim 20) are anything other than generic, off-the-shelf computer components. Therefore, the claims do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea (i.e. “PEG” Step 2B=No).
Thus, based on the detailed analysis above, claims 1-20 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Goel (U.S. Pub No. 2017/0004548). Goel teaches a system and method of advertising services that includes all of the limitations recited in the above claims.
Regarding claims 1, 11, 20, Goel teaches receiving a service viewing request from a client device (Abstract, Paragraph 0047, request for service providers is received); determining, in response to the service viewing request, a primary service and at least one additional service to be provided (Paragraph 0054, service providers are ranked, highest ranking would be “primary” and lower rankings would be “additional”); and providing, to the client device, a presentation of an aggregate page comprising primary service information related to the primary service and additional service information related to the at least one additional service, wherein the primary service information is presented at a higher priority than the additional service information or the primary service information is more prominently presented than the additional service information (Paragraph 0056, Figure 6, highest ranked providers, which are “primary”, are presented at the top of the page, which is a higher priority than the lower ranked providers which are “additional”).
Regarding claims 2, 12, Goel teaches determining, from a service cluster matching the type of the primary service, the at least one additional service associated with the primary service, wherein the service cluster comprises a plurality of services of a same type (Paragraphs 0047-0049).
Regarding claims 3, 13, Goel teaches determining, from a plurality of candidate services provided by a plurality of service providers, the primary service and the at least one additional service based on a ranking of resource competition by the plurality of service providers (Paragraphs 0037, recommendations, endorsements, credentials, accolades, etc. represent “resources”, 0054, ranking based on expertise, the different service provides are in competition with each other to provide the same services).
Regarding claims 4, 14, Goel teaches a service provider corresponding to the primary service provides more resources in the resource competition than a service provider corresponding to the at least one additional service (Paragraphs 0037, recommendations, endorsements, credentials, accolades, etc. represent “resources”, 0054, ranking based on expertise, the different service provides are in competition with each other to provide the same services, more professional expertise means a higher ranking).
Regarding claims 5, 15, Goel teaches the primary service information is presented at a higher priority than the additional service information, and wherein providing the presentation of the aggregate page to the client device comprises: providing, to the client device, a presentation of an aggregate page comprising the primary service information; and in response to detecting a predetermined trigger operation on the aggregate page, providing, to the client device, a presentation of an aggregate page comprising the at least one additional service information (Figure 6, Paragraphs 0058-0059, clicking on portfolio will provide additional information, clicking on Jane Doe portfolio will provide additional service information).
Regarding claims 6, 16, Goel teaches the predetermined trigger operation comprises at least one of: detecting a predetermined interactive behavior for the primary service, or detecting an additional service viewing request(Figure 6, Paragraphs 0058-0059, clicking on portfolio will provide additional information, clicking on Jane Doe portfolio will provide additional service information, clicking on portfolio for Jane Doe is considered an “additional service viewing request”).
Regarding claims 7, 17, Goel teaches presenting the primary service information and the additional service information simultaneously in the aggregate page, wherein the primary service information is more prominently presented than the additional service information in the aggregate page (Figure 6).
Regarding claims 8, 18, Goel teaches the aggregate page comprises at least one of: a primary details viewing entry corresponding to the primary service, wherein the primary details viewing entry is triggered to jump to a service details page corresponding to the primary service, a details viewing entry corresponding to respective one of the at least one additional service, wherein the details viewing entry is triggered to jump to a service details page corresponding to the corresponding additional service, a primary form entry corresponding to the primary service, wherein the primary form entry is triggered to collect predetermined form information, or a form entry corresponding to respective one of the at least one additional service, wherein the form entry is triggered to collect predetermined form information (Paragraph 0044, clicking on the service providers profile to get more information).
Regarding claims 9, 19, Goel teaches the service viewing request comprises an advertisement viewing request corresponding to a service (Abstract, Paragraph 0047).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goel (U.S. Pub No. 2017/0004548) in view of Anderson (U.S. Patent No. 10,963,848).
Regarding claim 10, Goel does not appear to specify the service viewing request comprises the advertisement viewing request at a specific time and a specific position. However, Anderson teaches the service viewing request comprises the advertisement viewing request at a specific time and a specific position (Column 4 Lines 6-20, Column 10 Lines 3-21, requesting availability represents a specific time, requesting occupation type represents a specific position). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to search for an advertisement for a service according to time and position in order to best find the service provider that meets the user’s requirements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following references have been cited to further show the state of the art with respect to service provider recommendations:
U.S. Pub No. 2014/0236935 to Doebele
U.S. Pub No. 2007/0192130 to Sandhu
U.S. Patent No. 8,380,709 to Diller
U.S. Pub No. 2003/0182413 to Allen
U.S. Pub No. 2014/0351092 to Burkhart
U.S. Pub No. 2011/0208668 to Phillips
WO 2010/018451 to Mccarney
WO 2006/020471 to Gustafsson
/MICHAEL BEKERMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3621