DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 9, 12-13, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mouizina et al (US 2020/0336705 A1).
Claim 1, Mouizina (Fig. 1-23) discloses an interactive mirror (10; Fig. 1; Paragraph [0066]; wherein discloses a smart mirror system) comprising:
a housing (43A and 43B; Fig. 3B; Paragraph [0080]; wherein discloses a housing);
a two-way mirror (12; Fig. 1 and 2; Paragraph [0066]; wherein discloses “The mirror 12 is of a type that is generally referred to as a one-way mirror, although it is also sometimes referred to as a two-way mirror”; Paragraph [0207]) disposed within the housing (43A and 43B; Fig. 3B);
an interactive display (14; Fig. 3B; Paragraph [0070]; wherein discloses a touch sensitive display) positioned behind the two-way mirror (12; Fig. 3B) such that an output (34-38; Fig. 6A and 6B) of the display (14; Fig. 6A and 6B) is visible through the two-way mirror (12; Fig. 3A);
a camera (20; Fig. 15, 1, and 3B) supported on the housing (43A; Fig. 3B; Fig. 15);
a lighting element (18; Fig. 1, 2, and 3A; wherein discloses light source(s)) disposed on the housing (43A; Fig. 3A and 3B), the lighting element (18; Fig. 1, 2, and 3A ) configured to emit light (Paragraph [0076]; wherein discloses “The light produced by the one or more light sources 18 can thus be used to illuminate the user (or any other object disposed on the user-side of the mirror). Because they are variable in color and intensity, the light sources 18 can thus be used to adjust the ambient light conditions surrounding the user.”); and
an electronic processor (22; Fig. 1 and 3B) operably connected (Paragraph [0066]; wherein discloses “The processor 22 is communicatively coupled with the electronic display 14, the one or more sensors 16, the one or more light sources 18, and the one or more cameras 20”) with the display (12; Fig. 1 and 3B) , the camera (20; Fig. 1 and 3B), and the lighting element (18; Fig. 1 and 3A), the electronic processor (22; Fig. 1 and 3B) configured to:
receive a camera signal (802; Fig. 8; Paragraph [0091]; wherein discloses “the monitoring and detecting of the ambient lighting conditions is done by the one or more cameras 20”);
determine an environmental lighting profile (804; Fig. 8; Paragraph [0092, 0095]; wherein discloses “The difference can be measured in terms of color temperature/white balance”) based on the camera signal (802; Fig. 8);
generate a light output level (806; Fig. 8; Paragraph [0092]; wherein discloses “the system 10 adjusts the color, intensity, and other parameters of the one or more light sources 18 to compensate for the detected ambient light conditions and produce the desired lighting conditions.”) corresponding to the determined environmental lighting profile (804; Fig. 8; Paragraph [0092]); and
control the lighting element (18; Fig. 1, 2, and 3A) to emit light at the light output level (Paragraph [0092]; wherein discloses “This desired lighting condition can be achieved causing the one or more light sources 18 to emit various shades and intensities of white light”).
Claim 12, Mouizina (Fig. 1-23) discloses a method (Fig. 8) for operating an interactive mirror (10; Fig. 1; Paragraph [0066]; wherein discloses a smart mirror system), the method (Fig. 8) comprising:
receiving a camera signal (802; Fig. 8; Paragraph [0091]; wherein discloses “the monitoring and detecting of the ambient lighting conditions is done by the one or more cameras 20”) from one or more cameras (Paragraph [0077]; wherein discloses “ one or more cameras 20 mounted on or coupled to the mirror 12”);
determining an environmental lighting profile (804; Fig. 8; Paragraph [0092]; wherein discloses “The difference can be measured in terms of color temperature/white balance”) based on the camera signal (802; Fig. 8);
generating a light output level (806; Fig. 8; Paragraph [0092]; wherein discloses “the system 10 adjusts the color, intensity, and other parameters of the one or more light sources 18 to compensate for the detected ambient light conditions and produce the desired lighting conditions.”) corresponding to the determined environmental lighting profile (804; Fig. 8; Paragraph [0092]); and
controlling a lighting element (18; Fig. 1, 2, and 3A) to emit light at the light output level (Paragraph [0092]; wherein discloses “This desired lighting condition can be achieved causing the one or more light sources 18 to emit various shades and intensities of white light”).
Claim 16, Mouizina (Fig. 1-23) discloses an interactive mirror (10; Fig. 1; Paragraph [0066]; wherein discloses a smart mirror system) comprising:
a housing (43A and 43B; Fig. 3B; Paragraph [0080]; wherein discloses a housing);
a two-way mirror (12; Fig. 1 and 2; Paragraph [0066]; wherein discloses “The mirror 12 is of a type that is generally referred to as a one-way mirror, although it is also sometimes referred to as a two-way mirror”; Paragraph [0207]) disposed within the housing (43A and 43B; Fig. 3B), the two-way mirror (12; Fig. 1 and 2; Paragraph [0066]; wherein discloses a two-way mirror) including a partially transparent material (Paragraph [0066]; wherein discloses “The mirror 12 is configured transmit a first portion of light that is incident on its surfaces to the other side of the mirror 12, and to reflect a second portion of the light that is incident on its surfaces. This may be accomplished by applying a thin layer of a partially reflective coating to a generally transparent substrate material, such that less than all of the incident light is reflected by the partially reflecting coating. The remaining light is transmitted through the mirror 12 to the other side. Similarly, some light that strikes the mirror 12 on a side opposite the side where a user is standing will be transmitted through the mirror 12, allowing the user to see that transmitted light.”; therefore reading on the partially transparent limitation);
an interactive display (14; Fig. 3B; Paragraph [0070]; wherein discloses a touch sensitive display) positioned behind the two-way mirror (12; Fig. 3B) such that an output (34-38; Fig. 6A and 6B) of the display (14; Fig. 6A and 6B) is visible through the two-way mirror (12; Fig. 3A);
a camera (20; Fig. 15, 1, and 3B) supported on the housing (43A; Fig. 3B; Fig. 15); and
a light strip (18; Fig. 1, 2, and 3A) comprising a plurality of LEDs (Paragraph [0076]; wherein discloses “a plurality of light sources 18 could be disposed about the frame such that the light sources 18 generally surround the mirror”).
Claim 2, Mouizina (Fig. 1-23) discloses wherein an entirety of a surface of the two-way mirror (12; Fig. 1 and 2; Paragraph [0066]; wherein discloses a two-way mirror) is partially transparent (Paragraph [0066]; wherein discloses “The mirror 12 is configured transmit a first portion of light that is incident on its surfaces to the other side of the mirror 12, and to reflect a second portion of the light that is incident on its surfaces. This may be accomplished by applying a thin layer of a partially reflective
coating to a generally transparent substrate material, such that less than all of the incident light is reflected by the partially reflecting coating. The remaining light is transmitted through the mirror 12 to the other side. Similarly, some light that strikes the mirror 12 on a side opposite the side where a user is standing will be transmitted through the mirror 12, allowing the user to see that transmitted light.”; therefore reading on the partially transparent limitation).
Claim 9, Mouizina (Fig. 1-23) discloses wherein the determination of an environmental lighting profile (804; Fig. 8; Paragraph [0092]; wherein discloses “The difference can be measured in terms of color temperature/white balance”) further includes comparing the camera signal (802; Fig. 8; Paragraph [0091])) to a predetermined baseline (desired lighting conditions; Fig. 804) to determine an estimated brightness (Paragraph [0139]), color (Paragraph [0091]), and color temperature (Paragraph [0092]; wherein discloses “The difference can be measured in terms of color temperature/white balance”).
Claim 13, Mouizina (Fig. 1-23) discloses wherein the determining an environmental lighting profile (804; Fig. 8; Paragraph [0092]; wherein discloses “The difference can be measured in terms of color temperature/white balance”) further includes comparing the camera signal (802; Fig. 8; Paragraph [0091])) to a predetermined baseline (desired lighting conditions; Fig. 804) to determine an estimated brightness (Paragraph [0139]), color (Paragraph [0091]), and color temperature (Paragraph [0092]; wherein discloses “The difference can be measured in terms of color temperature/white balance”).
Claim 15, Mouizina (Fig. 1-23) discloses wherein determining an environmental lighting profile (804; Fig. 8) further includes receiving a signal (Fig. 10; Paragraph [0096]; wherein discloses selectable ambient conditions) through a user interface (16; Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mouizina et al (US 2020/0336705 A1) in view of Godlieb et al (US 2019/0220116 A1).
Claims 3 and 19, Mouizina discloses the interactive mirror of claim 1 and the interactive mirror of claim 16.
Mouizina does not expressly disclose wherein the interactive display is a touch screen operable through the two-way mirror.
Godlieb (Fig. 1-5B) discloses wherein the interactive display (100; Fig. 4B; wherein discloses a touchscreen mirror device) is a touch screen (10; Fig. 1) operable (Ca and Cb; Fig. 1) through the two-way mirror (20; Fig. 1; Paragraph [0047]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mouizina’s interactive mirror by applying a capacitive touch screen, as taught by Godlieb, so to use an interactive mirror with a capacitive touch screen for providing an improve apparatuses and methods using a capacitive touch controller in combination with a conductive mirror surface (Paragraph [0006]).
Claims 4 and 20, Godlieb (Fig. 1-5B) discloses wherein the interactive display (100; Fig. 4B; wherein discloses a touchscreen mirror device) is a capacitive touch screen (FIG. 1; Paragraph [0007]) and wherein the two-way mirror (20; Fig. 1; Paragraph [0047]) is configured such that charge (Ca and Cb; Fig. 1) may flow from a user (F; Fig. 1) through the two-way mirror (20; Fig. 1) and into the capacitive touch screen (10; Fig. 1).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mouizina’s interactive mirror by applying a capacitive touch screen, as taught by Godlieb, so to use an interactive mirror with a capacitive touch screen for providing an improve apparatuses and methods using a capacitive touch controller in combination with a conductive mirror surface (Paragraph [0006]).
Claim 5, Mouizina (Fig. 1-23) discloses wherein the two-way mirror (12; Fig. 1 and 2; Paragraph [0066]) further comprises an acrylic material (Paragraph [0066]; wherein discloses “The generally transparent material can be glass, acrylic, or any other suitable material”; Paragraph [0102]; wherein discloses “the mirror 12 comprises only the generally transparent substrate material (e.g., glass, acrylic, etc.)”).
Claims 6-7, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mouizina et al (US 2020/0336705 A1) in view of Kim (US 2017/0140732 A1).
Claim 6, Mouizina discloses the interactive mirror of claim 1.
Mouizina does not expressly disclose further comprising:
a first light sensor disposed within the housing behind the two-way mirror adjacent to the interactive display, the first light sensor configured to output a first light signal corresponding to the light output by the interactive display, and
a second light sensor disposed outside the housing adjacent to the two-way mirror, the second light sensor configured to output a second light signal corresponding to an environment brightness.
Kim (Fig. 1-14) discloses further comprising:
a first light sensor (1340; Fig. 13; wherein discloses both a color sensor (1340H) and illumination sensor (1340J)) disposed within the housing (Paragraph [0103]; wherein discloses a housing) behind the two-way mirror (355; Fig. 3) adjacent to the interactive display (351; Fig. 3), the first light sensor configured (1340; Fig. 13; wherein discloses both a color sensor (1340H) and illumination sensor (1340J)) to output a first light signal corresponding to the light output (Paragraph [0144]; wherein discloses “the electronic device may check the amount of light reflected or transmitted to the mirror, that is, the amount of light incident on the mirror, based on an external light intensity value received from the external device and an internal light intensity value detected from the brightness of light emitted from the internal light source.”) by the interactive display (Paragraph [0110]; wherein discloses “the electronic device 400 may be configured to further include at least one internal light source for radiating light to the mirror 455 which is included in or connected to the display 450 as well as/in addition to the light source included in the display panel 451”), and
a second light sensor (240; Fig. 2) disposed outside the housing (Paragraph [0088]; wherein discloses an external device with an illumination sensor) adjacent to the two-way mirror (501; Fig. 5A and 5B), the second light sensor (240; Fig. 2) configured to output a second light signal (Paragraph [0154]) corresponding to an environment brightness (607; Fig. 6).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mouizina’s interactive mirror by applying a lighting control method, as taught by Kim, so to use an interactive mirror with a lighting control method for providing an electronic device having a display and a method for controlling an operation of the display in order to improve the visibility of the display in the electronic device (Paragraph [0012]).
Claim 7, Kim (Fig. 1-14) discloses wherein the electronic processor (410; Fig. 4; 1310; Fig. 13) is further configured to:
calculate a light intensity value (Paragraph [00127-0128]; wherein discloses “a light intensity”) based on the signals received from the first light sensor (1340; Fig. 13; wherein discloses both a color sensor (1340H) and illumination sensor (1340J)) and the second light sensor (240; Fig. 2), and
control at least one of the interactive display (Paragraph [00114]; wherein discloses a first mode or a second mode; 355; Fig. 2; 605; Fig. 6; 905; Fig. 9) and the lighting element (611; Fig. 6; 911; Fig. 9) based on the calculated light intensity value (607; Fig. 6; 907; Fig. 9).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mouizina’s interactive mirror by applying a lighting control method, as taught by Kim, so to use an interactive mirror with a lighting control method for providing an electronic device having a display and a method for controlling an operation of the display in order to improve the visibility of the display in the electronic device (Paragraph [0012]).
Claim 11, Mouizina discloses the interactive mirror of claim 1.
Mouizina does not expressly disclose further comprising:
a motion sensor,
a microphone,
a humidity sensor,
one or more light sensors, and
a wireless communication interface,
wherein each of the motion sensor, the microphone, the humidity sensor, the one or more light sensors, and the wireless communication interface are operatively coupled to the electronic processor.
Kim (Fig. 1-14) discloses further comprising:
a motion sensor (Gesture Sensor or 1340A; Fig. 13),
a microphone (1388; Fig. 13),
a humidity sensor (1340J; Fig. 13),
one or more light sensors (1340H and 1340K; Fig. 13; wherein discloses RGB sensor and illumination sensor), and
a wireless communication interface (1320; Fig. 13),
wherein each of the motion sensor (1340A; Fig. 13), the microphone (1388; Fig. 13), the humidity sensor (1340J; Fig. 13), the one or more light sensors (1340H and 1340K; Fig. 13), and the wireless communication interface (1320; Fig. 13) are operatively coupled to the electronic processor (1310; Fig. 13).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mouizina’s interactive mirror by applying a lighting control method, as taught by Kim, so to use an interactive mirror with a lighting control method for providing an electronic device having a display and a method for controlling an operation of the display in order to improve the visibility of the display in the electronic device (Paragraph [0012]).
Claim 14, Mouizina (Fig. 1-23) discloses wherein determining an environmental lighting profile (Fig. 8) further includes adjusting the environmental lighting profile (Fig. 10) based on at least one of a time (36; Fig. 10 and 17A; Paragraph [0094]; wherein discloses sunrise and sunset), a location (Paragraph [0092]; wherein discloses a desired location), and a weather signal (42; Fig. 17A) received through a connection (Paragraph [0092]; wherein discloses uploaded).
Mouizina does not expressly disclose a wireless connection.
Kim (Fig. 1-14) discloses a wireless connection (1320; Fig. 13),
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mouizina’s interactive mirror by applying a lighting control method, as taught by Kim, so to use an interactive mirror with a lighting control method for providing an electronic device having a display and a method for controlling an operation of the display in order to improve the visibility of the display in the electronic device (Paragraph [0012]).
Claims 8, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mouizina et al (US 2020/0336705 A1) in view of Mueller et al (US 2003/0133292 A1).
Claim 8, Mouizina discloses the interactive mirror of claim 1.
Mouizina does not expressly disclose wherein the lighting element is a light strip comprising a plurality of LEDs, wherein the lights strip is configured to output light within an entirety of Kelvin temperature scale.
Mueller (Fig. 31 and 38) discloses wherein the lighting element (3808; Fig. 38) is a light strip (Paragraph [0225]; wherein discloses an array of LEDs) comprising a plurality of LEDs (Paragraph [0225]), wherein the lights strip (Paragraph [0225]; wherein discloses an array of LEDs) is configured to output light within an entirety of Kelvin temperature scale (Paragraph [0026]; wherein discloses “The lighting fixture may produce white light within a range of color temperatures such as, but not limited to, the range 500K to 10,000K”; see Applicant’s figure 7 which shows a range from 1000K to 10000K which is similar to the prior arts range).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mouizina’s mirrored lighting device by applying an array of LEDs, as taught by Mueller, so to use a mirrored lighting device with an array of LEDs for providing LED lighting units capable of generating light of a range of colors are used to provide light or supplement ambient light to afford lighting conditions suitable for a wide range of applications (Paragraph [0023]).
Claim 17, Mouizina discloses the interactive mirror of claim 16.
Mouizina does not expressly disclose wherein the lights strip is configured to output light within an entirety of Kelvin temperature scale.
Mueller (Fig. 31 and 38) discloses wherein the lights strip (Paragraph [0225]; wherein discloses an array of LEDs) is configured to output light within an entirety of Kelvin temperature scale (Paragraph [0026]; wherein discloses “The lighting fixture may produce white light within a range of color temperatures such as, but not limited to, the range 500K to 10,000K”; see Applicant’s figure 7 which shows a range from 1000K to 10000K which is similar to the prior arts range).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mouizina’s mirrored lighting device by applying an array of LEDs, as taught by Mueller, so to use a mirrored lighting device with an array of LEDs for providing LED lighting units capable of generating light of a range of colors are used to provide light or supplement ambient light to afford lighting conditions suitable for a wide range of applications (Paragraph [0023]).
Claim 18, Mueller (Fig. 31 and 38) discloses wherein the light strip (Fig. 38; Paragraph [0225]; wherein discloses an array of LEDs) is a full-spectrum light configured to emit light ranging from infrared to near-ultraviolet light (Paragraph [0024]; wherein discloses “the illumination sources mounted on a mounting allowing the spectrums to mix so that the resulting spectrum is substantially continuous in the photopic response of the human eye and/or in the wavelengths from 400 nm to 700 nm”; Paragraph [0143]; wherein discloses “This will generally be electromagnetic radiation less than 400 nm (ultraviolet light) or greater than 700 nm (infrared light)”)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mouizina’s mirrored lighting device by applying an array of LEDs, as taught by Mueller, so to use a mirrored lighting device with an array of LEDs for providing LED lighting units capable of generating light of a range of colors are used to provide light or supplement ambient light to afford lighting conditions suitable for a wide range of applications (Paragraph [0023]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mouizina et al (US 2020/0336705 A1) in view of Dou (WO 2020/010761 A1).
Claim 10, Mouizina discloses the interactive mirror of claim 1.
Mouizina does not expressly disclose wherein the housing includes a mounting interface defining a plurality of mounting holes configured to couple to a wall.
Dou (Fig. 1 and 2) discloses wherein the housing (4; Fig. 2) includes a mounting interface (7; Fig. 7) defining a plurality of mounting holes (73a; Fig. 1; wherein discloses a hanging hole) configured to couple to a wall (See page 3 of translation which discloses the hangers are used to facilitate the suspension of the smart mirror; therefore reading on the used to couple to a wall limitation).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mouizina’s interactive mirror by applying hangers, as taught by Dou, so to use an interactive mirror with hangers for providing facilitating the suspension of the smart mirror (See page 3 of translation).
Conclusion
/Adam J Snyder/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623 12/11/2025