DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,272,514 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitations of the claims of the instant application are presented as limitations in the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,272,514 B2. However, in some instances these limitations are presented in a different order. This is to say, some of the limitations of the independent claims of the instant application are presented as limitations in the dependent claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,272,514 B2, and vice-versa. Also, some of the limitations are obvious variants. As such, an obvious type double patenting rejection is necessary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-22, 24-35 and 37-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Allen et al. (US. Pub: 2016/0056007 A1~hereinafter “Allen”).
Regarding claim 21, Allen discloses (in at least figs. 1-14) an electron gun (300), comprising: a cathode (310) with an emitting surface configured to emit electrons, the cathode (310) including a through hole that goes through the cathode and is configured to allow back-streaming electrons of the emitted electrons to pass through (see at least fig. 3; abstract; [0045]-[0048]); an anode (210; [0046]) configured to attract the emitted electrons from the cathode to the anode and focus the emitted electrons into an electron beam; and a grid structure (320; [0047]) configured to facilitate the focusing of the emitted electrons, the grid structure being positioned within the through hole.
Regarding claim 22, Allen discloses (in at least figs. 1-14) a projection of at least a portion of the gird structure (320) along a common axis of the electron gun is within a cross-section of the through hole vertical to the common axis.
Regarding claim 24, Allen discloses (in at least figs. 1-14) the grid structure (320) includes a plurality of first meshes (best seen in at least figs. 4 and 5) , and the plurality of first meshes relate to a count of the back-streaming electrons passing through the grid structure and the focusing of the electrons emitted from the cathode (310).
Regarding claim 25, Allen discloses (in at least fig. 3) the grid structure (320) is in contact with the cathode (310).
Regarding claim 26, Allen discloses (in at least figs. 1-14) there is a gap (see fig. 4) between the grid structure (320) and the cathode (310).
Regarding claim 27, Allen discloses (in at least figs. 1-14) the grid structure (520) is supported by a grid supporter (540).
Regarding claim 28, Allen discloses (in at least figs. 1-14; [0032]; [0048]) the cathode includes a first material configured to facilitate the emission of the electrons from the cathode by lowering a work function of the cathode.
Regarding claim 29, Allen discloses (in at least figs. 1-14; [0035]) the grid structure includes a second material that is chemically reactive with the first material.
Regarding claim 30, Allen discloses (in at least figs. 1-14; [0032]) the first material includes barium (Ba), and the second material includes a transition metal including at least one of zirconium (Zr) or hafnium (Hf).
Regarding claim 31, Allen discloses (in at least figs. 1-14; [0035]-[0036]) the second material is configured to prevent emission of electrons from the grid structure caused by an impact of at least a portion of the back-streaming electrons on the grid structure.
Regarding claim 32, Allen discloses (in at least figs. 1-14) a grid electrode (320) configured to control flow of the electrons emitted from the cathode (310) to the anode (210), the grid electrode (320) being positioned between the cathode and the anode.
Regarding claim 33, Allen discloses (in at least figs. 1-14) the grid electrode includes a center mesh (see figs. 10-14) corresponding to the through hole (see figs. 10-14), the center mesh being configured to allow the back-streaming electrons of the emitted electrons to pass through and prevent the back-streaming electrons from impacting the grid electrode (see figs. 10-14), the center mesh being centered on the common axis (see figs. 10-14).
Regarding claim 34, Allen discloses (in at least figs. 1-14; [0035]) the grid electrode includes a third material that is chemically reactive with a first material of the cathode.
Regarding claim 35, Allen discloses (in at least figs. 1-14) the grid structure is positioned at a fixed location in the electron gun.
Regarding claim 37, Allen discloses (in at least figs. 1-14; [0036]; [0048]) the grid structure is thermally isolated from the cathode.
Regarding claim 38, Allen discloses (in at least figs. 1-14; [0006]; [0032]; [0035]) a work function of the grid structure is higher than the cathode.
Regarding claim 39, Allen discloses (in at least figs. 1-14) an electron gun, comprising: a cathode (310) with an emitting surface configured to emit electrons, the cathode (310; [0047]-[0049]; abstract) including a through hole that goes through the cathode and is configured to allow back-streaming electrons of the emitted electrons to pass through; an anode (210; [0046]) configured to attract the emitted electrons from the cathode to the anode and focus the emitted electrons into an electron beam; and a grid electrode (320; [0047]) including a plurality of first meshes configured to allow the electrons emitted from the cathode or the back-streaming electrons to pass through (see at least figs. 4-14), wherein the plurality of first meshes include a center mesh corresponding to the through hole (see at least figs. 4-14), the center mesh is configured to prevent the back-streaming electrons from impacting the grid electrode, and the center mesh is centered on a common axis of the electron gun (see at least figs. 10-14; [0083]-[0088]).
Regarding claim 40, Allen discloses (in at least figs. 1-14) a grid structure (525) configured to facilitate the focusing of the emitted electrons, the grid electrode (520) being positioned between the grid structure and the anode (210).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen et al. (US. Pub: 2016/0056007 A1~hereinafter “Allen”).
Regarding claim 23, Allen discloses all the claimed limitations except for the grid structure is provided with a same voltage as the cathode.
However, Allen discloses (in at least [0006]; [0032]) “the grid’s potential is close to the potential voltage of the cathode.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the electron gun of Allen in order to inhibit electron emission to the through hole.
Regarding claim 36, Allen does not expressly disclose a position of the grid structure is adjustable along a common axis of the electron gun.
However, Allen discloses (in at least figs. 1-14) a position of the grid structure (320) is fixed along a common axis (105).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to the recited adjustable position through design choice. Applicant has not disclosed that the recited adjustable position is for a particular unobvious purpose, produces an unexpected result, or is otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using the fixed position of Allen.
Conclusion
ELMITO BREVAL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/ELMITO BREVAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875