DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 31, 32, and 41-52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heironimus et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2021/0276702 A1) in view of Wagner et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2022/0250756 A1) and Mislak (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2020/0064038 A1).
For claim 31, Heironimus et al. disclose the claimed invention comprising: a motor assembly (reference numeral 602) including a stator and a rotor (see figure 6); and a heat exchanger (reference numeral 506) configured to receive air to cool a liquid (see figure 6, and paragraph [0035]). Heironimus et al. however do not specifically disclose a thermal plate including one or more channels configured to convey the liquid from the heat exchanger to the motor assembly; and wherein the heat exchanger is mechanically coupled to the thermal plate, wherein the heat exchanger is fluidically coupled to the thermal plate via one or more openings configured to convey the liquid; wherein the thermal plate is adjacent to the heat exchanger.
Wagner et al. disclose a thermal plate (reference numeral 322) including one or more channels (see paragraph [0029]) configured to convey the liquid from the heat exchanger (i.e. elements that function to transfer thermal energy, see paragraph [0029]) to the motor assembly (reference numeral 302, see figure 3); and wherein the heat exchanger (i.e. elements that function to transfer thermal energy, see paragraph [0029]) is mechanically coupled to the thermal plate (reference numeral 322, see figure 3). Having a heat exchanger fluidically coupled to the thermal plate via one or more openings configured to convey the liquid is a known skill as exhibited by Mislak which discloses a heat exchanger (reference numeral 208, figure 6) being fluidically coupled to a thermal plate (reference numeral 224, see figure 6) via one or more openings (i.e. tube component 206 can be considered openings for conveying liquid, see figure 6); and Mislak also discloses the thermal plate (reference numeral 224) being adjacent to the heat exchanger (reference numeral 208, see figure 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the thermal plate as disclosed by Wagner et al. for the heat exchanger of Heironimus et al. and also have the heat exchanger fluidically coupled to the thermal plate via openings as disclosed by Mislak for the thermal plate of Heironimus et al. in view of Wagner et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the cooling function of the device.
For claim 52, Heironimus et al. disclose the claimed invention comprising: a motor assembly (reference numeral 602) including a stator and a rotor (see figure 6); a heat exchanger (reference numeral 506) configured to receive air to cool a liquid (see figure 6, and paragraph [0035]). Heironimus et al. however do not specifically disclose the heat exchanger having one or more liquid flow paths; a thermal plate including one or more channels configured to convey the liquid from the heat exchanger to the motor assembly; and wherein the heat exchanger is mechanically coupled to the thermal plate, wherein the heat exchanger is fluidically coupled to the thermal plate via the one or more liquid flow paths; wherein the thermal plate is adjacent to the heat exchanger.
Wagner et al. disclose a thermal plate (reference numeral 322) including one or more channels (see paragraph [0029]) configured to convey the liquid from the heat exchanger (i.e. elements that function to transfer thermal energy, see paragraph [0029]) to the motor assembly (reference numeral 302, see figure 3); and wherein the heat exchanger (i.e. elements that function to transfer thermal energy, see paragraph [0029]) is mechanically coupled to the thermal plate (reference numeral 322, see figure 3). Providing the heat exchanger with one or more liquid flow paths is a known skill as exhibited by Mislak (i.e. heat exchanger 208 having liquid flow paths 206, see figure 6), and having a heat exchanger fluidically coupled to the thermal plate via one or more liquid flow paths is a known skill as exhibited by Mislak which discloses a heat exchanger (reference numeral 208, figure 6) being fluidically coupled to a thermal plate (reference numeral 224, see figure 6) via one or more liquid flow paths (i.e. tube component 206 can be considered liquid flow paths, see figure 6); and Mislak also discloses the thermal plate (reference numeral 224) being adjacent to the heat exchanger (reference numeral 208, see figure 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the thermal plate as disclosed by Wagner et al. for the heat exchanger of Heironimus et al. and also have the heat exchanger fluidically coupled to the thermal plate via the one or more liquid flow paths as disclosed by Mislak for the thermal plate of Heironimus et al. in view of Wagner et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the cooling function of the device.
For claim 32, Heironimus et al. in view of Wagner et al. and Mislak disclose the claimed invention except for the thermal plate being mechanically coupled to an inverter assembly. Wagner et al. further disclose the thermal plate (reference numeral 322) being mechanically coupled to an inverter assembly (reference numeral 308, see figure 3), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the thermal plate coupled to the inverter assembly as disclosed by Wagner et al. for the thermal plate of Heironimus et al. in view of Wagner et al. and Mislak for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the cooling function of the device.
For claim 41, Heironimus et al. in view of Wagner et al. and Mislak disclose the claimed invention except for the thermal plate comprising one or more fin arrays configured to receive the liquid from the one or more channels. Wagner et al. further disclose fin arrays (reference numeral 332) for the thermal plate (reference numeral 322, see figure 3), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the fin arrays as disclosed by Wagner et al. for the thermal plate of Heironimus et al. in view of Wagner et al. and Mislak for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the cooling function of the device.
For claim 42, Heironimus et al. in view of Wagner et al. and Mislak disclose the claimed invention except for the one or more fin arrays being configured to provide cooling to an inverter assembly. Wagner et al. further disclose fin arrays (reference numeral 332) being attached to the inverter assembly (reference numeral 308, see figure 3), which would provide cooling to the inverter assembly. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the fin array as disclosed by Wagner et al. for cooling the inverter assembly of Heironimus et al. in view of Wagner et al. and Mislak for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the cooling function of the device.
For claim 43, Heironimus et al. in view of Wagner et al. and Mislak disclose the claimed invention except for a fin array of the one or more fin arrays being disposed in a cavity of the thermal plate. Wagner et al. further disclose fin arrays (reference numeral 332) disposed in a cavity (see figure 5), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the fin array disposed in the cavity as disclosed by Wagner et al. for the fin arrays of Heironimus et al. in view of Wagner et al. and Mislak for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the cooling function of the device.
For claim 44, Heironimus et al. in view of Wagner et al. and Mislak disclose the claimed invention except for the heat exchanger comprising an array of cooling fins and tubes. Wagner et al. further disclose the heat exchanger (i.e. elements that function to transfer thermal energy, see paragraph [0029]) comprising an array of cooling fins (reference numeral 332, figure 3) and tubes (see paragraph [0037]), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the cooling fins and tubes as disclosed by Wagner et al. for the heat exchanger of Heironimus et al. in view of Wagner et al. and Mislak for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the cooling function of the device.
For claim 45, Heironimus et al. disclose the motor assembly providing propulsion for a propeller of a vertical take-off and landing (VTOL) aircraft (reference numeral 100, see figure 1A, and paragraph [0028]).
For claim 46, Heironimus et al. disclose air flowing from a propeller component (reference numeral 612) to the heat exchanger (reference numeral 506, see figure 6), i.e. the heat exchanger being positioned to allow an air flow from the propeller to enter the heat exchanger.
For claim 47, Heironimus et al. in view of Wagner et al. and Mislak disclose the claimed invention except for the motor assembly, the thermal plate, and an inverter assembly being concentrically aligned along a main shaft. Wagner et al. disclose the thermal plate (reference numeral 322) being aligned with the inverter (reference numeral 350, see figure 3), and when applied to the motor assembly and the inverter assembly of Heironimus et al. which already disclose the motor assembly and inverter assembly being concentrically aligned along a main shaft (i.e. motor 602 and inverter 608 aligned along shaft 604 in figure 6 of Heironimus et al.) this would disclose the motor assembly, the thermal plate, and an inverter assembly are concentrically aligned along a main shaft. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the thermal plate as disclosed by Wagner et al. being concentrically aligned with the motor assembly and inverter assembly of Heironimus et al. in view of Wagner et al. and Mislak for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the cooling function of the device.
For claim 48, Heironimus et al. disclose an inverter assembly (reference numeral 608, figure 6), wherein the inverter assembly possesses a substantially circular profile (i.e. inverter 608 disposed in a circular profile shown in figure 6).
For claim 49, Heironimus et al. disclose an inverter assembly (reference numeral 608, figure 6), wherein an inner diameter of the heat exchanger (reference numeral 506) is proportionate to an outer diameter of the inverter assembly (reference numeral 608, see figure 6).
For claim 50, Heironimus et al. disclose the heat exchanger (reference numeral 506) being configured to cool the liquid (i.e. oil in the sump 610 and cooler 614, figure 6) to lubricate the motor assembly (reference numeral 602) and a gearbox assembly (reference numeral 605, figure 6).
For claim 51, Heironimus et al. disclose the heat exchanger (reference numeral 506) being configured to cool the liquid (i.e. oil in the sump 610 and cooler 614, figure 6) to provide cooling to the motor assembly (reference numeral 602), a gearbox assembly (reference numeral 605), and an inverter assembly (reference numeral 608, figure 6).
Claim(s) 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heironimus et al. in view of Wagner et al. and Mislak as applied to claim 31 above, and further in view of Koplow (US Patent No.: 8988881).
For claim 33, Heironimus et al. in view of Wagner et al. and Mislak disclose the claimed invention except for an end bell plate abutting the motor assembly, wherein the end bell plate and the thermal plate form the one or more channels configured to convey the liquid. Having an end bell plate abutting a motor assembly is a known skill as exhibited by Koplow (i.e. end bell 2425 abutting the motor component 2415, see figure 24), and when applied to the motor of Heironimus et al. in view of Wagner et al. and Mislak this would disclose an end bell plate abutting the motor assembly, wherein the end bell plate and the thermal plate form the one or more channels configured to convey the liquid. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the end bell plate as disclosed by Koplow for the motor assembly of Heironimus et al. in view of Wagner et al. and Mislak for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the cooling function of the device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 34, 35, 37, and 38 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 36, 39, and 40 are also objected to for their dependency upon aforementioned claims 35 and 38.
The statement of reasons for allowable subject matter has been provided in the previous Office action sent 6/11/25.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 31, 32, and 41-51 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/ALEX W MOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834