Note about this action
It appears that Applicant may not be familiar with patent prosecution procedure. If Applicant has any questions about the objections and rejections below, or would like to discuss any details of this application, please feel free to call Examiner Bradley Oliver at 571-270-3787. If Applicant has questions regarding PTO forms or fees, please call the Pro Se Assistance Program at 1-866-767-3848.
Please note that this action may include objections and rejections. Objections are given to parts of the application that are improper in form or format. Rejections are the refusal to grant a claim or claims because the subject matter of the claim(s) is considered "unpatentable".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the cartridge" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the outer gear" in line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the tapered toothbrush cavity gear" in line 20. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the cartridge" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "a seal" in line 2. It is unclear if this is the same structure as the seal recited in claim 7, upon which claim 8 depends. If the seal in claim 8 is the same as the seal in claim 7, this rejection can be overcome by deleting “a seal” from claim 8. If the seals are different structures, claims 7 and 8 should be amended to differentiate the two (e.g., by amending claim 7 to recite “a first seal” and amending claim 8 to recite “a second seal”).
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the outer gear" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the tapered toothbrush cavity" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 7 and 10-12 are rejected as inheriting the defect(s) of their respective parent claim(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reitknecht (US 4135931).
Regarding claim 2, Reitknecht discloses an apparatus for dispensing toothpaste comprising: a toothbrush including: a head (46) including bristles (50), a cartridge cavity (interior of 22), and a tube (64) extending from the cartridge cavity to the bristles.
Regarding claim 3, Reitknecht discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the tube extends to the end of the bristles (at 70) and is configured for dispensing toothpaste (20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reitknecht as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Kuo (US 8647007).
Regarding claim 4, Reitknecht teaches the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the tube includes a proximal end (at 66) and a distal end (at 70), but does not teach that the distal end of the tube includes a cap with cross slices configured to stop toothpaste from oozing out.
Kuo teaches a cap (32) with cross slices (106) configured to stop toothpaste from oozing out.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Reitknecht with a cap with cross slices configured to stop toothpaste from oozing out as taught by Kuo for the purpose of preventing the toothpaste from being dispensed when the toothpaste is not under pressure (Kuo, col. 4, ll. 1-19).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Reitknecht and Kuo teaches the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the toothbrush further comprising: a body (Reitknecht 12) extending from the head, the body including a toothbrush cavity; and a gear (Reitknecht 106) configured to advance the toothpaste.
Claim(s) 6-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reitknecht and Kuo as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Perera (US 9743748).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Reitknecht and Kuo teaches the apparatus of claim 5, but does not teach that the toothbrush further comprising: a hatch configured to create a positive pressure into the cartridge forcing the cartridge forward, creating a tapered seal within the front of the toothbrush cavity.
Perera teaches a toothbrush with a hatch (bottom of the handle that can be removed, see col. 4, ll. 39-41) configured to create a positive pressure into a cartridge (24) forcing the cartridge forward, creating a tapered seal (between 28 and 30) within the front of the toothpaste cavity.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have replaced the threaded connection taught by Reitknecht with a hatch configured to create a positive pressure into the cartridge forcing the cartridge forward, creating a tapered seal within the front of the toothbrush cavity as taught by Perera, wherein doing so would merely be a matter of simple substitution of one toothpaste cartridge connection with another with predictable results.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Reitknecht, Kuo, and Perera teaches the apparatus of claim 6, further comprising: a cartridge (Reitknecht 14) configured for providing toothpaste to the toothbrush for dispensing, the cartridge includes one or more gears (Reitknecht 104), a plunger (Reitknecht 100), a cartridge tube (Reitknecht 14), and a seal (Perera 28 and 30).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Reitknecht, Kuo, and Perera teaches the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the cartridge further comprises: a seal (Perera 28 and 30), wherein the gear is located on a back surface of the cartridge and is attached to an inner spindle (Reitknecht 96).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Reitknecht, Kuo, and Perera teaches the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the gear makes contact with the outer gear located on the body of the toothbrush (Reitknecht Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Reitknecht, Kuo, and Perera teaches the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the plunger rotates around the inner spindle which attaches to the gear (Reitknecht, due to threads on 96).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Reitknecht, Kuo, and Perera teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the plunger rotates forward as the gears are turned, pushing the toothpaste from the cartridge to the end of the toothbrush (Reitknecht col. 5, ll. 6-15).
Claim(s) 12-13 and 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reitknecht, Kuo, and Perera as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Gueret (US 6648538).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Reitknecht, Kuo, and Perera teaches the apparatus of claim 11, but does not teach that the cartridge tube has two or more indentations on a first end that are configured to stop the cartridge tube from rotating within the toothbrush.
Gueret teaches a cartridge tube (20) with two indentations (formed on either side of rib 34) on a first end that are configured to stop the cartridge tube from rotating within a body (2).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Reitknecht, Kuo, and Perera such that the cartridge tube has two or more indentations on a first end that are configured to stop the cartridge tube from rotating within the toothbrush for the purpose of preventing rotation of the cartridge (Gueret col. 8, ll. 58-61).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Reitknecht, Kuo, Perera, and Gueret teaches the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the seal includes a tapered fitting (Perera 28) on the end of the cartridge is designed to press into the tapered toothbrush cavity causing a seal which only allows the toothpaste to travel through the cartridge tube and into the head of the toothbrush.
Regarding claim 1, Reitknecht teaches an apparatus for dispensing toothpaste comprising: a toothbrush including: a head (46) including bristles (50), a cartridge cavity (interior of 22), and a tube (64) extending from the cartridge cavity to the bristles, wherein the tube extends to the end of the bristles (at 70) and is configured for dispensing toothpaste (20), wherein the tube includes a proximal end (at 66) and a distal end (at 70), wherein the toothbrush further comprising: a body (12) extending from the head, the body including a toothbrush cavity; and a gear (106) configured to advance the toothpaste; a cartridge (14) configured for providing toothpaste to the toothbrush for dispensing, the cartridge includes one or more gears (104), a plunger (100), and a cartridge tube (14), wherein the gear is located on a back surface of the cartridge and is attached to an inner spindle (96), wherein the gear makes contact with the outer gear located on the body of the toothbrush (Fig. 1), wherein the plunger rotates around the inner spindle which attaches to the gear (due to threads on 96), wherein the plunger rotates forward as the gears are turned, pushing the toothpaste from the cartridge to the end of the toothbrush (col. 5, ll. 6-15), wherein the seal includes a tapered fitting (Perera 28) on the end of the cartridge is designed to press into the tapered toothbrush cavity causing a seal which only allows the toothpaste to travel through the cartridge tube and into the head of the toothbrush.
Reitknecht does not teach that the distal end of the tube includes a cap with cross slices configured to stop toothpaste from oozing out; a hatch configured to create a positive pressure into the cartridge forcing the cartridge forward, creating a tapered seal within the front of the toothbrush cavity, that the cartridge includes a seal, that the cartridge tube has two or more indentations on a first end that are configured to stop the cartridge tube from rotating within the toothbrush, or that the seal includes a tapered fitting on the end of the cartridge is designed to press into the tapered toothbrush cavity causing a seal which only allows the toothpaste to travel through the cartridge tube and into the head of the toothbrush.
Kuo teaches a cap (32) with cross slices (106) configured to stop toothpaste from oozing out.
Perera teaches a toothbrush with a hatch (bottom of the handle that can be removed, see col. 4, ll. 39-41) configured to create a positive pressure into a cartridge (24) forcing the cartridge forward, creating a tapered seal (between 28 and 30) within the front of the toothpaste cavity, wherein the cartridge has a seal (28), and wherein the seal includes a tapered fitting (28) on the end of the cartridge is designed to press into the tapered toothbrush cavity causing a seal which only allows the toothpaste to travel through the cartridge tube and into the head of the toothbrush.
Gueret teaches a cartridge tube (20) with two indentations (formed on either side of rib 34) on a first end that are configured to stop the cartridge tube from rotating within a body (2).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Reitknecht with a cap with cross slices configured to stop toothpaste from oozing out as taught by Kuo for the purpose of preventing the toothpaste from being dispensed when the toothpaste is not under pressure (Kuo, col. 4, ll. 1-19).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have replaced the threaded connection taught by Reitknecht with a hatch configured to create a positive pressure into the cartridge forcing the cartridge forward, creating a tapered seal within the front of the toothbrush cavity, wherein the cartridge has a seal, and wherein the seal includes a tapered fitting on the end of the cartridge is designed to press into the tapered toothbrush cavity causing a seal which only allows the toothpaste to travel through the cartridge tube and into the head of the toothbrush as taught by Perera, wherein doing so would merely be a matter of simple substitution of one toothpaste cartridge connection with another with predictable results.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Reitknecht such that the cartridge tube has two or more indentations on a first end that are configured to stop the cartridge tube from rotating within the toothbrush for the purpose of preventing rotation of the cartridge (Gueret col. 8, ll. 58-61).
Conclusion
/BRADLEY S OLIVER/Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/DAVID P ANGWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754