DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species B, Fig. 8 in the reply filed on 3/24/26 is acknowledged. Applicant states that this species encompasses claims 1-6. However, claims 3-4 and 6 do not relate to Fig. 8. For claims 3-4, there is no support for first and second stops – this is only related to Figs. 2-4. For claim 6, there is no support for a twisting portion – this is only related to Figs. 9-10. Therefore, claims 3-4 and 6 are also withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 states “wherein the elastic bending element or the elastic bending elements”, but had previously stated that it “comprises a plurality of elastic bending elements”. Therefore, it cannot be a singular “elastic bending element” anymore.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kellogg et al (US 1864045 A ) in view of Kramer (US 11279466 B1) and Stearns et al (US 20210147076 A1).
For claim 1, Kellogg discloses an aircraft, comprising:
a rotor device Fig. 2;
wherein a rotor device comprises at least one rotor blade 13, which is configured to be rotatable about a rotor blade axis screw 14;
wherein the rotor device has:
a first portion 17 rotatably driven about an axis of rotation;
a second portion hub 11, which is configured to be movable relative to the first portion about an axis that runs coaxially with the axis of rotation and to which the rotor blade is fastened or that comprises the rotor blade blades 13 fastened to hub 11;
wherein a relative position of the second portion to the first portion depends upon a torque with which the first portion is driven “The propeller shaft will there- fore, by reason of the worm sleeve fixed there- to, draw the wormed hub 11 forward and to- oward the speed regulating disc 17”, and a mechanical coupling arms 18, which couples the relative position of the first portion relative to the second portion to a rotational position of the rotor blade about the rotor blade axis “said arms cause the propeller blades to turn on their pivotal connections with said hub”.
wherein the rotor device comprises a restoring device springs 24, which at least temporarily presses the rotor blade in the direction of an initial position with regard to its rotational position “said springs will move the hub back to the normally retracted position whereby the pitch of the blades will be again decreased to their original pitch”;
wherein the restoring device is in the form of an elastic coupling device that elastically and at least indirectly couples the second portion to the first portion springs 24.
Kellogg fails to disclose that the elastic coupling device has a progressive spring characteristic curve and that there are multiple rotor devices.
However, Kramer teaches a spring for a self-adjusting variable pitch propeller in which “The spring compression type (progressive vs constant), determines the rate of pitch change generated” (Col 6, lines 48-49). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Kellogg by using a progressive spring curve as disclosed by Kramer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification since it “determines the rate of pitch change generated”, in order to provide the desired response for the aircraft.
Kellogg disclose that the propeller device may be used on aircraft but not explicitly what type. However, Stearns teaches a multicopter with multiple rotor devices with pitch change mechanisms Fig. 5. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Kellogg by using the propeller device on a multicopter as disclosed by Stearns. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to use the propeller on many types of aircraft such as a multicopter.
it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have two rotor devices on the aircraft in order to provide additional thrust, redundancy, or additional control, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
For claim 2, Kellogg discloses the multicopter according to claim 1, wherein the elastic coupling device comprises at least one elastic bending element springs, in particular, comprises a plurality of elastic bending elements multiple spring 24, that are preferably arranged in a manner evenly distributed as seen in the circumferential direction of the first portion “preferably” – not required, wherein the elastic bending element or the elastic bending elements is or are connected at one end to the first portion and at the other end to the second portion Fig. 6: springs 24 connected at the left end to 17 via pins 22 and connected to 11 at the right end, at least indirectly.
For claim 5, Kellogg discloses the multicopter according to claim 1, wherein the mechanical coupling comprises a driver lever that is rigidly connected to the rotor blade and that is coupled to a driver portion of the first portion Fig. 3: screw 20 connected to blade 13 and at least indirectly coupled to disc 17.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/COLIN ZOHOORI/Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642