DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 18 January 2026, in which claims 1, 8, 10, 14, 15, and 17 were amended.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 15, and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities. Examiner suggests the changes below:
“a vehicle” be changed to --the vehicle-- (claim 1, line 3), since this feature has already been claimed;
“an existing components” be changed to --existing components-- (claim 15, line 7);
“an existing components” be changed to --the existing components-- (claim 17, line 3), since this feature has already been claimed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the vehicle body" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggests rephrasing to read --a vehicle body--.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the rear" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggests rephrasing to read --a rear--.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the rear" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggests rephrasing to read --a rear--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-10, and 13-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by White (US 2031399 A). White discloses a power take-off system (figures 1-7) for a vehicle (figure 1), and a method of installing the power take-off system on the vehicle, comprising:
(claims 1, 8, 15) a power take-off assembly having a power take-off drive shaft (including shaft/tube members #2, 3, 9, 12-14, 18) configured to be interwoven through a chassis (frame) of a vehicle, wherein the power take-off drive shaft is disposed under a vehicle body and directs power toward the rear of the vehicle therein, the power take-off assembly is configured to power internal and external equipment (has the ability to so perform, such as powering grinding machine #25 or other mechanisms via shaft #18, and powering rear differential #4 via shaft #3; figures 1-7; pages 1-2);
a clutch (including gears #15, 17, 27) operatively connected to an engine (engine coupled with transmission #1) of the vehicle and adapted to selectively engage with the power take-off drive shaft (#2, 3, 9, 12-14, 18) to transfer energy from the engine to the power take-off drive shaft (figures 1-4; pages 1-2);
wherein the power take-off system is configured to be installed on the vehicle without modifications to the chassis (frame) of the vehicle (has the ability to so perform, since the intent is to provide easy installation to an existing vehicle without major alterations; page 1, column 1, lines 3-13);
(claims 2, 13, 16) wherein the power take-off drive shaft includes a first drive shaft and a second drive shaft connected by a universal joint (including drive shafts #2, 3, 9, 12-14, 18 connected by universal joints #10, 28; figures 1-4; pages 1-2);
(claims 3, 14, 17) wherein the universal joint (#10, 28) enables the power take-off drive shaft (#2, 3, 9, 12-14, 18) to navigate around existing components of the vehicle (figures 1-4; page 1, column 1, lines 3-13);
(claims 4, 9, 18) a gear box (including casing #5, which houses gears #15, 17, 27) operatively associated with the power take-off drive shaft (#2, 3, 9, 12-14, 18), wherein the gear box is configured to modify rotational energy transfer between the power take-off drive shaft (at least shafts #3, 18) and the engine (engine coupled with transmission #1; has the ability to so perform; figures 1-4; pages 1-2);
(claims 5, 10, 19) wherein the gear box (#5) is mounted (via bars #8) to the chassis (including side channel beams #7) of the vehicle without modifying the chassis (figure 4; page 1, column 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 7, 11, 12, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White (US 2031399 A) in view of Marotte et al. (US 8950525 B2). White discloses a pulley system (including pulleys #21, 23) and a power take-off belt (#22; figure 1; page 1, column 2, lines 26-43), but does not disclose a pulley system connected to the engine and a power take-off belt, wherein the power take-off belt is configured to transfer rotational energy from the engine to the clutch. Marotte et al. teaches a power take-off system (including PTO #250) for a vehicle (#100), and a method of installing the power take-off system on the vehicle, comprising a pulley system (including pulleys #280, 305) connected to an engine (#130) and a power take-off belt (#265), wherein the power take-off belt is configured to transfer rotational energy from the engine to a clutch (#230; figures 2, 3, 5, 6; columns 3-4), wherein the pulley system is integrated with an existing pulley assembly carried by the engine (figures 2, 3, 5, 6; columns 3-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power take-off system and method of White to include a pulley system connected to the engine and a power take-off belt, wherein the power take-off belt is configured to transfer rotational energy from the engine to the clutch, as taught by Marotte et al., so as to provide a compact structure with ease of assembly for after-market applications (Marotte et al.: column 1, lines 27-32; column 4, line 41-column 5, line 8; column 6, lines 8-17).
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kokot, Jr., et al. (US 11479120 B2) in view of Marotte et al. (US 8950525 B2). Kokot, Jr., et al. discloses a power take-off system (figures 1-3) for a vehicle (figure 1), and a method of installing the power take-off system on the vehicle, comprising:
(claims 1, 8, 15) a power take-off assembly having a power take-off drive shaft (including shafts #16, 24, 26) configured to be interwoven through a chassis (including undercarriage #12 of frame) of a vehicle (figure 1), wherein the power take-off drive shaft is disposed under a vehicle body and directs power toward the rear of the vehicle therein (figures 1, 2), the power take-off assembly is configured to power internal and external equipment (has the ability to so perform, such as powering auxiliary equipment #14 installed on the vehicle and external devices powered by the auxiliary equipment #14; Abstract; column 1; column 2, lines 46-54);
an engine (engine drives transmission #18; column 1, lines 27-56; column 2, line 46-column 3, line 10);
wherein the power take-off system is configured to be installed on the vehicle without modifications to the chassis of the vehicle (has the ability to so perform; column 4, lines 4-33);
(claims 2, 13, 16) wherein the power take-off drive shaft includes a first drive shaft and a second drive shaft connected by a universal joint (including shafts #16, 24, 26 connected by universal joints #20, 22, 28; figures 1-6; column 2, line 65-column 4, line 46);
(claims 3, 14, 17) wherein the universal joint (#20, 22, 28) enables the power take-off drive shaft (#16, 24, 26) to navigate around existing components of the vehicle (figures 1-6).
Kokot, Jr., et al. discloses a PTO shaft (#16) associated with an engine-driven transmission (#18; figures 1-3; column 2, line 65-column 3, line 10), but does not disclose a clutch, gear box, pulley system, or power take-off belt. Marotte et al. teaches a power take-off system (including PTO #250) for a vehicle (#100), and a method of installing the power take-off system on the vehicle, comprising:
(claims 1, 8, 15) a power take-off assembly (PTO #250) having a power take-off drive shaft (including first shaft #235, second shaft #240) configured to be interwoven through a chassis (including frame #114) of a vehicle (#100), wherein the power take-off drive shaft is disposed under a vehicle body (figures 1, 2, 5, 7; columns 4-5);
a clutch (#230) operatively connected to an engine (#130) of the vehicle (#100) and adapted to selectively engage with the power take-off drive shaft (#235, 240) to transfer energy from the engine to the power take-off drive shaft (figures 2, 3, 5, 6; columns 3-5);
wherein the power take-off system (including PTO #250) is configured to be installed on the vehicle (#100) without modifications to the chassis (including frame #114) of the vehicle (has the ability to so perform, in that PTO #250 is mounted beneath frame rails #270 via housing #245 mounted to undercarriage #116 of frame #114 with fasteners #252 extending through flanges #256 of carrier #255; figures 2, 5, 7; columns 4-5);
(claims 2, 13, 16) wherein the power take-off drive shaft includes a first drive shaft (#235) and a second drive shaft (#240) connected by a universal joint (#242; figures 2, 5, 7; column 4);
(claims 3, 14, 17) wherein the universal joint (#242) enables the power take-off drive shaft (#235, 240) to navigate around existing components of the vehicle (#100; figures 2, 5, 7; columns 4-5);
(claims 4, 9, 18) a gear box (#220) operatively associated with the power take-off drive shaft (#235, 240), wherein the gear box is configured to modify rotational energy transfer between the power take-off drive shaft and the engine (#130; has the ability to so perform; figures 2, 3, 5, 6; columns 3-5);
(claims 5, 10, 19) wherein the gear box (#220) is mounted (at least via connection to engine #130 mounted to frame #114, and via connection to PTO #250 mounted to frame rails #270) to the chassis (#114) of the vehicle (#100) without modifying the chassis (figures 2-7; columns 2-5);
(claims 6, 11, 20) a pulley system (including pulleys #280, 305) connected to the engine (#130) and a power take-off belt (#265), wherein the power take-off belt is configured to transfer rotational energy from the engine to the clutch (#230; figures 2, 3, 5, 6; columns 3-4);
(claims 7, 12) wherein the pulley system (including pulleys #280, 305) is integrated with an existing pulley assembly carried by the engine (#130; figures 2, 3, 5, 6; columns 3-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power take-off system and method of Kokot, Jr., et al. to include a clutch, gear box, pulley system, and power take-off belt, as taught by Marotte et al., so as to provide a compact structure with ease of assembly for after-market applications, in which a clutch is capable of being energized or de-energized in response to operator’s desire to control activation of the power take-off assembly (Marotte et al.: column 1, lines 27-32; column 3, line 50- column 6, line 17).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 18 January 2026 with respect to independent claim(s) 1, 8, and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. While Marotte et al. (US 8950525 B2) is part of the prior art rejections above, it is used as a secondary reference to teach clutch, gear box, pulley system, and power take-off belt details, which were not included in Applicant’s arguments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA FREEDMAN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3614